Goodfellow AFB Recreation Camp

 
3.9 (64)
97418 1 36 0 23

User reviews

29 reviews with 4 stars

64 reviews

 
(23)
 
(28)
 
(8)
 
(2)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.1  (64)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (64)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (64)
Value 
 
4.1  (64)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (64)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
16 Jun 19
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Read some harsh reviews on this place; we almost passed it by. Reservations were easy, we had a site with water/electric, it was a pull thru on gravel with plenty of maneuvering room. Power worked fine, the grass was mowed and the dumpsters were emptied. Maybe they got the message because, though it was nothing special, it was an adequate site. We didn’t use the showers/restrooms but the dump station was accessible and easy to use. We would stop by again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
NOV.7TH TO DEC.7, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
THE FHU SITES ARE MOSTLY MILITARY PERSONNEL.THEY HAVE 3 HOST YOU DON'T SEE OFTEN.YOU HAVE ONE HOST(I THINK IS RETIRED) WHO IS RUNNING A BUSINESS FROM HIS RV.HE HAS HIS TRUCK AND 2 GUYS WITH THEIR TRUCKS COMING INTO CAMPGROUND.HE HAS A UTILITY TRAILER ON SITE AS WELL.OTHER FULL TIMERS HAVE BOATS AND TRAILERS ON THEIR SITES.SEEMS TO ME WE ARE TAKING ADVANTAGE OF THE INTENT OF THE FACILITIES.I WONDER IF ANYONE CARES?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
April 20, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful camp.  Well maintained.  Great staff.  Thanks everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
26 April-1 May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first stay and found it to be very relaxing. We were in site 14 across from office and picnic area facing lake. W-Fi very good and staff very friendly and helpful. Suggest you do drive to Fort Chadbourne up 277. They are open Tues-Sat. Also in San Angelo, Fort Concho near the historic district on Oakes. For last minute items, Stripes is across from campground and convenient for gas. All types of lake craft for rent.. kayaks, paddle boards and boats. The park was full, so glad we had reservations. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 11 - 18, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had to stay in overflow, as FHU sites were all taken. Sites long, wide, and hard surface. They do not contact you when a FHU site becomes available. We stayed in overflow the whole week. But overflow sites have 50 amp, and the cost is $15 a day (Larry - your page needs to be updated). The base is about 10 miles away, and we only went there once. Good shopping and eating in San Angelo. My MIFI worked well (4G). Would stay again.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15-24 Mar 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A pleasant rec area type location with nearby lake, picnic grounds and cabins. The back-in sites are next to the bathhouse with a view (out the front) of the lake and picnic area. Lot #15 that we stayed in had the best/widest "front yard" of the back-ins, but in general the back-ins are too close together. The pull-thrus are farther away from the lake but still within easy walk of the bathhouse/laundry. The weather was very nice over the weekend when we were there and this brought out lots of day-use and cabin-stay people. We were not bothered at all by the extra noise and congestion, EXCEPT for the half dozen or so who parked on the grass in our and neighboring lots, even blocking the pads to vacant lots, so they could be a bit closer to the picnic/cabin area than if they had parked in the wide open parking lot. Two of the vehicles remained there overnight, one on each side of our bedroom - well almost overnight - the occupants of one of them woke us up with loud talking and door slamming at 3:00 a.m. as they made ready to pull out. (I told the manager about this the following Monday.) The bathhouse and laundry were clean and tidy, except (again) on picnic day the bathroom got a bit messy because of heavy use. Sightseeing: Take Knickerbocher Road approx 3 miles south past the airport to where it turns right off RM-584A for a look at the amazing spillway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 16-20, 2013
(Updated: May 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Not a bad little park, especially for the money. Best in the San Angelo area. WIFI is NOW throughout the park, in spite of the info on the website saying front 1/3. WIFI worked great. The women's bathroom was filthy, but they did have a large "Goodfellow Appreciation Day" yesterday, so that could have contributed to the filth. The spaces are large and spaced away from each other. We picked space #10, when we arrive, but found it too close to the large parking lot with a lot of traffic and it had little shade. Asked if we could move to space #12 and was told "no problem". Was told the swimming pool is scheduled to open on Memorial Day, but not sure if they will have the funds for lifeguards. Was told by another "long time" camper, they are building 6 more spaces to the left of the gate, making a total of 26 spaces. We will come back, if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Nov 11, 2011
(Updated: November 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Gone down some on value because of rate increase (compared to other famcamps) but still a real good deal considering your alternatives in the area. Upgrades to bath/shower welcome and well done. Very pleasant place to stay. Now they're getting facilities to a good standard need to work some on occupants. Noticed one seemed to be overflowing into 2 other sites. Another had dogs off leash. WiFi worked ok for me this trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
18/19 October 2011
(Updated: October 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overnight rate has increased from $15 per night to $20. Also, the cabin rental rate has increased from $40 per night to $48 per night. Be aware that the office at the facility is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. To check in at the FAMCAMP you must look up the campground host. They are very friendly folks and will take good care of you. Overall, still a good value and we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 16, 2011
(Updated: August 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a small, but nice FamCamp. Access to it is easy for all size rigs. It is on an off base area lake which provides some MWR rentals of boating and other water recreation equipment. The drive to Goodfellow for such things as commissary and BX will take about 20 minutes depending on traffic. Most other off campground shopping needs are close by. The office, pool, and host staff were very cordial and helpful. Campsite roads are mostly gravel and there is a combination of gravel and paved back-in and pull thru sites. My concrete back-in site needed a bit more fore and aft leveling than I would have liked. I was running AC and most of my appliances at the same time without any voltage problems. The pool is a nice amenity especially if your site is right next to it. There is a laundry facility in a building that has enough space and tables to enjoy an air-conditioned meal if one chooses to do so. It would be a good place to do group card or board games. There are a couple of negatives - which all experienced RVers would find a royal pain in the posterior. I did not downgrade the CG for these