Weston Lake Recreation Area and RV Park

 
3.8 (47)
122762 1 22 2 22

User reviews

14 reviews with 4 stars

47 reviews

 
(17)
 
(15)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
3.9  (47)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (47)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (47)
Value 
 
4.1  (47)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (47)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here a week. This is a nice campground with plenty of space to walk the dog. The one big negative is there is no WI-FI service at all. The commissary and exchange are a bit of a drive. During our stay there was an event (family reunion or club gathering) at the pavilion in the RV Park. They stayed late and were loud. They also left the area with trash everywhere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 March 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pretty nice campground within a larger recreational facility that offers a man-made beach, canoe/kayak/paddleboard rentals, fishing etc. The RV and tent camping is off to the back side of the area so fairly quite and secluded and nicely spaced apart. Site were level and concrete pad with ample room with a concrete patio, and picnic table. The hook-up station was in good condition and even lighted. Bathhouse was also clean, and well kept. To check in, first go to the rec office at the beach area. This is fairly easy as there is a large gravel parking lot allowing you to maneuver a larger rig. Staff there were very helpful and accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
Dec 16 - Apr 17
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our last night at Weston Lake in Fort Jackson RV Park. We have wintered here from 1 Dec 16 – 16 Apr 17. Here is my take a way of the park: If you like plenty of spaces between RV’s this might be the place for you. If you get the lower sites (we had N-5) there are huge amounts of space between each site. The higher sites (in the 20’s) are more typical of other parks. There are quite a few of active duty that are living there full time! I know why but it takes away from many of the nicer sites from others. You can stay up to 90 days but with an extension they will let you stay longer if approved. We stayed here because my son was active duty here. Wife wanted to be around the grandsons!!! They have raised their daily costs. Daily fee is now $22.00 per night. $19.50 if you have an Access Pass. There are no weekly or monthly rates. Be forewarned: there are on laundry services here. You have to go on post or drive down Leesburg road. I must say, the area doesn’t look the safest but that might be me. We never had any issues but everyone told us to be careful. The back gate has some very weird hours so I would suggest you take a picture of the hours until you get used to going on post. As of today the lake is way down. You CAN NOT put a boat in at the ramp. They have been repairing the damn so they have drained the lake. Before it was lowered the fishing was good. Stumps that are now 5’ to 6’ out of the water were completely submerged when we first got here. So if you plan on fishing in a boat I would call first. The office personal is friendly and helpful. They did have trouble finding where I paid over the phone so keep your receipts! They have a large swimming beach but it doesn’t open until Memorial Day. I was here last June and the whole area is full of people. Overall our stay here was great. I would stay again if ever in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 2
March 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If you like remote camping this may be a good place to go. It’s on a small, but nice lake and set well back in the woods: Very picturesque with nice beach. You are at least 8 mi from any stores and with gate times, generally have to go completely around the base to get into Ft Jackson. There is a nice Aldi’s and Food Lion nearby. Site price is cheap, but you get what you pay for. RV sites are good condition concrete pads 40+ feet long with a picnic apron around 30’ long. We needed an extra 30’ section of sewer hose to connect up. Our site was fairly level, having to put the downhill side on one set of blocks to get level. We saw several sites that had a definite slant though. By far the worst part is entry and exit. The entry road ~ 2mi long is not wide enough for Class A’s to pass and the road sides have large broken sections and the shoulder drops 6 – 12” in places. They do not shut the entry gate at night, but I did see the police make a few daytime swings through the CG. To top it off, check-in is down a one-way very narrow dirt/gravel road with close aboard trees and one turn that was really tight to navigate. A large 5th Wheel might not make it. You then continue back to the main road to go to the CG. There was a lending library for DVDs at check-in. From general maintenance conditions it appears that their focus is on renting the many pavilions & cabins on site. No WiFi and Verizon cell was sporadic. Cable connections are still there, but I was told there aren’t funds to pay the bill, so it’s disconnected. They do have both a grill and fire ring at each site. Unfortunately there was a general disregard for the leash law with at least 3 nearby campsites that just let their dogs out. It was 80 deg, calm and blue skies when we tried to rent a boat, but we’re told the dock was too dangerous to use. We asked about canoes (which were sitting on the beach) and we’re told, “I said no boat rentals” by the L-in-C. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2
14-18 Sept 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First time staying here, and I can appreciate previous reviewer’s enthusiasm. This is a terrific campground with long, level, and wide concrete pads, patio, grill, and fire ring. It appears some sites do not have septic hook up, and not all are satellite friendly. We did not use the restrooms/bathhouse, so cannot comment on that. The lake is peaceful and quiet as we observed no boating or fishing activity whatsoever. We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
December 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stay at this campground quite often on our way down south. We have never had a problem getting in without a reservation, although we are usually here in the winter and try not to make it a weekend. The concrete pads are pretty level and the campground is nice, with a beach and boat rentals. We usually only stay for a few nights, but I don't think there is a laundry facility and the bathrooms/showers could use some attention. Lots of homesteaders, which means it's pretty quiet and people keep to themselves. They also give a small discount with the "Senior Pass". We have never been able to get the free Wi-Fi to work, but have had no problems with the cable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25-26 June 2013
