Lackland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (77)
88564   0   7   0   19

User reviews

32 reviews with 4 stars

77 reviews

 
(35)
 
(30)
 
(6)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.4  (77)
 
4.0  (77)
 
4.1  (77)
 
4.1  (77)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10-17 August 2017

first thing is that the types of sites available has changed... there are no longer any partial sites, they were upgraded to include sewer now... so there are now 41 full hook-up sites... the former 12 partial sites are pull-thrus while the 29 original full sites are back-ins... not sure if the 29 have CATV but the 12 do not... and the rates are different now... $20/night, $120/week and $440/month... since they recently added sewer to the pull-thru sites the ground is still soft, the office staff stated they will be adding concrete pads in the future... when we were coming into town we called the office to check availability, that was about 2pm, we left a message asking to be called back, we arrived at about 3pm and no one was still in the office. there was 1 site open so we took it (first come, first served), set up and went to the office about 4pm to register/pay and he was in the shower??? office hours are supposedly Mon-Thur 0900-1700, Closed Fri & Sat, Sun 1000-1400. Looks like there are several homesteaders that have been in their site for more than 30 days...

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 23, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-10 July 2016

Due to having a tire blown at Mile Marker 822 just before Houston on Interstate 10W, we arrived after 12 midnight Sunday morning and their was one vacant full service spot. We came in via the front gate at Luke Blvd. not Growden Drive. We are here for a BMTS graduation, they have lot's of room in the partial area of (12)RV Sites with W/20,30,50A/no sewer. There are a few homesteaders, but it seems other RVers are moving out after a few days, I guess due to the summer heat in the higher 90's. Great place to be to visit downtown San Antonio river walk area and of course the Alamo. Lot's of Great Memories here since I went to BOOT Camp here back in June of 1966 during Vietnam and through OTS at Medina November 1974. Bathrooms are clean, used the shower once-Lot's of hot water. We will stay here again. "Happy Travels." 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2016

There should be a 90 day limit to a stay. I noticed active duty are LIVING here and i am sure getting full BAQ since it is not on base housing. the cost is $440 which is about half of the BAQ so the are going to stay here. Also TDY people should have a limit also since they get per Diem which is much more than the cost of the site. They stay here so they can bring the whole family and pets with them and still get full per diem. Yes active duty should get a priority, but only when on leave or waiting for base housing maybe. All of the full service sites stay full because it is a small park. The partial hookups are never full so they should have to move over there till more than one full service slot is open. 90 days is plenty for me, but i would not mind moving to the partial slots for a few days. Lackland really needs to make all sites full service and a few years ago i was told another 60 slots were going to be built in the field that is empty. I guess the cuts in money messed that up. Even Tops in Blue has been canceled now.  Also it is very dark in the park at night on the street. The lights are in the middle. If only staying for a few days, there is always space in partial hookups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 28-30, 2015

The camp host is non-existent it seems. I was there three nights and NEVER was able to physically meet the camp host and phone communications are just as bad. But, at least the sites are clearly marked as reserved or available so you can just pick an available site and fill out the registration card and pay fees. But, you will want to use a check for this. I would not stick cash or a credit card number in the drop box. If you were allowed to come in through the SE Military Drive gate, it would be awesome, but they require you use the Growden gate which results in a long confusing drive to the campground. If you follow the directions, you will get their fine. Hopefully, you have a navigator helping you watch for road signs though. It makes it rough if you miss one. You can use the other gates with just a passenger vehicle after you set up. The campground is clean and quite with ample on site parking. There is some good shade on some sites which is great for S. Texas in July. The restrooms and showers are clean and well kept. There were several open sites the day we arrived and they never filled up the three days we were there. I was on a 10 day round trip from Wisconsin to Corpus Christy, TX and back and stayed at three military campgrounds. This was the worst but still better than most private and state campgrounds. And for $20 a night and full hookups, you can't hardly beat the value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 4 thru Feb. 11, 2015

