Wateree Recreation Area

 
4.6 (31)
131868   1   38   3   54

User reviews

22 reviews with 5 stars

31 reviews

 
(22)
 
(7)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.7  (31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (31)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (31)
Value 
 
4.6  (31)
Overall Experience 
 
4.6  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
1 September 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a beautiful campground on Lake Wateree. Private beach for swimming and/or beach volley ball, covered picnic & BBQ areas, boat ramps & fishing docks, clean bathrooms and log cabin rentals. I stayed here for a month in my RV. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Great location to be out in nature. Closest small town is 15mins away. The city of Columbia SC is about 45mins away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
6 April 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
2011 was our first visit and we stayed in a chalet by the lake and since then we've returned three times with our fifth wheel. My only complaint is, it's not free. ?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 6
24 Aug 17
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a wonderful time here. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 5
7 Jan 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had the pleasure of staying at Wateree. Curt and his entire staff made my vist a truly great experience. I will definitley return. Thanks to everyone at Wateree. Sincerely CMSgt Robert Colley Georgia Air National Guard 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
13 April 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent 5 days here over the last weekend.  Wonderful place!  great staff, grounds are neat and clean, View of the lake is outstanding.  We have already made reservations for a return visit.  Only negative was the layout of the utilities.  Bring an extra long sewer hose, water hose and electric cable.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
April 23, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wateree Recreation area is one of the best campground that I've ever been and definitely will always come here. Mr. Curt and his staff went above and beyond their duties and they are all friendly. We really did enjoy our stay here. It's not big campground but you have pretty much everything you'd want when you are camping, there's enough things to do like fishing, kayaking and you can also rent a pontoon. On the top of that, the cabin is very nice. We rented 2 bedroom cabin there was only me and my husband plus 2 dogs. the cabin 4-8 are pet friendly and that is really a A+++ because many people like us are looking for a pet-friendly cabin and it's in reasonable price as well. The campground is very well-maintained and we're looking forward to go here for our getaway! Thank you Wateree recreation area and great job!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
22 May-22 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Curt and his entire staff go out of their way to make this the best campground experience possible. There are activities for kids every weekend to go along with the well maintained beach and park. They offer rental equipment for every activity and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Lake Wateree is a great lake for fishing and watersports alike.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 4
26 to 28 Feb. 2013
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were there in Feb. so there was no problem getting a last minute lot for our trailer. Was very nice and quiet, no city noise no hwy. noise and overall very clean. Personnel are very nice; we had a flat tire on our trailer and they had everything needed to fix it. I can imagine that in the summer it is full and probably not so quite. Has playground and is very child friendly. There is a small Laundromat but not in good shape and very dirty. Internet does not work so well and I can imagine that is even worse when there are many campers there. We used McDonalds about 9 miles away in Camden. This is nature pure here also take time to visit Camden the oldest inland city in SC (1732). If you want to get away from the city to a nice resort with your kids then this is great!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct 17/18, 2012
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We made our reservation last minute but Kyle told us our site no. over the phone and said to pull-in when we arrived. We had a problem with our faucet and Kyle suggested we go to WalMart and find a "cheap replacement" which we did and he put it in for us....great service! We then met the manager and he was very friendly and welcomed us back anytime. The weather was gorgeous and next time we'll stay longer and take advantage of the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
April 20 - 25, 2012
(Updated: April 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Let start off by saying the staff are awesome, they go out of there way to accommodate your requests. The campsites are level and clean, a little close for my liking but I did not drop rating for that matter because there was enough space between sites I just like a vast amount. This place can fill up fast so make sure you call ahead. If you are a boater this is a dream campground for you ( i'm not) and if your not you will not be disappointed either.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
SEPT 24 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
JUST RETURNED FROM TENT CAMPING & CABIN RENTAL FOR 3 NIGHTS. ANOTHER MILITARY COUPLE AND I INVITED OUR KAYAK CLUB FOR A LONG WEEKEND AT WATEREE RECREATION AREA. WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. I TENTED LAKE SIDE. THE SITES WERE CLEAN, GRASS CUT AND SAW NO FIRE ANT NESTS ( AM FROM MYRTLE BEACH AREA WHICH FIRE ANTS ARE A BIG PROBLEM). THE CABINS WERE CLEAN WITH NEW TV AND HAD MOST EVERYTHING YOU WOULD NEED TO COOK WITH. THE STAFF & MANAGER WERE VERY FRIENDLY & HELPFUL TO US AND OUR GUESTS. I NOTICED THAT THE FACILITY WAS VERY KID FRIENDLY WITH A NICE PLAY GROUND, GREAT DOCKS FOR FISHING, SUMMER PROGRAMS AND EVEN OUTDOOR MOVIE WEEKENDS. I CANT WAIT TO RETURN FOR LONGER THAN JUST A FEW DAYS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
