Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (112)
116928 1 18 0 50

User reviews

69 reviews with 5 stars

112 reviews

 
(69)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (112)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (112)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (112)
Value 
 
4.4  (112)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (112)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
69 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
April thru October 2011
(Updated: October 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This facility is one of the best my wife and I have stayed at. The camp host "Doc" is extremely helpful and friendly and makes you feel like you are very important and wants you to have a pleasant stay. The girls at ITT are also good to deal with and on the ball. Very clean, maintained regularly and commissary/NEX are a minute away. movies and gym are a minute away and they are now combining VA healthcare facilities in the area which makes this a very convenient and worthwhile spot to stay while in Charleston. I read a review where a gent complained of some semi perms. We were there visiting our son and stayed for 5 months! Not sure what his beef was regarding individuals who are on the ball enough to make reservations in advance if they want to stay longer than a weekend or so. Quit complaining. This place is top notch and is highly recommended to every active and retired military family. We will be back and will stay like we did last time. Kudos to Doc and the ITT staff for doing an excellent job at this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 5-12, 2011
(Updated: October 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my third trip here! It doesn't change. It is a great place to relax and tour Charleston. I was stationed at the Sub Base (long gone) back in 1965. So many changes! You don't even see alligators in the streets anymore! I am heading north while everyone else is going south. I'll possibly return in December on my way back to Florida! Doc, the Camp Host, is very helpful and as friendly as possible. If nothing else, look for me next spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1-4 September 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Foster Creek, and it continues to be a great value and a wonderful base for exploring Charleston. The campground was very clean and orderly, and the host couldn't have been more helpful. There are many homesteaders who have pretty permanent setups that seem to violate the campground rules that we received on check-in, but we have not had any difficulty getting reservations as long as we call a couple of weeks in advance. We will continue to stay here whenever we come to Charleston.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Septmber 15-18, 2011
(Updated: September 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to stay! Foster Creeks convenient location to nearby Charleston and historic sites like Fort Sumpter (where the Civil war began) makes this a perfect place to land. One drawback to this park is the large number of "semi permanent" residents, which causes a long waiting list to get a site here. Reservations must be made well in advance. I would like to see limits placed on these long term RVers so that weekenders and short time campers and travelers can get a site here, and not be squeezed out by the folks who spend months at a time here. Campgrounds were very quiet, and peaceful. Be aware that base security conducts vehicle/ID checks randomly as you enter the MenRiv housing area enroute to the RV Park, so make sure you have proper DOD ID with you at all times, including passengers. Campgrounds were immaculate, grounds were well manicured, facilities clean. Camp host is friendly and helpful for the most part, but isn't prepared to solve any real issues. Campground Manager, however, was spot on helpful to resolve any and all issues anyone had. Roof mounted satellite TV RV's should stay away from sites 1, 2 and possibly 3, as large pine trees will block signals. NEX Gas station prices were the same as those off base, so do not expect and savings there, and be aware that the gas station overhead is very low, just a bit over 12 feet. The personnel at the ITT center are very helpful and there are many deals on tickets available for the Charleston area. Make this one of your "must to go to spots". Navy Exchange is conveniently located as you exit the housing area, and the Commissary is not far down the road. Absolutely no firearms are allowed in the Foster Creek Campground, or anywhere on the base for that matter. We very much enjoyed our 4 day stay at Foster Creek, and will be returning to enjoy this campgrounds again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14 - 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: A nice & convenient campground. We didn't use any campground facilities so can't comment on them. Camp host was on site and friendly and got us situated right away. No problem with satellite access. The campground is NOT in a secured area nor are most of the NEX facilities; neither is the commissary. One final note: the NEX gas station has a lower than normal overhang - if your rig is more than 12'2" WATCH OUT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14-19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: Nice RV Park, cordial camp host, quiet, neat. NEX laundry was $1.00 for wash and about $1.00 for total drying time. The NEX gas station has an overhang of about 12'4" - we cleared it by maybe 2 " TOPS. BE VERY CAREFUL when re-fueling here. RV Park is NOT in a secured area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 1 through May 31, 2011
