Goodfellow AFB Recreation Camp

 
3.9 (66)
100259 1 36 0 23

User reviews

66 reviews

 
(23)
 
(28)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0  (66)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (66)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (66)
Value 
 
4.1  (66)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
66 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Apr 27 thru May 1, 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great stay, excellent location by Lake Nasworthy. Staff and after hours camp host were very helpful during our stay. This was our very first out of town camping experience with our new RV and it was very rewarding. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 2011 - January 2012
(Updated: March 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had the pleasure of staying at the GAFB famcamp for 6 months while in training at Goodfellow, the experience was great! Harry and the gang, to include the camp hosts went well above and beyond to make sure the stay was a good one. the only reason this wasnt a full 5 star experience was the fact that the rates went up, but was still affordable, and the lack of cable hookups and the WIFI being slow/spotty. The new restroom/shower facility was really nice as was the laundry room. I truly cannot wait to make my way back out to Texas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov 11, 2011
(Updated: November 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Gone down some on value because of rate increase (compared to other famcamps) but still a real good deal considering your alternatives in the area. Upgrades to bath/shower welcome and well done. Very pleasant place to stay. Now they're getting facilities to a good standard need to work some on occupants. Noticed one seemed to be overflowing into 2 other sites. Another had dogs off leash. WiFi worked ok for me this trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
18-19 October 2011
(Updated: November 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived on a day the office was closed so was directed to the campground host. The host and his wife were very friendly and quickly fixed us up with a pull-thru site with FHU. They were unable to take a credit card but annotated our registration that we would pay at the office when it opened. Overall, check-in was a positive experience. Our site had a tree in a bad spot so our satellite system would not connect. The broadcast channels sucked to say the least. The park really needs cable hook-ups. We were happy, however, to quickly connect to the WIFI system even though we were considerable distance from the office. All-in-all, a very positive experience and the price was right. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
October 21-23, 2011
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The increase in price was somewhat unexpected, but $20 per night is still a bargain considering that the two other campgrounds close to the Rec area are almost double that. Got a lovely back-in spot near the lake and bathrooms (a must with a pop-up), close enough to the laundry room that I had a decent wireless signal. This is the first time we have been there since the restroom remodel and I must say that they did a wonderful job. But damn! Did they have a sale on yellow paint or what? Way too bright and cheery for an old salt like me. How about a little haze gray so I can feel at home? Everything was clean and trash cans were emptied every morning. Troy and the guys at the office were great, helpful and friendly. Of course, I would love it if they put in cable as there is only 1 HD TV station over the air so I missed watching the World Series on Saturday and of course an upgraded WiFi system would be appreciated. Either way, it is still one of my favorite campgrounds and only about 3 hours from my house so it's a great weekend getaway. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lake getaway or just passing through! Dave
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
18/19 October 2011
(Updated: October 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overnight rate has increased from $15 per night to $20. Also, the cabin rental rate has increased from $40 per night to $48 per night. Be aware that the office at the facility is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. To check in at the FAMCAMP you must look up the campground host. They are very friendly folks and will take good care of you. Overall, still a good value and we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 16, 2011
(Updated: August 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a small, but nice FamCamp. Access to it is easy for all size rigs. It is on an off base area lake which provides some MWR rentals of boating and other water recreation equipment. The drive to Goodfellow for such things as commissary and BX will take about 20 minutes depending on traffic. Most other off campground shopping needs are close by. The office, pool, and host staff were very cordial and helpful. Campsite roads are mostly gravel and there is a combination of gravel and paved back-in and pull thru sites. My concrete back-in site needed a bit more fore and aft leveling than I would have liked. I was running AC and most of my appliances at the same time without any voltage problems. The pool is a nice amenity especially if your site is right next to it. There is a laundry facility in a building that has enough space and tables to enjoy an air-conditioned meal if one chooses to do so. It would be a good place to do group card or board games. There