May 27-31 2011
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our 4th year of coming to Wateree. The campground is a fun place and we have noticed a major improvement in the cleanliness of the cabins. The campground manager is always friendly and helpful. We look forward to many more visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
27-29 May 11
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent two nights at Wateree this past weekend (27-29 May 11). We have stayed here several times in our 5th wheel Toy Hauler. We had spot 21 on the top, as always we were not disappointed. The entire staff here is awesome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 19- 31, 2011
(Updated: May 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a very pretty area. We've been on site 5 which is a little tight for a 40' Class A, but we have a great view of the lake from 2 points. We had to pull all the way to the front to get our satellite to work. Last night they had a dance party for the kids & a movie. There is a small beach & the lake there is shallow. There are lots of trees & plenty of shade, except for the beach. Didn't use the bathhouse, but the laundry leaves a lot to be desired - 2 washers & dryers & kind of expensive $ 1.50 per wash & $1.75 for dry, but it does dry for 63 minutes. It's just a tiny room & not especially clean. Other than that, Kurt & his staff work very hard to keep this place clean. They were very friendly & available. You see Kurt in his golf cart many times a day, there to take care of any problem. They now have sewer hookups, which was a pleasant surprise when we arrived. We've enjoyed our stay here very much. The town of Camden isn't too far (abt 10 miles) for any shopping needs. If you had a boat, you would want to come here. You can also rent them here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 7-15, 2011
(Updated: May 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Did my annual trip to Wateree this year – went this time in May and as always was not disappointed. I don’t camp but rather stay in the cabins when I go. I could tell that they’ve been working on improving the cabins – noticed that several of them had new screened in porches (which face the lake) along with new patio furniture inside the screened in porches. I use Verizon for my cell phone and wireless and didn’t have any problem whatsoever getting reception for either one. Whenever I needed any assistance or had a request Curt and/or his staff was right on it and came through. Prior to this trip we stayed at Wateree over New Years – boy was that a blast. A New Year’s Eve event was put on in the large Recreation Center that is located in the park – live entertainment was provided, music in-between sessions, noise makers and hats and more enough food – even my teenage daughter enjoyed herself that evening. Like I’ve said before I travel all the way from Iowa to come stay here because neither I nor my family have ever been disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Several times a year for the past 20 years
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I started taking my family to this site when I was stationed at Shaw in 1991 - I've since retired here to Iowa but continue to enjoy what Wateree has to offer - someday when I win the Powerball I plan on buying me a place at Wateree.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Every weekend since August 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a wonderful campground to stay at. The lake is beautiful, the campsites are clean and a nice amount of room to camp on. The Manager and employees are all very friendly and make sure if you need anything, they try to help you with whatever your needs are. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever been to. There are alot of nice people here at this campground who make you feel right at home. dmesseman
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 25, 2010 thu May 2, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wonderful CG to visit, friendly staff, well kept grounds. Camden, Columbia, Sand Hill Mall all with in driving distance. 2 showers for men 2 showers of women. 2 washer and dryers. Small store, boat rental, water views on 3 sides. More campers on weekends than during the week. We will return again without a doubt. If it had sewer hook ups it would be perfect 5.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Week-end of April 23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I visited Wateree this week-end. The park was clean, easy to locate and a good value. The staff were friendly, professional and there to help. We had a relaxing week-end, enjoyed the fishing and the park itself. The grounds were clean and attractive. We plan to return many times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 21, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent the weekend and attended an Oyster Roast hosted by the campground, which was excellent. Locally purchased South Carolina Beaufort Oysters were fantastic. Great evening and fun was had by all in attendance. Following the Oyster Roast there was a community bon fire for marshmallow roasting and friendly chats with others staying at the campground. The grounds are in excellent condition and very clean. Also found out you can follow this recreation area on Facebook where they post upcoming events or special announcements such as updates on the boat launch repair and more. Check it out at this link: http://www.facebook.com/#/pages/Camden-SC/Wateree-Recreation-Area/149607884143?ref=ts
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2