Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (137)
102578   0   18   2   51

User reviews

36 reviews with 4 stars

137 reviews

 
(88)
 
(36)
 
(12)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.7  (137)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (137)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (137)
Value 
 
4.4  (137)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (137)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
36 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The directions sent to us by the campground office were “misleading” but office staff said they were in the process of resolving. The Patriot Gate ( open until 6 weekdays) is the best gate to come in. The campground is on your right soon after entry. There are two sections to the park. The older part is in “wagon wheels” with all back in sites. Our site was not long enought for our 5th wheel and truck and had a tree at the back of the site that blocked our back door. The newer section is all pull thru. All sites are concrete with a patio, table and grill. Free wi-fi ( sometime spotty). Our satellite worked fine and you can get quite a few OTA channels. Small but adequate commissery and exchange. Base gas station has diesel. Bowling alley ( but don’t eat at the snack bar), movie theater, golf course and a great air museum right outside of base. Not too many stores nearby but this is a great place to stay to visit all the sites in the surrounding area. No play ground for kids but plenty of grassy area for you dog to walk. They are in the process of adding some pull thru overflow sites across from the FamCamp. I thought the price was a little high but we did get one night free with staying a week. Also, if you are looking for a "day of” place to stay try to call during the business hours. They have a board in front of the office which every night it said “no vacancy”…..but there ere empty sites every night. The office staff said they don’t change it if they just have a few sites available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept. 6-20, 2018
(Updated: September 11, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The location is great, the pads are level, the bathrooms and showers are great, the laundry is great, yes..., everything is great! Except for the wifi. The wifi sucks. Sure, you get a fairly decent signal, but it's slower than 1995 dial-up service. If you're going to advertise wifi, make sure it's up to snuff..., or, don't list it as an amenity. I see people complain about the grass, but its a semi-arid environment; you should expect it to dry out toward the Fall. I used to love Fall in Colorado, but the Black Hills are just as good for me (and a lot cheaper!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
July 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would have given Amenities/Facilities a "5" if they had more washers and dryers. They have two of each and one of the washers was not working. Completely unacceptable with such a nice RV park. You can't beat the paved sites with nice grassy level area beside the site. I've stayed in many military famcamps and I detest gravel and dirt sites. They are very messy if you have dogs and it rains. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I complained to the main supervisor about the washers and dryers. She said they are trying to get a new building to house a bigger bathhouse and laundry room. Having said that I would not let it stop me from staying here in the future. Just make sure your laundry is caught up before you arrive otherwise enjoy the beautiful lake and great sites!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is an outstanding campground in a great location to visit the Black Hills. We were in the newer area so the wifi was spotty; I've heard it is better in the main camp. Remember to always bring in your awnings when you leave because the wind can get crazy here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Plenty of sites.  Close to Rapid City.  Deer on base.  Grass could be cut in fam camp area.  It is much easier to walk a pet in short grass vs grass 1 foot tall.   New rates are: 1 April -30 June $23.00 - Over flow $14.00 - 1 July - 30 Oct $28.00 - Overflow $16.00 - Tents $8.00
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Late Aug - early Sept 15
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location for exploring the area from Devil's Tower to The Badlands/Wall Drug and everywhere in between. Debated staying here or at a Passport America park in the area for about the same price. Coach rear tires were at the very rear of the concrete slab to fit my truck in front. I noticed some other back-in sites that were longer. I could have moved to a pull thru after a few days, but opted to stay put. Moving just to have a pull thru is too much of a hassle to me. Not really impressed with the layout of the loop I was on (closest to the office). Not a whole lot of shade even with tall trees. It was just plain hot during our stay. Good water pressure and wi-fi. Looks like more pull thrus are being added, or they were just being reserved and never used during our stay. The sidewalk from the pull thru sites to the office is being built, but no work happened while I was there. No fenced dog run. Decent auto hobby shop on base. Base theater has movies Fri and Sat. There is a drive-in theater in Hermosa, about 30 min south. Little "sound of freedom" from B-1s. Patriot Gate (closed wknds) is closest to the Fam Camp and easy to navigate even with a big rig. There was some trash along the fenceline that never got picked up. I picked up some paper while walking my dogs. Office