JB Charleston RV Park

Hot
 
4.2 (94)
77006   1   23   1   39

User reviews

Filters 13 reviews with 3 stars

94 reviews

 
(58)
 
(18)
 
(10)
 
(3)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.5  (94)
 
4.0  (94)
 
4.3  (94)
 
4.2  (94)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

2016-2017

We are a retired (USAF 30 year) couple who stayed at JB Charleston Air Force FamCamp in long term. The following is a short review of our stay. The camp itself is fine – and many of the long term sites are very good. However, some are way in the back, under heavy tree cover and poor drainage causes them to stay wet after it rains. The location is great in relation to commissary, airport and the Charleston area. We have camped for years in many different places and this director and her office staff are some of the laziest, rudest people I have ever encountered. And, if I read one more comment about the greatness of Connie and Vic, I might puke. Connie is in everybody’s business! If you stay a few days, they are probably great, but long term is very, very different. There are no written guidelines for campers and the director refuses to provide any such guidelines. She makes up the rules as she goes along and is furious if she is questioned about ANYTHING! She lies outright. You can’t depend on the website. If you refer to it, she will tell you it has not been updated. When we left, she openly gloated that she had seven IG complaints on her desk and they meant nothing! If that’s not a lie; then obviously, the IG Office needs to be investigated, too. In the year we were there, there were six different hosts. Everything we read states that active duty members are not supposed to live in the campground. When we left in the late spring, the hosts were a young active duty Coast Guard member and his wife. He claims to be retired Coast Guard. He is not retired. He wears civilian clothing and changes at work. Jmann is right, management and especially hosts Bob and Gwen Diamond who return every fall have their favorites and if you don’t have a $200K-plus motor coach, are not a member of the American Motor Coach Association and/or do not participate in the 4:00 o’clock cocktail hour, you will not be in one of the better spaces. If you go to Bob with a question and he does not like you or the question, he will literally beat his chest with his fist and scream in your face that he is “running the place.” And make no mistake, he is! The Director allows him to do as he pleases. She cannot be bothered with the people who stay there, even though it is why she has a job. If you want to stay in long term, be ready for all to know your business and your comings and goings. It is a gossiper’s delight! Military campgrounds like this were built for the enjoyment of veterans who have served their country and retired! For the commander and his staff at JB Charleston to turn a blind eye to the rude and disrespectful treatment that the FamCamp Director, staff and hosts show to veterans and their families is shameful! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2017

Well, the last review posted on how nice [the hosts] are. Yes they are nice to you, but they are very vindictive. [They] should be in heaven since her husband is active duty collecting housing allowance living in Famcamp for well over a year. Now that they are host they stay for free, and get additional benefits. I'm still trying to figure out why AFI's are not being followed? ODR lets the host do whatever they want, according to [name deleted] who was the last host. [He] was the type of person who feels that unless your rig is 45 foot and over 250 thousand you were not up to his standards. There is no set rules there, they Chang them daily. I have seen other active duty personal turned away, I have seen other campers not being allowed in because of an oil leak. I have seen untaged campers parked there for years. It's is what it is. [Editor edits are in brackets]

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 13 2017

We visited the office and asked about availability for a site We were informed that they were booked solid ,no available sites . Since it's policy is no reservations, we drove thru the CG and discovered 5 sites were vacant ! This campground is a first come ,first served, Anouther example of the good ol boy's club .Very disappointed in the AF.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 30, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 22-26 2017

