Laughlin AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (51)
55264   0   8   0   14

User reviews

51 reviews

 
(17)
 
(30)
 
(3)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.2  (51)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (51)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (51)
Value 
 
4.6  (51)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (51)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
51 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
Jan 2011-March 1 2011
(Updated: December 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay here. Commissary was super, well stocked for such a small facility, however aafes needs to wake up and smell the coffee, or a lack of. Eating establishments on base rank somewhere between 5 and 0 on a scale of 1 to 10. it's not the quality of the food so much as it is a place to find it. The laundry facility went on the blink for some unknown reason while i was there and it seemed that no one was in a earth shattering mood to fix it. Laundry mats in del rio suck. I would gladly pay to do laundry in a aafes laundry facility if one were provided, at least most of them are clean and the machines are kept in a operating condition. I have never met up face to face with a rattle snake, but i am nearly certain some of them are probably friendlier then the camp host, the staff at the outdoor rec office, and the staff at the auto craft shop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: First time at the campground but not my last. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. The sites were clean, paved and long. Bathrooms are just outside the campground at the playground with showers at the fitness center down the road. The exchange is one block from the campground and there is WiFi in the coffee shop. The sites are full hook-up with cable. Security makes the rounds every few hours. There is a railroad nearby but the sounds are not too loud. Flight ops seem to end by 1900. The only downside is there are several homesteaders that are not active duty or students but retired personnel who work at the base. If this policy of not enforcing the stay rules continue to be ignored than a great FamCamp will not be available to the traveling community.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 Nov - 14 Dec 2010
(Updated: April 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I stayed her in Nov 2010...I didn't expect much for the price but realized I had made a good choice..altho there is not alot of accommodations close by there is everything you need including free laundry..I would have no problem going back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 3 - 18, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
S.K. left this review using the Directory software: Due to the cold weather we had no water when we arrived but it was fixed the next day. No laundry and it's the lowest priority. AF Inn allowed me to do 2 loads one day. One laundromat in town. No diesel fuel on base, not much to do, commissary small but very good, BX is small with very little in merchandise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 15 - Nov 18, 2010
(Updated: December 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I spent mid Oct to mid Nov and totally enjoyed my stay. The city of Del Rio has many great places to visit and some very good food. If you want a great steak try Lorina's Cantina every Wednesday (RSVP Only) also Wrights Steak House, both on the West side of Del Rio US-90. The only area I addressed with the base was the need to get WiFi installed, I have Sprint and it worked great but WiFi is now and the future. Full hookups, and you have a fence on each side to give you a comfortable sense of privacy. Everything on the base that you need is close, The site are long and can handle any size RV with trailer/puller. There is a 60 day limit stay and I will come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 8 - April 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here, and would stay here again if we ever have the chance. Once you get over the fact that campground feels unusual without a bathhouse or other public facility, you realize how nice it is. The sites are very comfortable. The are level, full hookups, and you have a fence on each side to give you a comfortable sense of privacy. Everything on the base that you need is close, and you learn to take that in as part of the camping facility experience. The BX is next door, restrooms are there to use. The gym, a first class physical fitness center, has great showers in the locker room that a camper can use. The sites have full hookups, but if you don't want or can't use your RV shower, then you can go to the gym. It is within a mile of the campground. Besides the excellent exercise equipment, the gym has a coffee shop and wifi to use. There is also wifi available at the lodging office lobby about a block away. The laundry for the famcamp is, unusually, located across from the gym. However, the washer and dryers are free and very new. By our second day here we had worked out our routine so that we learned to get around the base, even by walking, to enjoy the experience. Not a bad place at all. It would be made perfect if a full bathhouse and lodge room could be built on site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Middle of Feb, 2010
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Drove in to overnight and were told, without much care or concern "nope, no hookups, go over to that building to see about overflow parking." These campground hosts could use a break.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
3 Nov - 28 Dec 09
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very easy to get to and one of best designed I have used. No showers at the camp but there are toilets near by. Everything on base is close to the camp and within walking distance so you could get by without a car or truck to get around. Host is excellent. This is a very good value but not a lot to do in the immediate area but some nice things at a distance say a 100 miles plus. Cable is good and ATT phone service works good. Bike riding and walking very good. Free laundry is a big plus and nice machines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May - Jun 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: Great famcamp! Previous comments pretty much cover the details. I didn't use the toilet facilities so no comment. Very easy in/easy out. Very helpful host. Friendly office people but don't volunteer much information. Shaded & non-shaded sites. Being off-season, I had my pick. Quiet, peaceful, very secure/safe with pretty much what you might need either on base or in Del Rio. I recommend and will stay here again. Side note: I have stayed at 3 famcamps in the last few months and all are allowing more mil permanent party/Border Patrol for long term stays. May be a trend?