are a couple of negatives - which all experienced RVers would find a royal pain in the posterior. I did not downgrade the CG for these specific ones, figuring that it's the fault of upper management who probably have no clue about basic RV fundamentals. If they did, there would not be any negatives. The first negative is that there are several trees branches lining the access road in the CG that need to be trimmed back. They will scrape your rig. Second, signage absolutely SUCKS!! There are no signs directing you to a numbered camp site area. There are no signs directing you to the registration office. If you decide to blindly drive around looking for the office, you might find yourself in a place where there is no way to turn around. The best solution is to stop in the large parking lot that is used for both boats and vehicles and then walk a short distance to the office or camp host site. I did downgrade the CG because I could not get logged into the unsecured WI-FI system despite being close to the office and having tried on several occasions with two different operating systems. My Verizon 3G hotspot worked well which tells you that cell coverage is also good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 30 - July 6, 2011
(Updated: July 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the rec camp during the Fourth of July celebration. While very crowded, the facility was very pleasant and the staff was cordial and helpful. The bath house and extra porta-pottie facilities remained fairly clean due to the staff's attention to cleanliness. Overall, my family and grandchildren had a wonderful time. Keep up the good work and thanks for a wonderful camping experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 28, 2011
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
In rebuttal to the lies the last user posted on this site!!! Was there, and the person that posted the last review was asked politely many times to move their cars to the proper required parking area, was also told that they can load and unload their things in front of the pavilion but had to move to the large parking lot many times, if this person had a handicap sticker why was it not displayed properly, interesting you say? Catering vehicles are aloud to park there because they continuously go back and forth to their trucks to get things, not that this should have to be explained to you!!! I am ashamed that a person of this age could say such lies and look at themselves in the mirror. Hope you don't plan to go back to this rec camp because you do not deserve to go to such a nice place, as for your family they are very welcome to enjoy the facilities herein.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 4, 2011
(Updated: June 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We had our family reunion at the Goodfellow Recreation Camp in San Angelo Texas. The manager was very unprofessional and quite frankly rude. My experience there was very disappointing and I would not recommend having a reunion at this place at any time. I know we will not even consider it. My relatives were treated with disrespect and in trying to talk with the manager...he would not listen and he only wanted to show us how he was the "BIG BOSS". There are no spaces for handicap people to park and when my 85 year old aunt parked in a spot close to the reunion site...he made her move to the parking lot which was at least 100 yards away. She even had her handicap sticker. This was very upsetting to my other relatives. My daughter who was unloading food for the reunion was also treated with disrespect. He told her he was going to write her a ticket for parking. Yet, catering trucks were allowed to stay there for hours. Interesting??? Maybe the rec camp needs to invest in some better parking for those using the facilities. 100 yards away is a little far away for the handicap and those trying to unload. I also have other complaints, but this is sufficient at this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 6
June 1-2, 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground on Lake Nasworthy. Each site has a concrete pad, grill, and picnic table. Most sites are pull through with some shade trees. There is a new bathhouse that was very clean, but the water was not hot enough. There is a 2 washer/2 dryer laundry in the same building. The pool looked inviting and costs an extra $2 per day per person if you want to use it. They also rent boats at the marina. Fishing looked pretty good; my neighbor caught a nice size catfish near the marina. We were in site 14, a back-in site, which had great WiFi coverage and a good view of the lake. Finding satellites for our receiver was easy. The only downside is that it is beside the pool. We didn't notice much noise, but people walked through and near our campsite while it was open. Somebody stepped on and damaged our dump hose. Goodfellow AFB is several miles away and has a small commissary and exchange. The drive through Texas Hill Country to the east was very pretty; the scenery becomes more barren to the west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 18, 2011