(Updated: June 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Foster Creek during the month of May 2011. As full-time RVers, we consider this RV campground to be excellent. While we were very close to the campers next to us, there was nothing we or campground management could do about that since it was a mobile home park in days gone by. In fact, another visitor, who was staying in the Foster Creek Villas, walked over to our site and told us that when he was in the Navy, he and his family lived on our site in a mobile home a long time ago. We thought that was interesting. We found the other campers very friendly. It would be nice to have more sites available for campers and less for permanent campers. We were very surprised to see so many RVers moving from site to site ... don't really know why. But, all-in-all, we had fun and would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Spring 2011
(Updated: March 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really like this RV park and have stayed at it several times (when we've been able to get a reservation). I read some remarks about "homesteaders" and have to admit that I am interested in hearing how the system works because there do seem to be more than several sites occupied by the same people for extended periods of time. I'm guessing some are active duty military, but aside from them, how do other folks get approved to stay for such long periods? If the RV park is monetarily beneficial to the base, maybe some of the land that has been cleared of old housing could be used to enlarge the RV park (and wouldn't an adjoining dog park be wonderful?). With so many baby boomers retiring, those who are RVers and qualified to use base facilities could really enjoy more space availability at Foster Creek. Its such a nice location and winters are mild. My husband and I hope to winter-over at Foster Creek next year if the policy actually allows that. The policy regarding how long RVers can stay needs to be included in the information about Foster Creek on this website to eliminate speculation about nepatism, favoritism, lack of rules, or rules just not being followed. Also, we have interacted with three current/past campground hosts and have found all of them to be friendly and not the least overbearing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 24 - Oct. 4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: As many have stated this is an excellent location to see the sights of Charleston. During my stay the Weapons Station combined with the Air Force base. It has yet to be seen what changes this will bring about. This is a very nice park, the grounds are in excellent condition. The bath house is dated, however, they are in excellent condition and clean. The laundry could use a few more machines as they only have 3 washers and dryers. There is a Coin Laundry available at the exchange mini-store. Would visit again in a heartbeat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Septermber 2010
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Foster Creek, is like coming home to see an old friend. Quit, clean, an friendly neighbors. Big commissary, free movies on the weekends. Close to Charlestown, so much to see and do. And new, 12 more camping spaces, and street lights. The management does read our reviews! Hope to come back many time again. Thank you commander and staff, you should be proud of every one that makes this camp ground a success.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice quiet campground tucked behind base housing. We were met by the camp host who asked about pets and told us to put nothing on the grass, pointed out the bath/laundry house and left us to set up. We are here for 5 nights to see the area and had no trouble getting reservations probably because it is August!! We are surprised at the number of homesteaders vs actual available sites for travelers/tourists. It's a problem at a lot of places but the ratio here seems mighty high. The bath/showers were clean and well cared for! Sites are long and we had no neighbors on the adjacent sites on either side of us, so it was very nice and roomy. Convenient for sightseeing and the usual base facilities (although we haven't found the commissary yet). Would stay again.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 17 - Aug 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I had an enjoyable stay while there. The camp is convenient to everything on and off base and only about 30 minutes from the beaches. They do need to review their weapons policy. Weapons are not allowed period. For full time rv,ers this is a real problem. When I asked about hunting and staying at the park I was told that I would have to store weapons off post and could only transport them to the hunting site with no stops on the way. Other than that one complaint our stay there was excellent and we would probably go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 22nd - 27th, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While we only stayed for a few days it was great, made reservations over the phone and was given a spot. When we arrived after we got set up the Camp Host stopped by said hello and asked if we had any questions. The spots were long and clean. Every thing was easy to get too, commissary, Nex & ITT. ITT had all the discount tours one could ask for, but check prices sometimes your senior