Dyess AFB FamCamp

Dyess AFB FamCamp

 
3.6 (26)
36644   1   8   0   13

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars

26 reviews

 
(4)
 
(12)
 
(6)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.3  (26)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (26)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (26)
Value 
 
2.6  (26)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (26)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
May 2, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice FamCamp except - $35/night in the middle of west Texas is a LOT pricey. I could list all of the FamCamps we've stayed at for a lot less but $35 is overpriced. I am not sure who setup the pricing format but $35/night, $130/week and $395 per month is sorta silly. With that said, this is a clean well spaced park with concrete pads. Given the hassle with getting in and out, we'd probably stay at the nearby KOA the next time even though staying with military is family. So staying somewhere else is hard for me to say.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Clean and well maintained campground.Similar to many military FamCamps, a large parking lot with sites.All hookups working well.Laundry and bathrooms at the beginning of the area were clean. It is an open area and if the winds are blowing (as they were when we were here) you'll be in a wind tunnel. They do now have WiFi, with 2 different connections,WiFi 1 and WiFi 2.Unlike a previous poster stated, you do need a password, so need to call when you arrive to get it. WiFi2 had a much stronger signal for us, but unfortunately were only able to connect to it once. WiFi 1 was extremely slow, no bars connection that disconnected every few minutes. FamCamps are a great deal, this one definitely is overpriced.We just left Fort Smith,Arkansas @ $8.50 a night in a wooded lot overlooking a pond and golf course.Next stop White Sands at $10 a night.Do use only Tye gate when entering or exiting with your RV. All in all a nice FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They have placed barriers at the Main Gate and all RV’s must enter the Commercial Gate (Tye Gate) on the North side of the base. Coordinates N32.43871/W099.84536.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 9-12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Update to those who have been here before, they now have WiFi which is strong and solid. The areas are clean and well taken care of. There are no trees and most here are permanent including one unit that has the tires rotted off. We are pleased with the location and facilities. Easy to access through the gate, very nice base and pleasant staff. The cost seems a little high for a Famcamp, but not unreasonable.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7 and 9 Jan 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice place, especially coming from El Paso heading East on 20. The price was not much of an issue but without WiFi its high. It gets off set since w stayed at Gila Bend for 10 bucks and Ft Bliss for 17 bucks a night. Loved the pads with lots of room for my 40 foot Newmar. I have a handicapped accessible unit and we picked a spot that as easy to get in and out of. Never once saw a camp manager Just slipped the paper in the door slot. The spot I was assigned was taken so I picked a different one. Thankfully one was open. That’s why I marked down in hospitality. All in all had a good stay but would have been nice to have actually met the camp manager. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 Jun 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
$35 a night is pretty pricey for where you are at. No views of really anything.  Just a bunch of bunnies hopping around. I payed $21 a night at mayport naval station and it was right by the water in Florida. Ok not a fair comparison but I think $35 is a bit much. Facilities were clean and place was all new nice grounds. Large airforce plane museum on base and large exchange and commissary. There are after hour instructions to make a payment but no camp host which is strange but everywhere you go is different. Also if you have a non military guest with you must obtain a guest pass from the visitor center. Again different base rules. I decided I'd rather dry camp the cost was $15 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
7-15 Dec 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overall, it was a good experience in a nice new campground with a good staff.  If you thought the price at $35 a day were keeping people away, you would be wrong.  The majority of 'campers" here seem to be permanent party living out of the cheapest vehicle they can find on wheels.  Diesel trucks idling in the early morning hours as these people get ready for work, make one wonder why they call it a FamCamp instead of a trailer park. There might have been four sites for actual campers to rotate in and out.  Outdoor Rec people say the dry sites will someday be FHU sites.  There is also a site in front of Outdoor Rec that can be used with water and electric while you wait to move into a FHU site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 10-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here two nights on the way from southern New Mexico to Dallas, TX. Small campground, but spacious enough sites. The campground near the hospital and close to the Arnold Street Gate so don't have to drive through the base to get to it. The road to the campground is currently torn up for construction. We were warned about this when we called the office to get our site number. The road is narrow and parts of it one-way. We left before the road crew had their machines on the road at 7:00a as otherwise it could have been a tight fit, or even require the crew to get the equipment off the road for us to pass. Helpful people in the office. Free wi-fi, but we found the speed extremely slow. Rated the amenities as 3 based on average ratings from previous reviews since we did not use them ourselves; would be nice to have an option that allows bypassing this particular rating. Overpriced IMHO, but probably comparable to or perhaps less than private campgrounds in Abilene.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 23, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Called ahead, reserved a site for 4 nights, paid for first night with cc. After a long, hot drive we arrived to find our assigned site occupied. Camper claimed to also have paid for the site. Called office and was told there had been a mixup. No kidding. Gave refund and allowed us to use dump station. Fortunately, my wife had spotted an RV park at the VFW across from the main gate. They were very accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
15 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
So glad to see this facility open. We spent one night as we were traveling West on I 20. The staff was very friendly, looks like a few Homesteaders live here permanently. Cost was way too high for the amenities offered. $35 night. It was a bit confusing, having to pass the RV park to get to the registration desk and then turn around to got to your site. No written directions, rules etc. There was no password for the WiFi, which didn't matter because it was virtually useless from our site. Good enough for a one night stand.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
22 Mar - 04 Apr 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice new facility with lots of potential. They still have that $35 daily rate and that's why I gave it a '2' for value - but $130 weekly and $350 monthly rate a '4', at least. Bathhouse and laundry room a bit small but clean and well maintained while we were there. Laundry, both washers and dryers, now $1.25 per load. As mentioned in an earlier review, the lots are a bit short. However, over-nighting big rigs can stay hooked up by cheating a little (overhanging a little) on each end. Otherwise, there are plenty of handy parking places for trucks and toads. We were able to pull in WiFi easily from our end lot near the bathhouse but those further in were having trouble doing so. Info for late arrivals, after office is closed, is nonexistent. Nothing on the bulletin board and no host. No printed rules/regs/info sheet or brochure available at the office when checking in. We had been told when calling ahead for reservations that there was a one month stay limit. Ha! A majority of the lots were occupied by homesteaders. During our stay we were told that the stay limit was probably going to change to one year. Directions to the main gate when coming from the south on US-277: Turn left (north) on FM-3438/Dub Wright Blvd southwest of town and proceed approx 2 miles to gate on left. (FM-3438 coming from the north is Arnold Blvd, name changes to Dub Wright at the gate as Arnold turns into the base.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11