Sheppard AFB Recreation Annex at Lake Texoma

 
3.5 (28)
106451   0   7   3   30

User reviews

8 reviews with 4 stars

28 reviews

 
(7)
 
(8)
 
(8)
 
(2)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.8  (28)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (28)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.3  (28)
Value 
 
3.4  (28)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
May 19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Tried to stay here last year but it was closed due to severe flooding. Also due to the flood, many of the amenities are new. We were able to secure a nice rv site in the shade for two nights. Full hook up. Met some lovely people camping nearby. Approaching from the east via non interstate roads was very pretty with many ranches and little towns. Texas has great roads as a rule. Campground is still a work in progress but it will only get better with time. Recommend sites 22-28...they have a few trees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
1995-2013 once a year
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have been coming here since 1995. It has been a multigenerational tradition for us that has instilled a sense a unity amount our children, sisters, parents, grandparents, second cousins --aunts, uncles, etc. From the time our children were babies until now-teens/twenty-something, we have trekked up here every single year. While the cabins are nowhere near posh--I am grateful that they are affordable and safe. Getting the kids unplugged for awhile and enjoying each others company--even if in front of a tiny tv..is nice. Yes, the facilities seriously need upgrades, but we enjoy it anyway. My father passed away this past March so this will be the first time we visit without him. So many fond memories, time passes so fast so enjoy what you have now and work to make a positive change. Looking forward to our visit next week!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
Sept 22 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were staying about 12 miles away at a preserve and had an inclination to go check out the facility. WOW they are putting in new water pipes, and sewer service that will allow the installation of what looked like 20 mobile homes to be used as weekend cabins. The campground was pretty far away from the store and office. But it was so quiet and peaceful. We sat in the shade for about 20 minutes just watching the birds and deer (many deer). The lady at the office/store was very friendly and helpful. The store had beer/liquor/milk and some prepared meat products like hot dogs and the like. Prices were what you would expect at a convenience store, although they were still well below what we were paying at area stores and nearby marinas. We are planning a week visit real soon.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
7-11th Aug, 2011
(Updated: August 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Despite the heat we enjoyed the large cabin and Lake while at the annex. The area is a bit secluded but there are towns you can resupply within 30 miles. We were pleased with the cabin and found it to be more than adequate for our needs. We had plenty of room and had no issues with kitchen appliances, everything worked. The boat dock was satisfactory however they were having some issues with the electrical hookups for boat charging. People I spoke with were right concerning the wildlife; deer walk right up to your cabin. There is a significant herd that has staked a claim on the annex including an eight point buck so have your cameras ready. We are planning to go back when the temperatures are more agreeable. We had recorded heat indexes of 121 degrees at times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 12-14, 2011
(Updated: March 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just got back from spending a few days of Spring Break there. We had a great time! The cabins are more like mini mobile homes than cabins but they met our needs just fine. Comes with a little grill outside on the porch w/a picnic table and inside had all the amenities such as refrigerator/freezer, oven, & microwave. Bring all your food and cleaning supplies or you'll get nickel and dimed over at the convenient store. Kids loved the paddle boats, playgrounds, basketball courts, volleyball nets and they are putting in a new pool too!! My husband even caught about a dozen crappie!! Wonderful little place. Can't wait to go back!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 18, 2009 - Mar 4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
K. C. left this review using the Directory software: Great place to stay, fishing good, can rent boats and fishing gear, roads not bad, must drive slow and watch for tree limbs but not bad. Drive big rigs can make it easy. Every night a heard of dear came to the back of the camp, its just a great sight.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 23, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The RV portion of this facility has been damaged by flooding. They will not be open until Spring 2008. The rest of the facility will be reopended this week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great campground with few fulltimers. If you can do without S for a while, then camp on the lake in sites, It is well worth it. A great place to RV and I certainly would go there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 1
8 results - showing 1 - 8