Lackland AFB FamCamp

Featured Hot
 
4.1 (76)
86159   0   7   0   19

User reviews

Filters 32 reviews with 5 stars

76 reviews

 
(35)
 
(29)
 
(6)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.4  (76)
 
4.0  (76)
 
4.1  (76)
 
4.1  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May1st-June 1st 2017

VERY happy with our stay at Lackland FamCamp! It is very quiet and serene. More full hookups are being added. The Fisher House is across the street and it is nice to walk our dogs there and read all the plaques about people's gifts and sacrifices. Staff is nice and courteous. Close to WH and shuttle bus can take you to BS; Commissary; etc. There is also a shuttle from WH to BAMC. Do NOT follow the directions to the camp. Enter through Luke Gate, go all the way until you reach dead end. Turn left and you are there!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 27-30 2017

There were 5 spots open when we arrived around noon. I didn't trust the gps in getting us to the gate so I called. The manager said we didn't need to go to the Growden gate. We could come off 90 at Military Dr and come right in the Luke gate, which is very close to the famcamp. At this time you can't go out that way though due to construction. The full hookup sites, as in most places, don't ever seem to turn over. They're pretty close anyway, some are back to back and the trees hang over right on top of the rv's. The partial hookups are decent size pull thrus, gravel with grassy areas. For all the activity on base the camp is nice and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 25, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

19-26 Sep 2016

We are here for our granddaughters graduation from BMTS. There have been a lot of changes in the past 42 years when I went through Boot Camp. The only thing that I recognized was Wilford Hall the base hospital. Entry through the commercial gate is recommended I think due to the amount of traffic through the "Luke" gate. I will be egressing the commercial gate as well due to a very tight serpentine setup on the outbound side of the Luke gate. The Fam Camp facility is pretty nice. The FHU sites were all taken when we arrived. We were asked if we wanted to go on a list to move "in a few days" but we declined as we were only staying a week and had water and electric. There were a couple of longer term residence that were moved out of there sites as they had already stayed their allotted 30 days. So it would appear the office personnel are paying attention to the rules. The laundry room has 4ea Washer/Dryers @ $1.50 per load. The machines were all operational and clean. It wasn't until after we started all four machines (we were the only ones in there at the time) did we see a posted sign asking patrons to use maximum of 2 machines. Oops! The combined showers and restrooms were clean however were in serious need of a paint job. Paint was peeling and falling from the ceiling. There is no Diesel available on base. Office staff was very helpful, but they could sure use a bigger office (or smaller desk)! One other negative is there are no picnic tables in the area with no sewer (East side). All in all, a Great place it stay! Can you do anything about the humidity? 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 23, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 10, 2016

Good RV park, a little crowded but not surprised by this being the time of year it is. They were full when we arrived but we were able to get a spot within 24 hours from overflow. We tried staying at Fort Sam RV Park but they are booked through March! Got to know some of our neighbors that have been there a couple months who are waiting on base housing. The policy is they can stay there up to 180 days within a year but rotate out every 30 days. Looks like some of the comments below by the homesteading police are purely based on assumption and not reality. The office is open 6 days a week and they went above and beyond to accommodate us to ensure we were next to get a hookup spot. Love the upgrades to the laundry room and appreciate the positive attitudes from the staff there. Being that they are 100% full looks like they are doing something right. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 15

We really enjoyed it here.  All of the folks that worked in the office were great.  It stayed clean, the facilities were spotless and the flow here was great.  There are allot of people here for long periods of time but we, and all of the others that came here, had no problems getting a spot.  Also, there are a few AD here, but, what does that matter?  We enjoyed it and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2015

This is a great little famcamp. Friendly management who made checking in a breeze. Excellent prices. The laundry room and bathrooms are very clean. Sites are a little small but that's ok, didn't need a lot of space anyway. We chose a gravel site with partial hook ups. Clean of litter and well cared for. Beautiful shade trees with plenty of songbirds. It was a little difficult to find if you don't know the area. All in all a great place to stay and we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 - 7 October 2015

