Falcon's Nest FamCamp

New
 
3.7 (48)
67466 1 17 0 19

User reviews

48 reviews

 
(9)
 
(22)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.9  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (48)
Value 
 
3.7  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
48 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Being first time campers we were nervous about backing in, and honestly had no clue how to hook up and get started. Troun came out and helped with everything. Bless his heart he had phones ringing, other campers asking questions and customers waiting for rental equipment but he took a few minutes to talk us through it and give us a map of the base as well. We stayed here for a few months and no internet aside I had the best time. The community feeling here has been unmatched to this day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Spring 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As I use this facility 3 to 4 times a year, Shaw AFB FAMCAMP is an outstanding facility. They have added sites, repaired sewer systems and it has become a great place to stay. I would like to take the time to recognize the employees that work this facility. Over the past 10 years or so, I have met them all and TRON is one of the best I have seen. He has always taken care of any issues and is a asset to the organization. His customer service attitude is fantastic and he really cares about providing the best service to the customers that use this facility. Great place to stay, great people, and I'm looking forward to return in the spring for my annual spring trip!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This USAF FAMCAMP is in desperate need of help. The gentleman running the facility is friendly enough and helpful but the campground has so many issues with needed work order completion that it is an embarrassment for an AF facility to be listed in the Frequent Camper/FAMCAMP directory. My assigned spot w/ full hook-up (21) had a gushing water leak that I only realized when another camper told me about it (wasn't warned). When I reported it I was told that the work order was in for about 3-4 months. I shouldn't have been charged for a full hook up and given that spot. The water fountains in the clubhouse also broken. No WiFi. No TV hook ups. There were some campers who look to be homesteaders with junk around their campers - eye sore. This could be a nice campground. Staff needs help to get things fixed. Only thing going is that the gentleman running the OUTDOOR REC office is friendly and appears to be hard working but needs help with the operation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at the FamCamp for about 3 weeks in our 37-foot motorhome. All the sites are back-ins and it wasn’t an issue even in the older sites where we were. We found Tim and Troun to be extremely helpful, friendly, and caring hosts. To give an example, we needed to get some warranty work done on the motorhome and Troun gave us a card of an RV tech and the repairs were done quickly and properly. The older site pads need some work, but we preferred them because of the shade they provide from the hot, summertime South Carolina sun. Note to the command of the 20th Force Support Squadron, Group, and 20th Fighter Wing, it appears the FamCamp is viewed as a cash cow without much reinvestment into the infrastructure. There is so much potential to move this from a good location to a premier location. Being full-timer RVers, we would stay here again because of our wonderful hosts.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7-8 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Not the best for RV’s, Needs a lot of TLC. Had reservation, office was closed when arriving, only two spots open. Parked in the new section, lots of room on New concrete pads, backing in was a problem with vehicles parked on the road. When checking in next morning, staff member who said he runs the RV camp stated it would cost over $20,000 to have WIFIinstalled, hard to believe. Nothing else at the camp area, main base is on other side of runway, jets(sound of freedom) flying most of the day, otherwise not bad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16 - 19 November 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
While taking my Great Grand Son and dogs for a walk around the campground 2 big dogs got loose and tried to attack my dogs. The Great Grand Son who is 2 1/2 years old was totally terrifies by the experience. I report this to the base police and to the campground management. The people who own the dogs left them in the trailer with their children alone. These are long term campers that I know have been at the base for over 2 years. So I guess the new rules are not being Enforced. To bad as this is otherwise a nice Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
4 September 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The new sites are open and some of the homesteaders have left so it was easy getting a reservation. The new sites were very nice, flat and all services in the correct spot (Old site have the sewer up front and the power and water in the rear). Still think this campground needs a Campground Host to clean it up. The people they have working try, but, our really consumed with all the other rec gear they have to take care of. Where a host could concentrate on the RV Park and Facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is one of the worst RV locations I have encountered in a long time. The sites are not big rig friendly, RV sites flood when it rains, and for the number of sites the restroom facilities are inadequate. One male and one female facility for more than 30 sites. Sites as of 6/19/17 were 14 foot wide and maybe 22 foot long. Facility only useful for bumper type campers less than 25 foot long.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
