Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.5 (121)
82976   0   18   1   43

User reviews

74 reviews with 5 stars

121 reviews

 
(75)
 
(34)
 
(11)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.7  (121)
 
4.6  (121)
 
4.2  (121)
 
4.3  (121)
 
4.5  (121)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
74 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 29 - Sep 2, 2017

Be prepared for LOTS of wind! Otherwise this is a superb CG. The host at the CG is professional, friendly and extremely helpful. Rapid Falls has anything you could possibly need, the Commissary and Exchange are nearby and the Express is a block away - and sells diesel! There's an Auto Hobby Shop within a mile where I was able to change the oil in my diesel truck. Also was able to get a new tire for our trailer (picked up a glass shard in a tire that already had a plug) at a great price there. Made a day trip to Rushmore, Crazy Horse and return for just a little over 100 miles.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-29 Aug 2017

We have stayed in military campgrounds from coast to coast and this one is near the top of our list. Perfect location with access to many historical sites, state and national parks. The FamCamp is clean, level sites, free laundry, WiFi that actually works, wide spots spaced apart from your neighbor, friendly staff and camp hosts. The Exchange, Commissary and Express are smaller but adequate. Military clothing is in the Exchange. There is a separate store by the food court for home/garden. The Express (base gas station or shop-ette, depending on how "old school" you are) actually has diesel and it is about one block from the FamCamp!! Make sure you visit the base museum and take the missile silo tour where you get to go down in the silo. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 5-9, 2017

Very nice place. Very hot during our stay, so we did not get outside often. Nice laundry facility and office staff. Enter Patriot Gate, the campground is immediately to the right. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3 - 8 2017

Very nice famcamp with lots to do in the area. Most spots are concrete slab with picnic tables. No shade but didn't bother us since we were out seeing the area attractions during the day. Rec office has FREE doughnuts on Friday morning and coffee every morning during the week. Enjoyed our stay and would stop by and stay again if in the area. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15-24 Jun 2017

Hard to beat this Park! Most attractions in the area (Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bad Lands, Sturgis, Deadwood, Devils Tower, Wall Drug, Minuteman Silo tours, etc) are all within 1 - 2 hour drive from Base. Great location to set up base camp and tour the area. Free WIFI, free laundry, Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Sites are relatively spacious with full hook ups. There are approximately 21 pull thru sites and the rest are back in. We had no problem getting our 36' Super C with tow dolly in the pull thru. In fact, I believe a 50+ foot would probably fit in the pull thrus just fine. Power is 10/30/50 Amp. Verizon cell phone coverage was 4-5 bars, T-Mobile was 2-3 bars. We didn't check our AT&T MIFI for signal strength but it did work just fine. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22May-9Jun 2017

Very nice park. Convenient to everything on base. Coffee and donuts Fridays! Closest gate to enter during normal working hours is the Patriot gate which is the eastern most gate. We were coming from the west on I90 and took exit 67B. At the 4-way stop turn right for the Patriot gate and go straight for the main gate. Either works just fine for big rigs. Patriot Gate is only open during working hours and closed weekends and Holidays. Go through and take first right and the next right is the FAMCAMP. FAMCAMP is just fine. We had a concrete backin spot which backed up to the base property line. Some noise from the youngsters playing in the street behind us but not too late....it was summertime. Jet noise was not an issue. Free laundry facility. Wifi was good. Verizon signal strong. They should add recycling. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 May 2 June

My wife and i just completed a three week stay at Ellsworth while touring the area. I ran into a small problem and it was addressed on the spot. The host was very nice and helpful. Free laundry at this facility and wife liked that. Over all it was a great stay. Highly recommend this facility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 4, 2016

Remember to call for a reservation as the office hours are m-f 0900-1300. They will have your site assigned if you are coming in after that time. No water but $10. a night is a bargain. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 15-20, 2016

Home sweet home! Everything you need is right by the Fam Camp: Express, Exchange, Dakota's Club, Commissary...perfect! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 25, 2016

This is a great location for traveling to Mt Rushmore, Badlands and other attractions. I loved the free laundry. The washers are huge, not like the little ones we have used in the past. I had to use a laundry mat at a previous famcamp and spent $17 therefore the price to stay is well worth it. Loved the base layout. Clean Rv park and helpful staff. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 9-28, 2016

Absolutely fantastic famcamp! Great proximity to commissary, exchange, gas, library and more. Stayed here for nearly three weeks; proximity to Badlands, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Wind Caves, Missileman Historic Site, and Jewel Caves is exceptional. FREE LAUNDRY!!!! That alone makes this camp awesome! ****Use the Express setting on the washer, or your load will take 90 minutes! Wish that famcamps would offer a temporary library card to check out movies and books, but there is a Redbox by the shopette and the WiFi is pretty decent. We stayed in site #14 which had a great lawn area and was near laundry facilities. Would absolutely recommend and go back!!! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 25, 2016 – July 12, 2016

