JB Charleston RV Park

 
4.2 (105)
109651   1   23   1   53

User reviews

66 reviews with 5 stars

105 reviews

 
(66)
 
(18)
 
(12)
 
(3)
 
(6)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.4  (105)
 
4.3  (105)
 
4.0  (105)
 
4.3  (105)
 
4.2  (105)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
66 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr/May 2018

OUTSTANDING! The campsites are beautiful and we had plenty of room. The Camp Host was the best we ever encountered. She was helpful and worked with everyone to solve problems and followed through (one of the rigs had a mechanical problem and she worked with them to keep them in place until it could get fixed to be safely moved). We cleans the sites between campers...even wiping down the electrical boxes and checking everything out. The bath houses are spotless. Her husband (who is still active duty, she is the Host) comes home and hand mows to keep things neat. I have seen the two of them out at 10p on the golf cart helping out the campers. Excellent care, beautiful campground, next to the Outdoor Rec/Tickets (which is also outstanding), who could want more? Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7 June to 13 June 2018

RV park is great. Paved roads, level sites. New section is where we stayed. Many upgrades since our 2007 trip, even in the old section. Location would be a 5 if the traffic in and out of Charleston was not so terrible. RV park has no control over this issue, but it is an issue. They seem to be building new ways in and out of town. Hopefully this will make it easier. When you are on a peninsula, you only have so many options. There are lots of poison ivy vines in this famcamp. There is no reason to let this stuff take over. That's your 3 in cleanliness. Security police told me I didn't have to go through the X-ray with a retired ID card.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2019

Great location to Charleston, clean bath houses nice gravel sites, would camp here again. Beware if it rains, the lots turn into small ponds. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 27-30 2018

The first camp host Gwen was great, she came to the site with us and gave us maps and information on the area. We towed a motorcycle with us to SC so naturally it rained hard on Memorial Day. We decided to leave a day early only to find our slide on the RV would not come in. Coach net sent a repair man and Jeremy our second camp host was nice enough to drive my husband to the gate so we could get the repair guy in. The camp area was clean and well maintained and we are definitely going back. The change in camp hosts was not an issue and both were a credit to the FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May-June 2018

Note: at the end of May they installed temporary-looking barriers to create a serpentine at the back gate exit. One of the gate guards said it was going to be permanent to stop gate runners from coming in the wrong way (is that really a problem here?). Anyway, it's not the end of the world, but not the straight shot out it used to be. CGs with monthly rates are generally cheaper than paying the base's daily rate times 31, but the great thing about bases in my opinion is that they seem to have less of a rush on the major holidays. I was having trouble finding a site with availability over Memorial Day, but JB Charleston had no problem accommodating us. We can't say enough about Betsy and her husband. When they were camp hosts, we always saw them cleaning up something, which is why the CG always looked so nice. We made reservations through Outdoor Rec, and they allowed us only 14 days. They said the host would know we wanted a full month and fix the reservation when we arrived. Unsurprisingly, the note wasn't passed on, but Betsy ran back to her camper to use her desktop, and 20 minutes later we had the month-long stay we originally requested. We didn't use the laundry facility but it looked spotless. There was a small rack to trade books inside. The boys loved the playgrounds at the entrance, and we loved sending them there. Before arriving I called Outdoor Rec and Security Forces to ask about the X-Ray. Both gave me the answer that they weren't sure, but they thought we usually had to go to the X-Ray. I don't think the airman manning the gate really wanted us to go through because he had it blocked on the far end. Since the entrance was open, we went through that way and it wasn't a big deal at all. Noise is constant; look at Google Maps and you'll see you're near the end of the runway. Jet noise didn't bother us, but the 0700 reveille and 2200 taps did. Other bases have them at friendlier hours that weren't as disruptive. It usually woke us up in the morning, even with the a/c running full blast over our heads. One thing that was different from the military CGs we've visited the last 2 years of full-timing: when our plans changed and we had to leave 2 days early, we were offered a credit for future use instead of a refund. Not a big deal, but after being issued refunds at other military CGs we were a bit surprised the policy is different here. The base is convenient enough to downtown, and we had a great time exploring the old city. There are plenty of stores and restaurants in North Charleston; we highly recommend Istanbul Shish Kabob Buffet if you stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2018

Camp Host was Wonderful! Brought area guides and maps right to our RV and gave us useful information. Great price and location. MWR even changed our reservation dates on short notice. The campground is clean, quiet and very close to several playgrounds and showers. The showers were clean and private. I recommend the back gate when entering with your RV. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 May 2018

