Goodfellow AFB Recreation Camp

 
3.9 (66)
100856 1 36 0 23

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

66 reviews

 
(23)
 
(28)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0  (66)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (66)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (66)
Value 
 
4.1  (66)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
October 12-18, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The more I think about it the more absurd our experience here becomes. We arrived yesterday afternoon, reservation email from 9 days ago in hand, only to be told that there were no sites available. Mind you the reserved sites are water and electric only while the first come first served sites are FHU. 9 of the 20 FHU spaces show no signs of life. No towing vehicles, no people. They're merely being stored. One has a freezer outside the rig! So we're in a makeshift unlevel site hoping that someone will leave the "reserved" area this morning. It's a beautiful location with a very gracious staff but, until the homesteaders get uprooted and the reservation "system" gets fixed, don't waste your time. ---- Oct. 13th, 2019 Update: Full disclosure. We ended up in a first come first serve FHU site that came open this morning. We'll probably be here for at least a week. 5 on cleanliness/hospitality is for Dustin and Destiny. Excellent customer service. They do the best they can given the constraints of the processes they find themselves dealing with.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 2, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great place for a pull through with 50 amp electric hook up. No one on duty to process you in. Seemed as though there were squatters. Rules Need to be enforced on this situation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 Mar 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Our site was water/electric only at $15/night which was a good value as we needed somewhere to spend the night. Directions on this site and Google Maps got us to the campground with no problem. Once there, we were greeted by the campground host (after hours check-in). He was very friendly and oriented us to our campsite. Beyond that, this campground is in need of repair. The camping spot we were in was mostly gravel and the grass between the sites was very high. Recreational areas near the water are in need of repair. There was one kid's playground closed down with overgrown weeds. A second playground was available. There was no dog park available; although we were told one was there but damaged and hasn't been replaced. The sites for long-term stays are turned around all different directions. Beyond the gate, there were no sidewalks or amenities besides a gas station close by. This was probably the most dilapidated FamCamp we've experienced so far in our travels. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We arrived at Goodfellow Rec Camp on a Wednesday afternoon for a two-night stay. We had made telephonic reservations 45 days out. However, the Office is closed on Wednesday, so when we arrived the Camp Host directed us to a couple 50A FHU back-in sites from which we could select. We parked and connected. Sites were concrete, however they had not been swept or edged in some time. Trees had not been trimmed, grass mowing, weed-eating, edging and cleanliness through-out the park was not a priority. An oddity was the enormous cast steel ground box with lid that covered the water hook-up. It had to be manipulated to access the water hydrant. No idea why that was there, it was so hot from the sun, when we arrived that you couldn't lift it without gloves. Trash cans had overflown near the restrooms. Camp host was very friendly and offered his assistance several times. I visited the Office the next morning to pay, they were not welcoming nor informative. Just took my payment. No welcome, do you have any questions, here is what we offer, etc. This park is in an excellent location, and with some work could be an outstanding park, however, currently it is not. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Nov 11, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here out in the partial hookups site ( W/E dump station access) because there was nothing available in the FHU sites. We didn’t really mind because the FHU site was crowded and full of long term renters it appeared and the partial lots were much larger. I thought it was very odd that the dump station was located on a corner in the middle of the crowded FHU site though, which makes it difficult to get to with larger RVs. We enjoyed the location, which is right on the lake and very pretty. My only big issue was that people staying out in the partial hookup lot, who also appeared to be permanent residents, just let their dogs wander all over the lot off leash and didn’t clean up after them. It made walking our dogs a little difficult, not knowing when a random dog would come running at us. I’m not a big fan of allowing full time residents at the rec camps, they tend to ignore the rules. Overall it was a decent stay but I wouldn’t stay again bc of the dump station location and the off leash dogs. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
April 15-17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here as a quick stop over. There was nothing available in FHU sites (which seemed to be a lot of long term people) so we grabbed a site in overflow. We had W/E hookups and access to dump station. That was weird in itself.... *Dump station is on the corner / end of one of the FHU rows. Being a 40' 5th wheel it was more than awkward fitting there to dump, but we managed. We actually preferred the overflow sites to the FHU as the area was less crowded and the sites were roomier. The lake looked beautiful. I don't know if we'd stay here again, but this was also a quick stop. (BTW...we never did find the laundry room.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 26-31, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This FamCamp is not on base so do not follow GPS to the AFB. In fact its the opposite direction but easy to get to. Upon arrival we were assigned overflow. This was ok with us as it had 50 amps and water. The next day while walking in the park we found a couple leaving so we pulled our slides in and waited for them to leave and we moved in to a FHU site. This FamCamp is very busy on weekends and especially holidays. The wifi didn't work very good until everyone left then it was satisfactory. The staff was very helpful with information.  If you have a fairly large unit I would not recommend using the back-in site as it is very tight. A class "C" or "A" can make ok. There is no commissary of exchange at this location. The pull-thru sites are large and will accommodate most units but watch out for overhanging branches, although most of them have been pruned. We will return for another stay next year. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
December 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just stayed the one night. Of the 20 spaces, only 7 are available because they are doing an upgrade and putting 50 amp in. Also, overflow has 30 amp hookups. Camp host was right there to greet and offer any help I might need. Might be a great park in the future when they are done the upgrade. Excellent location by the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec. 17, 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This place has a lot of "potential" for longer stays with kids; several playgrounds, a lake, pool and lots of space to run. However, I agree with others' reviews; heavy use by "homesteaders" and common areas are old and need updating. Grounds need better maintenance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Beautiful location but facilities were not maintained. Close to half of sites occupied by long term. Common areas dirty. Unscooped poop is common. New facility manager so hopefully improvements are in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
10 results - showing 1 - 10