Lake Elmer Thomas Recreation Area

 
3.5 (33)
73640 1 22 3 13

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars

33 reviews

 
(6)
 
(11)
 
(10)
 
(6)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.6  (33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (33)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (33)
Value 
 
3.7  (33)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My family visits LETRA every year. I made my reservations months ahead and reserved two sites on the back row. When we arrived the sites I reserved were filled. I spoke to the office and they had my reservations and said the RV's were due to be moved that day. The occupants were gone and when called would not return until later that day. We found two sites together and set up. I was told that the back row was usually used by long-term campers. My family reserved 5 sites on the row back two rows in December for a family reunion in October 2019. I hope the sites are available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 8, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have been to Lake Elmer Thomas RV several times. My family enjoys camping there and visiting all the attractions in Fort Sill. We climb Mount Scott, go to Meers and Medicine Park, and enjoy the wildlife in the National park. The campground has large sites for big rigs and we enjoy hiking the area. TV signal and WiFi is weak but we camp to enjoy nature.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
April 7-8, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is one of the premier military recreational facilities.  We have been here twice in our motorhome travels In four years.  One of the important amenities in any RV campsite is the bathhouse.  The shower and sink fixtures are in need of either replacement or repair.  I'm hoping this isn't an indication of a lack of required funding to keep  this beautiful facility at an acceptable maintenance level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
27 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Drove by today to check on this location from the Medicine Creek campground. I wanted to verify their rates since MC raised from $12 to $17. LETRA fees as told to me by the store clerk (office not open on Sunday) were $20 until May 1st when the go to $22. I asked about the $30 as listed here and clerk didn't know and reaffirmed $22 for in season. The weekly rate is still $90 but the clerk said that will probably change as their monthly is $390. ($90 x 4 =$360?????) The place looks great but oh my, was it ever windy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21-27 Mar 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I will echo everything that was posted on November 9th 2013. In addition to the comments: There is WiFi but the signal it has somewhat to be desired. I used MiFi, Verizon, 2 bars but not constantly. They do need to do some gravel replacement but overall not bad. Mark (Manager) is working hard for improvements. There is so much for the family to do, boating, fishing, hiking, archery, miniature golf, plenty things for the kids to be entertained. Laundry available, $1.00 for washer and the same for the dryers, very clean. You will not have any trouble with acquiring a satellite signal, its wide open. I checked with the office and the phone # for them is 580-442-5858, Mon-Fri ., The Store number is as posted on this site, although you can call the posted number and it should transfer to the office after 4 rings, per management. Over-all a nice place to stay! I would return and recommend it to others, would love to come here during warmer weather.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
November 9, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
LETRA is a fantastic recreation area. Plenty to do for the entire family. The location isn't convenient for shopping and the main post, but this makes it ideal for a recreation area. The RV sites are huge. Although many sites had long-term campers, there were plenty of available sites this time of the year. Summer may be another story. The cabins look real nice and are in a good location overlooking the lake. Tent camping is also along the lake shoreline. The restrooms and showers are starting to get old, but had a good cleaning. If I had the time, I would enjoy spending a month here. Fort Sill is a large post, with plenty of dining and amenities. The museums, Old Fort Sill, and the Post and POW Indian cemeteries were interesting. The current rate (off season) of $20 a night makes this an "okay" deal. $30 for the summer is getting to be a little high for a military campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
30 Oct to 27 Nov 2011
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had the time to spend a whole month in the Lawton area visiting family during the Thanksgiving Holiday and Ft Sill provided us with a affordable place to park our 38ft 5th wheel. The parking sites were large and clean, full hook ups. We had very little interaction with any of the staff except for at check in. The location of the park was nice we thought, nice views of the lake and mountains. We were not able to take advantage of the recreational equipment at the time due to the weather. The weather was not so much cold as it was windy, we are from Florida so adding 25mph winds almost daily to the cool temps and we thought we were much further north. The drive into main post takes about 15 to 20 minutes or so and was very scenic, and all the wild live wow! Watch out for the deer at night. Over all we enjoyed our stay at Ft Sill and will do so again. Ratings were kinda low due to the restrooms and showers should be updated, all the other building and even the cabins for rent look close to new. Cable/sat tv is on site however the reception needs to be improved, wifi on site was a plus! If you have small kids the will enjoy the playgrounds, they look new and some of the best we had ever seen, you can tell that attention has been given to this campground area, and support for the soldiers and families is strong.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
4th of July weekend, 2011
(Updated: July 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
LETRA is a very clean camp ground, with all the RV hook-ups. Electricity, water, sewer, even cable (some what). The wifi is weak and cuts out, but hey, its camping. The swim beach is nice, and they have 2 water slides, and put-put golf. Everything closes at 6-7, including the lodge and store. You can't even check in after 6. The only problem we had, was the staff was a bit gruff. It was like he didn't want to be there. If you don't know how to get there, you better get directions before leaving out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb. 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here one night on the way to Big Bend National Park. A little tough getting in because the gate indicated on the link is shut down on weekends, however a call to the campground got us directions to an alternate gate and the campground staff came and opened the gate for us. It was very windy, but the park, albeit small, was nice and the restroom/showers/laundry was very nice and clean. They had cable, which we did not discover until the next morning, but we got decent antenna coverage. Didn't have time to see much of Ft. Sill, but it would be worth staying a few days to see next time.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay here. The campsite was very roomy and not to bad off level. We were going to Wichita Mtns. on a day trip and found the back gate closed but the drive to Apache gate is a nice drive. I would think this CG would be very active during the summer months because of all it has to offer. We only had one bad experience when one of the permanent residence let her 2 large dogs out without a leash and they ran towards my dog on her leash. The owner was quick to catch them before they reached us but it was a little scary for a minute. The ability to have a campfire if you had a firepit off the ground was really nice. All and all, we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed at LETRA in October, 2007 and are planning on staying there again next week. It is a quiet, peaceful area with lots of walking space, and places for the grandkids to play. Showers were clean. The main campground was well laid out, and easy to get into. All in all, a very nice place to camp in the off season. We will probably try it during the summer, this year as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As a retiree and DOD Contractor I spend a lot of time on the road living in my 5th wheel staying at Post Campgrounds. LETRA was a great place to stay when my nephew graduated from basic training this year. Although we were out of the water sports season the entire family (17 of us) enjoyed the campground completely. Bath house was clean and modern, roads were fine, the people who work there were friendly. I see what others went thru in 2006 and from my perspective things must have changed drastically becuase we loved it! Its a little far out from post, but then again I don't want to be in town when I'm in my camper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12