workers were not overly friendly, more matter-of fact. Not good or bad, just the way they were to me. Yes, I would stay here again if in the area, but would call far in advance and ask for a specific site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10-15 Jul 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location to see the sights such as Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands, etc. Park had nice paved sites--some appeared occupied by permanent party. Had 2 washers and 2 dryers (75 cents each). For the number of people staying there, I believe they could use more washers/dryers. Grass at the sites was kind of long (above ankles) resulting in more mosquitoes. New pull-thru sites appear close to being opened. Wifi was weak to non-existent. Went to the library to access wifi. Library, BX and commissary all located right next to each other. BX and commissary fairly small. Shoppette/gas station right across the steet from famcamp. Able to get diesel for the Class A without any problem. Air Museum right outside the main gate is worth taking a look at--museum also offered a base tour that took you down a trainer missile silo. If in the area again, would stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
28 May - 11 June, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location for seeing the sights both east and west. Shower facilities are clean. They are in the process of upgrading the washers/dryers and now costs $1.00 to wash and .75 to dry. There is wifi but it is impossible to get on line - apparently some folks insist on downloading netflix. Shopette is convenient, has diesel fuel and is with walking distance. I would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Convenient to the Black Hills and easy to access, the base is a reasonably priced alternative to others in the area. Nice that you can enter through any gate, and during our stay we were impressed by the courtesy and friendliness of the entry guards. Very nice commissary just down from the Famcamp, sad, little used BX. The older portion of the park is all back-in, the newer 16 sites are concrete pull-thrus with 8 more nearly completed. The host went out of her way to help, and returned $1 of our $21/day fee since the free washers and dryers were not yet installed. The new area is a bit shabby and without trees, but the sites are large. Overall a great stay; we'll be back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 7, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here 1 night, traveling with 2 other rigs. Back-in I used was spacious. Other rigs used the pull throughs which were gravel. New pull throughs were not yet complete. Looked like concrete work was the only phase left. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Attended an evening presentation there which honors veterans. All are invited on stage to participate in colors. Very moving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 17-30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We really enjoyed this FamCamp. It is less than an hour from Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park and about two hours from Devils Tower National Monument. All of the RV sites are concrete and level. The back-in sites are actually better than the pull-thru sites because they allow you more space between you and your neighbor and because the access roads to these sites are paved. The access roads to the pull-thru sites are gravel. Hookups were excellent, our back-in site was satellite-friendly (clear southern exposure), diesel fuel was available at the Express station directly across the street from the FamCamp, there is a nice outdoor pool ($5 for adults and $3 for children) and indoor fitness facility, and Amy (FamCamp manager) was very helpful and friendly. There is a recycling center on base (on Centennial Drive), but it was only open on Thursdays and Fridays. The camp host was very friendly but not very knowledgable. If you wanted an answer to most things associated with the FamCamp, you needed to speak with Amy. The only significant negative about the FamCamp was that the WiFi did not work for Apple devices. The WiFi signal was very strong, but only people with Windows-based devices seemed to have any luck using the passcode to gain access to the FamCamp WiFi.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 19, 2014 - June 25, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Our visit to Ellsworth AFB has mixed emotions. The new section was almost finished and we were allowed access even with the backhoe and other equipment sitting next to our site. The biggest problem was NO access to the bath house/laundry area without driving from one section to the next and then having to walk quite a way with your laundry basket to get to the building. The bath house is outdated but was kept clean, the washers and dryers were expensive, outdated and small. The location for sightseeing the Black Hills was fantastic, amenities at the base was adequate for our needs so overall, it is a great FamCamp with the exception of the bath house & laundry facilities. Amy was extremely helpful and quite an asset to the facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23-30 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Grass was tall as last reviewer said, but during our stay, they did cut it. I think it just grows so fast this time of year they can't keep up. They currently have 40 spaces and are building 7 additional which will be ready by 2015. Strongly advise making reservations as park was full during our entire stay. Also, with reservations you get your site assignment in advance and can simply