Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.4 (135)
108735   1   9   2   60

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

135 reviews

 
(84)
 
(37)
 
(14)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.2  (135)
 
4.6  (135)
 
4.4  (135)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: July 17, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May-Jun 2015

This FamCamp is going down hill from 2 years ago. One person for grounds maintenance (lawn care). Manager didn't show any concern about campsites getting mowed, she was more worried about the wooded part being mowed by the entrance. Had to pull the grass around the hook ups, grass was taller than our sewer hose stand. They should invest in fixing the broke down mower sitting in the back that the grass is growing over and have one or both the camp host help with mowing. We were assigned a flooded space and had to pretty much beg to be moved away from the mosquito nest. Camp host was more concerned about building steps and a dog kennel for his campsite than helping. Office staff stops helping at the very second the office hours say closed. Laundry facilities were dirty and not maintained. The washing machine doors are sprung and they smelled like mildew. Spider webs are taking over the women's bathroom and laundry room, along with the broom and dust pan that has sat in the corner unused for a very long time. Tornado was spotted and base police was riding through the camp ground with lights on, but was never told where to take shelter. Went to the fire station, soaked, cold and aggravated. Train noise wasn't an issue. Can get mail on base by purchasing a post office box at the base post office.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2015

I'll give the good, bad, and ugly. The good is this RV park is beautiful, very nice large sites, flat cement, very clean, well maintained! Staff is very friendly and helpful. The bad is 5 ft from the RV park is a train track that is VERY active, in fact the most active train track I have ever seen in the US! A train goes by at least every 5 to 10 minutes especially at night, and the conductors LOVE to pull and hold that train horn for long periods of time, it's incredibly annoying!! I will certainly never return because of these trains!! The ugly, the rest of the base! This base has nothing to offer besides commisary and exchange, the roads on base are TERRIBLE!! They make no effort to repair the roads and are not safe for cars. Many buildings are closed and old, like the bowling building was closed due to falling ceiling and various safety hazards! This base has had on going construction on roads for the last 10 years! When you enter the base your surrounded by a golf course. They conveniently built a road through a golf coarse so there's guys teeing off balls around you as you drive around the base. It's ridiculous! Be cautious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 21, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 20, 2014

Arrived without a reservation and could only get 1 night. The check-in lady gave me a weird look when I stated I didn't have a reservation. Campground is nice and reasonably priced for this area. This is a convenient and secure location to stay while visiting the San Antonio area. This is the first time we have been here since the new bridge was put in. Nice job. Directions to the campground posted here were perfect. However, this was not a good location to spend the night for a peaceful rest. Trains coming next to the campground with blaring horns every 90 minutes all night prevented a good night's sleep. I'll think twice about coming here again. Made a video tour of the campground and have posted it on this website.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 03- Feb 03, 2014

It seems almost a sin to say anything negative about Ft Sam. I guess after a few visits over the yrs and many other US Mil RV parks I'm becoming more critical. Not unfairly I hope. FT.Sam (or Joint Base SA) is still a nice park w/ large, level sites. Bathhouses are usually cleaned and fully operational. Bath-house heat is out right now. (it would be during this record cold spell huh?) But as I look at Ft. Sam's daily rate in comparison; still no Wi-Fi, still no cable; it seems high. No real complaints-nice folks, nice Post facilities, nice park. I'm just not blown away with it like in yrs past.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2013

We stayed in October 2013 and enjoyed the actual campground. It was very neat and clean and the sites spacious. We did not use the laundry or shower room so we can't comment on that. The only issue we had was the woman that ran the front desk. On two separate occasions we asked simple questions and she was extremely rude and smart mouthed to us. First question was, Is there a site with a tree that we could move to (the one we were in, was in the direct sun until about 6 in the evening, our awning wouldn't even block it, with my husband's heart trouble we could not sit outside much). Her response was "don't you have an awning? put it out." Next question was, what address would we have my husband's medication sent to. My husband was having a hard time hearing her on the phone and asked her to wait so that he could hand it to me. When I answered, she said "Well, for anyone who is listening, I will tell you what to do." I remained friendly and mentioned that the address she gave me was not the one listed on their website. She told me that if I had bothered to continue reading that it says that you can not have mail delivered to that address. The web site does not say this, but I decided not to argue with her, for fear of saying something that I might later regret. Too, bad because the place itself is very nice. Just don't want to ever have to deal with that woman again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

November 6, 2011

This park was very difficult to get into. We got lost and wasted a lot of time on it. I rated this very low in for the Cleanliness/hospitality. The park was very clean, unfortunately we have never been berated, belittled and treated like children before a military park. We arrived at 5:00 pm on Sunday and parked in an empty spot because the office was closed. The camp host immediately pulled up and reprimanded us for not checking in at the office (Remember, it was Closed) and not making a reservation. He said the site we were in was paid for and sent us to another spot. We were told to pay in the morning and were again treated rudely by the staff in the office. She also was upset we did not make a reservation and almost seemed to want to argue with me. I asked her for a map and she said it wouldn't do us any good because it would all change soon. WHAT?! We felt very unwelcome. If you must stay here, call ahead for a reservation and hopefully they will be nice to you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

