Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma

 
3.5 (28)
103435   0   7   3   29

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

28 reviews

 
(7)
 
(8)
 
(8)
 
(2)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.8  (28)
 
3.3  (28)
 
3.4  (28)
 
3.5  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan. 15, 2016

I was in the area and just drove thru to see if improvements had been made to the RV sites. It had been four or five years since I'd camped there and the sites were in need of upgrading then. The road to the RV sites was closed because of high water, but I could see the RV sites. From a distance, it did not appear there had been any improvements.  The FEMA trailers were gone and it looked like some repairs had been done to the cabins. Sheppard AFB Annex is a good location, lake access for swimming, boating & fishing, should be kept in a better state of repair. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 6-8, 2014

Was planning on doing some fishing in their "crappie house" only to find that the entire dock was closed. This was not noted on the website. Looks like the lake was so low that the walkway from the shore to the dock had buckled and broken. So no fishing, no boat rental. We did lots of walks with our dogs along the lakeshore. About a dozen deer came right into camp. It was a peaceful weekend but really wish that the dock was open. I only used the restroom at the campground 1 time on our way out. It was pretty dirty.

sun.jpg
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 27, 2012

Alert! If you are staying at this campground to visit someone at Sheppard AFB be aware that Sheppard is 120 miles away! We came here expecting to spend some time with our grandson and no where did it mention that it was so far from the base. We will have to pack up and move to be closer to the base. It's a nice enough campground - scenery and surroundings are great, but office staff were no help at finding our site or amentities - had to keep asking questions - nothing volunteered. The price is really good if you're just looking for an RV campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 21, 2012

D.H. left this review using the Directory software: - A very primitive RV facility (despite having full hookups) but a great location - if you're a fisherman or boater. Otherwise, not much to recommend it. Friendly Staff and small but well-stocked store. About 5 miles of pretty rough though paved country road to reach the site. If you're looking for a fishing camp, go for it...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 2008

L. R. left this review using the Directory software: Nice campground, staff very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 30, 2008

Well I only stayed one night, was going to stay longer but... I have a Big rig and I'll tell you I will not go back till they really do some work. As stated in other reviews watch out for the tree branches, I ended up with some minor surface damage that I had to work out at our next location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

23 March - 5 April 2008

Unfortunately I have to agree with the prior review. The annex is subpar for RVs when compared to other Military facilities and way overpriced for what you get. They are working on it though. The location is a beautiful setting and has fantastic potential if brought up to speed with other Military facilities. The larger rigs need to be careful going in and out of this campground. Lots of low hanging branches on the road approaching the campground, nasty speed bump strips in the campground and the road and culverts (in the RV section) need some serious work. As I mentioned this campground has great potential, we stayed (and choked when we paid) for two weeks but really enjoyed the quiet, walking paths and talking with the few neighbors that came by.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

21-24 March 2008

We were anxious to visit Sheppard's Annex on Lake T., after 35 yrs. SAFB was my 1st assignment & the "annex" was my 1st USAF recreation facility. We had such a great memory of it. But, it was not to be. The "annex" may be operational now after the catastrophic flooding of `07, but there's nothing there. We found it to be a faded picture of a once, booming recreation destination. There are hardly any services there that are touted in the brochure (which I picked up from Sheppard AFB MWR on 20 Mar `08) or on the website. The weekly rates (published in the 2 previous sources) DO NOT exist. It's $20(full hook-ups) a nite regardless. We've never paid $20 a nite at any DOD Famcamp. There are some that may ask $20 a night, but there is always a cheaper weekly/monthly rate. And those bases have dynamite facilities, services and are sparkling clean and are brand NEW. The "annex" bath-house was decrepit, dirty, and lacking daily cleaning. Ex- no handwashing soap, no TP (for 4 days). RV pads are overgrown grassy gravel; that has spread way too thin. (maybe the flooding?) We were told that there was only 1 full hook-up row, but I found that the (cheaper) W/E row had sewer also. No campground host. My neighbor was dumping his gray water out behind his site but w/out a "host" no one would ever have known. The nice ladies that work in the lodge/office don't really know anything about the RV park itself. The "lodge" closes at 5:00pm daily and besides the small store, the services that the base advertises in the lodge are non-existent. The Lake T. annex is way off the beaten path. Sheppard's got to decide if they really want to operate a RV (FamCamp). Note- my write up doesn't include the marina, boat launching, fishing part of the "annex". I'm not qualified to rate it. It appeared that the folks staying in the "annex" cabins that used the marina, thought it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8