Falcon's Nest FamCamp

New
 
3.7 (48)
67466 1 17 0 19

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

48 reviews

 
(9)
 
(22)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.9  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (48)
Value 
 
3.7  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
16 - 19 November 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
While taking my Great Grand Son and dogs for a walk around the campground 2 big dogs got loose and tried to attack my dogs. The Great Grand Son who is 2 1/2 years old was totally terrifies by the experience. I report this to the base police and to the campground management. The people who own the dogs left them in the trailer with their children alone. These are long term campers that I know have been at the base for over 2 years. So I guess the new rules are not being Enforced. To bad as this is otherwise a nice Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
4 September 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The new sites are open and some of the homesteaders have left so it was easy getting a reservation. The new sites were very nice, flat and all services in the correct spot (Old site have the sewer up front and the power and water in the rear). Still think this campground needs a Campground Host to clean it up. The people they have working try, but, our really consumed with all the other rec gear they have to take care of. Where a host could concentrate on the RV Park and Facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 13 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It's a long way around when the commercial gate is closed. And currently that is at 18:00 on weekdays and on weekends. If these folks are leaving 1 May there is no evidence yet most site are filled will long term quests. The new site look almost done. They've planted grass and paved so I guess the utilities are in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Good place to stay back in 2005 through 2012...now it is a full time trailer park for base residences. Mostly the army personnel that has been added to the base. One of the best golf courses you will find on a military base. But that don't matter if you can't get a site because of the long term folk. We are talking two years here! That's what they told us. You can't be mad at the people who are doing it. Its the management that is allowing it and not following rules that are mostly every where you go. BUILD a long term camp ground if you need one. Don't rob the rest of us of our earned benefits as 20 year plus service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 1
Feb 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The base location is convenient to I-95 N/S. We pulled in after hours and there were only 2 open sites, with all the others appearing to be taken up by full time residents. The sites in general had the allure of a mobile home park and were very tight. All sites are back ins, but we had to pull in as the W/Elec pole was 4 ft high and right on the edge of the concrete pad; blocking our slide. The sewer connection was at the front, next to the road. Access to the sewer was found by moving a large rock and then draping the hose into an open hole about 8” wide. Road access to the base and CG was all nicely paved. We didn’t have a chance to use Wi-Fi or any other amenities. We stayed in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7-14 Jun 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice staff and good location. Grounds were trashy and the office was very dirty and cluttered. Electrical box was barely attached to pole. Overall, seems to be suffering from a lack of management, and/or maintenance resources.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 29, 2012
(Updated: June 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We were very disappointed with the condition and service of this highly rated campground. We arrived around 4 PM to find our assigned campsite (#3) was occupied by a long term camper. No one was in the office to help. A camper helped us with our problem. He told us the vacant site #1 had an odd 30 amp plug and needed an adapter. He was right. It was not the standard 30 amp shore power outlet. I had a 50 amp adapter but no outlet was available. We chose the vacant site #6 and was able to get our choice approved by the person who had returned to the desk. He didn't understand why #3 was occupied. I guess no one gets out and physically confirms site status. The camper in #3 was very surprised that I was assigned his site since he had been there for months. Around 5:20 PM, after setting up in site #6, I went to the mens room I couldn't find any toilet paper. The bath room was clean but the sink plungers where broken, one piece way laying on the shelf. By then the office was locked. Several campers said most of the campground personnel were useless and uncaring. I couldn't believe the state of the picnic area between the campsites and the office building. Obviously, a lot of money was spent planing and completing this area. Now, large barrels of garbage were overflowing, vines have grown over the picnic tables and some of the garbage barrels. Maybe funds ran out to maintain it. If this picnic area has been abandoned, hopefully the equipment could be used somewhere else--such a waste of money. When I made the reservation, Ty was very courteous and helpful in getting this reservation. Tim efficiently completed the details. Overall, we had a good overnight stay. Water, electric, and sewer worked fine. I can see why this sight had high ratings and it's unfortunate that it was allowed to degrade into the condition it is now. With effective management and fixing, this campground could once again be a highly rated destination for us RV'ers and the pride of Shaw AFB MWR. Norm Taylor, Ocala, FL.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 1 - 15, 2001
(Updated: June 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As full-time RVers and retired military, we like to stay at military campgrounds whenever possible. The FamCamp at Shaw AFB, SC has full hookups but their hookups were not what campgrounds typically offer. Specifically, the sewer connections are at the front of the site and not next to the power tower and water supply. Above ground piping did not allow for normal connections without some modifications. The FamCamp on-site management team indicated that their fax machine was not working, their copy machine was not working, their ice machine was not working properly, and that they were having trouble getting these items fixed. Power went out 2 times in a two week period, too. And, one day while in the FamCamp office getting ice, I was told that the power would probably be going out that afternoon and could be out for up to 2 days. I asked management if they were planning on letting the other campers know of this and they indicated they would let others know as soon as they could ... they could not leave the office unattended while telling other campers. The good news ... power did not go out. Overall, the campground needs much improvement starting with sewer hookups. Ice machine needs to be repaired if the FamCamp is advertising free ice for campers. The air base is beautiful and the BX and commissary are outstanding. I have downloaded pictures for viewing if interested. The FamCamp management team could use more monetary support.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 2010
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Overall not bad, quiet and clean. Nice lobby, Good sized fenced dog park, very friendly people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
July 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The most positive thing is that there are great things to do in the area. We really enjoyed visiting some of the historical sites. Otherwise, we stayed at the campground 3 nights. While the campground seemed clean, they really needed to have someone improve the laundry room. The staff seemed pleasant, but not very friendly. They do have a great office building! We were surprised at the speed of driving (including the security police) around the campground. No way someone could have stopped if one of the small children ran out into the road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 20 - 22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We liked the area, enjoyed the base. The RV site was a bit small when trying to back a 5th wheel in. Ten feet wide is a bit smaller than most RV sites. The sewer hook up was the worst one we've ever encountered. We have traveled all over the USA and never ever seen one like it in any RV park military or civilian and I'd have to question if it was all within code specs. The PVC 6 inch pipe from the rear of the site leading to the actual sewer dump located at the front of the site, (PVC was about 20 feet long). The PVC pipe was constructed with two 10 foot 6 inch pipes connecting them with a T connector with 90 degree elbows on each end. None of the joints were glued and could be taken apart if needed. Needless to say, from a sanitary standpoint if you use the system there and the pipe came apart for whatever reason then you'd have one big mess to clean up and I'm sure the Famcamp and base would have to get involved. Suggestion...disconnect the pipe and set it aside then get the proper hoses and connectors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1 April to 9 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We had requested site 21 and we were disappointed. Electrical box was taped to a poll and the cover was on the ground. Site was so narrow that my awning touched my neighbors slideout. My campground grill was directly below my neighbors bedroom slideout so I could not use it. After arriving on Thursday we had to wait till Monday to have the grass cut and trimmed. It was also our unfortunate bad luck to have arrived at the time they were having the worst "pollen storm" from all of the pine trees. My only qualms about the staff is that they were (in my opinion) not putting enough pressure on maintenance to correct defects e.g. electrical, water outlets and sewage.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12