Laughlin AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (51)
56337 0 8 0 14

User reviews

29 reviews with 4 stars

51 reviews

 
(17)
 
(30)
 
(3)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.2  (51)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (51)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (51)
Value 
 
4.6  (51)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (51)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
4-11 February 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay. When you enter the base on Liberty there is a serpentine at the gate, but we are towing a 35' Trailer and had no problem getting through the gate. The RV Park is at the end of Liberty drive, so once you go through the gate keep going straight. When you get to the RV Park sites 1-10 are on the left side and 11-21 (no #13, lol) are on the right side. The sites are so long. Awesome level pads. Site is full hookup. Cable TV was great to have. The outdoor rec is in the BX building on Liberty drive right in front of the RV Park. Staff was very helpful. The second best thing here is Laundry is FREE!!! Take your receipt to the Air Force Inn next to the BX (2 blocks from the RV Park) and they will give you a keycard for the laundry room which has 8 HE wash machines and 8 dryers. So the best thing then is the Gym. This is hands down the best military gym I have ever been to. It has anything and everything you could need. All strength training needs, all cardio needs, racquet ball, swimming pool, Steamroom, Sauna, great locker room, and a great staff. I would absolutely stay here again! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Dec 30, 2016 - Jan 2, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The famcamp was easy to find. Has nice LONG concrete pull-thrus with full hookups and cable for $25/night. There is no wifi, but our Verizon service had 4 bars to utilize our own internet. We were told there is free laundry over at the Inn, but we didn't use it. We stayed here over the New Year's weekend which ment the park was quiet (no planes flying), nice & secure. It also ment the MWR was closed; we were glad we had reservations with our site # & had already paid because the hosts were no where to be found to pay for the site. Commissary was small but well stocked and very friendly. Nice little base on the way to/from Big Bend National Park if you don't need a lot of amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.T. left this review: On arrival we found the MAIN GATE CLOSED with no turnaround to be had on the 2 lane road. So we started our stay with an unhooking the toad and back/fill exercise. We found this was done for construction starting mid-Feb BUT neither of us saw any signs of this on 90 coming in from the east (a banner indicating closed across the exit sign comes to mind as something useful). So we could have missed something, BUT I had called outdoor rec to check site availability a couple of hours out and were told sure --- come ahead, with nothing said about the gate. Its supposed to be closed til mid April but you know how that goes - call first and ask specifically about the gate. In the meantime take 79 south to the first exit and head to the West Gate. Ok entering, concrete barriers in the exit lane are a bit tight for big rigs but doable. The individual I spoke to on the phone at outdoor rec wasn't there when we registered but I spoke to the manager. Unfortunately, I got the impression he didn't think my issue was of much significance. ICE time. Otherwise the FAMCAMP itself is as described previously - nice level concrete pads. Basic hookups. No amenities such as wifi or laundry. Limited dining and shopping options. Nice large fitness facility and library tho.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
December 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped here for 2 nights. Personnel in MWR office inside BX mall for check-in. This is a very small base but has a nice commissary/BX. The camp is well located. Yes, there will be jet noise, it's a training base! But AF people love hearing them right? Right! Access off the highway is easy and straight back to the camp, nice partitions between sites and a lovely park next door. No laundry, bathrooms/showers are basic but very clean. Lots of TDY personnel here as it's a training base. No wifi and we used our Tailgater satellite system so cannot speak to TV reception. The dog loved the walking trails. Del Rio is interesting to explore, very old town with great architecture in the old parts, just be careful which bridges you cross if you don't want to end up in Mexico! ;-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were passing through and stayed here for one night. Pros: well groomed facility; layout was pretty simple and basic; sufficient pull-through sites with full hookups; within easy walking distance of the BX, a Subway, and Outdoor Rec where you pay. A little further up the road is the AF Inn which has a "business center" where one can check e-mails; great deal for $18 a night. Cons: no WiFi available at the campsite, no place to do laundry near the campsite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December 23, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped for an overnight stay. There were 5 empty sites. 