We own a '87 Bluebird Wanderlodge. After we arrived, my husband got me set up and had to fly back to Eglin AFB. When I returned from the airport I was promptly told by the camp hosts #1 - we had an oil leak dripping on their parking pad that must be addressed immediately. They just weren't going to have that. Her exact words. We did not have a leak at our home as we park our bus on our own concrete pad. Do you think we'd just allow that to not be addressed at our own home that we maintain meticulously? Obviously, something had occurred unnoticed during our 3 day drive up. The time was 1900, nothing was open except Shopette. I had two aluminum pans in my bus that I secured under the bus, purchased Reynolds Wrap and duck tape. I crawled under the bus handling the minor leak issue with the camp host watching although she did help me retrieve two rocks to weigh down pans. . As we engaged in conversation later she also told me that #2 often times Campgrounds don't allow old buses into their facility due to leaks such as ours. Do you not think that new coaches have unexpected leak issues? Was this a hint of what was to come? #3. My dog cried while I was on my errands. Was that too disturbing? #4. They saw my husband spray off the front of bus. That would be $10 extra for a bus wash. Could they have mentioned that to him and not stressed me out with one thing or another? Needless to say, my stomach was in knots not knowing what was coming next. When we pulled out 4 days later heading to Myrtle Beach my husband moved the coach forward, removed my temporary oil pans and Reynolds wrap/duck tape. Drippings on their concrete pad were minimal. Nothing atrocious. Now, remember we're returning after our Rally for a few weeks as we hsve family in the area. On our way to Myrtle Beach, about 5 miles from the FamCamp my husband noticed diesel oil on our back window. Pulled over and found an issue with a line on the generator. We promptly addressed this up the road at an Ace Hardware where my husband repaired it on site. See pictures. Now we arrive at Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach. I receive a call from Famcamp Camp host telling me we are "banned" from the FamCamp until issue is fixed. That Outdoor Rec personnel had issued this banned status due to the mess our old bus made on their concrete pad not just from an engine area oil leak but also all over an area where the back of the bus was parked. What am I to say? Upset, speechless I just accept what they say and hang up!!! We surmised that the generator issue began as we pulled out and perhaps spilled desire oil. How were we to know? They gave me no chance to explain and we've been kicked out, our plans to see our grandkids for the next few weeks in CHS are off and we will head home. BY THE WAY, I even purchased a very large and thick tarp to put under the bus if it was needed and believe me if there was a major leak toward the back of our bus while it sat for 4 days on their pad I WOULD HAVE NOTICED. I walked my dog a tleast 25 times during the stay so that is a true statement. Special note: we are here at Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach. No leak on pad AT ALL. That's the story. The truth. Our experience!!! Home bound we will be. No comment otherwise as we feel disheartened and humiliated. . Theresa

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 2014

Nice and clean park and it has 3 distinct areas - Long Termers (in the shade), Up Front (in the SUN) and back look by the new bathroom. The roadways are all paved and the the sites are cement and level! Area is well maintained with grass cut and clean facilities (new bathrooms). I was very disappointed to find the Charleston AFB allows people to "homestead" for LONG periods of times. In fact, ALL of the shaded sites are for LONG Termers and some of the other back sites are people "waiting" to get back into LONG TERM (shaded) areas. The Camp Host said that many (and I mean MANY) have been there for 2+ years with Heath (one of the previous Camp Hosts) being there for 5+ years! Also, the RV Park is run by the Camp Hosts! Even though the little sign says check in with the Camp Host or Outdoor Rec, we were turned away from Outdoor Rec and told to find the Camp Host. Also, we had a little trouble trying to locate the back gate (only gate allowed for RV entrance since the scan/xray all large vehicles. All signage at the Main Gate says to enter via Aviation Ave…however, there are NO signs to direct you to Aviation Ave and the GPS continues to want to take you to the Front Gate. The cost of the Laundry was astounding…$1.25! Just amazing how they gouge the RVers at Air Force bases when the Navy usually have laundry for FREE! The WiFi was WEAK! Depending on the location in the park, it was hit and miss -- mostly miss. While they do have WiFi hotspots/antennas throughout the park, they just don't work. Finally, the current Camp Host gives you a BUNCH of brochures for the local area. He also highlighted MANY areas on the base map…a little overkill especially if I can find the Charleston RV Park and back gate!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1 Nov 2010

J.K. left this review using the Directory software: After spending $20-25 at other locations with no cable or 50 amp, I was happy to pay $12 at this location. Staff was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 28, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Oct 2009

A clean park to stay in very close to the interstate and easy to get to everything the Charleston and surrounding areas have to offer. It is located right behind the landing strip so be prepared for noise from the aircraft and also the rifle range is right there so gun shots were often heard. There are no sewer hookups on individual sites which I was told are coming soon along with 50 amp service. Right now they only offer 30 amp service. There is a sewer dump station available. The one big complaint that I had was the mens shower water was only turned on once in awhile so it's hard to take a shower and the times are not posted when the water will be on or off or even why it's not left on all the time for our use. I had to leave the park and travel elsewhere to obtain most of my showers during my stay. If your going to stay for only a night or two it's worth the stop but I would not recommend it for long restful stays.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 6-13, 2008