(Updated: April 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Made reservations for site #14, a back-in. When we got to the park they had a few pull-throughs available so we took #2. Some road noise and light from the gas station. WiFi does not reach this far up the hill from the office. Very nice facility with clean bathrooms and laundry, which has two washers and dryers. Gravel roads with a concrete pad for parking and a picnic table at each site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22 Mar- 27 Mar 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The brand new bath-house is open for business. Turned over & opened up this morning. It's very nice. 2 showers, 3 stalls, 3 sinks. The community room & washers/dryers are on the backside of the same new building. $1 each. We were in overflow for 2 nights. Lots of overflow but only 1 location has water. All have 30amp electric svc. Wi-fi works great. If it were nearer Goodfellow or if San Angelo were closer to "something" I'd have given "Location" a 5 star too. Maybe being off the beaten track is more desirable to some winter Texans. Anyway -it's very nice and the folks are super.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 14, 2011
(Updated: March 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Came in with no reservation for my wife's graduation from Fire School at Goodfellow. While it is not convenient to the base, it is a heavily used rec area. The camp host was excellent and greeted us with a wave. We were out in overflow for the night and then moved to a regular site the next day. There appear to be a couple of homesteaders, but their sites are kept clean and tidy, you can just tell then have been there far longer than the 30 day limit. The restrooms and shower facility was down for refurb, and they had a trailer parked in one of the spots that provided decent latrines, but no showers until they get it done. The latrine trailer was cleaned regularly. The one problem was that there is little to no id checks for people using the rec area in total, but they will check you if you want to take out loaner sporting good equipment or rent a site/boat/etc. Overall very nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2010
(Updated: December 04, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice place to stay - sites are near the lake shore, there are ample trees for shade, and the sites are paved and all now have 50A power. Office hours during the winter are intermittent, but there's a friendly host to check you in. Convenient to shopping and dining, but not to Goodfellow AFB, it's a 10 mile drive across town to get to the base. Quiet and dark at night, with good Verizon cell and Aircard service. Probably busy and a bit noisy during the summer, but a perfect stop during the off season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice, well maintained park. Electric in description should be changed to show 50 amp availability. Good news about laundry/bath, considering the age of the materials they're working with its kept very clean tho. Picked up the wifi signal but couldn't get in from site 6, not a problem for our stay of a few days, there is a good coffee shop about 3 miles up the road. Trees could use trimming, no big limbs but potential scratching if they don't get after it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 3-6 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The directions were perfect and even my 3 yo GPS could locate the park. The bath and shower room could use updating, but were clean while I was there. The people running the FAMCAMP were nice as can be. The civilian parties were a little loud with their music. I guess they rent the pavilions out to help pay for the running of the camp. I didn't see anyone rent a boat while I was there. I did get to play a very nice golf course on the NE side of town called Quicksand Golf Course. Greens were great, tees and fairways were above average but the over all experience was very nice. They give discounts to military and seniors. It took me 3 days to break 80 from the tips (7000 +). Nice track for all you golfers out there. There is other stuff to do in town too. There is an old Buffalo Soldier fort there. And the Concho River is a nice walking area downtown. Lots of good Mexican food.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
26 - 28 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had a great time. Management treated us well. Facilities are starting to get a little old and worn. (Was told new showers and restrooms are scheduled) Overall a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This rec area is potentially quite busy in season. And there ISN'T much space between rigs if you're on the front line, nearer to the water. But if you want to fish and are passing through this region, this is a good deal. The manager is really helpful and friendly and doesn't turn anyone away (that means there are extra overflow hookup sites) The base has a decent gym and adequate commissary. If your GPS unit tells you to turn on Cattail road, go just a smidge further to Concho; which is only about 3 miles from the loop/hwy, not 6 miles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25-30 November 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the second time we've been here during November 2009. We spent a week at the beginning of the month and came back again because we enjoyed it here. The staff is very helpful. The fishing has been good. Black Bass, White Bass, and catfish so far. San Angelo is a very interesting town with a lot of history. The only down side of our experience has been very loud stereo music for half a night, but certainly no fault of the staff, as it was coming from a community park a few blocks away. It happen for a short period during our first visit but this last time it lasted half the night. Probably should be a city police issue. Our overall impression of the facility and the staff is very good. We'll definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
66 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4