Carr Point Recreation Facilities

 
3.9 (22)
41308   0   21   0   13

User reviews

Filters 13 reviews with 4 stars

22 reviews

 
(5)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.6  (22)
 
3.0  (22)
 
4.0  (22)
 
4.0  (22)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2016

No amenities such as restrooms, showers, laundry or wifi, but the scenery is absolutely the greatest - right on the water. Well maintained, clean park, spacious sites, and such friendly staff! There were only two other campers there at the time. Nice place. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 23, 2016

For a good price, this is a nice spot to stay on Aquidneck Island and experience Newport. Sites are fairly level, trash at each site with electric and water hookup. No trees, but open view to Narragansett Bay! Newport Dinner Train rolls by every so often. We were disappointed we couldn't have a little fire, but for the most part we spent our time outside of the facility. You must check in at the fitness center which is located about 10 min. away, on base. Six spots and for our weekend all spots were taken, but with a little planning ahead of time, and some flexibility you shouldn't have too many problems. If you need to dump your tanks you need to travel north about 8 min. to Melville Pond, $10 and off you go.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 25-30 2016

Great for the Price to see Newport Rhode Island mansions and beaches! Okay so the facilities are a little bare bones. W/E only. Gravel sites are fairly level with a nice table. That's about it but the VIEW! Okay the shrubs and trees obscure some of the view but still you have a water view for $20 bucks a night that the campsite 1 mile down the street that gets almost a 80 bucks a night for just grass/pastoral views. It was still relaxing just to sit with coffee in the morning and an adult beverage in the evening and watch the yachts, sailboats and shipping traffic go by.. Please note that this campsite is not on base and there is quite a bit of civilian traffic that comes to fish and get on the beach though it is posted no access. Still we felt very safe as the police come by several times a day. Yes it's hard to get reservations. There is only 6 spots and they are not thrilled with anyone dry camping. They do have the room for some but they don't allow it. We lucked out and got in because of a cancellation. I was persistent and called to check several times. Anothony had me fill out the reservation form for the days we wanted and we lucked into 5 nights. If MWR would Spend a bit of money and expand and upgrade a bit this could be a gem of a place. Really it already is just where it is located in a very expensive to stay area. The commissary was going through renovations while we were there. It is an average commissary. The exchange had great shopping especially for upscale beach wear and other items. The Officers club has lobster special on Thursdays. There is free internet and computer access at the Starbucks on base. I will be back as it is a beautiful area and an easy drive to other touristy locations. You can drive less than a hour and a half and stay at Hanscomb Fam Camp to continue touring New England. Please see my review on that campground for more info. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

31 August 2015

Stayed just one nights in site #5 in a 35' motor home: sites are "super wide" so no problems getting in & getting level. No problem making left from Stringham onto Burma (AKA "Defense Highway"), even with toad. Overall a good experience - special KUDOS to Ann who was very positive & helpful! RV sites are just 1/2 from downtown Newport.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-7 Aug 2014

Made reservations far in advance and assigned spot 5. CG has total of 6 sites of which 4 appeared to be taken by long term campers appeared to be active duty or active reserve. CG is located off base on the banks of Narragansett Bay. The sites are concrete, level, and have 30/50 amp service and water. There is no other services available at this CG. The 30 amp did not work on our site so used an adapter for the 50 amp plug. Water had a metal taste so did not hook it up. NEX shoppette is about a half mile away and it's just a short 15 minute drive to the nearest Wal-Mart. A short drive to historic Newport and the Breakers. With the lack of facilities $20 a night seem a little excessive but when compared to other camping options in the area it's a bargain. I would stay here again if in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 1 - 3, 2013

We came in on a Tuesday without reservations as the office is only open Wed-Fri. There were four open sites but we dry camped in the parking lot in case there were late arrivals. Next morning, we called for a site but were told all were reserved. We left the coach parked while we visited Newport. Early afternoon we called again and were told there was one site available. We were scolded when we checked in and admitted we had dry camped the previous night. Not allowed! We got site #1 for one night, and still two sites were not occupied that night, three vacant when we left the next day. We love the area and Carr Point is a great place to stay. Beautiful views and convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 May - 5 June, 2012