Sites are small concrete pads under some trees so no grass can grow and if it has rained recently it is quite muddy. Very clean rest rooms and laundry area. No reservations so pick a site and then go into the office to sign up. The office may or may not be open. They need someone reliable in the office. This is the smallest Fam Camp we have been to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 June - 5 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights to enjoy San Antonio. Pros: well groomed facility; layout was pretty simple and basic - drive around the ring and find an appropriate spot to back-in; lots of sites surrounded by trees that offer sufficient shade during the hot summer days; location within the city of San Antonio was excellent since it was close to downtown and other attractions in the South and West side of the city; great deal for $20 a night. Cons: pull-through sites had no water/sewer drops and were out in the middle of the blacktop without any trees nearby to block the hot Texas sunshine; location on base was very far from the BX/Commissary; WiFi was intermittent at my location, however the signal when working was pretty strong. We did not know about the Growden Gate requirement and pulled through the Luke Gate without any hassle from the Security Police.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2014

We've stayed at Lackland several times and it's always pleasant. When we arrived the office was closed so we checked in the following day. We used our coupon from the AF FamCamp program plus had the weekly rate so it saved us $40. There are a few long term campers as we have found at a lot of the military campgrounds in the South. It's hard to fill those places up during the late spring and summer. Glad to see they can adjust the restrictions on length of stay and continue to have some income.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 1, 2014

We were staying at Fort Sam Houston and took a day trip to Lackland. While there we visited this Famcamp. The overall appearance looked very good. There are 12 asphalt sites with water and electric and all were vacant. It looked as if about half of the full hookup sites were empty also. It looks as if this would be a good park to visit this time of year. However, the 3 overflow sites were being used as a parking lot for overflow cars and pickup trucks. I would like to stay here but probably won't because you can't make reservations. If I'm going to be in an area for a couple of weeks, I like to have confirmed reservations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19 - 23 Jun 2013

We stopped here to visit San Antonio and this was the perfect place. Getting on base was the most difficult part of our stay, one must be very quick getting off the freeway at the correct exit since there are three separate exits within 500 feet. This campground is very well maintained, the office folks were very friendly and helpful. While we didn't have sewer, we were in the new part of the park which was the only part with pull through pads. The commissary was very nice as was the exchange. The laundry facilities were adequate for our needs. If in this area again we would stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 17-20, 2012

Really nice campground, not far from BX and Commissary. There is a very nice family pool close by ($2). The staff is great. Wi-Fi throughout the park. My only complaint is not enough trees! The shaded sites are great, just not enough! Wish they'd plant more trees. Otherwise, a great RV park!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2012

We stayed here 3 days in early April 2012. The camp hosts were very nice and helpful. It was quiet. Found out one can come and enter from other gates rather than Growden. If your rig will make it through the maze the guards have no problem with you using the other gates.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 April 2012 for two weeks

When we arrived there was one full hook-up spot left. It is wide, level and a clear site to the south for our satellite dish. Park is nicely located in a quiet area, BX and Commissary are just down the road but a bit hidden behind other buildings. BX is big but nothing special. Roads on base and in San Antonio leave a great deal to be desired. Rough, uneven, poorly maintained and a lot of traffic. We are visiting our daughter and her family and will be here for a couple of weeks, if not for her, we wouldn't spend any time here. Just too congested. Camp host helpful, laundry clean with newer machines. No ice machine, that would be nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2012

Office hours are limited on the weekend. Office is located on the exit side of the campground. They trimmed and mowed the grass while we were there. The mower and trimmer threw grass clippings on to both sides of our camper and truck. Just not very considerate. We stayed a week and noticed several trailers and motor homes in the full hook up section that had been parked there a while and no one around them for the entire week. It's an "OK" campground - not the worst in the military but definitely not one of the best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 24, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 23-27 2010

Reservations not accepted did not seem to be a problem, even during the Thanksgiving holiday week. All of the premium sites were taken, but the newer standard sites were adequate for our needs. WiFi was available even at the far ends of the FamCamp. We could pick up the local San Antonio television stations using our over the air antenna, and setting up satellite TV was also easy. The bathing facilities were clean and in good order. A picnic area and dog walk are adjacent to the FamCamp. The facility does seem to be pet friendly, unlike some places we have stayed previously. The office is staffed during the majority of duty hours, the staff was friendly and helpful. Checking out the BX and Commissary found both with a wide selection of items that the FamCamp user might need, including an extensive selection of camping supplies in the BXtra. The food court has a wide variety of dining selections. A new barbecue restaurant is between the FamCamp and the BX and Commissary. The AAFES fuel station does not sell diesel, but we found a Citgo station that sold diesel at a good price on U.S. 90 directly across from the VIA stop and Wilford Hall Medical Center. If you have relatives in west San Antonio, are visiting Lackland AFB for BMT graduation, or just passing through, the Lackland FamCamp is a pleasant place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 14 - 15, 2010