We do agree with all of the comments made by benjamin2014. This FamCamp has been a great experience for us. Not homesteading, but we were able to extend our stay from the 2 weeks we scheduled to 7 weeks. We started our stay in the off season and it changed to high while we were there with an average cost of approximately $22 per day for the RV lot. Chris was outstanding, provided all required support and information about the local area. The installation has three gates, we used the 24/7 Main Gate, The Patriot Gate is open 6AM to 6PM Monday thru Friday, road is next to the FamCamp, a Commercial Gate is approximately 2 miles from the Main Gate on the other side of I-90 and is open 6AM to 6PM Monday thru Friday, 6AM to 1PM on Saturday. We have not used the Commercial Gate. We only encountered Active Duty Gate Guards, they were all friendly, courteous and professional. The camp has 51 full hook-up sites with 30/50 AMP, water and sewer, (21 pull through sites). Also there are 12 overflow sites with 30 AMP only. The laundry facility is great with 4 new high capacity washers and 6 new dryers. We had no idea how much of America’s history was made in this area. Just some of the places we visited are: Mount Rushmore, Chief Crazy Horse (we participated in a Volksmarch up to the carving), Devils Tower, Air and Space Museum (with Minuteman II Missile Silo on Ellsworth AFB tour for $8 per person), Badlands (white prairie dog town, mountain sheep, 1909 Prairie Homestead, beautiful landscape), Custer State Park (with begging burrows, 1300 head of free ranging buffalo, other wild life), Needles Highway (eye of the needle rock formation), Spearfish Water Falls, and Deadwood. Some of our local commercial activities included: Bear Country USA, Roy’s Drive-in Movie Theatre in Hermosa, ATV Rentals ($90 for 4 hours with a military discount, Mad Mountain Rentals) and the Hollingsworth Horse Ranch in Custer (unescorted trail rides). This is a long write up, but the area is really a great place to visit and Ellsworth AFB had everything we needed at a reasonable price and with a friendly, professional attitude. We have a 45’ Class A and a Wrangler Unlimited.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2016

This RV park was very easy to find and in a great location. Famcamp  is located immediately after entering PATRIOT GATE across from the gas station. There has been some recent changes at this famcamp. The rates here have gone up to $23/night. They no longer offer weekly rates. Also the office is located at the entrance of the fam camp, on the map it shows the office inside the famcamp but that building is closed down, we saw about 20 people trying to go to the closed building to check in and we had to inform them the office is at the entrance near the dump station. At this famcamp you should NOT use your awnings!!! This is very important, it's not advertised but it should be, but due to the location they get random wind gust 20-40 MPH even on nice days. Several RV awnings have been ripped off RVs here according to office staff. The camp host told me it's normal and sometimes the wind gust are so strong that you have to walk sideways. The gust are very random, it might seem like a nice sunny day and appear to be calm, but the wind comes out of nowhere. During bad weather the wind gust are very strong. On 2 occasions we had to put our side out in because the wind was so strong it was damaging our awning on the slide, and the wind gust will shake your RV, we camped in a 35ft class A.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 Aug - 9 Aug 2015

Great FAMCAMP & staff. We had to change our reservations two days before arriving & the Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Facilities were within easy walking distance. We were there during 'Sturgis' week so there lots of MC's around. We stayed in a class 'A' motor home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13-20, 2015

This is a great place to stay. All sites that I have seen are paved with great access. About 10 miles from Rapid City so you will need a vehicle. Great surrounding area. Park is clean. I would advise staying here and will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 June-9July 2014

Very nice Famcamp staff was very helpful and friendly. Good location to go out and enjoy all the outdoor events that are available in the area. Base had everything you need to keep you going, would go back again with no problems at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2014

One of the nicer FAMCAMPs we've stayed at. Well kept up (to include lawn mowing while we were there) and base facilities couldn't be more convenient - like most anymore not a lot of dining options tho. Agree the back-ins are better with more space, better wifi signal, access to laundry etc. Can't speak on staff as we arrived the day after the office closed for the season. They gave us a reservation a couple of weeks prior and that was posted but alongside conflicting guidance indicating a first come first served policy after office closure (its the military right?). Someone in the site we had been assigned but, no problem, another one that was acceptable was open. Don't quite know what happened - maybe thats why they ran my card for the reservation instead of using it as a hold (whats with this a week rate is 7xdaily?) Anyway, that and wifi that would randomly cut out despite being close to the office are the only down checks I can think of.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

4-7 August 2014

L.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Really need to enter through Main Gate. The RV Gate closes at 1800 and is not open weekends. Very nice and Camp Host was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 - 28 Jul 2014

V.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Excellent park. Slots are tight and fairly close to each other. Pads were gravel with a concrete sidewalk, picnic table and a brand new cast iron bar-b-que grill, set in concrete, were right next to the pad. The place was packed. According to the host, we got the last site. Every site we saw was full hook-up...50 amp, water and sewer. About 15 new sites were under construction. Camp manager was awesome. He met us right at the entrance. The FamCamp director was also there taking reservations and processing paperwork. It was quite busy. Restrooms were nice and clean, grass within the park, where it existed, was mowed, and trash bins were nearby. Commissary and BX were about five blocks away. Yes, as one person noted, some grass on Base is no longer mowed because of budget cutbacks, but that was only in limited areas away from the main thoroughfare. The National Motorcycle Rally was that week at Surgis about 30 miles away with an estimated 450,000 motorcycles, so there were quite a few bikers in the camp, but they were the older set. Despite this, the manger told us the place is full almost all summer long. So, get reservations as early as you can. Thankfully, we got ours the same day, but only because of a cancellation. Overall this is a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2-9, 2014

Stayed for the Sturgis bike rally. The site was in the new pull thru's, plenty of space. Had all the hook ups, even had 2 sewer hook ups to accommodate any size RV. There was also Wifi, wasn't reliable at my site but I guess the closer to the office the better. They were in the process of putting in 7 more pull thru's. This is a nice little gem for the black hills and all its attractions. Even got a space next to mine for my parents, just had to get them a pass at the main gate. BX and commissary not to far, shoppette is on the corner walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
74 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4