Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.4 (135)
108735   1   9   2   60

User reviews

81 reviews with 5 stars

135 reviews

 
(84)
 
(37)
 
(14)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.2  (135)
 
4.6  (135)
 
4.4  (135)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
81 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug-Sep 2017

Nice place in San Antonio. Stayed a month in Aug 2017 in a 37' motorhome. Friendly and helpful staff (shout out to Baker). Basic supplies in office (toilet paper, sewer packs, hose connections, etc.). All pull through sites and large enough for motorhome and toad. Picnic table and grill at all sites. WiFi only available on back porch of office. Train noise at all hours but you get use to it or use earplugs. They take reservations which is a plus for a military RV site. Great access to San Antonio attractions. The Rittiman road access was closed for road work when were here so we entered through the N Walters St gate with no problems. No concrete weave through barriers at this gate. Call to get updated access directions. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 24-30 2017

First time at Ft. Sam to stay in RV area. We were there for a week and would have liked to stay longer. You may wind around a little bit to get there, but when you drive in you find an open, spacious park with all pull-thru sites. The folks in the office will bend over to make you feel welcome. This park is a great value! From Ft. Sam you are only minutes from downtown San Antonio, the Alamo, RiverWalk, virtually anything of tourist value in the town. The lovely Texas Hill Country with places like Fredericksburg, Kerrville, Bandera and New Braunfels with Schlitterbahn water park are only a short drive away. We will be returning, and probably more than once.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 Mar- 1 Apr 2017

Ft Sam still tops the list for Texas FAmCamps in my opinion. No Wi-Fi but other than that, it's about as nice as can be. The wife wants to say that the laundry rooms have brand new front loader washers and dryers ($1.50 per). A real nice upgrade since our last visit. I read several problems (below) about arriving, gates, entrance, signs, etc. If one follows the directions above, its a snap. Follow them exactly and you'll have no problems. I tried to explore Brooks Base to see if the old FamCamp there was truly closed. Yep, it is. Don't bother looking-this website has the correct info. Great place, good folks and clean, well maintained facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January,2017

Be sure to follow the directions listed on this site. GPS will take you to the finance building, not near the FamilyCamp. As noted very please with our 1st visit here. Nice pads, plenty of room between site, staff very helpful. Made reservations 6 weeks in advance, glad we did. Park was full, due to a rodeo in town. Only negative comment would be the roads inside post. Terrible and in need of repair. Watch out for some big potholes. (roads inside campground were good)Sevices were very good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec. 28th to Jan.28th 2017

It has been 6 years since we have been here and the campground looks exactly the same. No construction on interior roads of the installation and seeing all branches of the service was a nice surprise. Looks like there are many active duty staying in the RV park and thankfully there is a nice playground for all the children. Go to ITT and check out the great prices as we saved over 50% on one of the packages we bought for activities downtown. As for the heavenly Mexican restaurants we ate our way around San Antonio and had some of the best Tortillo Soup with and without POLLO! Weather has been very erratic this stay from cold to hot to windy and rainy but we are used to the tricks the weather sends us now. Not far from here there were several tornadoes touching down; in January YIKES! If you have not stayed here it is really a wonderful place to explore so much history and the outlying towns are wonderful to explore; be sure to go to Bandera; The Cowboy Capitol of Texas.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 14-17, 2016

This was our second visit. Very nice park, all pavement/concrete roads/pads and grassy areas. We did not use the restrooms/showers/laundry. San Antonio is a wonderful place to visit. Convenient getting our MH and car inspected for TX registration (fulltimers) nearby. Pleasant areas for walking the dog both in/out of the RV park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 28-30, 2016

We stayed there for 3 nights (on our way back from Florida) and found the facility and location to be great! Since I'm a retired sub sailor and started out on diesel boats, an occasional train was NO big deal! Entry road could use some work, but again since we live in the mountains on NM on a dirt road, no big deal.. The sites are wide and long. The trees are high enough to provide some shade, but not too high to affect our roof top satellite. The lady in the office was very helpful and ready to help with information. There is a nice golf course close to the RV park, but it was too hot and humid for this high desert mountain rat to play golf! Our GPS DID work on base and it did guide us downtown to the Mexican Market and River Walk and back. There is NO WiFi or cable, but it was again not a problem for us as 0ur iPhone worked well for hotspots and along with our antenna & satellite there were plenty of stations. We'd like to come back when its cooler and spend some time there! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. We called a reserved a spot. We got there after hours, but they had the information for us at the front door of the clubhouse. Very nice park, nicely laid out with level concrete sites. We only stayed one night but we would come back again. It is on the back side of the base, and that gate closes after 10PM. Ask me how I know. Luckily we were out to dinner with a friend who knew the base well and took us around to the other side. Otherwise I fear we would have been a little bit lost. Please note my one negative, I am sound sensitive and there are trains that come alongside the rv park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 3-4, 2016

This is our second stay at Ft. Sam Houston.  We were impressed with our first stay and had to stop again for two nights on our trip from Florida to California.  It is very difficult to find any negatives about the RV Park.  The grounds are well kept, the sites are great and the staff was friendly and helpful.  We look forward to returning for a longer stay on our next trip through San Antonio.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 8-12 2016

