Goodfellow AFB Recreation Camp

 
3.9 (66)
100353 1 36 0 23

User reviews

66 reviews

 
(23)
 
(28)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0  (66)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (66)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (66)
Value 
 
4.1  (66)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
66 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Nov. 23, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with prior post. Only there one night but loved the large spots. Lots of room between rigs, will stop again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an awesome place to stay! Clean & spacious sites & next to the lake, what more can you ask for in central Texas??? The Camp Host was very friendly and helpful. We saw a couple of deer while out on our evening walk around the grounds. The laundry only has two washers & dryers, and the restrooms/showers are quite dated, but other than that, this is a great RV Park !
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 16, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.P.left this review using the Directory software: We were really impressed with this campground. Here for 2 nights, passing through. We got site #8 adjacent to the "rec room/library/laundry". Most sites were pull through with nice concrete pads for the RV and a patio with picnic tables. Our side had super shade from large trees. We enjoyed being close to the lake. I assume we could have rented boats and other equipment if we wanted to. The gate is locked at night, so security seems good. A little trouble with the wifi, because the range expander was in a bad spot. I moved it a couple of feet, and the reception in our RV significantly improved. The bath and showers, although old, were clean and nicely usable. We would certainly return for another very comfortable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1-10 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The staff was extremely helpful, we had a lake side seat for the fireworks. San Angelo has a lot to see and experience. Temperature was a down side, but the wind made sitting in shade tolerable. Water connection could be better, right at ground level not helpful. Will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 12, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A.H. left this review using the Directory software: Follow directions, closely, but a good stopover. Lake is nice and people are helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just stayed here one night on our way north. Arrived in the early afternoon and found several spaces available. When you first pull into the campground you are in the pull-thru section. The office is down by the lake. If you see the sites on the pull-thru's full, pull into the large parking lot and then walk to the office. Roads and sites could be very muddy after a rain. Water hookup is very close to the ground under a metal cover making hooking up a little difficult. Electric power is 50 amp but lights were dimming down and up all night; air conditioners were running since it was hot. Womens bathroom needed some attention but mens was OK. All-in-all a very nice park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 21, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Used this facility one night traveling north. I had a new pad near the beach and bath house. The host was on duty at about 1930 and said to pick a vacant space and came riding up on her mini-bike to deliver my receipt and facility brochure. After hours check-in and payment was most convenient.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just stayed the one night. Of the 20 spaces, only 7 are available because they are doing an upgrade and putting 50 amp in. Also, overflow has 30 amp hookups. Camp host was right there to greet and offer any help I might need. Might be a great park in the future when they are done the upgrade. Excellent location by the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We pulled in for a few nights in early November. The camp host was extremely helpful, the park was scenic with the lake, a bit windy one night, but quiet and safe. We had to park in overflow, but all was well for a few nights. Would definitely stay there again. San Angelo is a friendly, historic small town, much history.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Spring and Summer 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As a retired sailor and disabled vet, I have stayed at the camp many times over the years. I have had issues in the past and they ALL HAVE BEEN CORRECTED within a reasonable period of time, usually the same day. The staff have almost always been helpful, courteous and respectful of all campers. The hosts have always been cooperative and helpful too. Yes the restroom need upgrading and understandably in need of attention because of age. Some spiteful people have misused the facilities but the staff always cleans up the mess. I am proud to be a patron of GAFB famcamp and look forward to many enjoyable visits in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Summer 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I was the camp host during the time 'EXSailorinTexas' visited the camp ground. I would like to respond to his comments: The gates were locked each night.. on Fri and Sat nights when the facilities were crowded they were kept open later to permit patrons to leave. There will always be some trash when facilities are being used but personnel dump the trash every morning and it is a very well kept park. I had several conversations with 'EXSailorinTexas'; he appears to be a chronic complainer and was very unpleasant to talk with. I would encourage anyone considering this FamCamp to discount 'EXSailorinTexas's negative comments. This is a great FamCamp and getting better every day!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