10 on left are reservable, 10 on right are first come first serve. Did not see camphost, appears to maybe be some homesteaders, three or four, however sites are clean and not junked up. 4 sites with FEMA trailers as rentals, camphost on a site, and homesteaders. That leaves about 10 sites for RVers. We enjoyed the quaint atmosphere of the campground. Sites are fairly level some sloping but not bad, concrete pads, nicely spaced, and have privacy fence between sites. BX one block away, didn't go in. Did not use the restroom facilities located at the playground area not far from campground. The whole base appeared very clean and remodeled with mostly newer buildings. Nice place to stop and we would consider staying for a week or two just to relax. Price is now $18 a night, not sure of weekly rate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2013
(Updated: February 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Couldn't be easier to get to, turn left off US90 at the base and go til the road ends. Wonderful sites, could hold 2 rigs lengthwise although they might have put the hookups another foot or so away from the pad. I couldn't fully open a couple of storage doors. One of the nicest bases I've been on. Small, not a high level of activity around but for the flights, of course. But mostly adequate facilities. Commissary, library and gym are very good for the size of installation. BX is ok, dining options are very limited, the BX now has a Subway which I guess replaced the Burger King. We'll definitely keep it in mind on our south Texas explorations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 26, 2012
(Updated: September 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This has always been one of our favorite stops until this time. NO LAUNDRY FACILITIES AT ALL! Must drive 8 miles into Del Rio to the only laundromat in town. Other than this problem, the other base facilities are adequate, personnel friendly and base very clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 2011-March 1 2011
(Updated: December 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay here. Commissary was super, well stocked for such a small facility, however aafes needs to wake up and smell the coffee, or a lack of. Eating establishments on base rank somewhere between 5 and 0 on a scale of 1 to 10. it's not the quality of the food so much as it is a place to find it. The laundry facility went on the blink for some unknown reason while i was there and it seemed that no one was in a earth shattering mood to fix it. Laundry mats in del rio suck. I would gladly pay to do laundry in a aafes laundry facility if one were provided, at least most of them are clean and the machines are kept in a operating condition. I have never met up face to face with a rattle snake, but i am nearly certain some of them are probably friendlier then the camp host, the staff at the outdoor rec office, and the staff at the auto craft shop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: First time at the campground but not my last. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. The sites were clean, paved and long. Bathrooms are just outside the campground at the playground with showers at the fitness center down the road. The exchange is one block from the campground and there is WiFi in the coffee shop. The sites are full hook-up with cable. Security makes the rounds every few hours. There is a railroad nearby but the sounds are not too loud. Flight ops seem to end by 1900. The only downside is there are several homesteaders that are not active duty or students but retired personnel who work at the base. If this policy of not enforcing the stay rules continue to be ignored than a great FamCamp will not be available to the traveling community.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 Nov - 14 Dec 2010
(Updated: April 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I stayed her in Nov 2010...I didn't expect much for the price but realized I had made a good choice..altho there is not alot of accommodations close by there is everything you need including free laundry..I would have no problem going back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Free laundry, how great! The sites are outstanding! Would like to have stayed longer but had to travel. Great sightseeing area. Sounded like a lot of brass stays there because they keep the best sites just in case. But we did like it and it is easy access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have one thing to add (point out) not covered in earlier reviews. When they say $15 a day and $72 a week they mean it. We paid 15x5=$75 to stay for five days and would have had to pay an additional $15 to extend a day. Yes, it costs less to stay for seven days than it does for five or six days. Lack of a community room and particularly a bathhouse are the reasons for my low Facilities rating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Visited in July. Has aircraft noise, but that is expected with active AFB. Sites were nice level pull thrus with dividers between. Wide enough for slides. Across from park for dogs and children. Walking distance to BX and Commissary. Enjoyable location with vegetation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