Very nice place under new management, check in went very smoothly. Facility was very clean and the laundry room had plenty of machines. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Watch for snakes, there was a rattlesnake found by our neighbors but pest control was called out and they took care of it right away. No complaints, it was very quiet and this camp is well kept up. We will return next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 27-29

***Note: The Growden gate has working hours and is NOT open 24/7. We arrived late, around 9pm and the Growden gate for large commercial vehicles was closed already. Went back on the highway to find another gate and entered via the Luke gate with our military ID. It was a tight squeeze for our 31ft motor coach but the sentry were patient since there was no traffic. We followed the helpful map posted in the photos below pulled thru the loop and parked in the first vacant spot (they have little placards that show if they are occupied) set up for the night and paid for our 2 day stay the following morning. The office is only open from 8-4pm so plan accordingly. Most of the partial hook up sites were available, a plus cosidering there are no reservations. There are some permanent/full time RV residents but they are polite and helpful. We ventured out to the BX and commissary on the second day and wish we would have gone earlier it's like a big shopping mall with food court and shops and everything one could need at post/tax free prices! The commissary is a great place to restock as the prices are great, and it is quite large and very well stocked and has nice employees. Overall we enjoyed our 2-day stay and actually considered adding an add'l day just to check out the base and PX. We will definitely return here when in San Antonio. Also, The host assisted us in obtaining info for a rental car to checkout the local sights (Alamo and River Walk) and there is one on base with complimentary pick up from the camp ground. If you want a day weekday rental it's about $45/day for their smallest car w/military discount.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 28 thru Feb 5, 2015

Our experience at the campground was very nice. We stayed for a week and have no complaints about the campground. The camp host was no bubbling personality but he answered all our questions and helped us any way we needed. The restrooms and laundry area were very neat and clean. Full hookup sites were available the whole time we were there. The sites are kind of tight and it can be a little tricky getting onto your site without getting on the grass. My only complaint is the roads on post. They are terrible so driver beware. Go slow and just deal with the bad roads as best you can. We were able to leave out the Luke Road gate which was much easier than going all the way back out the Growden gate. We will certainly stay here again next time we are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 29, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 22-29, 2014

Pulled in on Sat, office closed, there was one FHU site empty and 7 or 8 partial sites empty. Checked with a couple in partial sites to make sure they weren't waiting for a FHU and non were. So, we pulled right into a FHU site. There appears to be some changes going on here. Greg is retiring in March I hear, he is using some vacation time between now and then, so office is hit and miss with fill ins. Max stay is 30 days and out for 24 hours. I haven't really noticed much if any homesteading, but there are a few that stay 30 and leave for 24 and then come back for another 30. So, if you are in a partial you move and take their site when they leave and they may have to take a partial when they come back. I saw one or two leaving every day that we were here. There have been 2 empty FHU sites today and all 12 of the partial sites. On Sat 29th there were 5 FHU sites available, but that might be because of Thanksgiving holiday. Bathrooms appeared pretty clean as well as the Laundry room. Sites are typical RV park spacing with concrete pads, good water pressure. WIFI was broke while we were here. We will be back. I think this place is shaping up and I think it will only get better, hopefully they continue with a good Commander that enforces the rules. We enjoyed our stay reminiscing our adult life beginnings at Lackland 33 years ago.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 4, 2014

ALERT******** RATTLESNAKE FOUND BY RV SPACE 8 AND 9 ON 7/5/14. WE COULDN'T LET IT RUN AROUND HERE SO WE KILLED IT, SORRY SNAKE LOVERS!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

4 - 9 April 2014

We're here at Lackland now and we're sorry we have to leave tomorrow. It is very peaceful and quiet here and the weather is great. We were very pleasantly surprised when we got here to find several full-service slabs open to choose from! All the facilities are in very nice shape, and the wifi works! The staff here is very helpful, and they don't bother you with a lot of rules, they just let you relax. Also, my wife dropped a small purse with most of her cash in it. One of the workers found it and turned it over to Craig. He came right to our RV and returned it! That's integrity!
This is our third trip here, and we'll be back often. Steve & Lise Trahan.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 24-Feb 18

