Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.5 (121)
82834   0   18   1   43

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

121 reviews

 
(75)
 
(34)
 
(11)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.7  (121)
 
4.6  (121)
 
4.2  (121)
 
4.3  (121)
 
4.5  (121)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept. 8-13, 2017

We stayed at Ellsworth this past September for a week and toured Rushmore. The RV Park was nice but the Camp Host lacked experience in keeping the Park clean and informing guest of issues. One night the power was out and did not find out until we woke the next morning. The Host never bothered to inform the guest of the planned power outage. When I questioned them they said they had a sign at the office on the wall. So, IF you had a reason to go to the office you might find out. This was poor performance on the park directors part because he/she should manage these people. these Hosts are just getting a free spot. Laundry room is just OK but needs cleaning. Also put signs in the room to reflect the washer will take 90 min, not 30. Host just drive around in a cart and put cones in empty spots. They could be a 10 park but need new host to get there. The Base however is beautiful and lots to see and do. The Air Museum outside the base is a must see. Rushmore was breathtaking. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 24 - Sept 8, 2017

Great location for the local sites. Rushmore, Badlands, Deadwood, Black Hills, etc. Two weeks was about a week too long. Free washer dryers cost us an afternoon of time due to the length of the the wash cycles??? But it was FREE. On the negative side we were told no vehicle washing yet I observed 2 sites that had leaking water outlets that leaked continuously for two weeks. I reported the sites and finally saw one repaired the day before we left. Enough water was wasted to wash every vehicle in the park. Never did see any grass cut while we were there, and it was high upon arrival. I just don't know what is done with the $28 a day collected. Much more could be put into the park. Having said all that, it was a pleasant park to stay at and the camp host was very nice and helpful. Base facilities were close by and adequate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 10, 2016

We've averaged two visits a year for some time, but in the last year we've been disappointed by the lack of management and the rise of prices. This time around, we called and were told that we could arrive and take site 39, which we did. Before parking, we called and had to leave a message. After setting up and pulling out on our way to the commissary, we were called by Chris and told we were in the wrong site. At the office, he said we were lucky since they were leaving for the day (Friday, 1300), and that we had to move immediately because someone was coming in for that site. Since there were empty sites, we asked if we couldn't remain; Chris became agitated and rudely told us that "we have to assign sites based on long term stays". OK, we said, and moved to another site. That evening the site was occupied, and the next morning - the site was empty. So there was no reason for us to move. In our experience of eleven years of full timing and many military RV parks, we sense that the RV park is an afterthought to the folks in Rec Services. In addition, although we had planned to stay a month, the lack of a monthly rate at $28/day is unreasonable; we're staying in a park very close to Rapid City, with full hookups including electric, exercise room, library, working WiFi, cable, etc., for nearly $200 less than Ellsworth. I think we've made our last visit there. Hopefully they'll start paying attention to service and reasonable rates.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2015

During our 4 day stay, we were given 2 different sites. This seems to be standard procedure when making reservations in order for them to keep all spaces in use. We spoke to a number of other rv'ers w/o had to move sites in the middle of their stay. This musical chairs with sites was annoying. Some residents (not active duty) appear to be homesteading. Wifi was free but mostly non-existent. There's no off leash dog park. Grass had been recently cut but there's several large mounds of dirt from construction near the walkways and in the new area that had been there so long, weeds were growing out of them. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers in the laundry room so it was in constant use. There's no convenient parking area near the laundry room if you're coming from the new pull-thru section. All sites are paved with permanent picnic tables. Nice park with obvious signs of future expansion and improvement.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 22, 2014

M.S. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a beautiful state with lots of grass and beautiful scenery. Many different things to see in the area and easy access into and out of the base. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

21 Aug 2010

Unfortunately, I did not have a pleasant experience at Ellsworth AFB. When we arrived, a tense camp host delivered a 10-minute briefing that hammered the Base Commander's stance on safety and security ("watch out for the SPs, watch out for fires, watch out for hail, watch out for tornadoes" – and so forth). The entire briefing was verbal, and the host reacted belligerently when I suggested that written information would be helpful to refer to later. After 21 successful years of military service and having survived 50 birthdays, I had to wonder who this man thought was in the room with him? He needs to relax and be more respectful of others. Anyway, I agreed to use the Overflow area that night on the chance a regular site would open up the next day. In contrast to the briefing’s focus on security and safety, the Overflow area backs directly up to a very unsafe environment: an open field with 3-4 foot tall dry grass, which is a fire waiting to happen in that hot, prairie-wind environment. It was like being parked on the edge of Hades... in a motor home with a 60 gallon fuel tank. To be honest, we were relieved when the host called to say a regular site would not open up that day. Instead, we found a nice spot in south Rapid City at a friendly campground that was very well located to area attractions – for only $2 more a day than Ellsworth. We stayed there for a week and had a great time! As an Air Force retiree I will continue to use and enjoy military campgrounds, but I won't come back to Ellsworth AFB.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 18-23, 2007

