Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
121503 0 19 3 64

User reviews

91 reviews with 5 stars

142 reviews

 
(92)
 
(37)
 
(12)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.7  (142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (142)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (142)
Value 
 
4.4  (142)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
91 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Sept/Oct 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice place and convenient to the Black Hills. High season rates are slightly higher than listed here, $30 per night FHU, $180 week. Level and wide concrete spaces with scattered trees and BBQ grills. We prefer the pull-thru spaces for our 40 ft with toad, but have used the back-in spaces with no problem as well. Overflow sites are well spaced, a little bumpy and uneven but hey, the price is right at $15! Gate entry after hours and on weekends must be thru Liberty gate. Patriot Gate is now open during duty hours, we had no problem navigating thru with the toad. Laundry is free, a small picnic table outside and one inside if you want to hang out watching the spin cycle. If you have to do several loads be advised there are a couple rolling baskets to help carry your laundry, because some sites have a bit of a hike to the laundry room!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 4-6 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very clean, nice shady trees, and very nice people. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
14-18 Aug 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice and quiet, we stayed 4 nights and the B-1's flew only one evening. Nice free museum just off base. First night was in overflow, $15. 50 amp only great wifi, 3 more nights in the RV park were $30. per night. Bathrooms/showers are old and need work, laundry is free. We have a 35' 5th wheel and came in the main gate just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 9 - Sep 9, 2018
(Updated: August 13, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an update to the directions. We are a 45' motorhome towing a pickup. The sign regarding 29' RVs using the commercial gate is gone. The main gate (Liberty) has 2 swing gate type barriers. The barriers can be opened if necessary. We had no problem going around the barriers and through the gate. A 45' motorhome towing a long trailer might have a problem. Previous directions from the main gate to the FamCamp are good. Services are very convenient to the campground. Good sidewalks for walkers but the mosquitoes are horrendous. Lawn maintenance around the pull thru sites seems not to be a priority as the grass was pretty long. Added: Patriot Gate (by the FamCamp) has 2 swing gate barriers at the entrance. These gates are closer together than those at the main gate and clearance for a 45’ coach with tow vehicle may be a problem. The gates can be opened if necessary.
Ellsworth AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
20 September 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have stayed in a few military parks and this one was fantastic. Limited experience but have not stayed in a bad military park as all have been secure, accommodating, and friendly. Ellsworth offered cement sites with easy hookups, excellent WIFI, and free laundry. Can't beat any of that. The weather however was foggy and cool which limited our vacation plans but certainly not any fault to Ellsworth AFB. BX and commissary within a mile or two. Will definitely come back to this park. Most modern I have seen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the nicest FamCamps we've stayed in. Quiet, clean, walking distance to shoppette, and there's a thrift shop on base with all sorts of treasures. Concrete pads, easy hookups, and nothing beats hearing reville in the morning! There is overflow area, or park in front of Dakota Club. Not far from Rapid City, and all the Black Hills attractions. Free Laundry. The grass will become 12" high before they mow it though, that's the only possible thing to fuss about with this campground. Wifi was passable, but not wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jul 31 - Aug 3, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Ellsworth is a wonderful campground. The office staff is extremely accommodating. It is in a great location to explore the Black Hills. There is a nice golf course just outside the gate and Ellsworth has a great gym. With the exception of the lawn, the facility is clean and well kept. We were there just prior to Sturgis weekend, so the campground was full. Unfortunately 1/2 of the washing machines were not working and the grass needed to be mowed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 1-8 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great spot for exploring the Black Hills! Laundry was free which was really nice. Sites were nice but the grass needed mowing which made the mosquitoes worst :(
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 19, 2018 - June 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice park. The park is in a wagon wheel layout which gives each RV plenty of room. There is sun and shade, very clean restrooms and laundry rooms, and the grounds are kept up and mowed regularly. The roads are paved and the pads are concrete. All utilities worked fine. The park is set near 2 of the base gates - convenient; and the base isn't so far out of town that it is inconvenient. Our only complaint was the wifi was too slow - we used our hotspot. Otherwise, very nice!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cant go wrong with this location. Clean facilities, great concrete RV pads and QUIET neighbors. Close to AAFES and the Commissary. Make sure and follow direction given when you make a reservation as GPS will take you right to the gate that is closed outside of business hours. Quick drive into Rapid City and not a far drive to Rushmore and Crazy Horse..