Wateree Recreation Area

 
4.6 (31)
131870   1   38   3   54

User reviews

7 reviews with 4 stars

31 reviews

 
(22)
 
(7)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.7  (31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (31)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (31)
Value 
 
4.6  (31)
Overall Experience 
 
4.6  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
December 22-23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by for a couple nights stay. I've heard good things about this place and needed to check it out. Being in the "off season", it was quiet and slow. But I can see this being a busy location during the summer. Not a large recreation area, but it has most of what you need for a fun outing along the lake. Staff was very friendly. Some of the facilities are starting to get old and it shows. But they do the best they can with them. Only a few RV campers and a couple cabins rented this weekend. Too bad the WiFi isn't free, but our Verizon worked fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
March 2012
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is primarily a short-stay, boating and fishing facility for Shaw AFB. (Crappie fishing was great while we were there.) However, it is certainly suitable for snow birds who want to stay near a lake in a moderate winter climate. It can drop below freezing in winter, so be prepared to drip the water when the weather report so predicts. And Curt and his staff are energetic and highly motivated to make it a great experience for everyone, regardless. The laundry facility is minimal (2 small stacked units that were not very clean) so we drove into Camden to "Spin City" to do the wash. It was a convenient time to stock up on groceries, also, so not a real problem. The bathhouses are old, but serviceable, however they never had hand soap or towels stocked. WiFi is expensive, but 3G and telephone signals were fine, and we used a smart phone for internet connection. You can do pretty much anything with that except view Netflix. Over the air HD was good, and was not difficult to find a clear spot to point a satellite dish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
October 5, 2010
(Updated: October 06, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just stopped in for an overnight during a trip. We were impressed by the friendly reception when we called in and when we arrived. We were told by the office that the contract has been approved to add sewer to the sites, and also to expand the number of sites. New sites are to have cement pads under the tables also. He said that by next year, the campground "will be bigger and better". The floating docks have apparently been recently replaced, and additional new floating units are stacked in the area, apparently for expansion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 7 and 8, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.M. left this review using the Directory software: Nice place, good staff (what few I saw) arrived around noon on a Tuesday, departed around 10 AM on Thursday, bath house never cleaned, glad I had my own toilet paper. Floats in swimming area needs too be replaced. general off season maintenance needs of be accomplished. May return again. Ret MSgt.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 26-27 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived early afternoon of Tuesday after the long Memorial Day weekend...very quiet with only about five RVs in the campground. No problem finding a site. The manager was friendly and helpful. What a beautiful setting...a large, hilly recreation area sprinkled with tall pines sitting on a sparkling lake. And did I mention quiet...peaceful...serene? Glorious after a day on the road. But the size and capacity of this recreation area is such that I don't think we'd like to be here on a major holiday weekend. The manager said it had been a very busy Memorial Day weekend with all the cabins full, tenters, and RVers, not to mention lots of day-trippers out for water activities, a picnic, or BBQ. The concrete pads are not level but, on site R11, we leveled up with only about three inches of lift on the back wheels. Other sites looked as though they might be about the same amount off-kilter. Each electric box is set up for 50/30/20 amp connections and was 124 volts ac at the power post. The bath house was clean. There are adequate toilets but only one shower each in the mens & womens sides. This is the only bath house to serve a large recreation area so, on a busy weekend, there might be a few folks standing in line for the facilities. This was a one night stop for us on the drive home from West Virginia, but I could definitely see spending some quality time here to do some lake fishing which, the manager said, is pretty good here. I did throw a lure into the lake around dusk and got one little small mouth bass and a sunfish for my efforts. But I think a serious effort from a boat might yield some good results. Oh yes, they do rent boats...both self powered and motor powered. The boat pier in front of the office is a floating dock made up of plastic modules. Many of those modules have broken tops (the walking surfaces) which can be dangerous, both as a trip hazard and a cut/scrape/puncture hazard to barefoot or flip flop wearing folks. Considering how well-kept everything else is, the poor condition of the dock was a surprise. I hope MWR will put this at the top of their maintenance list before someone gets hurt. Our Sprint cell phone and 3G EVDO Internet Access Card both had great signal, so we had high speed Internet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
13 Feb 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We did a drive through visit of the Wateree Recreation Area today (2-13-09). It is about nine miles south of Camden, SC just off SC-97. Adjacent to the Campground entrance is a huge state owned boat launching area that is excellent condition and is free. All the parking there is paved and there must be a hundred parking spots there for your truck and boat trailer. We found the Wateree Rec Area in excellent condition. Everything was open and we checked it all out. Had a nice talk with the park manager and a nice young man in the office. The Crappie are biting and all of the cabins were reserved for the weekend. The RV park only had four sites rented and one of those was for the manager. There is at least two sites that would accommodate any size rig. However, as previously stated, some are not very level and would surely be a problem for large motor homes. I think I could get my fifth wheel level on any that would be large enough to hold it (38`). I’m going to submit a picture of site 13. There is a smallish MH parked there and the front wheels are at least 8” off the ground. Sorry about the picture quality. For some reason my shutter did not open all the way. In the laundry room we found only two stackable washer/dryer combos. Surely a problem at peak season levels. Right now they only have two motorized Jon boats in the water for rent and nothing else. There are three ways to get certified to check-out water craft. 1. Attend an MWR approved course. 2. Attend a Coast Guard course. 3. Complete the SC Boat Operator and safety course - free - on the internet and get a printed copy of your completion certificate. There is good news about the floating docks. Half are in the water and in operation and the others are there and will be in operation for the summer season. Two of the three launching areas are in very good condition. The third is not level but can still be used by trailers with larger tires. Our only disappointments are with the long drive to Shaw AFB and the dump station. We feel that an effort should be made to allow for better access to the dump station. We wonder how often “Blue Boys” have been spilled going up and down those hills or trying to use the station. Bottom line: This is a great little Recreation Area snuggled up to a beautiful fresh water lake. It is extremely well cared for and very clean. FastEagle
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
H.W. left this review using the Directory software: Very friendly and helpful staff. Grounds and restrooms are very clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7 results - showing 1 - 7