(Updated: June 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 25-26 June 2013. Park grounds were well maintained. It is a bit off the beaten track and was relaxing & quiet. We drew a new hardstand that was level and accommodated our 33' fifth wheel with ease. The water pressure was & flow was quite sufficient. We found the pedestal AC voltage to be quite low 110 VAC no load > 106 VAC with AC running. Our EMS alerted us to this when the AC attempted to restart on the thermostat by cycling on & off AC failed to start but drew the voltage down enough to cause the EMS to error out & interrupt power to our rig. Maintenance came out & replaced the 30 amp breaker. that marginally improved things but allowed no cushion to guarantee the AC compressor would not stall on restart with a head pressure. We therefore ran our generator during the day and used park power at night when voltage was in the 118-116 range. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will use this facility in the future. Amenities & Value suffered due to the voltage issue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
1 Jun 2013
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed overnight while passing through. What a NICE park! Grounds are kept up nice. Got to use our Golden Access Pass on a $17.50 site making it only $15 a night. There are old sites and new sites. We were lucky to get one of the 2 remaining new sites. Nice big cement slabs with a lot of room between campsites. Had a nice new picnic table and there was a fire pit with wood to use (had we been in the mood to do so). The only reason I didn't give it all 5's was it's a little ways off the freeway, the signage is very poor to get to the campground (we took a wrong turn and ended up in the picnic area) and I had a HECK of a time trying to figure where to pay when we wanted to leave the next day but we'll definitely stay there again when going home to NY from FL.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
10-28 June 2012
(Updated: November 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here as we moved to Fort Jackson for my new assignment while we waited on permanent housing. Was a little confused about the process of checking in, but after calling as we drove in went straight to the sites, found one we liked, parked, and then went to the office to check in. Very courteous staff. New sites are concrete pads with lighted power posts, old sites are asphalt that are better suited for a smaller camper. We lived out there for 2+ weeks while I in-processed and took over my new job until our on-post house was ready and we received our household goods. We kept the camper a few extra days out there for family to stay who visited for a couple of days. Not having a laundry facility was a pain; we found one on post, but later saw one closer to the campsite on Leesburg Road. Lots for the kids to do around the lake with bicycling and a few playgrounds. We never got the time to fish, but the staff was knowledgeable about what was biting (not much!) and with what bait. This was mainly a place to hang out and sleep while we explored our new community. Other members of our family have used the cabins when visiting and enjoyed them even though about 20 minutes from our house to the campground. We will probably not stay out there while living here (would rather take the camper elsewhere) but would recommend to anyone passing through or visiting the Columbia area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 1 - 3, 2013 and March 13-15, 2013
(Updated: April 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We really enjoyed Weston Lake. The sites are fairly close to each other, but it was low attendance both times. We came up to visit our son who was temporarily at Fort Jackson. The base is close and has a very nice exchange and commissary. There is a Food Lion just down the road from the campground and of course there's a WalMart near by. It was chilly during our visit, but the office sold good firewood. There was only one trail to hike, but basically it was nice just to walk around the lake and the campground. We had a very good experience and expect to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed this famcamp, big sites, level concrete pads, view, water, quiet (except for much artillery). Only negatives would be longer drive to get to shopping, and the staff seemed pretty unhappy about something.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2-6 2012
(Updated: April 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We began our trip around the USA at this location. This was our very first camp site to shake out our new RV. The folks here were very friendly and they gave us our choice of site. We picked one of the newer upgraded sites that was equipped with a lighted electric box with TV cable, which was able to pick up 7 channels. Cost was $17.50. The lakeside view was fantastic as was the mountain biking "fire break" trails. There is allot of upgrades being done to the local area though. It was a long drive to Columbia to get to the shopping district too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 4-6, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.M. left this review using the Directory software: - I too had read the review from before 2011- MWR has made a HUGE improvement from 2009 and earlier- I had planned a 20 year Desert Storm Reunion at the Community building at Weston Lake - so the new RV sites worked out great-I have a 36ft Thor and we had cars parked on site and out of everybody's way easily- Yes, it is a ways back to main post-appox 7 miles to Semmes Rd entrance - but Leesburg Rd access is pretty quick(55mph)-Cabins on the lake -VERY Nice- $65 for fully furnished 2BR and $80 for 2BR with a loft= Folks in my group already made reservations for next summer(2012) We had a great time!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2 to 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff at checkin were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here altho I did not do any sightseeing. The gate to the base was about 5 or 6 miles from the campground, but very easy to get to. The commissary was one of the best I have seen. Very well stocked and clean. When I left, staff stated that they hope to have more/better campsites next year if I were to come back. There were a few leaky faucets, but other than that, no problems. The pads at the campsites were small, but ok. I did not go into any of the cabins, but they all looked in very good shape with the exception of one of the "park model" cabins. Over the weekend, there was a group camping in the field of the South Carolina Path Finders. Wall to wall tents and young people. The did keep to the field area and were no bother to anyone in the campground. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and will probably stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14 results - showing 1 - 14