This is a great FAMCAMP for an RVer, but not a tent camper. One thing I wasn't told about were the high winds out here on the plains. This might have been a better experience if I had been prepared for that. And when I say "high", I mean high enough to lift our staked tent, with my son and I in it, about 3-6 inches off the ground. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay, although they charge too much for as little as it is. I guess if you can afford some of those big rigs, though, you can afford to pay what they're asking. It is close to all the major attractions, though and South Dakota is beautiful in the Summer time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 21, 2007

Ellsworth is a compact little campground with very little charm to recommend it. Which is to say, it's a bit barren and sterile. That said, it does have large, level concrete pads, mostly back-ins. It has a modern, well-appointed, clean bath house. The recently installed WIFI is good news and bad news. Whatever the network antenna arrangement is, it's not adequate to cover much more than about a 75 foot radius around the office. So, folks in the sites on the outer edges of this small campground cannot get internet in their RVs. You'll have to take your chair and laptop over to the office and surf al fresco. But at least it's available. So if WIFI and comfort are important to you, try to get one of the sites closest to the office. When you do connect, you'll find it's a secure network, and you'll need an encryption key, which the host will provide. It wasn't volunteered, so if you want WIFI, ask for the key when you check in. All in all, it's an adequate campground, but expensive for such sterility. When we were in this area four years ago, we stayed in the Badlands National Park campground and, even without hookups, found it to be a much more interesting and beautiful place to spend a couple of days. And the price (with Golden Age pass) was around $6.00 a night, instead of the overpriced $20.00 at Ellsworth. The commissary and exchange are nice, but are the small, second-tier facilities. The base library is good, with a modest selection of DVDs on the shelf, and of course, several computer stations for internet access. No propane refills are available for your RV. You can exchange empty 20 lb bottles at the base gas station for full ones. To refill your propane, there's a Flying J six miles west on I-90. Side Note: For those of you using Sprint cell phones and broadband cards, there is no signal on Ellsworth AFB, or Rapid City, or most of I-90 for that matter. This northern tier of states is largely a Sprint wasteland.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 8-13, 2007

This would have been a spectacular experience if I had been RVing, instead of tent camping. But, because I was tenting, I have to say it ended very badly. I actually bought and paid for an RV spot, because I needed to be close to an electrical outlet for my computer (I take online courses). It's a good thing I did, too because otherwise I would not have had any place to tie our tent down to the degree needed to sustain the winds which kick up across the South Dakota plains! We were forced to leave early because the wind was so bad, it was picking up the tent with me and my son in it! This eventually forced all of the support grommets to fail, which meant emergency repairs. But, even after i tried repairing it, the tent just wouldn't function any more, as the tent poles went right through the support straps, with no grommets to support them. So, we had to leave early. I cannot imagine what might have happened if we had actually been using the tenting area behind the FAMCAMP office. There is really no place to tie off you tent besides the permanent grills and picnic tables. At least in spot 11, we had trees to tie our tent down with. As far as the local area and the FAMCAMP's proximity, it can't be beat! My son and I had a blast visiting the many area attractions and everything was within an hour's drive, so that was even more convenient. Overall? A great place to visit; a nice, clean comfortable campground...for an RVer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 24, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept.1, 2006

Most expensive military camp I've visited to date. But, so much to see in the vicinity (Custer State Park, Blk Hills, Mt.Rusmore, Jewel and Wind caves, etc) they can charge that and get it. Very clean, close to shower/laundry, and level pads. Playground is tiny (okay for little ones) but is at a busy intersection into the park I wouldn't want them to be alone if they were under nine or ten. Not supposed to use water to wash vehicles/RVs. No recycling on site, but someone said there were bins on base. I never found them. Commissary has okay selection of organics.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jul 2006

Only stopped by for a visit, but sites were available. Nice campground with a very friendly host. Nothing fancy, but a decent place to spend some time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jul 2006

Clean park, but since it was full we got sent to the overflow. The overflow is nothing more than a parking lot with electric hook-ups. Overflow park is several miles away from the main portion of the base. The main park had clean bathroom and laundry facilities. BEWARE OF BASE SECURITY! I got ticketed by base security for one of the most petty traffic incidents (I disagreed with the security officer completely) I ever been involved with. Base Security lacked some professonalism and judgement.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 12