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Free laundry, how great! The sites are outstanding! Would like to have stayed longer but had to travel. Great sightseeing area. Sounded like a lot of brass stays there because they keep the best sites just in case. But we did like it and it is easy access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have one thing to add (point out) not covered in earlier reviews. When they say $15 a day and $72 a week they mean it. We paid 15x5=$75 to stay for five days and would have had to pay an additional $15 to extend a day. Yes, it costs less to stay for seven days than it does for five or six days. Lack of a community room and particularly a bathhouse are the reasons for my low Facilities rating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Visited in July. Has aircraft noise, but that is expected with active AFB. Sites were nice level pull thrus with dividers between. Wide enough for slides. Across from park for dogs and children. Walking distance to BX and Commissary. Enjoyable location with vegetation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a great campground. Best level, long sites we have ever seen. Had to drive off base a bit to get to Del Rio and other tourist points, but enjoyed everything there, including the trip to Judge Roy Bean's town of Langtry, TX. Lake Amistad has an AF rec area to boat, fish, etc. Friendly personnel working the office there. The only drawback is the trainer planes flying to late hours at night. Taps is played, as well as morning colors. Saw huge jackrabbits there! Would definitely revisit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14 - 27 April 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very good famcamp. Laundry machines are FREE, no showers, concrete pads, cable, excellent cell reception. Only negative - located VERY close to the flight line and Monday thru Friday it is BUSY!! Not much to do as we have no interest in visting Mexico but the town of Del Rio is nice enough. Lots of shopping, Seminole Canyon SP is 40-45 miles away, other historical sites near. Lots of birding, biking on base. I would definitely come back to the famcamp IF we are in the area but will not make this a destination famcamp due to the lack of off-base activities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 7-9, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This famcamp has few amenities but has exactly what a traveler needs -- good long, easy in and out, pull throughs and E/W/S/Cable for $15 a night. Friendly camphost, decent base golf course, and town not too far away made this a perfect stop for a few nights as we headed back north from the Valley. Airplane noise during the day was non-stop and shade is sparse, but the privacy fence and picnic tables made each site very comfortable. We would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb/March 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Someone mentioned in a previous review that 1/2 of the spaces are first come, but that is not really true anymore. Spaces 11-21 are for reservations, spaces 9 and 10 have FEMA trailers in them, spaces 5 through 8 are for active duty long termers only, so that leaves spaces 1-4 as first come. That really shouldn't be a problem as there are usually plenty of empty spaces available anytime except during the winter months. It is a well maintained campground with a free laundry just for the famcamp, although it is not within walking distance. Since Laughlin is a small base, everything is close by. One complaint about this campground is the lack of shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15 Mar 08
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great RV Park ... huge sites, well kept grounds, friendly host, easy to locate and convenient location on base. The only downfall in our mind was the restroom facilities. They are located in an adjacent park area, convenient enough, but I don't think they had been cleaned for weeks. Trash on the floors, no toilet paper, bee's nests in the stalls, floors not washed/cleaned for a long time. I mentioned it to Outdoor Rec, who indicated they had been having trouble with the contractor ... that was obvious ... but even after mentioning it, nothing seemed to happen. With that exception, this is a wonderful RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground was not full so we had a choice of sites. All long, pull-thrus with full hook-ups & privacy fencing. Well-kept playground surrounded by white picket fence - quiet & peaceful. Got used to hearing reveille, the National Anthem & taps. BX is kitty-corner convenient. Nearby town of Del Rio is handy for additional shopping & dining choices. Don't miss touring some of the Amistad Rec. Areas - stop by their Visitor Center to view the brief but informative film. Consider visiting their "Sister City" in Mexico - Ciudad Acuna. We parked our car in a lot right at the border crossing, paid 75 cents bridge toll & walked across to take advantage of inexpensive dental care (per a friend's referral). Only cost us 30 cents a piece to return and our DL IDs but Passports will be required in future. Great value @ $72/week. We didn't require outside bath/shower facilities altho we appreciate them when available. We recommend this campground to others and would return ourselves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-25 Feb. 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As of Feb 2008 - the Main gate off Hwy 90 is open. All construction completed. No problem making the barricade. (we pull a 26' TT) Keith, the host, met us and made us feel right at home. Easy access to all pull-thru's. 60+ cable TV free stations, Wi-fi avail 200 yds away in the beautiful,main lodging building, or use their computers. The base library has internet computers too. BX is 100 yds away. Nearby park for the kids. My only complaint is the bath-house. There isn't one. We are able and competent (ha !) to use our showers but I really like using somebody else's hot water I guess. Keeps my holding tanks from filling up too fast also. But other than this- we really loved it. The base is dead quiet on wk ends (no UPT flying). We crossed over into Cuidad Acuna on Sat. & had a wonderful time. Beautiful people and good deals. E-mail me for any more info desired on visiting Mexico from Laughlin AFB, pls. Sat. nite was Tops in Blue at Laughlin. So you know how great that was...We want to return-immediately. If we weren't heading to Arizona, we would stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 December 2007 - 4 January 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a small but nice famcamp. Although the base is small, the bx and commissary had a variety of things to purchase that met our needs. We were there over the holidays so the base was pretty much shut down, however, it didn't discourage us, we like it that way some of the time. A huge plus was the free laundry facilities available to the famcamp residents. One thing that did bother us was that we had asked about getting 50 amp instead of 30 amp and were told that it wasn't available. However...the entire time that we were there there were several 50 amp slots that were available for use. If you have people that are staying in the famcamp for extended periods of time, 2 weeks or more, and ask for 50 amp, they should be given it and let the one nighters use the 30 amp. The bathroom was a mess, however since it is also available to the people who use the rec area next to the camp it may be difficult to keep it as clean as it should be. The gym was great, we spent time there each day. There is a great bike trek that runs through the base and is an easy ride. The camp hosts were always smiling, nice and gave out accurate information about the base when asked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
51 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3