specific ones, figuring that it's the fault of upper management who probably have no clue about basic RV fundamentals. If they did, there would not be any negatives. The first negative is that there are several trees branches lining the access road in the CG that need to be trimmed back. They will scrape your rig. Second, signage absolutely SUCKS!! There are no signs directing you to a numbered camp site area. There are no signs directing you to the registration office. If you decide to blindly drive around looking for the office, you might find yourself in a place where there is no way to turn around. The best solution is to stop in the large parking lot that is used for both boats and vehicles and then walk a short distance to the office or camp host site. I did downgrade the CG because I could not get logged into the unsecured WI-FI system despite being close to the office and having tried on several occasions with two different operating systems. My Verizon 3G hotspot worked well which tells you that cell coverage is also good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 1-2, 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground on Lake Nasworthy. Each site has a concrete pad, grill, and picnic table. Most sites are pull through with some shade trees. There is a new bathhouse that was very clean, but the water was not hot enough. There is a 2 washer/2 dryer laundry in the same building. The pool looked inviting and costs an extra $2 per day per person if you want to use it. They also rent boats at the marina. Fishing looked pretty good; my neighbor caught a nice size catfish near the marina. We were in site 14, a back-in site, which had great WiFi coverage and a good view of the lake. Finding satellites for our receiver was easy. The only downside is that it is beside the pool. We didn't notice much noise, but people walked through and near our campsite while it was open. Somebody stepped on and damaged our dump hose. Goodfellow AFB is several miles away and has a small commissary and exchange. The drive through Texas Hill Country to the east was very pretty; the scenery becomes more barren to the west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 18, 2011
(Updated: April 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Made reservations for site #14, a back-in. When we got to the park they had a few pull-throughs available so we took #2. Some road noise and light from the gas station. WiFi does not reach this far up the hill from the office. Very nice facility with clean bathrooms and laundry, which has two washers and dryers. Gravel roads with a concrete pad for parking and a picnic table at each site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 14, 2011
(Updated: March 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Came in with no reservation for my wife's graduation from Fire School at Goodfellow. While it is not convenient to the base, it is a heavily used rec area. The camp host was excellent and greeted us with a wave. We were out in overflow for the night and then moved to a regular site the next day. There appear to be a couple of homesteaders, but their sites are kept clean and tidy, you can just tell then have been there far longer than the 30 day limit. The restrooms and shower facility was down for refurb, and they had a trailer parked in one of the spots that provided decent latrines, but no showers until they get it done. The latrine trailer was cleaned regularly. The one problem was that there is little to no id checks for people using the rec area in total, but they will check you if you want to take out loaner sporting good equipment or rent a site/boat/etc. Overall very nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2010
(Updated: December 04, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice place to stay - sites are near the lake shore, there are ample trees for shade, and the sites are paved and all now have 50A power. Office hours during the winter are intermittent, but there's a friendly host to check you in. Convenient to shopping and dining, but not to Goodfellow AFB, it's a 10 mile drive across town to get to the base. Quiet and dark at night, with good Verizon cell and Aircard service. Probably busy and a bit noisy during the summer, but a perfect stop during the off season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 3-6 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The directions were perfect and even my 3 yo GPS could locate the park. The bath and shower room could use updating, but were clean while I was there. The people running the FAMCAMP were nice as can be. The civilian parties were a little loud with their music. I guess they rent the pavilions out to help pay for the running of the camp. I didn't see anyone rent a boat while I was there. I did get to play a very nice golf course on the NE side of town called Quicksand Golf Course. Greens were great, tees and fairways were above average but the over all experience was very nice. They give discounts to military and seniors. It took me 3 days to break 80 from the tips (7000 +). Nice track for all you golfers out there. There is other stuff to do in town too. There is an old Buffalo Soldier fort there. And the Concho River is a nice walking area downtown. Lots of good Mexican food.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This rec area is potentially quite busy in season. And there ISN'T much space between rigs if you're on the front line, nearer to the water. But if you want to fish and are passing through this region, this is a good deal. The manager is really helpful and friendly and doesn't turn anyone away (that means there are extra overflow hookup sites) The base has a decent gym and adequate commissary. If your GPS unit tells you to turn on Cattail road, go just a smidge further to Concho; which is only about 3 miles from the loop/hwy, not 6 miles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25-30 November 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the second time we've been here during November 2009. We spent a week at the beginning of the month and came back again because we enjoyed it here. The staff is very helpful. The fishing has been good. Black Bass, White Bass, and catfish so far. San Angelo is a very interesting town with a lot of history. The only down side of our experience has been very loud stereo music for half a night, but certainly no fault of the staff, as it was coming from a community park a few blocks away. It happen for a short period during our first visit but this last time it lasted half the night. Probably should be a city police issue. Our overall impression of the facility and the staff is very good. We'll definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov. 23, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with prior post. Only there one night but loved the large spots. Lots of room between rigs, will stop again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1-10 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The staff was extremely helpful, we had a lake side seat for the fireworks. San Angelo has a lot to see and experience. Temperature was a down side, but the wind made sitting in shade tolerable. Water connection could be better, right at ground level not helpful. Will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 12, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A.H. left this review using the Directory software: Follow directions, closely, but a good stopover. Lake is nice and people are helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2