pull into your site and then register. There is diesel at the gas station and it is possible for a big rig to fill up there. BX and Commissary are smaller than we expected, but adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 28-July6 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Amy was great getting me in last minute for the 4th of July holiday week. But did have to move a few times due to spots having reservations. Their paper system of reservations seems out of date and probably would be more organized if they didn't give people their space number before they got here. They have a big board that if you check in after hours, you know what space you would go to. Bob and Casey the camp hosts that were on duty when I arrived were great!! Bob was able to save me one move and I was able to stay in the main campground and not go to overflow. (Elec only) The other camp hosts that took over later were rude and evidently drunk all the time. Bottles were visible under their rig. The man also showed up one night in his pj's and very drunk. There were other complaints about them, and they were working on getting rid of them. The hookups and showers and laundry were fine. No cable which surprised me considering it was more than I had paid at other military campgrounds that had everything. WiFi is spotty at best. Overall, I enjoyed staying here, appreciated Bob and his wife inviting me to dinner and being exceptional camp hosts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 31 - August 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground has a new manager named Amy who is doing an amazing job. They are again taking reservations and everything seems to be running smoothly. Amy has been able to get the grass mowed fairly frequently in spite of the sequester budget limitations. The restrooms are spotless; one of the four washers is awaiting repair but all six dryers are working well. The campground was full due to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally but there was always room in the overflow lot with 30 amp power. We don't mind the overflow lot as we enjoy watching the B-1's taking off and landing. Great campground, convenient to all the Rapid City attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6 July 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We called for two days but were unable to speak with anyone. Considering it was a holiday weekend, that didn't seem unusual. There was a phone message indicating that they were no longer accepting reservations but would honor all existing reservations. The FamCamp was full on our arrival but we knew there were 12 overflow sites with electric only. There was a map on the FamCamp office door with a black marker line to the Over Flow area. The problem was that the street names were covered by the Black Line. We eventually found the Overflow area with the help of two Security Policemen. It would have been nice to have written directions to the overflow area available. From the Famcamp: Exit left on Lincoln. Right on LeMay. Veer Right on Scott. Left on Menoher Drive. Left on Dyess St. - Overflow area is straight ahead on right hand side after the road curves to the left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
7 - 21 July and 29 Jul to 13 Aug 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - I had no problem getting in here twice. We are on an extended stay, and been with Sturgis Rally there were still spaces. The camp host and staff at outdoor rec are very eager to assist. I would highly recommend this FAMCAMP as a must stay if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29-30 July 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The camp host is very good. Moves you from dry camp to full hookups as soon as possible, dry camp was pretty good with 30 amp electric.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 25, 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The last time I stayed here was a decade ago. It was nice then and still is. The trees have grown to provide some shade for sitting around the campsite. They do not interfere with satellite signal reception. All pads are concrete and level. Utilities work well although the voltage dipped occasionally. Perhaps due to the campground being full and abnormally hot weather for this part of the country. The bath house was clean. Verizon cell coverage, to include 3G, was good. There are two things to look out for. The turn-in to the campground has a dip that needs to be navigated carefully. Despite the Directions information listed above, you CANNOT use the commercial entrance to the base. There is a posted sign that states it is closed to all POV traffic and it is completely closed on the week-ends. Enter through the main gate and ask for a base map. It will accommodate all size rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Excellent location and value! Both camp host couples were friendly. The reason the overall experience was so low was because the camp hosts were not interested in getting problems fixed in the sites. I had a problem with the 50 amp circuit breaker tripping at my site and was concerned it would trip while I was away. Temperatures were in the nineties during the day and I have two indoor cats. After I had to reset it four times over the course of two days, I insisted that I be moved to another site, which was done reluctantly. Instead of getting the circuit breaker replaced, the camp host just told me I was wrong and it wasn't tripping. Oh well, the camp hosts were nice, just dumb and lazy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
36 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2