This is a wonderful campground. My husband and I spent a week there in a 31 ft trailer. The host met us as we pulled in and lead us to our site. She gave us time to get set up then came back to do the paperwork and offered guide books and info on the area. The lots are nice sized with concrete pads, full hookups and picnic tables. The bathhouse/showers were super clean as was the laundry room. 2 washers and 2 dryers $1.25/load. There's a nice area to walk dogs and a playground next to the campground for kids. Commissary and exchange are not far from the campground and easy assess to Charleston. We definitely will be going back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 20-27, 2017

Parks earn their reputation on great hosts. The JB Park has great hosts and the park reflects it. These people do a great job and always checking to see if all is Ok. Thanks for making the park and our stay great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 31 - Aug 13, 2017

We will be packing up tomorrow, then Sunday we leave for our next destination. As I was taking my morning walk, I began to think about what to write in my departing review - nothing came to mind. Just about everything you can think of, helpful information and dirty laundry, has already been posted in other reviews. I can say, that once again, we had a great time at JB Charleston - despite the rain. There have been no physical changes to the park and it remains well-groomed. As I re-entered the park from my walk, I noticed the host going about a host’s duties. I approached the host and asked about something I saw the day before when an active-duty member in uniform was walking around the park depositing little white tapered cylinders in the water puddles. I thought I knew the answer but wanted to make sure – I was right, it was part of a comprehensive mosquito control program on the base. The host shared a lot of interesting information about the mosquito control program. I have never seen anything like that before in my life. This “ole dog” learned a new trick while interacting with “small talk”. I suppose mentioning a problem we had with the electrical pedestal shortly after we unhooked and the offer by the host to help us move to another site could be considered a nice gesture worthy of mention. We really appreciated the offer but declined it. We checked-in at the FamCamp the day-after the special event concert. The FamCamp was empty and closed on the day of the concert. RV’ers slowly trickled in during the following few days. Now, it looks like they’re back to their normal occupancy rate. Gosh, it’s hard to come up with anything else so I’ll just mention a general thing about our other activities. There were two remaining POI’s to visit on our “to do” list, they are going be added to our “next-time to do” list. One of the POI’s that we wanted to visit is the Fireman’s Museum in North Charleston. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 30 - August 13, 2017

We are in our first week of a two week stay at JB Charleston and wanted to post two pieces of information that could have time-sensitive attributes for folks planning a trip to JB Charleston. Please be aware that we are not speaking for the management of the RV Park. First, as you may already know, August 21st is a BIG, BIG opportunity to enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime phenomenal event, the total eclipse. And we are sure you know that Charleston, SC is one of the premier east coast viewing sites to enjoy the event. As of today, it is my understanding that no special considerations are being planned for the anticipated large influx of folks wanting a RV site. It will be business as normal – no reservations accepted, provide sites in either the FHU or overflow areas. The second piece of information is directed toward folks that may be planning a trip to JB Charleston during the latter part of the year. There are approved plans to expand the number of sites in the newer FHU section of the park. There is no known starting date for the construction to begin, other than, later this year. In any case, it is anticipated that the newer section will be closed during the construction period. We will try to keep you updated if we hear anything more about those two points.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 29- July 13, 2017

This was the first time we have camped at any military installation and was really surprised ! Connie and Vic (the camp host) were awesome ! They run this FAMCAMP as if it were their very own. Everything was so very clean and they showed each camper real "southern hospitality". We definitely will be camping here again!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 14, 2017

This FAMCAMP is probably the best campsite in the military system. My wife and I have had the pleasure of Camp Hosting for two seasons. It was a pleasure serving our active duty and retirees. The camp is soon to have seven new sites added and the overflow will be upgraded to full service hook ups bringing up to fifty full hook up sites. Long term sites are no longer available and all sites are on a first come first serve fourteen day stays. If site is available at the fourteenth day an extension for another fourteen days is accommodated. Camp Hosting here is great. If you are interested in camp hosting at this site drop off a resume at the Outdoor Recreation Office or email via their website; https://www.jbcharlestonorc.com/contact For more info log into Facebook below; https://m.facebook.com/JB-Charleston-Outdoor-Rec-Center-141871509170932/ 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

