Laughlin AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (51)
56828 0 8 0 14

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

51 reviews

 
(17)
 
(30)
 
(3)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.2  (51)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (51)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (51)
Value 
 
4.6  (51)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (51)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
12-16 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great park with large pull through, would not even have to disconnect TOAD if you didn’t want to. The only thing missing is no shower house, though the sports fields adjacent to camp has full restrooms. The base is not well advertised off the highway, the north gate along US 90 was closed the whole time we were here. West gate is easy to use, they dropped the barriers for us for easy entry. Great bike paths, right behind the BX, private, peaceful sites with 5 ft fences separating each. Del Rio has a lazy river that we bought float tubes for at Walmart and had a lot of fun. Visited Judge Roy Bean museum and saloon, about 60 miles west on 90; it’s state run and exceptionally done with an informative nature walk attached. Town of about 33k is very friendly and easy to get around in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 1, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time stay here. Easy to make reservations - easy on and off from Hwy 90. Never did meet host - knocked on door but may not have heard us. Quite and peaceful. We'd stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2019
(Updated: April 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice clean park. Small! Looks like about 21 sites. Nice and level spots. No shower house or laundry, must use base gym. Good hook-ups. No WiFi. Picnic table and privacy fences between sites. Big park and playground next door. All sites are pull through. Be sure and call ahead for a reservation, glad we did, there was only one more open site when we got here. Looks like quite a few long-term residents, but to be expected at a training base. Very quiet and fun to watch all the airplanes during the day, Directions above are good. One note, we came from the west and the ramp to Loop 79 is closed, so we followed Hwy 90 through town. When you get in, go straight to your site. Then walk over to the BX and check in with Outdoor Rec. there is no office at the park. If you need WiFi, must use the Subway at the BX. Overall nice park, easy to get to. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5-15 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Del Rio is not much to see, but Laughlin AFB and its Famcamp are outstanding. Stayed here in 2015 and now twice this Spring. Great stopover between Austin and Big Bend areas. Lots of aircraft noise as this is a training base, but that’s A-OK. The campsites are level privacy wall between sites; great water pressure; dependable power through 50 amp. You can use the transient hotel near the campground and BX. Free washers and dryers. Just pick up a room key at the front desk. Outdoor recreation office in the BX (across the street from the Famcamp) has an extremely accomodating staff and is installing a laundry trailer for campers. Lots of trails to walk for miles. They even have a recycling center on Arkansas Street close to the current front gate (located near the huge fuel tanks...can’t miss it). The current front gate closing soon, going back to the old front gate. They have an additioinal campground at the Amistad Lake “Marina” about 20 miles from LAFB. Saw it, but didn’t stay there. Easier to get into I understand. Commissary is tiny, but extremely well stocked; also a Walmart and HEB in Del Rio if you prefer. No good restaurants in Del Rio; one tiny mall with a movie theatre; town kinda sucks to be honest. Two RV stores but tiny and not up to date if you need parts or repairs. Can’t speak well enough about LAFB: it’s a great place to clean everything after Big Bend and Terlingua. You need a place to clean up! LAFB auto hobby shop has a car wash with RV bay...but very tight quarters. I washed camper and truck at our site although not supposed to do so.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
December 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Good location to or from Big Bend. Planned on staying one night but due to just awful weather stayed two. Sites are large, paved, and nicely positioned. Huge number of cable channels and an excellent Verizon signal. Check-in is at the BX and staff was friendly and helpful. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan 6-7, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.F. left this review using the Directory software: - A very good stop off point along US-90 / US-277 to avoid having to travel I-10 across west Texas. Clean, efficient. New cable TV being installed. Nice sound barriers between sites. Yes, the flight line/ runway is located less than a half-mile from the FamCamp. You can hear the planes, and the students are flying by 8 am and til 8 pm.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 7 to May 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If your goal is to be in West Texas, this is a great place to stay. Good value - $100 for a week. Check in and Outdoor Rec is in the PX. Close enough to Lake Amistad for day trip and the Visitors Center has lots of information and films to see. Not a lot to do in Del Rio but we had a recommendation from a local for Poncho's Restaurant - great Mexican food and very reasonable prices. Facilities on base are adequate but no restrooms,showers or laundry in the FamCamp area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A.T. left this review using the Directory software: - Visited for 3 days. Everything is convenient except laundry. Quiet, easy to get to. FAMCAMP is run by outdoor recreation, personnel are helpful. Library is good for internet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited my wife who PCSd there in June. Easy to get to off the highway - just turn into the base and go straight. Being in this part of the country one expects barren land and spartan conditions. This FamCamp has more than most FamCamps or RV parks in the military and was a nice surprise considering the location (in the middle of no-where Texas)! It was clean, the camp host were pleasant and those who were there were very friendly. There are a few folks who stay at the FamCamp who are stationed there but not too many. Besides, sometimes with split families such as ours (one PCSd and the other at home) it is a nice and proper way to live. Wished my wife took the RV and lived there instead of paying 2 places to live. Those who complain about "long-termers" might need to reconsider their harsh comments. You get what you pay for and as far as I'm concerned, the military camps are the cheapest for the price with a good value. I have no problem with "long-termers" at the military campground as long as they are keeping the place clean and there are at least 50% of the spaces open for visitors. Hey, it's a money maker for MWR, just keep the spaces clean and not have any porches built with Pink Flamingos in the yard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 15 - Nov 18, 2010