We stayed here at Lackland from Christmas Eve until Feb 18 with a short break in between. As a retired Air Force Vet I felt so at home in these surroundings. We truly enjoyed our stay. There are so many things to see and do in and around San Antonio. It is also a great location for heading out on day trips around South Texas. We will truly miss being here at Lackland where it all began for me. Every facility on Lackland was top notch. Thank you so much. Lawrence Becker MSgt Retired

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 30, 2013

Checked in about 4pm. No one around all day. A gentleman named Bill told us that someone would be here about 5pm to check people in. Thanks Bill. When I checked in Gary was in the office and charged me $40.00 for two nights. Very pleasant guy. The laundry room has 4 washers and 4 dryers and an Ironing board and iron for you use as well. I personally like wash and wear! Cost for washers and dryers are $1.50 per wash or dry. TV in there too. All areas were nice and clean. It was a great morning to take a walk in the rain. They also have a take one give one book/DVD rack. Though there were no DVD's in sight. Oh BTW this was our first stop on Marie and I's, adventure called retirement and full timing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 Jun 2013 - 9 Jun 2013

Followed directions on the web-site coming in the Growdon gate. Very accurate and thanks for whoever made the strip map with the water tower landmark. Previous comments indicate that the Famcamp was having issues in the management arena. It is my opinion that MWR has corrected any faults as stated in the previous comments. The Famcamp does have a weekend manager on duty I think Gary is his name. Very informed individual and willing to provide and share information. Police of the Famcamp is excellent, no trash or paper in the area, as was the entire Base. Dogs were observed in the Famcamp, owners did police up after the pet and did use a field next to the Famcamp to exercise their pets. Did not see the presents of homesteading in the camp. One motor home with a cargo trailer next to it but seemed very organized and neat. The field next to the Famcamp provides for some interesting viewing of squirrels, rabbits and various types of birds, bring your bino’s very entertaining. Laundry and bath facilities were cleaned daily. Showers were kind of on the old side but clean and serviceable. Utility hook ups at the sites look like they are new, this is throughout the entire Famcamp. Laundry costs are $1.50 per use, both washer and dryer. Roads coming into and on base are excellent not like Joint base Sam Houston. We stayed here in a motor home and will return whenever in SA.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Macrh 25, 2013

Clean, friendly, and did they mention the laundry is free? A little confusing to find, but definitely worth it. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2012

Easy access. No red-tape/inspections. Very Friendly. BX/Commissary, Gateway Club, Pool facilities, etc all easy access nearby. Also close to San Antonio attractions. Camp is clean and hosts are helpful and friendly. Arrived after hours. Selected site under shade trees, hooked up and checked in next morning. Clean showers, free laundry facility. Safe, secure. Will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2012

Just spent a week here in May 2012. It is just what I wanted, close to SA attractions,inexpensive and convenient. We did not use the showers or laundry, spoke to the manager once and he is polite and nice enough. No problems with other guest. Clean and very quiet after the sightseeing. Spaces not as large as Sam Houston but no train noise. I will stay here again in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2012

We stayed here about five days in late January. Very accommodating. Sites were large. We arrived after hours and were able to pull right into a pull thru site. Didn't need a full hookup site since we were only staying a few days but probably could have gotten one had we stayed longer. Showers were small and quite warm but clean. Laundry was free. Had a great area next to sites that you could walk your dog or run them without bothering anyone. Very pet friendly. All in all a very nice FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2010 - May 2011

We love this FamCamp. The manager is such a nice guy and so very helpful. The rates might be a little higher compared to some other FamCamps, BUT, it includes wi-fi, cable and laundry. The spaces are nice and roomy. A very pleasant place and I definitely recommend it! Very pet-friendly. There are even doggie bag posts throughout.

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2