14 - 27 April 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very good famcamp. Laundry machines are FREE, no showers, concrete pads, cable, excellent cell reception. Only negative - located VERY close to the flight line and Monday thru Friday it is BUSY!! Not much to do as we have no interest in visting Mexico but the town of Del Rio is nice enough. Lots of shopping, Seminole Canyon SP is 40-45 miles away, other historical sites near. Lots of birding, biking on base. I would definitely come back to the famcamp IF we are in the area but will not make this a destination famcamp due to the lack of off-base activities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 7-9, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This famcamp has few amenities but has exactly what a traveler needs -- good long, easy in and out, pull throughs and E/W/S/Cable for $15 a night. Friendly camphost, decent base golf course, and town not too far away made this a perfect stop for a few nights as we headed back north from the Valley. Airplane noise during the day was non-stop and shade is sparse, but the privacy fence and picnic tables made each site very comfortable. We would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb/March 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Someone mentioned in a previous review that 1/2 of the spaces are first come, but that is not really true anymore. Spaces 11-21 are for reservations, spaces 9 and 10 have FEMA trailers in them, spaces 5 through 8 are for active duty long termers only, so that leaves spaces 1-4 as first come. That really shouldn't be a problem as there are usually plenty of empty spaces available anytime except during the winter months. It is a well maintained campground with a free laundry just for the famcamp, although it is not within walking distance. Since Laughlin is a small base, everything is close by. One complaint about this campground is the lack of shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15 Mar 08
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great RV Park ... huge sites, well kept grounds, friendly host, easy to locate and convenient location on base. The only downfall in our mind was the restroom facilities. They are located in an adjacent park area, convenient enough, but I don't think they had been cleaned for weeks. Trash on the floors, no toilet paper, bee's nests in the stalls, floors not washed/cleaned for a long time. I mentioned it to Outdoor Rec, who indicated they had been having trouble with the contractor ... that was obvious ... but even after mentioning it, nothing seemed to happen. With that exception, this is a wonderful RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground was not full so we had a choice of sites. All long, pull-thrus with full hook-ups & privacy fencing. Well-kept playground surrounded by white picket fence - quiet & peaceful. Got used to hearing reveille, the National Anthem & taps. BX is kitty-corner convenient. Nearby town of Del Rio is handy for additional shopping & dining choices. Don't miss touring some of the Amistad Rec. Areas - stop by their Visitor Center to view the brief but informative film. Consider visiting their "Sister City" in Mexico - Ciudad Acuna. We parked our car in a lot right at the border crossing, paid 75 cents bridge toll & walked across to take advantage of inexpensive dental care (per a friend's referral). Only cost us 30 cents a piece to return and our DL IDs but Passports will be required in future. Great value @ $72/week. We didn't require outside bath/shower facilities altho we appreciate them when available. We recommend this campground to others and would return ourselves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-25 Feb. 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As of Feb 2008 - the Main gate off Hwy 90 is open. All construction completed. No problem making the barricade. (we pull a 26' TT) Keith, the host, met us and made us feel right at home. Easy access to all pull-thru's. 60+ cable TV free stations, Wi-fi avail 200 yds away in the beautiful,main lodging building, or use their computers. The base library has internet computers too. BX is 100 yds away. Nearby park for the kids. My only complaint is the bath-house. There isn't one. We are able and competent (ha !) to use our showers but I really like using somebody else's hot water I guess. Keeps my holding tanks from filling up too fast also. But other than this- we really loved it. The base is dead quiet on wk ends (no UPT flying). We crossed over into Cuidad Acuna on Sat. & had a wonderful time. Beautiful people and good deals. E-mail me for any more info desired on visiting Mexico from Laughlin AFB, pls. Sat. nite was Tops in Blue at Laughlin. So you know how great that was...We want to return-immediately. If we weren't heading to Arizona, we would stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2