Lackland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (77)
88411   0   7   0   19

User reviews

7 reviews with 3 stars

77 reviews

 
(35)
 
(30)
 
(6)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.4  (77)
 
4.0  (77)
 
4.1  (77)
 
4.1  (77)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2-3 March 2017

Tried calling all day, no answer, showed up and took a partial hook up, FHU all taken. Stayed 2 nights, no host or FamCamp employee around. Called a couple days later to pay by credit card, told all sites now are 25 dollars a night. This page needs to be updated. Wifi was poor to non existence. Large Exchange and Commissary. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

30 Feb-1 March 2017

First stay at Lackland. No vacancies but office mgmr saved us the remaining "partial" space since we were driving down from Killeen that same day. Our "partial" site had everything but sewer. Bathhouse is clean & ok, but old in need of paint and repairs. Shower stalls could be replaced too. We used the commercial gate coming & going. The sites have big trees nearby making it a pretty RV park. Nothing to rally complain about or rave about either. Why oh Why don't FAmcamps take some reservations ? Maybe reserve half, leave half open. Something , anything so you could plan on having a place to park at the end of a long day. I'd come back IF Ft Sam weren't here in S.A.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 14 - May 20, 2013

We've been here twice. The first time 3-1-2013 to 3-11-2013, we were in the overflow, no hook-ups the 1st night, moved to partial hook-ups,water & sewer the 2nd night and moved to full hook-ups for the remainder,8 days on the 3rd day. When we arrived, the first time, we found that there is no designated area to park. We were told we could stay in the overflow area, wait until someone to leave in the partial hook-ups, then move to the partial and wait for someone to leave in the full hookups then move into one of those. Everything worked out fine. Having to move everyday was a bit annoying. Laundry was free then. Our 2nd visit, 5-14-2013 to 5-20-2013. Laundry is no longer free. New washers & dryers were installed, $1.50 wash + $1.50 to dry. I've never paid this much even off base. Our stay here was fine. This time we parked in an area next to the dump station to go register. The man at the desk seemed to be annoyed that we were interrupting his TV watching. If you park on the side facing the office you will get NO shade on your door side, which we asked to be directed to. We were warned that there was someone there with 4 dogs that barked all the time. If you want shade pick the side that faces the partial hook-ups. We've stayed at military bases from Northern California to Florida. I rated this park as average because there are better and worse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 10, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

december 2009

We were snowbirds wanting to stay till March and we had 50amp slot when after 30 days we were kicked out of our slot and told we must leave for 24 hours. This was when there were like 6 slots open in the 30 amp area with no sewage where we could have spent the night or even stayed. I was not picky. When there are so many empty slots open, why are the people kicked out of the park or to the no service slot for a night? Other than that, we like the park, but don't plan on staying over 30 days unless you want to pack up and leave for at least a day even if spaces are available. Also the 30amp slots with no sewers were the same price as the full service slots which does not make sense to me. I have been to other parks with no sewage and were only charged $13 a night. This park is pet friendly and most of the people are friendly, especially the little Mexican man that works there. Again, short stays are great here, but not over 30 days. One thing different and nice is that the washing machines and dryers are free to use and in a clean warm area. Using the back gate is an inconvenience as the gate on Military drive is only about 1 mile away. They could take the barriers down long enough to let an RV in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 21, 2009

C.M. left this review using the Directory software: My wife and I were there just to check into future camping locations. The FamCamp is clean, organized and it was quite while we were there. The laundry room had free washing and drying. Very nice from what we saw. We will stay here if Ft Sam is full.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

15 -30 Oct 2008

This is not a RV Park or a Campground. Lackland is a Trailer Park. There are people that have been here for over a year. The funny thing is they think it is great they can stay so long. The sad thing, people visiting to see their son/daughter graduate BMT, have to stay in the gravel area. People have two or three refrigerators out in front of their units. They complain they have to move for a day or two before they get to move back in to a full hook up site. I just don't think this is what the AF had in mind when they built CAMPGROUNDS. Yes you get free laundry, but that's it. We are glad to be leaving and will not be back. It's clean, the manager is nice, but they need to kick some people out of the Lackland Trailer Park. I guess the Wing Commander has no idea what is going on.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2006

Directions to use Luke East gate are wrong...bollards block entrance for RVs. Instructions within are to use Growden gate. Personnel on-site says all plans for expansion are on hold for lack of funding. There is no water fill station or dump station if you have to use overflow sites. All 29 sites have concrete pads for the rig and picnic table...very nice. Came in the Luke "East" gate...could not navigate the bollards...was lucky they moved them for me. Instructions in the FamCamp says that all RVs must use the Growden gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7