Weston Lake Recreation Area and RV Park

New
 
3.8 (48)
126896 1 22 2 22

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

48 reviews

 
(17)
 
(16)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
3.9  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (48)
Value 
 
4.1  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
Nov 17 - 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Our site (#3) washed out during the heavy rains. Had to be put on #10, and five days later moved to #4. Beautiful campground spoiled by unethical users and their dogs! Firepits at both sites full of trash. Previous user of #10 left us 4 piles of dinosaur turds that they covered with pine needles so they didn't have to pick it up! Okay, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but when you have a minpin that leaves behind less than a squirrel; well you get the picture! Site 4, same thing, except they didn't bother to hide the turd piles under pine needles! IF YOU CAN'T PICK UP AFTER YOUR DOG, DON'T HAVE ONE! AND IF YOU HAVE ONE - - - LEAVE IT AT HOME NEXT TIME! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 4
October 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The approach to the campground is out of the way and rough. Cement pads are excellent and the sites are large. Appears as though damage to a dam associated with the lake has lowered the lake level significantly...no boat access, docks high and dry, etc. Trash was piled up around cans near the bath house despite the dumpster being 100 yards away. The bath house was disgustingly dirty...campers had left trash everywhere. Discouraging to see campers taking so little pride in their facility. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 25 - 29, 2015
(Updated: November 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If we are ever in the area again we will definitely stay here. The sites are spread out which we love! They all have nice level concrete pads, nice picnic table, grill and fire ring. It's very quiet and relaxing. Only a couple of issues for me...there isn't an internet service. We thought is was going to be a problem however it was really nice disconnecting for the week. The cable at our site wasn't the best. We probably should have let the office know but as long as I had 1 local station to check the news and weather that was fine. One of the main reasons we chose Weston Lake was for the lake. However because there wasn't a life guard on Tuesday and Wednesday we weren't allowed to use it. We are grown adults that were staying with no children. That was the only thing the campground offered. It should have been available to us to use. We also rented a big cabin. Which are wonderful and the decks are overlooking the lake...awesome views. They do need a little upgrading but all in all very nice. We did catch a little mouse in the kitchen LOL. It just really bothered me that we didn't have use of the lake when that was one of the main reasons we wanted to stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
April 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Like everyone says, nice pads, nice hookups, but it needs work yet. New pads still not finished and bath house still looked closed. Very friendly host. We won't be going back, but all the sites were full. We had the last one available, so other folks must like it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan. 1, 2015 - Feb. 13, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Campground location is fine, it's a campground! Nice RV Pads, about 40’. Hookups are in left rear corner, so we had to buy extra sewer hose. Staff is nice. Nice picnic table, fire ring and grill at each site. Restroom/shower house at campsites appears to be being refurbished. It was closed for our 44 day stay, and no one has worked on it at all. There is a restroom within walking distance at the boat ramp, but the heater does not work, and the place has not been cleaned for a long time, the toilet was clean thou. Main restroom/shower house is next to the office, which is not within reasonable walking distant to go shower. It is nice, but not once was the floor sweep and mopped during our stay, and it needs it. Half the sites lights on the power pedestal don’t work. Cable hookup doesn’t work, but you can get the main TV networks over a good digital antenna. No Internet. Golf Carts are allowed. CAUTION: LOW AC Power which can damage your RV’s equipment. Staying from Jan. 1, 2015 to Feb. 13, 2015. Had site manager turn in Work order on Jan. 6th. For a week I tried to get status by making numerous phone calls. The Next week I turned in an ICE evaluation. About 4 days later, campground employee meter’s AC at sites. They are showing 109vac on one leg, and 111vac on the other leg, and tell me 108vac is satisfactory (wrong). I show him at that time, with just a 2 amp load on L-1, we have 104vac. And a 14 amp load on L-2 indicated 107vac. Power is worse on colder days and nights. Around Feb. 4th I get in contact with the Electrician. Only answer I am still getting from anyone, is the issue is known about. I had to run my refrigerator on LP Gas the whole time so the low power didn’t damage it. Buying all the extra LP just added to the cost of staying here. I am normally at the campsite most every day and offered to help show the problem to an electrician, but no contact. The Coax cable service has not been repaired for months, and around Jan. 9th, they have suspended all internet service that was offered.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
December 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stopped by to check the recreation area out. It was slow and hardly anyone here at this time of the year. It looks like this would be a very busy recreation area in the summer. LOTS of rental boats and other water activities available in the summer. They recently added new RV sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The office also includes a small store. This is a larger complex and everything is a little spread out. This isn't a bad thing, as you don't feel cramped and it's easier to enjoy the outdoors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 8-11, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
G.G. left this review using the Directory software: - First time at this campground. It's a bit out of the way, but the new sites are large and flat. They do need to update their check in procedures. They just opened their new building on the lake. Parking lot was full of people using the lake and picnic areas. There is no place to park a big rig. They didn't know what sites were available, so after check in we were told to go pick out a site then call them and let them know which site we were in. It would make more since to go pick out a site, drop the 5th wheel then go check in. We were told in the year since they opened the new sites they have never been full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb.2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I am so mad at the commander of Fort Jackson. This could be such a jewel in the MWR campground system. Once again people in charge have been allowed to break every rule and there is no oversight. They had people who were living at the campgrounds or who had permanent vacation sites. One camper has a green house with fully grown plants in it. The staff was pleasant but who knows if they care, or told to go along. The bathrooms are cleaned by young people who do a quick job. Their job leaves alot to be desired. The roads in the campground are lousy and should be fixed. The sites aren't level or paved. When you look at the campground it feels and looks like no one has fixed anything in along time. MWR states that they care for our soldiers. This means current, retired, or disabled well shame on you MWR.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Feb 4, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Ft Jackson is very secluded. There are cabins and camp sites but they will be closing down for renovations soon. At present they are building new cabins and if they are any indication of what the renovations to the campgrounds are going to be like it will be a great place to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were only there for one nite and had coach problems so a complete report was not possible. We did notice the following. Water is on opposite side of spot from electric. Sewer is at back middle of site so coach was over the top of it. They did have some 50A sites. Road to registration area is adequate, but very close on the sides. Pads were blacktop and 40FT Motornome were just barely on the pads with front and back of coach hanging off. We would probably stop again if in the area. Rating no better than a 3.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10