03 Oct 2008 - present
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is El Jefe and I have stayed at Goodfellow AFB FamCamp six times and been camp host three times. I was not camp host during this time. I wish to respond to EXSailorinTexas. One-The famcamp is never dirty, there is trash as will happen in every park, but the park is picked up each day by the staff. Two-Because of the way the park is set out all or every site could or is a disabled site! Three-The civilian event he is talking about was sponsored in by a member of that event who is retired military and used his rights to the park. Four-The incident with the underwear happened on the Fourth of July, two months before he arrive at the park. He apparently heard this story told and added it to his tirade for color. Five-The restrooms/showers do need to be replaced, they are old, but they are kept clean and in as good shape as their age will allow. C E and the AF have promised to replace them for as long as I have been coming here. They are more than adequate. Six-How does he know that they are civilians? May be some, but most are service connected. Seven-The camp host was here every day and closed the gate every night that "he" was here at or near 2100. As for the rest of his story it is as false as those things I have already pointed out. The camp manager and the staff are very friendly and helpful and great people. All have three or more years of experience in outdoor Rec. The camp manager has over fifteen years of service to Outdoor Rec. The costs and air port are what they are. If you don't like them move to some other place. Eight-If you have an emergency call 911 or the police and they will respond, I would also notify the base security and the camp host. They will respond, but they are 10 miles away? I will not waste more time and space on this. Bottom line: Goodfellow FamCamp is a great place to stay and the staff are great people. You will always be welcomed here and treated great. Your experience here or anywhere is what you make it. BMC Bud Kingston, USCGR, El Jefe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Sept. 6 - Oct.1,2008
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I have stayed at many campgrounds across the United States. Some Military, mostly civilian. This is the worst place I have ever been to. When I first arrived I was told that I could stay in the overflow camp sites due to updating of half of the regular camp sites to 50 amp. I was happy to hear that since I am a Disabled Veteran and have difficulty walking long distances. Since they had no marked disabled spaces. I Was told that I could stay for up to 30 days. On the first weekend after a civilian company (non DOD affiliated) had their annual picnic there, I found that someone had removed their underwear in the mens restroom after relieving themselves in them. This stayed on the floor from Saturday until Monday at which time the underwear were picked up however the mess was left behind until Thursday. The cleanliness of the restrooms were similar to this the entire time I was there. The park was constantly littered with trash. Civilians were coming and going at all hours of the day and night without having any ID checks. So much for the locked gate which by the way was not always locked nor closed at night. There is a camp host available when he is there. The campground is located 8 miles from Goodfellow AFB. Only 1 mile from the airport. Not a bad area if your used to military aviation and low flying aircraft landing or taking off does not bother you. The docks are adequate. The ski boats and bass boat are fairly new but bring your credit card or get a loan cause they are not cheap. While the nightly stay is very inexpensive at $15.00 a night for 30 amp full hookup and overflow with just 20 or 30 amp electric is only $10.00 a night, staying for the full 30 days is cheaper nearly anywhere else in town such as the KOA located less than a mile away is $395.00 a month and includes full hookups with 50 amp and cable where as Goodfellow campground is $450.00 without cable and currently 30 amp electric. However staying for that length of time at Goodfellow Campground is frowned upon by the management. The campground and park were in very poor condition. There is a lot too see and do in the San Angelo Texas area and the people are wonderful. Just not the ones located next to the Campground. I was told by the junior staff members and the maintenance crew that if anyone goes too close to the fence the neighbors would call the police. Also don't bring a pop up trailer that is not self contained to San Angelo and expect to pay by the month to stay at a campground as they are outlawed for that length of stay due to not being self contained. The campground staff is largely made up of young people that are fairly inexperienced with the needs of campers. As for the manager, well lets just say its a name only position. The Recreation Program Director will schedule events at the park, try not to be there during these times as you may be asked to leave, weather you have paid or not. If you decide to contact someone at night or when the park/campground is closed due to civilians being there after hours having loud parties until 3 am, don't bother. Security Forces will not come out and the local police will not come out, so your on your own. Also if you do happen to see something take place after hours it would be best to forget you ever saw it as you may be asked to leave for complaining about the noise or people doing donuts in the boat dock area or civilians being there at all hours of the day and night. Overall I feel sorry for the Men and Women in Uniform stationed at Goodfellow AFB. They are the ones that really suffer when their recreation facilities are in this poor a condition. I will not ever stay there again not even if they paid me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 9