This was our first time here. I was impressed. We found the Fampcamp easy enough. The office was closed and there was a sign to see the camp host at site 42. I could not determine where site 42 was. Fortunately, the camp host was walking across right in front of us. She told us where we could go and she would stop by in a bit after we set up. She was pleasant and helpful. We stayed three days and it was very nice for the price. We did not notice, or search for, any politics of the place. We did not notice any obvious homesteading. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 20-26, 2017

The host met us as we pulled into the campground. She escorted us to our site. The host checked us in and assisted us in parking. This is a very nice campground. It is one of the best Family Campgrounds we have stayed. The sites are large and very clean. WiFi works well. The old hosts came by to visit and they are very personable. They are leaving soon however the new host and her husband will be as good a replacement as they can find. The host came by a few times and goes out of her way to help in any way she can. As soon as a camper leaves she and her husband clean the vacated site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 14 - 22, 2017

It is great to be back at JB Charleston and once again enjoy the many POI’s around the Charleston area. We were cheerfully greeted and checked-in by Vic & Connie. As mentioned in another review, they are super people and really put a lot of effort into maintaining the grounds and facilities. Most importantly, they seem to enjoy what they are doing and exceed the hospitality we have experienced at other military campgrounds. Like all good things, eventually they come to an end – Vic & Connie will be leaving in August for a new adventure in Texas. The homesteaders that set up residence in the wooded area sites are no longer here. It’s nice to visit a military RV park that promotes “recreational” use versus long term housing. Also, when we were coming aboard the base we went through the inspection lane at the Rivers gate. The gate guard told us that privately-owned RV’s are no longer required to go through the inspection lane and we could also use the Dorchester main gate entrance. I would be a little cautious bringing an RV through the Dorchester gate, the trees along the entrance circle have some low branches – ouch to some rooftop equipment. When we visit JB Charleston we usually travel on US-17, because we enjoy the scenery, and use I-526 then exit at Exit 16B going toward the Charleston Airport. We then turn right onto Aviation Blvd. and follow it to the Rivers Gate. We like this route because it takes us by the Boeing Plant. It’s quite a sight (POI) to see all the new Boeing passenger planes in the final stages of manufacture with different foreign country airline colors. And finally, don’t forget the low-country cuisine, once you try it you will want to come back to JB Charleston. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 14-17, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Charleston AFB RV Park. We arrived on a Sunday and were promptly greeted by the camp hosts, Connie and Victor who saw us approaching and were out of their rv as we pulled up. Connie took me in a golf cart to select a site which was an easy back in with partial shade. While JB Charleston does not accept reservations, Connie assured me that no one is turned away - they have several dry camping sites and will find "somewhere" for you to park. The location, close to the interstates and downtown Charleston is ideal. We hope to use this facility in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10-14 May 2017

This was our 1st time RV camping and staying at a Famcamp. It seems to me that we found one of the best famcamps available. We were immediately welcomed by Connie and Vic, Taken to our clean, woodsy campsite and checked in. Vic guided us into the space and explained the hook ups. Connie and Vic made sure we had everything we needed for a great visit ....even offered treats to our dog. Since we live only a couple hours away, we hope to visit Charleston famcam often. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6-10 May 2017

This place just keeps getting better. Unfortunately, that also means it is getting busier! Had to stay in overflow (water and electric) the first night but were able to move to a full hook up site about 0930 the next morning. Camp hosts (Connie and Victor) did a fantastic job. As soon as people would pull out, they actually came over and cleaned up the site, blowing off the pads and even wiping down the tables. Nice size sites in a great location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2, 2017

We've stayed at military campgrounds all over the US and have rarely enjoyed such a nice combination of location, hospitality and value. The campground is beautifully laid out and maintained. It's in a lovely wooded location, with large, level sites. Sites have large concrete parking slabs and interior roads are paved. Bath houses are very clean and well maintained. The hosts, Victor and Connie, are friendly, professional and helpful. At $23/night, this FamCamp is a great campground and a great value!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 3rd-9th 2017

Great experience! The campsite has exceptional amenities, large/level concrete pads, shade, low sewer hookups, convenient to Exchange and Commissary, about a 25 minute drive to downtown Charleston. Best part were the Camp Hosts, knowledgeable, friendly, efficient, but not intrusive. The bath houses and grounds were spotless and super clean, all the infrastructure worked well. We were worried when first arrived because the main campground was full and we had to go to the overflow sites w/o sewer hookup for one night. The camp hosts were able to juggle to accommodate everyone to their satisfaction in spite of a heavy influx of campers, the no reservation policy does work! This is the best campground we have used in our years of camping.

Was this review helpful to you? 
66 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4