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 15 - June 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Ellsworth continues to be a nice place to stay with friendly staff and nice sites. We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a truck so we prefer the new sites which are long enough to fit the motorhome AND the truck with room to spare. Also, I like the utility setup at the new sites versus the old. In addition, some of the hookups in the older area are not lined up well and you have to stretch your sewer hose or water to fit. Last summer when we were here, we were in the old side and the lawn care company managed to rip through my sewer hose with their weed wacker. Does not happen on the new sites. The sites are concrete. We usually come in the patriot gate (M-F: closed on weekends) or the main gate, but this time as we approached there was a sign that said vehicles over 25' should use the commercial gate (Ellsworth St.) Current rates vary by time of year: 1 NOV-30APR = $10 (electric only) 1 MAY-31 JUNE = $23 FHU 1JULY-30 OCT = $28 FHU washers and dryers continue to be free.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Jun 1-9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Used 2 full-hook up pull-through sites for 36' and 30' travel trailers. The sites are on concrete and the only leveling required was from the front hitch (front to back). The picnic tables are a touch small and anchored to the ground - we had 8 people trying to sit and that left very little room for the plates on the table. There are no fire circles due to the general fire risk of the area. The grass between the sites needed to be mowed on the day we arrived and they weren't mowed until 6/8 and the thistles were a bit out of control by then. The restrooms were really nice with free showers and free laundry! We took the advice provided on this site and left our awnings in...GREAT advice as the wind does randomly gust 25+ without warning. The indoor pool is just a lap pool and the outdoor pool is out of service for the 2018 season. (Reminder to wear full/proper coverage in the fitness building - my daughter (13) just wore shorts over her one piece swim suit and received some eye glares...oops.) We rented 2 bikes from the Outdoor Rec for $10 each. The bikes were nice, until the one ended up with a flat tire 1 hour into the use. You are REQUIRED to wear a helmet on Base, no reflector belts required. The location is great for the tourist areas as everything is about a 1 hour drive. The "closer" campgrounds to the attractions are not nearly as nice. WIFI at night was super spotty, which was nice to have teenagers engaged in the people around them as opposed to working their thumbs! Couple other points: a) The Main Gate weave around the concrete blockades are a bit tight, so caution. b) The other gates close early. c) Safety shelter is located at the Special Forces building, which is a block+ away from the camp. d) The PX/BX has very odd hours as does the Base in general, so watch times. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Good place to stay to toured Mt.Rushmore 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great Fam Camp.We extended our stay with no problems.Great folks working in the office. Sites are long, level with easy hookups. In the area furthest from the check in office,WiFi was iffy,sometimes worked good, most time it wouldn't connect or disconnected continuously. Nasty storms a couple days we were there and they would call to warn us and tell us where to go if we needed to evacuate. One evening the police came to warn of potential storms. They definitely have it together here. Free laundry with no issue with hot water as previous poster stated. showers and bathhouse clean.Plenty to do in the area to keep you busy for days. No complaints at all. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The hot water issue in the laundry / bath house has been resolved. Home sweet home! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just a heads up: the hot water is out at the bath house and laundry facility. We'll be here a couple of weeks, so I'll let y'all know when it's back. There are also some pad replacements going on, and the roads are in a little of a bumby mess. But, the wi-fi is smokin'! 
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I didn't have problems encountered by the last two reviewers. Maybe it was because we only stayed for a couple of days. We got there after hours and the camp host was helpful and friendly. She informed us that there was no vehicle washing and we needed to run the washers in express mode because the regular mode was very time consuming and limited use for others. The laundry room and bathrooms were clean and well stocked. It is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit the Black Hills, Deadwood, Sturgis, Mount Rushmore, etc. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 29 - Sep 2, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Be prepared for LOTS of wind! Otherwise this is a superb CG. The host at the CG is professional, friendly and extremely helpful. Rapid Falls has anything you could possibly need, the Commissary and Exchange are nearby and the Express is a block away - and sells diesel! There's an Auto Hobby Shop within a mile where I was able to change the oil in my diesel truck. Also was able to get a new tire for our trailer (picked up a glass shard in a tire that already had a plug) at a great price there. Made a day trip to Rushmore, Crazy Horse and return for just a little over 100 miles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17-29 Aug 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed in military campgrounds from coast to coast and this one is near the top of our list. Perfect location with access to many historical sites, state and national parks. The FamCamp is clean, level sites, free laundry, WiFi that actually works, wide spots spaced apart from your neighbor, friendly staff and camp hosts. The Exchange, Commissary and Express are smaller but adequate. Military clothing is in the Exchange. There is a separate store by the food court for home/garden. The Express (base gas station or shop-ette, depending on how "old school" you are) actually has diesel and it is about one block from the FamCamp!! Make sure you visit the base museum and take the missile silo tour where you get to go down in the silo. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
July 5-9, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice place. Very hot during our stay, so we did not get outside often. Nice laundry facility and office staff. Enter Patriot Gate, the campground is immediately to the right. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
91 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5