13 Oct 2011

Did an overnight at Sam Houston on or about 12 Oct 11. The previous post about Rittiman Road is correct. Recommend not using the Harry Wertzback Road entrance. As you enter the base the right side of the road is lined with trees. The trees have been recently trimmed back and are very sharp at the ends. Vehicles coming off Post pushed me over to the right scratching the side of my motor home. Arrive at 2000 hours camp host meet me at the rear of my vehicle and immediately gave me a lecture about making reservations, lead me to my spot and took off. Did not get any info except, pay at 0900 in the morning. Went to use the shower and it has a combination on the door. Reported to the Camp office at 0900 to pay bill. Got a lecture from the camp manager about making reservations. It took the camp manager about 20 minutes to determine what spot I was in even though I told her what it was. Obliviously I was in someone else's spot who was absent for the evening. Asked about the trees coming on post and was told, not her problem go see some one at the cemetery as the trees belonged to them. My recommendation, go to an Air Force Base when in SA, I will.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

21 May - 4 Jun 2010

Entire base is under construction. Call office and ask for best way in. Shrubs have overgrown the brick wall fence at entrance of park...so look close or you may go by it. Was brought to the office's attention on my first day and nothing was ever done. No host ever came to greet you or show you where to park. Office staff does not come out to check and see if all work has been done. No signs posted saying dogs not allowed in office. A lady came in the office with a small dog and she was told the dog couldn't be in the office. The lady even mentioned there were no signs stating that. I found it to be comical because there sat a cat on the office desk! Camp Hosts were responsible for cleaning bathrooms. They were filthy to put it mildly. Trains come by the park nightly from 10PM til about 4AM blowing their horns. Laundry facility had cobwebs hanging everywhere. Price of laundry was good though...75 cents a load. Grass needed cutting and had only one person doing it. We were told we could sign out a mower and do it ourselves! Mosquito level was high due to the wet and high grass. Campground is centrally located to allot of area attractions in and around San Antonio. Base has a good size PX and commissary to stock up on. Sorry...won't stay at this campground again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 20, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Many dates from Jan 2002 to Jun 2006

Since I lived for 28 years in San Antonio before going full time in 2001, I have stayed at FSH many times since our kids and grandkids still live there. Never considered staying at any other campground and usually stayed at FSH for a month at time, and on occasion would leave for the required period (think it was 3 days) and come back for another month. But as you note, I've not stayed there since Summer of 2006 - why? The road situation into the campground is just absurd! Every time it rains anywhere in the area, local or upstream, the road floods and may not open for days. I was just in SA for a month, 15 April - 14 May 2008 but road was closed when I wanted to come in and as far as I could tell, while driving by occasionally on I-35, never reopened - Holbrook road entrance was still open. That's the biggest drawback but second is computer access. Until about three years ago the campground had 3 computers available for use and 2 DSL lines for personal laptops - until some idiot downloaded porno on one of the government furnished computers and everything was removed by the "post internet cops". Since that time it's one phone line which is shared with the office house phone. These two factors have forced me to look to a private SA campground for my visits. Too bad that these two items can't be fixed to bring FSH back to a 5 Star camp!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 21, 2008

C.K. left this review using the Directory software: We pulled into this campsite after the office closed. We had been traveling long hours trying to get to Mesa AZ from Pensacola FL and had been sleep deprived due to a breakdown on the road in Houston. Following the directions of the office personnel that we spoke to earlier in the day we entered the camp and started to go to the office entrance to check for empty sites. The camp host (I presume as he never introduced himself) drove up and began asking me if I had reservations. After I explained about talking to the office staff earlier that day, he assigned us a site. This being our first time at Fort Sam & my fatigue I wasn't quick to catch on to all that he was telling me and he appeared impatient with my "slowness". I'm not sure if it was because of my fatigue or his displeasure at being interrupted, but the whole encounter was less than pleasurable. I would like to give him the benefit of the doubt and say it was because of my fatigue! The campground itself is very well groomed and presents well. the sites are wonderful and the whole campground looks brand new. We did not take advantage of any ammenties so I will reserve comment on this (this progam made me put a rating that's why I gave it an average). My main concern regarding this campground is the noise level from surrounding environment. The trains rain frequently until 0100 and started up again about 0400. We also heard many sirens etc. (Brooks Medical Center is right next to the campground). I'm sure that if one was staying for a while one would get used to these noises and wouldn't be bothered by them. Another thing to be aware of: if you have to go out through the Holbrook Gate you might encounter a train across the tracks blocking your exit (you can't see it until you are at the tracks! Yes, this happened to us. We did call the posted number to report blocked crossings and after about 30 minutes we could get back on the road! I'm sure that we will give Fort Sam another chance in the future; this was just a comedy of errors for our first visit here!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 10 - 17, 2008

Originally, we didn't have reservations and couldn't get in. We were able to get a reservation for a few days down the road for 6 days. At the ned of those 6 days, we had noticed there were empty sites every night. We asked if we could stay one more night if we changed apaces. No problems. Since we had paid for 6 nights already, the 7th night was free (weekly rate is the same as 6 nights). Unfortunately, the bridge to the campground was closed all week due to rain and they hadn't approved the bridge for safety. This makes getting from the campground to the base a large hassle. You have to go around and one-way streets make it a long trip. At one point a train blocked the road to the campground. 15 minutes later, we decided to make a 3 mile drive and go around the train. Speaking of trains - they are NOISY!!! I was awakened EVERY NIGHT by train horns. The above hassles made our visit less than perfect. However, the office staff was very friendly. Because of the location near the trains, we probably won't stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2006

Nice campground. I have to rate this park as 3 stars due to the trains running all night blowing their whistles. I saw the fire ants but had no problem at my site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2006

Great Campground once you get there. Staff is very accomodating. Roads into the RV park are the worst I have ever seen on a Military Post. Main road in and out of RV park was flooded for 2 days so only road available was terrible backroad. Also fire ants are a problem in campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13