Spacious campground with friendly staff. While there isn't much to do at the campground it is a short trip to the commissary, BX, fitness and pool area. Currently the indoor pool is being repaired and is closed for a year. Wifi is only available in the registration building or behind the building by the table area. There is a fenced in dog run area. 15 minute drive to the riverwalk and the Alamo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 9 2015

Although only for a 1 night stay, the RV park is very nice. The only problem was getting there. We followed the instructions in the posting which is good info but not this trip. There is major construction on I-35/I-410 exactly where you want to get off. It was no problem just very slow and rough. After we got to the RV park I asked about an alternate route and there is one. No matter which way you want to go, I recommend after exiting the base use Harry Wurzbach Rd North to I-410. This turned out to be very good road all the way. A lot less congestion and no construction. Best info is to call the office to make sure the construction is still ongoing and ask for recommendations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 26 2015 - Jan 2 2016

While starting out on a 2 1/2 month trip from Arkansas to Southern California, Winter Storm Goliath was stirring up when we were in Lubbock, TX.  Weather outlook for that area as well as our planned travels down to I-10 was a BLIZZARD WARNING. Ft Bliss TX was included in the bad weather area.  So we headed down towards San Antonio, TX. We called and spoke with Howard who told us that he could fit us in for a day or two.  We thought that it was okay and we could find another campground locally for a few more days.  We arrived after the office closed, but Howard had a site assigned to us for two nights.  The next morning, after talking with Howard in the office, he was able to get us into another site for two nights.  However, he mentioned that I needed to speak with Marty on Monday, before confirming the additional days.  In talking with Marty, she was able to rearrange sites and give us a full week, at the same site.  Howard and Marty went above & beyond to rearrange sites against reservations to get us a site for the week.  By the end of our stay, the roads going through TX & NM should be clear.  If it wasn't for these 2 great people, who are truly customer service oriented, we would have been camped at one of those KOA type of campgrounds.  The sites are VERY LEVEL, plenty of elbow room, clean, has a dog run and everything else one could want.  Close to San Antonio.  AGAIN, THANKS HOWARD & MARTY,,,,

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 - 23 November 2015

Very nice RV park! Spacious sites with all paved roads & mostly level paved sites with grass between each site. Sites were spaced 30-40 feet apart and long enough for the biggest rigs. Each site had a table and BBQ grill. This park would definitely rate a 5.0 if it had wifi. Roads on post are pretty rough. Definitely get reservations as the park stays full.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 May-26 May 2015

This is our 5th stay as we find it very close to our family and friends. This time we previewed the other facilities at Lackland and Canyon Lake and found this park more to our expectations and liking. Sites are long and wide and pull in. Campground is well maintained, laundry facilities very efficient and clean. Even though it rained most of the time, this did not spoil our stay. We had tornado warning one night and were alerted to go to one of the bathhouses for shelter. As for the train noise, don't find this an issue. One of the previous comments about the potholes.. well, this is an issue in San Antonio and on IH35. We lost a hubcap somewhere in the city. Mail no longer received on base and believe the nearest PO is on Perrin Beitel. All in all this is one of our favorite campgrounds. Oh yes, In and Out just opened on Walzem and IH35. This is one of the most efficiently run and good places for hamburgers. If you haven't tried one, do so. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2015

One of our favorite camps. Very well run. Clean. Spacious sites. They now have a few hot spots in the office building. You can sit on the patio and use the internet even when the office is closed. Great plus! Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 7, 2015

We did a RON on the 7th of January. Baker as usual was great and helpful, we did a first and filled up propane at the park before we pulled chocks Thursday morning, wonderful. The reason to leave a review is the on going CONSTRUCTION on base. CALL BEFORE you ARRIVE to see which way to enter the base. !!!!!!! Baker told us in the next month or so that the road (nursery) leading in near the cemetery will be torn up and closed for a period of time that it takes to resurface. No word on if the petroleum gate will be opened to allow rv,s and others to access that part of the base, as coming in from the other parts of the base will be nearly impossible with a rig over 30 feet TOTAL, roads are narrow and signage is horrible. In fact my wife had a police escort from the commissary back to the park because the construction has everything closed or blocked, she finally found a security person and asked how to get back, so it was very helpful they escorted her through the maze. Out on I-35 if your coming in from the north, rittiman road is better now. If you come in from the south on 35....SLOW DOWN the construction is horrible on the patch before and the parts you have to exit on at rittiman and the lights are LONG and badly timed. Stay in the second lane from the left to turn as the turn is tight because of the road work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Novemebr 11th, 2014

We pulled in late on Veterans day...and had an equipment failure. The next morning I went up and asked if we could stay an extra night to effect repairs. Typical of this park and staff, I was immediately met with a warm and sincere OF COURSE and don't worry if you need to stay longer we can adjust arrivals. This park is a gem in our book. Each time we stay there it is always a pleasure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 8-15, 2014

A.F. left this review using the Directory software: - The staff is very helpful and friendly. The sites are large and neat although all sites do not have trees for shade. The base is a wreck! Construction everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 to 23 May 2014

Great site with a number of spaces that have nice shade trees. Very clean and well maintained. It is a bit disappointing that they don't have WiFi. I found it a bit difficult to move/drive about the base due to many road closures. It is a park that I would return to when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan - Apr 2014

I stayed here while I was in class... huge sites and the office folks are OK most of the time; the camp host is a little grumpy but he is only in the office on the weekends. Overall I was happy with my stay and I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
81 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5