April 13 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It's a long way around when the commercial gate is closed. And currently that is at 18:00 on weekdays and on weekends. If these folks are leaving 1 May there is no evidence yet most site are filled will long term quests. The new site look almost done. They've planted grass and paved so I guess the utilities are in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They are finally getting this famcamp straightened out. All the people that are currently there have to be gone by 1 May 2017. They are also adding 10 new sites which should open up sometime in June. They still have work to do on the bath house and wifi, but, at least they are making an effort. Some of the people have been their since 2013???
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
February 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I'm amazed at the tagline for this campground: "Falcon's Nest FamCamp is the newest top-of-the-line Famcamp in Air Combat Command." Nothing could be further from the truth. In the daylight, this place looks like a run-down trailer park. We wanted to break up our trip back from Orlando, Florida, to our home in Hampton Roads, Virginia. Falcon's Nest was an ideal stopping point. I called about a month before we even left for Orlando, and Tron took my reservation information. Unlike other military campgrounds, he didn't ask for a deposit, which is the only reason I didn't give just one star for "Cleanliness/Hospitality". I was asking for two sites, but at the time he only had one, but would let me know if another opened up. Fast forward to a week before we left Orlando. Called Tron and he said we had site #12 and a gravel dry site that had power. That was fine. He said to call him when we were close to the base so he could meet us there and show us where the gravel site was (we were arriving around 9pm on a Saturday). I began calling him 30 minutes before we arrived and kept getting his voice mail. Never did reach him, nor did he ever call back, not even the next day to make sure we got settled in ok. We arrived, and unlike all other military campgrounds, there was nothing posted on the campground building: no open site list, no map, no instructions - nothing. I literally got out and walked around looking for site #12 and this so-called gravel site. I found #12 and had my son-in-law back into that. WARNING! Power and sewer are at the very front of the site. My son-in-law's camper's utilities are at the back. Fortunately I pack a 50' RV extension cord, so he was good. However, I never did find that gravel site. I ended up pulling into a grassy area and hooked up to someone else's 30amp outlet after running my own extension cord. Comparing this to other military campgrounds I've stayed at for the same price, this place is lacking in everything. Sites are unlevel with only a small concrete pad for your picnic table; power and sewer at the front of the site, with the sewer "connection" being a non-standard large-diameter pipe with a rock shoved in it as its cover; no lighting, so if you arrive at night - good luck; entire place sorely lacking in upkeep/maintenance. In their defense, there is significant construction taking place adjacent to the existing sites where they're adding a dozen or so new sites. Walking around them shows lessons learned, at least for the power and sewer connections - they're more in the middle of the site. Maybe work is being dedicated to the expansion and in the future they'll redo the existing sites. I have to wonder what they'll do with the 10-12 permanent residents that are directly across the road from the campground building. When I say permanent, I mean PERMANENT! There was one camper that's so permanent that he has THREE sheds and some kind of fenced in storage thing with tarps over it - possible pet cage? If so, must be a horse because the cage must measure 6'x6'x6'. Also, he has at least two utility trailers behind his camper, a bird bath, rock garden, and clothes lines. A real dump. Other permanent residents have permanent steps installed and alike. Based on complete failure to follow up and show me where that "gravel" site was, the overall condition of the campground, and the host of permanent residents, a lot has to be changed before I stay there again or recommend it to anyone. I expect a LOT more for an Air Force Base. If Falcon's Nest needs comparisons, try Kings Bay Georgia and Jacksonville NAS: both campgrounds have sites for less than $20, have FULL concrete slabs, well-lit, very clean, very well maintained, free internet and CATV, after-hours hosts, after-hours check-in booth, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Good place to stay back in 2005 through 2012...now it is a full time trailer park for base residences. Mostly the army personnel that has been added to the base. One of the best golf courses you will find on a military base. But that don't matter if you can't get a site because of the long term folk. We are talking two years here! That's what they told us. You can't be mad at the people who are doing it. Its the management that is allowing it and not following rules that are mostly every where you go. BUILD a long term camp ground if you need one. Don't rob the rest of us of our earned benefits as 20 year plus service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 1
