Review Detail

3.9 69
Sept. 6 - Oct.1,2008
Overall rating

Cleanliness/Hospitality

Amenities/Facilities

Value

Overall Experience

I have stayed at many campgrounds across the United States. Some Military, mostly civilian. This is the worst place I have ever been to. When I first arrived I was told that I could stay in the overflow camp sites due to updating of half of the regular camp sites to 50 amp. I was happy to hear that since I am a Disabled Veteran and have difficulty walking long distances. Since they had no marked disabled spaces. I Was told that I could stay for up to 30 days. On the first weekend after a civilian company (non DOD affiliated) had their annual picnic there, I found that someone had removed their underwear in the mens restroom after relieving themselves in them. This stayed on the floor from Saturday until Monday at which time the underwear were picked up however the mess was left behind until Thursday. The cleanliness of the restrooms were similar to this the entire time I was there. The park was constantly littered with trash. Civilians were coming and going at all hours of the day and night without having any ID checks. So much for the locked gate which by the way was not always locked nor closed at night. There is a camp host available when he is there. The campground is located 8 miles from Goodfellow AFB. Only 1 mile from the airport. Not a bad area if your used to military aviation and low flying aircraft landing or taking off does not bother you. The docks are adequate. The ski boats and bass boat are fairly new but bring your credit card or get a loan cause they are not cheap. While the nightly stay is very inexpensive at $15.00 a night for 30 amp full hookup and overflow with just 20 or 30 amp electric is only $10.00 a night, staying for the full 30 days is cheaper nearly anywhere else in town such as the KOA located less than a mile away is $395.00 a month and includes full hookups with 50 amp and cable where as Goodfellow camp