This was our first visit and will probably return. Good location for touring area. Nice view of Narragansett Bay..quiet. Easy access to base except gate 17 closed on weekends. Must use main gate. Had a tick problem. Guess they can't spray. Would be nice if they could at least install dump station and maybe bathhouse. Used laundromat on hwy next to Buddy's hardware south of Green road. Appears they could add more sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2010

Not much has changed from past comments here. There are long gravel sites. NO bath or laundry rooms. Off base about 2 miles, the NEX is down the road about 1 miles. The sharp turn off or onto Stringham Road is bad, better to go down RT 114 to Green Ln and turn there. Great location to see Newport and lower RI.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2008

Great view, very relaxing. Weather was excellent. On-site office CLOSED. Check-in package delivered because we made reservations while traveling. Not normally suggested because of limited sites. Drive to Historic Newport very easy. Wickford also easy to get to and a must to visit by car. CG only dislike was no sewer hookup or convienant dump station. We only stayed 3 days so dumped at next RV park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2007

Pros: Clean gravel sites, long enough for our 23-ft trailer, a van, an SUV, and a compact car in single file. Great view and nice breeze being right next to the water. Convenient NEX mini-mart and ATM machine nearby. Short drive to mansions, beaches, harbors, shopping, fresh seafood, and other attractions. Cons: No sewer hookup or dump on site. Great water VIEW sites, but NOT water FRONT. Not a swimming beach and access to the water is thru a gated fence then down a path through thick shrubs. On a couple of nights while we were there, there were groups of people hanging out in the parking lot by the camp office. They were noisy and more bothersome than the occassional dinner train that came through during the day. All in all, we would come back to camp here. It's in a great location and centrally located for sight seeing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 23, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July/20/07 to July/22/07

The Pluses. Great location, just far enough from everything to be quiet, just close enough so you can get there easily. If you are looking for out of the way this is it. I have to agree with everyone that said Great View of the bay! It was. Directions provided by Campground were great, and easy to follow. Grass looked to be well taken care of, and the gravel camper parking area was in good shape, as was the paved parking lot. There is a Navy Exchange Mini Mart with a Navy Federal ATM about a mile away on the way toward base. Adjoining recreation area was also in really good shape. The Down sides. While I was there I looked at the Tent sites that they offer, they were not so good but this is an RV park. No one has mentioned this, and it really isn't a huge bother, but there is a tourist train that passes the campground about 4 times a day during daylight hours on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, it is the Newport Dinner Train, they have a web site, it looks like fun. I only found the train to be a bother the first time it went by because I wasn't expecting it. Sewage hookups would really make this campground shine as a great one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 2006

We love carr pt. Arnold Christensen is correct on the entry to Burma Rd. We attended a meeting and might be some big plans for the campground. That would be wonderful. We wish for a dump site or full hook-up with dump available. Grew up in Newport also and its the only place we can stay when we visit family. Hope it stays open and has more sites available. Close to all the beautiful RI beaches. Best seafood ever. Lots of activities, sailing, fishing, antiques, boutiques, mansions, kite flying. biking, etc.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Many times

First I grew up in Newport. We have stayed many times as fulltimers. Directions are better given to go to Green Lane and proceed to Burma Rd and turn right. Campground will be on the left across railroad tracks. Railroad is only for occasional dinner train. Daylight hours only. If you go down Stringham it is two lane and it is a very tight left turn to Burma Rd and if you hit it during a rush hour it is terrible. Green Lane is wide and plenty of room to make the right turn at the bottom of the hill onto Burma Road. My memory says the elec hookup was 50 Amp. Water pressure is very high...beware. On Green Lane there is a small Shoppette very handy. You have to move your RV to the Portsmouth CG to dump. That is up Stringham Rd. There are 6 sites all facing the Bay on a high bluff. Very nice setup. Gravel sites and plenty long enough for everyone. Give it a 4 only because you have to go someplace and dump.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13