Camp Rilea

Camp Rilea

 
4.0 (44)
128355   1   15   1   44

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

44 reviews

 
(17)
 
(18)
 
(6)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (44)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (44)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (44)
Value 
 
4.1  (44)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
Sept. 16 - 18 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a Army National Guard training base. The base grounds are immaculate and the rv area is newly paved and spacious sites. Check in is easy and the laundry room has 10 washers and dryers at 0 cost (FREE). The Oregon beaches are very close and public friendly with many in the area. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 21-July 3, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great post! We had no problem making reservations and access to and driving on the post is very easy. The entire staff is very pleasant and make sure to take care of every detail. The post is tidy, mowed, quiet and very clean. It's very obvious the Oregon Army National Guard takes a lot of pride in the facility. The post has a beautiful laundry too. You pay $5.00 for the Door Entry Card and from there everything is free. As others have mentioned, the RV Park is along the side of a large paved parking area. There are no picnic tables and the sites are a bit tight. Sites are divided by painted lines, are about 20 feet wide and easily 75 feet deep. Plenty of room for the largest rigs. There is no CATV as this site states. It may have been discontinued sometime in the past. The smaller Exchange is reasonably good for such a small post carrying snacks, various drinks, cigarettes, and general household products. If you need anything more there’s a new Walmart Supercenter about 1.2 miles north on 101. It’s so new, it’s not yet on Google Maps. Don’t miss the Friday and Saturday night Prime Rib dinner with Salad Bar at the Port Light Cafe on post. It’s fabulous for $17.95. If you want to use DISH Satellite TV, it works well on Sites 6 to 10 as Sites 1 to 5 are blocked by trees. You may want to keep this in mind when making reservations. Getting to the beach is easy too. You could stop by Range Control and get a pass to drive your vehicle on the range roads and park about 500 feet from the beach. OR, you could exit the post and drive 1.5 miles south taking a right onto Sunset Beach Rd. With this you can drive straight onto the hard-packed sandy beach and easily drive a few miles in either direction. For those wanting to do some fishing, there's a fresh water lake on post, a few minutes drive from the RV park. Though I didn’t have a pole, a neighbor of mine brought me three large trout last night. He used night crawlers bought fresh from Walmart. We will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 25 - July 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After leaving Beale AFB and traveling for four weeks, we finally arrived at Camp Rilea Military Recreation Area for a six day stay.  We stayed at several private RV Parks during our travels in California and along the Oregon coastline.  The rocky Oregon coastline is absolutely beautiful and a shutterbug’s paradise. Walking on the beaches at low-tide is a priceless and rewarding experience.  Traveling west on California Highway 299 and then north on US-101 is some-what challenging but the scenery is well-worth the effort.  We found a lot of fun things to do along our route.  Checking-in at Camp Rilea was very simple:  the gentleman at the gate was really friendly and explained exactly where we had to go to check-in at the Billeting Office;  he told us where to park our rig for the check-in process thus avoiding a turn-around problem in the parking lot.;  the active duty soldier at the Billeting Office was also very friendly; we were given an envelope with a map of the Post and a key to the site electrical pedestal.  Experiencing such a friendly welcome set a good tone for our visit.  All the sites in the RV Park are back-ins, some are on an asphalt paved surface and others on grass.  There is plenty of room to maneuver while backing into the site.  The length of the sites can easily accommodate the largest RV’s along with tow/towed vehicles.  The width of the site is about twenty-two feet which seems to shrink considerably when you have slide outs on both sides and your neighbors also have slide outs.  Previous reviews have mentioned that the RV Park is a parking lot and that appears to be true.  We did not come here with different expectations.  We just wanted a safe, quiet place to stay while we took day-trips to local attractions and enjoy our “do nothing” days which means going for walks and just hanging out at the RV Park.  The Post is small, quiet, and well-maintained.  We did get an unadvertised Kodak moment; we watched five elk grazing on the hillside next to the RV Park.  There are major retailers about two miles north on US-101.  If you travel south on US-101 about eight miles you will be in a little town named Seaside.  What you see of Seaside while on US-101 is not a very good representation of what the town has to offer.  You will need to go west on Broadway to downtown and the beach.  Seaside is a pretty neat place to visit with or without little munchkins tagging along.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Aug 12-15, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I cannot say enough good things about this little gem of an RV Park. It is a tiny facility, as RV Parks go, BUT it is huge in every other way! Beautifully maintained training center and facilities. The only thing lacking is convenient WiFi access (I'll take the free laundry facility any day over WiFi, which is readily available at Taco Bell about 2 miles away).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Definitely glad we stayed here! We camped with a 40' fifth-wheel. Location put us close to national and state parks in NW Oregon and SW Washington as well as a lot of other stuff to do in Seaside and Astoria. We were actually able to make reservations about two weeks before Labor Day weekend into the 'dry' sites for the holiday weekend then moved to a full-hookup site. The 8 dry sites w/30 amp are on grass. Showers/restrooms were clean. Firing range wasn't a problem. Training was sporadic during the two weeks, otherwise the base mostly deserted. Very quiet and peaceful, at least at this time of year. The bonus was the free laundry. Good machines and no wait. FYI, the sites are RIGHT off a road with a drop-off on the other side of the road. Larger rigs may have to do some extra maneuvering to get into spots and #8 (FHU) is positioned slightly behind the shower/bathroom building. We're new at backing up, so this was a little challenging! We would never try #8. #1 (FHU) is the site we had and there wasn't any satellite from our roof dish; we used our tailgater and no problem. And lastly, when I asked about wi-fi, I was given info for the wi-fi that's in a building down the street from the RV sites, but they also let me use computers in the classroom next to the check-in office. Everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. Lots of geese and elk viewing right around the sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept. 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wonderful; bit challenging getting contact with Ms. Starr for reservations. Great MilFamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Many time over the last 4 years