discount is better then the military. Nice laundry and showers. I would stay again but next time longer even in the heat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9-13 June, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our visit to Foster Creek and will return again when it's a little cooler. Although the campground host did not come around to say hi, it was apparent that he has been working to keep this park looking good. The grounds looked well taken care of as did the bathroom facilities. Although the campground is tucked away behind military housing, which is off base, I thought this to be a plus. Secluded behind everything helps keep people from just riding through the campground when they have no business there. Getting to anything in Charleston was a breeze. There are plenty of areas to ride bikes street or mountain as well as good hiking trails. We found everyone we came into contact with to be pleasant and helpful and drivers to be very courteous to bicyclist. ITT has discounted tickets for nearly everything to do in Charleston and is very convenient to the campground. This was a very good value for the price, full hookups and the plus of WIFI. Thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 14th to the 17th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very nice park. Well maintained concrete padded sites with generous space. The park is outside, but adjacent to, the Base limits so no Gates to deal with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 19th thu 26th 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our second visit, John is a great help. There was a mix up on where we were to be, but John was there to our rescue. Yes, they have sewer, water, elec, washers, dryers, and clean rest room. But no street lights, gets vary dark at night. Paved roads, paved parking spaces, free movies on Thu Fri Sat Sun night. Charleston is only 1/2 hour away, and tickets for most attractions can be bought on base at a great discount. The Air Force base up the road a bit has breakfast and dinner at lower then McDonald prices. I see why so many campers just what to stay. We will be back, and thank you for a great visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our first stay @ Foster Creek and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. John does run a tight ship, but it makes for a pleasant stay. The campground is clean & quiet thanks to him and his management. Our 12 year old grandson is traveling with us for the summer and he had a ball watching the gators! We found the drive to Charleston nice. The roads are easy to navigate, traffic isn't bad and the view is awesome. Lots of sights to see...Ft. Sumter, Boone Hall Plantation, U.S.S. Yorktown, etc. We will be back every chance we get! Thank you John ;-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The park was great....but the drive into Charleston to go to the Yorktown Naval Museum was less than enjoyable..the road was rough and convoluted.....the on base facilities was spread out and to take our granddaughters to the pool required that we pay....whats up with that? It was 102 the two days we were there.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed our visit and would return AND will call ahead for reservations. It was a pleasure this time to have a campground host visible and working there. John was available for questions/help and monitored the rules. Unlike last year we didn't see the host for 3 days and he was across from us. This time we saw John walking the dog(and setting the example of picking up after) or drive thru or around monitoring area. We had a guest drive thru too fast and he let us know-that is okay cuz I hate to be in parks when people do drive thru so fast and no one stops them! Just finished a review for Ft. Hood that we always have to clean up the site when we go in due to cigarette butts and trash bits and dog poop- these grounds are immaculate! Where else can you have Al the alligator for a neighbor across the bridge! Convenient to all areas of Charleston and much better electric service than the Air Force Base. Thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb till present (May 2009)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have something to say about the last comment. I have been here for several months and I have had no problems at this site. As for John (park host) he is only following the rules that comes along with being a Host! All he asks is that you clean up your cig butts and clean up after your animals, if you don't want to follow the rules then go to a site that is filthy and lets you do these things. This campground has repeat guests and they come back because of John, He is like family to all of us. He only has his daughter and son in law here, and his son in law is retired from the Navy after 22 years and has every right to stay here, family or not. Almost everyone in this park are friendly, unlike some of u that think u are high an mighty who won't even raise a finger to say HI. There are people here active duty from 0-6 officers to enlisted personnel who treat us all like regular people regardless of what you for work, this campground is a very nice campground and for the people that complain just by following a few lil rules then don't come back,,,it is people like you that make the world ugly...we are very happy here and with John and I write for all the people at the Foster Creek Park that are happy here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
69 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4