(Updated: December 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I spent mid Oct to mid Nov and totally enjoyed my stay. The city of Del Rio has many great places to visit and some very good food. If you want a great steak try Lorina's Cantina every Wednesday (RSVP Only) also Wrights Steak House, both on the West side of Del Rio US-90. The only area I addressed with the base was the need to get WiFi installed, I have Sprint and it worked great but WiFi is now and the future. Full hookups, and you have a fence on each side to give you a comfortable sense of privacy. Everything on the base that you need is close, The site are long and can handle any size RV with trailer/puller. There is a 60 day limit stay and I will come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 8 - April 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here, and would stay here again if we ever have the chance. Once you get over the fact that campground feels unusual without a bathhouse or other public facility, you realize how nice it is. The sites are very comfortable. The are level, full hookups, and you have a fence on each side to give you a comfortable sense of privacy. Everything on the base that you need is close, and you learn to take that in as part of the camping facility experience. The BX is next door, restrooms are there to use. The gym, a first class physical fitness center, has great showers in the locker room that a camper can use. The sites have full hookups, but if you don't want or can't use your RV shower, then you can go to the gym. It is within a mile of the campground. Besides the excellent exercise equipment, the gym has a coffee shop and wifi to use. There is also wifi available at the lodging office lobby about a block away. The laundry for the famcamp is, unusually, located across from the gym. However, the washer and dryers are free and very new. By our second day here we had worked out our routine so that we learned to get around the base, even by walking, to enjoy the experience. Not a bad place at all. It would be made perfect if a full bathhouse and lodge room could be built on site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
3 Nov - 28 Dec 09
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very easy to get to and one of best designed I have used. No showers at the camp but there are toilets near by. Everything on base is close to the camp and within walking distance so you could get by without a car or truck to get around. Host is excellent. This is a very good value but not a lot to do in the immediate area but some nice things at a distance say a 100 miles plus. Cable is good and ATT phone service works good. Bike riding and walking very good. Free laundry is a big plus and nice machines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May - Jun 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: Great famcamp! Previous comments pretty much cover the details. I didn't use the toilet facilities so no comment. Very easy in/easy out. Very helpful host. Friendly office people but don't volunteer much information. Shaded & non-shaded sites. Being off-season, I had my pick. Quiet, peaceful, very secure/safe with pretty much what you might need either on base or in Del Rio. I recommend and will stay here again. Side note: I have stayed at 3 famcamps in the last few months and all are allowing more mil permanent party/Border Patrol for long term stays. May be a trend?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a great campground. Best level, long sites we have ever seen. Had to drive off base a bit to get to Del Rio and other tourist points, but enjoyed everything there, including the trip to Judge Roy Bean's town of Langtry, TX. Lake Amistad has an AF rec area to boat, fish, etc. Friendly personnel working the office there. The only drawback is the trainer planes flying to late hours at night. Taps is played, as well as morning colors. Saw huge jackrabbits there! Would definitely revisit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3 Jun 07
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I will echo other comments . . . very nice famcamp. We only stayed one night as we were just passing through on our way from Brownsville to El Paso. Our only real complaint is that there was no host to pay after hours and we were already on the road the next day when Outdoor Rec opened at 0930.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
---
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you are in the area don't pass this one up. Huge paved pull throughs with privacy fences on both sides. All are full hook-ups with 50 amp service plus extra plugs for extensions to those little heaters. Everything is close by including the 9 hole golf course. If you have reservations just pull right onto your lot and then go check-in. The camp host will most likely be right there to help - as he did us. We stayed here a week on our way to the Texas coast from CA and were well rested when we left. We do our computing with a cell phone but here it was easy to just hook up to a land line. Same with cable TV (free).
CW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Annualy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Lots of room at each site. They are all pull-throughs and must be about 100 ft. long. We found two 30 amp plugs at each site pole in the area set aside for reservations. We had plenty of electricity for big rigs. Daytime noise from aircraft can be a nuisance for some who don't know what the sound of freedom sounds like. It's an easy walk across the street to the BX, Burger King, barber shop, and beauty parlor. A really nice grassy park with large trees and a playground is right across the street from this magnificant FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17