T.C. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are clean and level, wifi, washers and dryers are free. However, wifi is much better if closer to the office. On base bus service is excellent. You have to go outside the base to catch a city bus into town. I would recommend that anyone wanting to tour the local area, should tow a vehicle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 12-23, 2010

A good place to stay while visiting San Antonio. Wi-fi was a bit spotty, with weak signal at the far end of the park. The in and out policy seemed to be enforced and I consider it fair. I have very mixed feelings about the active duty personnel who use this FAMCAMP as a home while on TDY. When I was on TDY, I was drawing per diem, and it seems to me that when one is being paid to utilize off-base quarters, one should use the money as intended. JMTCW. We stayed in a motorhome and would stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 18 - 21, 2009

This is a fine campground for long or short stays. My first and best impression was of Mr. Wooley, the guy running the office--competent, friendly, and he answered all my questions about visiting San Antonio as well as providing appropriate maps and directions to the places we wanted to go, on base and off. All the premium FHU sites were taken, but there were plenty of water/electric only sites available. These sites are nicely leveled, pull-throughs with a gravel surface, but have no picnic tables and no grills, which might be nice to have. The bath house was modern, clean, and heated. The free laundry is a bonus, and the room is spacious, clean, and all the machines are fairly new and well-maintained. The campground's WIFI signal is pretty weak out in the non-premium sites, and provided only sporadic connection to the internet. Lucky for us we carry our own wifi hotspot with us. SPRINT Broadband Card users will get a good 3G EVDO signal. The one downside to this campground is the unceasing highway noise from US90/I-10 which permeates an otherwise tranquil setting. Of course you do get the occasional jet noise from Kelly Field, next door, but it's not constant like the highway sound. I'm sure that the longer you're here, the less you notice it, kinda like the chimes on our grandfather clock at home. For those of you over the age of 62, there is a particularly good transportation deal that the city of San Antonio offers. They have a wonderful bus and trolley system called VIA, which is a great way to get to and around the city. If you go to the central VIA Information office downtown, they will GIVE you a "Reduced Fare Card" which, on weekends reduces the fare to ZERO for seniors. On weekdays each bus ride will cost you twenty-five cents (and don't forget to ask for a transfer for route changes). We were there for the entire weekend, and the only money we spent for transportation was $1.10 (55 cents each) to take the bus from Lackland AFB to the downtown VIA office to get our card. The card is good for five years. No downtown driving or parking hassles. No fumbling for bus or trolley fares...just show the card to the driver. San Antonio takes good care of its seniors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 Oct 2009

Update on improvements in this RV Park. We have stayed in this good location military RV Park several times. We made suggestions regarding the pricing and WiFi. Happy to report that a more accessible WiFi has been installed to all sites in the Park. Previously, WiFi was only available to a few sites at the front. Now it can be reached within RVs in all sites, at least in our site #22. Also, pricing for the 30 Amp sites with no cable is now $16. Previously, these sites were the same price as the 50 amp sites with cable ($18.) Improvements are welcome. Free laundry is an added bonus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9 - 13 Sep 09

Not necessarily beautiful but it was clean and everything worked. FAMCAMP was highly functional. You are near BX and Commissary and when driving your car, getting on/off base was quick and easy. WIFI was very good and fast. We would stay here again - no doubt about it. Free laundry was a pleasant surprise. All dryers and washers worked quite well. Directions given on this website were accurate and concise. Would have liked to have seen a FAMCAMP sign on base earlier than currently posted.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2009

We stayed here because Ft Sam was full. But we did luck into a site with CATV so we can't complain. Free laundry was a big plus. They could upgrade a lot of things and could advise incoming a little better. But still you can't beat the benefits we have.

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2