Feb 2007 - May 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.G. left this review using the Directory software: Trees are maturing nicely and the stay limit is being enforced (30 days unless there are open spots, then 60 days). Campground is being kept up very well. Right on the banks of a constant level lake, they have a great marina and many pavillions. Pool is first class and open in the summer. The rates have made two jumps in the last few months but is still less than the private parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 24-March 30, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We thought the park was wonderful and very friendly, although a little far from the base. The park host was especially helpful. There were a lot of families using the park and all its facilities. Thank you for providing it for all of us to use.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent famcamp. Close to lake with lots to do. Stays full most of the time and overflow is adequate. Campt staff does a good job taking care of you and answers questions and give good directions. Easy to explore San Angelo and even though the camp is off base, Goodfellow is not to hard to find. I'm told 50amp is on the way. I think services should see a need to expand camp site spaces to accommodate more rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 14 - 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a brief, but very enjoyable stay at this fam camp. It is located right on the shores of Lake Nasworth with paved walkways and several benches to enjoy the view. Our site was paved, had nice shade and the staff was extremely cordial. We had one little blip on the radar: when we were packing up to leave, I brought in a plastic crate stored under the trailer. My wife asked me to please remove the crate and the snake that was entwined in the grids. It was only a "baby" snake; identified by another camper as a rattlesnake. Hey, good side of the story is that it didn't get loose in the trailer. Otherwise, that would have been the end of our trip and it was our first stop on a four-month excursion to Alaska! Sure would be nice to have WIFI available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 1 - 2, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It's hard to fault a location that is right on the water (Lake Nasworthy), especially when we only had to pay the minimal fee of $10/day. What a privilege to find a bargain like this when we know so many of the other places we'll stay at over the next few months will charge an arm and a leg. Only negative was that 30Amp is limiting - most campgrounds are upgrading to include some sites w/50A. It was fortunate for us we arrived early enough in the afternoon to get the last pull-thru site (that wasn't flooded). The campground was almost full; the only remaining spaces were back-in, narrow, and close to each other. Paved pads helped when putting down the jacks because the rest of the site was a muddy mess following torrential rains. WiFi near the Office would have been available to guests but was "down" for repairs. The Staff person who registered us was friendly & efficient. We'd return for the value if nothing else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice campground with plenty to do in the summer with the pool and lake available. Although it is probably very busy with the dependent children from housing then. There is a military housing area across the street which generates alot of people in the picnic areas and playgrounds on the weekends. This is a Military Recreation Facility not just a FamCamp after all. There seems to be exceptions made, as to the length of stay, for some. And heads seem to be turned, when it comes to management, for certain people with pets. But all in all, if you can get in it's ok. Avoid spaces 15 & 16 if you can. They are very close together! We were not able to keep our door open in 15 due to the smokers in 16. They were nice enough people but the stench of stale tobacco reeked havoc with our sinuses! And they smoked constantly. We didn't get to friendly for that reason only. The close proximity made it very uncomfortable for us. The other spaces in the park seem to allow enough space to avoid this problem. The base is 15 minutes from the park and has a small exchange and commissary. If you have your boat with you, you will love it here! Nice docks and fuel available at the pier.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice Rec area with a nice staff. The camp was full the entire time we were there and off-and-on had people in overflow. Has boat rentals, but requires a valid safety course to rent. The safety course can be taken on-line. The pull-thru spots are really "pull off the road" type slots and not your normal pull-thru rows. Laundry facility is nice and inexpensive. Bath house is adequate, but old and in need of a complete revamp. Nice large picnic pavilion and picnic area, but is likely packed during summer weekends. The base is 10 miles away. BX and commissary are small, but very adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
66 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4