Feb 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The base location is convenient to I-95 N/S. We pulled in after hours and there were only 2 open sites, with all the others appearing to be taken up by full time residents. The sites in general had the allure of a mobile home park and were very tight. All sites are back ins, but we had to pull in as the W/Elec pole was 4 ft high and right on the edge of the concrete pad; blocking our slide. The sewer connection was at the front, next to the road. Access to the sewer was found by moving a large rock and then draping the hose into an open hole about 8” wide. Road access to the base and CG was all nicely paved. We didn’t have a chance to use Wi-Fi or any other amenities. We stayed in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a little late and I am not sure of the exact dates. This is a very nice campground with new updates. We were there for a couple of nites. The camp host was great and helped us and provided great information and a map of the base. I would recommend staying here anytime.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well maintained, dedicated staff, exceptionally clean laundry, showers and rec area. Love the on base Golf course, have stayed there 6 or 8 times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7-14 Jun 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice staff and good location. Grounds were trashy and the office was very dirty and cluttered. Electrical box was barely attached to pole. Overall, seems to be suffering from a lack of management, and/or maintenance resources.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 14-17, 2013
(Updated: May 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Best access to the famcamp is entering through the back/commercial gate. Coming from Sumter on Hwy 378, the back gate is the 1st gate on the right. You do not have to use the commercial side of the gate. Back gate closes at 10pm. After passing through the gate, take a left at the light. Follow road (Patrol/Perimeter Rd) around gate and tree line for approximately 1 mile. FamCamp will be on your right. We arrived after hours, but had reservations, knew our site number and got settled. There is a note on the door if you arrive after hours to pick any open site and see them in the morning. However, they take reservations and your site may be occupied when you arrive. FamCamp was full while we were there, make sure you make reservations. There are several active duty in the park. The sites are long and narrow. Make sure you have plenty of sewer hose, most are in the front of the site where electric and water are in the back. There are lots of trees, you may or may not get satelite. We have a portable satelite and were just fine. There is a fabulous 1.5 mile paved walking trail that goes around the ball fields and the famcamp! Nice commissary and PX. Did not use restrooms or showers. We were there in a 40' 5th wheel. We would definately stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
29 Aug to 5 Sep 2012
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Although off the beaten path, Shaw AFB is worth the extra mileage. The camp ground is located on the base which gives you access to the PX/Commissary and other facilities. There are numerous merchants three miles from the base including many chain restaurants. Sites are shaded and not on top of each other. The facilities are very clean and updated. We were able to get a very nice site over the Labor Day holiday and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great walking path next to the camp ground and an air show almost every day! Bring extra sewer hose! and enjoy!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 01, 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you don't know Shaw AFB then the RV park is very had to find. No signs to the park and and no sign in front of the park. Also, the park is not known as Falcon Nest but FamCamp so the gate MP had to ask and then directed us to where he thought it was. After passing it once, we u-turned and then found it. The park is very clean but the sewer is at the front of the coach and power and water are where they should, aft. Don't know why just bring plenty of sewer hose. The park is a good distance from the BX/PX and Comm. but not a big deal and there are 2 fueling stations. WiFi works great and it is very pleasant. Try this one but make advance reservations because it is small. Semper Fi!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 29, 2012
(Updated: June 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We were very disappointed with the condition and service of this highly rated campground. We arrived around 4 PM to find our assigned campsite (#3) was occupied by a long term camper. No one was in the office to help. A camper helped us with our problem. He told us the vacant site #1 had an odd 30 amp plug and needed an adapter. He was right. It was not the standard 30 amp shore power outlet. I had a 50 amp adapter but no outlet was available. We chose the vacant site #6 and was able to get our choice approved by the person who had returned to the desk. He didn't understand why #3 was occupied. I guess no one gets out and physically confirms site status. The camper in #3 was very surprised that I was assigned his site since he had been there for months. Around 5:20 PM, after setting up in site #6, I went to the mens room I couldn't find any toilet paper. The bath room was clean but the sink plungers where broken, one piece way laying on the shelf. By then the office was locked. Several campers said most of the campground personnel were useless and uncaring. I couldn't believe the state of the picnic area between the campsites and the office building. Obviously, a lot of money was spent planing and completing this area. Now, large barrels of garbage were overflowing, vines have grown over the picnic tables and some of the garbage barrels. Maybe funds ran out to maintain it. If this picnic area has been abandoned, hopefully the equipment could be used somewhere else--such a waste of money. When I made the reservation, Ty was very courteous and helpful in getting this reservation. Tim efficiently completed the details. Overall, we had a good overnight stay. Water, electric, and sewer worked fine. I can see why this sight had high ratings and it's unfortunate that it was allowed to degrade into the condition it is now. With effective management and fixing, this campground could once again be a highly rated destination for us RV'ers and the pride of Shaw AFB MWR. Norm Taylor, Ocala, FL.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
48 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3