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very easy access. Right off Highway 101. Far enough off the highway that you cannot see or hear any traffic. The camp ground is a paved parking lot that is always clean. The restrooms are clean and warm. Very close to Warrenton, Seaside and Astoria. There is a restaurant on the post but the hours are limited. There is a large elk herd that hangs out here and they are nice to watch. Great hiking and bicycling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
1 - 2 March 2013
(Updated: March 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Right off Hwy 101. Extremely easy access. Nice paved sites. Wi-Fi no longer available at the snack bar as it is closed. Now available at Koski Hall bldg. 7300. Koski Hall is their answer to Gateway Inn or similar. There is no one on duty in the building, however. All it has are rooms so if you don't stay in one of the rooms your only recourse is access Wi-Fi from the parking lot. It works good though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
2 Nov 2012
(Updated: November 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice, great service, free laundry service, pick-up key card when you check-in.deer and elk on site. Every one was helpful as it always is with military personnel. Thanks again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
July 18-20 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We could only stay for two nights because BIG summer camp program for disadvantaged kids....however we drove thru a few days later and there were spaces available-so what can you say. As the picture shows a plain, no frills rv park except there is cable. Beautiful views and mostly quiet EXCEPT if you have a dog that is afraid of gunshot/fireworks sounds this is not the place for you. Firing range is right behind the berm behind RV's !! The shower rooms are separate from restroom and not that clean-wear shower shoes!! Tent spaces with covered picnic area and space to walk and enjoy scenery. Didn't see elk but saw much other wildlife! Right between Seaside and Astoria/Warrenton with shopping in both places(exchange is barely a mini-mart). The gate guards are VERY personable and helpful! Would go back and if no space as we had to leave go to Kampers West Kampground in Warrenton and ask for the military discount!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 23, 2010 to Jan 3, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.J. left this review using the Directory software: - It was a wonderful holiday week. Friendly, helpful staff. Woke one morning to a herd of elk grazing around our camp. What a gift that was. It is a well kept secret. A great place
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
8 to 12 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The previous comments are accurate. Just a couple of things to add. First, this is very convenient to Astoria and surrounding area. Second, this is primarily an installation supporting the Oregon National Guard. We happened to be here on their drill week-end. The firing range is right behind us so, during the day, we heard occasional weapons fire. Not a problem for us - no worse, in fact better, than being under the end of a runway. Finally, because it was a drill week-end, the RV spots were full. We were offered, and accepted, a spot in "dry camping." The "dry camping" spots were next to the full hook-up spots, but we were parked on dirt instead of asphalt. The showers and other facilities were still available to us. Since we dry camp a lot this was not a problem. Much to our surprise, however, their definition of "dry camping" also included a 30 amp electric hook-up so we were very happy. Cost to dry camp: $5 per day. When the firing range isn't active you can drive out to the beach. We loved this place. But if you are one of those who needs a pool, hot tub, activities center, playground for the kids and so forth - don't come here. There is a KOA just up the street for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
December 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: The staff is VERY friendly. Although it is a "paved lot", with all back in slots. But, you have a nice view of the camp which is very well maintained. There is a free laundry available to campers. Also, there are cabin like facilities that can be rented as well. There is a VA clinic on post. The Rest Rooms and showers are spotless and very close to all 10 parking slots. There is a small picnic area to the SE. Word has it that in summer, you may "experience" small arms fire. Just over the hill from the "campground" is a firing range. It is a VERY nice park, and is close to Fort Clatsop and Fort Stevens in addition to Astoria and Seaside....this is a good location for this part of NW Oregon. Good price for what you get.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
June 13-14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just cannot compare with a Walmart parking lot. Cg is quiet, clean, convenient. Not many amenities on base, but, after all, this is a reserve base, not active duty. What do you expect? Definitely worth the price and convenience. Area tourist attractions are almost non-existant, but a nice place to stay for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
April 18-22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a nice place to stop thru. We stayed here so that we could go look at light houses and waterfalls. The famcamp is basically a parking lot, but you have full hook-up and cable. The base is well kept and nice looking. There is a laundry room w/ 10 washers and dryers and the cost is FREE. We only had one day of gun-fire, the rest of the time real quite. There is a small PX that is open from 11-5pm Tuesday-Saturday. Front desk people are great, really nice and willing to help you out. You do have to check in at billeting to get a key to unlock your service box. Do not worry, plenty of room for big rigs. We manuevered our 40 footer around nicely and carefee. Spot 10 is the best because it is right on the end leaving space to park your vehicle. The 20.00 a night seemed a high to me, but then again there is cable and free laundry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
August 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a nice camp. We pulled in there with no reservations, just as someone left unhappy with no fire rings. Oh well. Stayed there for 4 days. The area is rich in military history exploring old forts and the Astoria area was wonderful. Check out the Base Headquarters for historical facts of Camp Rilea. The Commanding Officer is a great wealth of information and is more than willing to share all his knowledge. Great experience. Will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
June 6, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The gate guard will supply a map of the base; check-in is at the Billeting Office, just to the left of the gate-house by about 200 yards, and the 10 spaces are a mile down the main drag, turn left at the flag pole and a quarter mile more on the right are the spaces. The PX has military clothing, magazines, booze, and snacks. But, not to worry because in Warrenton, less than 5 miles back toward Astoria there's a COSTCO and Fred Meyers (its like a Super WalMart). The base is very well situated for the area's attractions. We will be returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17