Joint Base San Antonio Canyon Lake Recreation Park

New Hot
 
4.1 (20)
157392   0   12   2   27

User reviews

10 reviews with 5 stars

20 reviews

 
(11)
 
(4)
 
(3)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.6  (20)
 
4.0  (20)
 
4.2  (20)
 
4.1  (20)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 22, 2016

This is the former Randolph AFB recreation area at Canyon Lake, TX (sometimes called Sunny Side). On the other side of Jacobs Creek Road is the former Fort Sam Houston recreation area. Both areas are now run by Joint Base San Antonio and there is often some confusion between the two areas, which seem to each have different management. We stayed at the Ft Sam area a few weeks ago and were interested in how the Randolph side compares. Both have very similar facilities – boat ramp, marina, boat rentals, large picnic and swimming areas. The RV sites are very similar – level concrete pads with full W/E/S hook-ups, picnic tables and fire rings except the Randolph area does not have the shade covers found at most of the Ft Sam RV sites. Also, the Randolph sites are on an unpaved roadway, which can get a little dusty and they have no restroom facilities within easy walking distance of the RV sites. There were no homesteaders while we were there and, in fact, the place almost totally emptied out on Monday. There was no park Wi-Fi, but fairly good T-mobile and Sprint coverage. Be aware that there are some electric only sites which are really just the edge of a parking lot and are pretty small (pop-up sized). They are adequate and close to the lake, but be aware that they are not like the other RV sites. Both rec areas are excellent facilities with shady sites and lots of wildlife to admire and feed. (Don’t forget to bring a bag of deer corn.) The biggest difference we found was in the management. It was difficult to make a reservation at the Ft Sam side because they weren’t answering their phone (over two days of trying) and when they did answer they wouldn’t make a reservation because it was only fifteen minutes until closing time. We found them a little brusque when we got there. By comparison, the Randolph side answered the phone on the first try and were very cordial making the reservation and during check in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 9-16, 2016

GREAT place and the reception crew at the front gate were GREAT to work with....very friendly and helpful.  We were here for a week and found the facilities to be excellent and enjoyed our stay.  Highly recommended. Plus watching the deer walk all around our campsite was a real treat.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2011 and July2011

We love it. Everyone was so nice and helpful. We stayed in June and July and are headed there again in October. Our family and friends also like it there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 12, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 9, 2010

Very nice facilities and a friendly staff. Deer were everywhere and the kids had a great time feeding them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 19. 2010

K.C. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed one night September 19th. The directions were very good and the staff was very friendly. Each site is on a concrete pad with full hook ups and 30/50 amp service. The restrooms are clean and modern. Deer roam through the area and the area is very quiet. We will stay here again when we pass through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 24-27, 2010

The most enjoyable Famcamp we have ever stayed in. Had no problems getting my 34 foot Montana fifth wheel to the site. We stayed in a full hookup site among the trees by the laundry shack which was closed for repairs. The lake was refreshing and we cooled off in the swim area every day. The park is a great area to bike around. The pads are cement, large and level. The staff is very helpful As we sat down under the awning the deer began to come out of the woods and visit with us. Deer food is available at the store in the Sam Houston Park which just across the road from this park. We treated our deer friends with peanuts, grapes and dry cat food which they seem to really enjoy. It started with 4 deer the first day and by the time we got ready to leave we had 14 deer showing up for goodies. I can't wait to get back and see how big the fawns have grown.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2010

This is a very nice place to stay. Downside -- laundry is not available at the Randolph area for the foreseeable future. Apparently, the county has closed them down for some environmental issue. However, laundry is available at the Ft. Sam area across the road. It costs $5 to get into the Ft. Sam area unless you have disability access card. Laundry at Ft. Sam is very nice. The weekly rate of $100 is no longer available -- still, at $15/day, it's a bargain. Very quite, very peaceful. We had 21 deer visit our campsite tonight looking for free hand-outs which we were more than happy to give them. We are in site 8 -- not a good site because, for some reason, the sewer dump is on the opposite side of the water and electric. Go figure..... We made do and not a huge imposition. Even at that, we will be back again. Word is that Randolph will take over the Ft. Sam RV area within a year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 2008

This is a great campground. Campsite pads are level and easily accessible with plenty of room. My wife had never seen a roadrunner, but one was at the site to greet us. The deer come every morning and evening looking for handouts. We loved the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2007

Great place to spend part of the winter. A beautiful resort quality campground. Most of the time half the RV sites were empty. Half way between San Antonio and Austin and you're in the hill country away from the city with full hookups. Lots of wildlife including deer. Nearby is Ft Sam Huston Rec area and a Corps of Engineers campground, Potters Creek

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 2006

Great,although crowded guess why.among the best it only lacks a minimart.the sights,beach,boats and deer make it a highlight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10