Weston Lake Recreation Area and RV Park

 
3.8 (48)
125213 1 22 2 22

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

48 reviews

 
(17)
 
(16)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
3.9  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (48)
Value 
 
4.1  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
May 2-4 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our second time at Weston Lake and not to be our last. Nice Rec Area with plenty of woods and common areas in a quiet location. CG is well laid out with lots of space and grass between sites. Sites are very level concrete pads with large patio area, each with picnic table, BBQ and fire ring. FHUs are modern and function well. Check in at the rec area office was smooth, staff friendly and professional. While summer season had not yet started, rec beach, boat ramp canoes, kayaking on the lake are offered. Bathhouse a bit dated lacking ventilation but clean and functional. Cabins along the lake look pretty nice. Several sites saw trash accumulation in the fire rings. After walking every loop road and common areas, saw absolutely no dog poop anywhere within the campground, not a trace.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
10 Nov 17
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to visit. quiet, spacious and beautiful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Sept. 20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed overnight at the Weston Lake Recreation Center which is the military campground of Fort Jackson, SC. The road in is gravelly and hilly. Check in at the Rec Center was easy and the staff was friendly and helpful. There are books and DVDs to borrow. The RV sites were mostly back ins and on a sparsely wooded hill. The paved sites made it easy for us to stay balanced while still being hooked up to our truck. The hookup pedestals were the nicest I’ve seen. We stayed at site # 16. The lake is very nice with a clean beach. If we had more time we would have rented a canoe to do a little more exploring. Being veterans, we did a little walk down memory lane when we heard the live fire from a closeby range at 8 a.m. The 50 cals and M4A1s didn’t bother us a bit, but I think anyone who wanted to sleep in would find it difficult at this campground. http://happytrailercampers.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Feb - Mar 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent upgraded RV sites. Quiet, ameneties short drive. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
13 April 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our first stop at Weston Lake. We loved it. Location and site were very nice. The staff was extremely easy to deal with. We don't generally use the restrooms or laundry, so we can't speak to those. It will be on our list of places to return to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jan 1 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I go out of my way to stay at this park. We could stay in a parking lot, or look for a campground off the interstate but we like this place. It's quite and has very nice concrete pads.  You can't beat the price. The only thing that needs attention is the gravel road through the actual RV park. This area has had a lot of rain, which has caused the gravel to wash out. We arrived on Jan 1 and the office was closed. We made contact and paid for our overnight the next morning. Nice office and friendly staff. I tell everyone about this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
December 27 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here one night. Large concrete pads, full hook ups. About 40 ft to 45 ft long. They are building about 12 more concrete pads. A mistake I made was I busted my water filter canister. I hooked to the water, unfiltered and picked up a lot of sand. After I put a new canister on, I had to pull off the commode valves and the kitchen faucet to clean the filters. Never use unfiltered water! They have also built a new office since my last visit. Staff very friendly. Yea it's out of the way but you can't beat the price and quietness. Will keep this place on my list of good locations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were a little concerned reading the previous reviews, but I am glad we came here. Our campsite has full hookups with a large concrete pad. There is a lot of room between sites. The person at the office was friendly and helpful. If in the area again, we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Mar 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This facility is now accepting reservations. You have to pay for the first night when you make reservations. Have stayed at this facility on various occasions and have always had a pleasant stay. They have both long and short term sites available. The only thing they need to do now is build a laundry facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed July 2013. Locating the park is a little difficult due to one obscure roadside sign which is not easily noticeable during the day and ever worse at night due to poor lighting. Entry roads are rough and dilapidated. Access to park is off the beaten track. Currently, soldiers have to leave the post and drive around the perimeter of the Fort to gain access, I highly recommend an additional access road be developed from the current fire roads to accommodate the soldiers. This is for the soldiers ...RIGHT? The park personnel are very professional, courteous, and very knowledgeable. Park grounds are very well maintained. The campsites and cabins are reasonably close to the water and the community house, but the office and general store are a short drive or long walk away from both cabins and campgrounds. Adding a laundry facility would be a plus. This park seems to be always under improvement every time I pass through here. I hate to let the secret out, but this is a great park for it's size. Wish they would expand to wooded areas and more around the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Nov 10 and 11 2012
(Updated: November 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were thoroughly impressed with Weston Lake. After reading the previous reviews, we were a little leary, however, the trip there was outstanding. The staff was very friendly on check-in and made us welcome. PROS: The park along with directional signs, has obviously been upgraded from the reviews I have read. The area is picturesque. The lake with all the rental equipment is the center point of the park. The new RV sites have concrete pads with both 30 & 50 Amp service, water, cable and sewage located on an illuminated post so your spot # can be seen. There is plenty of room between neighbors and each of the new sites has a new table, grill and fire ring. CONS: Directions are poor. When exiting I-77 like we did, start following the signs for Hwy 262 (Leesburg Road). Once on Leesburg Rd, it is in fact 9.1 miles. Keep looking left for the sign for the park. The wifi is the other con. It worked good for the first couple of hours then went dead and was local only(?). A call to the staff reported that sometimes it drops out. Overall, a great stay in a clean, well maintained park with a lot of friendly people. We will be back in the summer with the grand kids. Thanks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
17-27 June 2012
(Updated: June 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I just left the new campground. It is nothing like it was when I was last there 3 years ago. The facility is clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous and answered all my questions. All the homesteaders are gone and all camp sites were clean and most sites had satellite set up. Cable tv was also furnished with limited channels. Ft Jackson has added a new water park on post that is really nice and reasonable. It cost me, my wife and grandchild a total of $13.50 to get in. We heard very little firing on the ranges. We will definitely return there when we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 24 - June 6 2012
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here 2 weeks. Very quite and relaxing, near the water. Has a small beach for swimming in the lake, fishing, & walking trails. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $ 11.00 per night. Campground in not on base, but not. Also not far from other shopping and dining out. No laundry at campground, but near by down Rt. 262. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Sept 9-12, 2011
(Updated: September 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at the new camp ground. Huge sites with full hook-ups, 30/50 AMP service, cable TV and WI-FI. The sites have large concrete pads that are level. Everyone was helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The only draw back is how far you have to travel to use the base facilities. It's about a 20 mile round trip to the PX and commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 23,2011
(Updated: August 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent one night here while we were traveling to FL. If you want a campground near “planes, trains and automobiles” this is not the place. This is a very peaceful and nice campground. Each RV spot has new level concrete pads, new fire rings, new elevated grills and nice electric/water hookups. The campground is well shaded. They were working on the cable when we visited so it was not operational. Each site had 30/50 service. We were in an RV so we did not user the bath house. We were driving a 37 foot RV pullng a car and did not have any problems driving in the campground. This campground is a little out of the way but well worth the stop. This was our first visit to Ft. Jackson but won’t be out last. What else can you say other than this might very well be the best Army Campground in the system. Great job to the MWR and staff at the Ft. Jackson campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 20 to July 1, 2011
(Updated: June 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived today and had a wonderful checkin experience. Very friendly staff - 21 brand new sites - quite and peaceful. How can you complain about staying on a lake with a beach, swimming, boating, fishing, hiking, full hookups - all for $17.50. So happy we did not go by the comments cuz we would have missed a wonderful campground.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan - Feb 2011
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
In reading the other writer's comments, one thing comes to mind; What do you want for $9-11 a night! It sits on a pretty little lake with loads of things for kids to do, parents to do, and even the family pet. Go for a walk! It's a wonderful place to walk or jog. The showers have hot water and the bathrooms are clean. But if you still aren't happy, wait awhile for the new campground to open. The prices will go up too, but I guess then the gripers will be happy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17