A mixed bag of plus and minuses. Camp hosts were very helpful. I parked on grass site as opposed to one of the back concrete sites so I could get satellite reception. Plus the back sites are very short and I didn't want my 40ft motor home crammed in. As I am finding with most military FAMCAMPs, expansion and upgrading is seriously lacking. With four years of full time RVing and staying at over 20 military FAMCAMPs, I find a common thread of MWR and others who have no idea the cost benefit of creating nice and plentiful RV sites. Some places I go I have to stay at civilian campgrounds. Nothing beats the security and price of the FAMCAMPs. This FAMCAMP needs upgrading. As said before, great location to travel around Charleston, but the base needs to look at this as a money maker for MWR and commissary, exchange and service station. One more comment about the hosts. Two of the best I have met. Everything was as clean as possible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 17, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

13-18 Nov 2007

Overall a good CG. The location with regards to most local sights is within a 30 minute drive is good. The CG location on base is easy to find and easily accessable, also reasonably close to exchange / commissary etc. Facilities are "Rustic". No sewer anywhere, however you are allowed to run GRAY water back to the woods "30 feet away". Power is 30 AMP however a 20 AMP services is also available at most sites. The ITT/Outdoor rec office is right next to CG and although only open 9-5 the staff is very friendly and accomodating. WIFI was down for "maintenance" the entire time we were there, (something sounds fishy there), but cell phone and air card reception is usually 4 bars. The CG host is keeping the restroom and laundry areas "spotless". I have seen them check it at various times during the day, early am, and evening too. The 3 grade for amenities/facilities is mainly because the CG is stagnateing. They are not putting anything into upgrading, and the rumor that a new CG is comming is long dead. Last year the new proposed CG was on the local map, it has been removed and the plans have been placed on the back burner till "after the war". Overall a nice place to stay while you are exploring Charleston, and re-supplying for your next adventure. If you are here on Friday, be sure to grab lunch at the "Charleston Club" a great seafood buffet and if you are a "club member" the price is under $7.00.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 9 to Aug 6 07

Was back to Charleston due to reg Dr. apt. and family. Went to the office on Wed Aug 1st. reported mold on the shower curtain in ladies shower (it was terrible) and the mold was still on the curtin when we left on the 6th. Yes you can smell Pine Sol but when mold grows on the shower curtain it's not clean. The mens area did not have a curtain at all. When we left went to the office sat down and talked to the manager telling her my wife was ready to e-mail ICE and her reply was "Go ahead it will mean 2 more hours of computer work for me"... under staffed???

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 9 to 19th

We are back--the washer and dryer do work. In the ladies restroom a paper cup has been in the shower area since Thursday. No one is using more then one AC and the fuses are popping like crazy. No we don't have a huge 50amp RV it's a 30amp. Our neighbor went to the host and they had no fuses because they are to expensive to buy and keep on hand. We have campers here pulling fuses from the camp sites that are empty by their selves and I'm just waiting for someone to get hurt. What is wrong with this place? No one has used the microwaves because it's hot and we can't go without AC here. If any one has any answers to this problem please post them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

24 March 2007

Arrived on a Saturday and found the famcamp office closed for the week-end. Note on door said to contact occupants of site #9 for help. Fortunately the young man was very helpful but was confused on what sites were available because campers were still in sites that were supposed to be vacated. He directed us to an open field behind the rec facility with at least a water hook-up. As a semi-dry camping site it was actually very nice and private. It was a good value because we left the next morning free of charge.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2006

Although the Campground is old and I agree, does need renovation, we have stayed there many times and will return. Campground is in a perfect location for your visit to beautiful Charleston, 20 minutes from downtown Charleston, close to many restraunts, malls and RV service. ITT office (ORC) is located 100 yards from the campground and sells discount tickets to Charleston and many other local and out of state locations. Campground is located within walking distance to Golf Course which also has a dining area for breakfast and lunch. Picnic Area and Playground also located within walking distance. As other have stated, the facility does need an upgrading. The very helpful staff of the "ORC" reports that a project has finally been approved and funded for 2008 to add 25 more sites (pull thru sites), new electrical service (50 amp) and sewer hook-ups, along with a new convenience center. This will give them approx. 48 total RV sites will full hookups and totally new electric service. We have visited the New Navy facility and although it is brand new and does have some advantages, the out of the way location, 45 minutes from Charleston and not close to anything, and no shade in the campsites (if you ever have been to Charleston in the summer, shade trees are very important)makes CAFB more appealing for us. As for the other statement saying it's the "dumpiest" campground, many of us who visit here have to disagree, yes it needs upgrading, but it is still a nice campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13