Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (137)
106694 0 18 1 48

User reviews

42 reviews with 5 stars

137 reviews

 
(48)
 
(52)
 
(24)
 
(6)
 
(7)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.2  (137)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (137)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (137)
Value 
 
4.1  (137)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (137)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
17 & 31 August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped here as an overnight on a trip from Colorado to Oregon. It was easy to make reservations while enroute as we weren't sure we'd make it that far at first. $20 for an overnight stay with full hookups etc was well worth it. Very easy to find from the interstate. Even arriving "after hours" we were met by a volunteer camper who had all our reservation information and took us right to our site. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 12-18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Big base..Good golf...nice commissary and BX. Played the base Golf Course and enjoyed the walk. Pretty good value considering the views of mountains, track right next to the campground for exercise and plenty to do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had intended to stay at Hill fampcamp for just 4 nights but ended up staying for nearly two weeks because I had SO MUCH FUN there! The camp hosts (not Howard but the wonderful couple whose names are out of my head, sorry!) were there to help me get settled and are truly HOSTS...they enjoy people and gatherings and invited me over and we had a great time on more than one occasion just yacking away. I made other friends there I will undoubtedly visit again in the future. The gym and track are right next door, the BX and commissary are outstanding, and as someone said, SLC has lots of things to do. The town outside the base, Roy...I think...also has restaurants and such that make it very nice to be at Hill. As for Howard, I can tell you that he and his assistant Tom were very kind and helpful to me. I really didn't want to leave, but I couldn't extend because of the other campers with reservations and because I needed to get back to Oregon. BUT, I'd have stayed for the season if I could...it's a fun, clean, safe place...thanks Howard and crazy fun camp hosts! :o)
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
March 22, 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Having read all of the reviews I felt like I needed to submit this review. I have been at the famcamp for 11 months. I too have had my difficulties with the management, and had a meeting with upper management to address a lot of the issues that have been posted over the past few years. It is my opinion that the issues have been addressed and from this date forward you shouldn’t have any more problems. I feel very optimistic that your experience here will be a great one. Management now reviews these comments and values your opinions. Have fun, and stop by and say hi.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
11-16 September 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.D. left this review using the Directory software: - We have been coming here for several years and we find this camp ground to be one of our top choices in the military. Howard has been here several years and is an excellent camp host. The bathrooms and Laundry room has recently been upgraded and they are simply "Outstanding". They keep them very clean as well. The base has some nice walking paths which are right next to the camp. There is overflow and if you get put in overflow, Howard tries his best to fit you in the next available spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
31 August - 3 Sept. 2012
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
When I emailed for a reservation Howard responded within five minutes All we could get was an elect site in overflow. When we arrived we were pleased to find out that a pull thru full-hookup had become available and he gave it to us. Howard is one of the most congenial park managers we have ever met. He has pastries, coffee and juice in the office everyday for the famcampers - free. We haven't used the restrooms and showers, but from the look of the park I can imagine that they are in good shape and clean. We would certainly stay here again and for a longer time, but right now we're anxious to get home to Oregon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our family stayed for 2 nights in conjunction with the Base Annual Camp out. The FamCamp Manager Howard and the Camp Hosts David & Sally were Awesome!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
16 Jun 12
(Updated: June 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We read the previous reviews & were a little leery about staying here, but we were pleasantly surprised. As we pulled in to the park David & Sally met us at the registration office, which was closed. They couldn't have made the check-in process any easier! They showed us to our site and filled us in on where the services were located that we needed. We were in site #21, a nice level concrete pad with a beautiful view of the mountains & Great Salt Lake. We especially enjoyed the enclosed dog park at the FamCamp and an additional park a short distance away in base housing. The laundry room/bathroom building is being renovated. This park and staff exceeded our expectations. The area has a lot to offer & we will definitely plan to spend more time at this park next time we're through here. We stayed in a 31' fifth wheel.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 5 thru April 12, 2012
(Updated: April 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have read the previous comments and was concerned about using this facility. However, as I expected the service was excellent and good communication is the key. We did have some difficulty contacting Howard by phone. The communications via email was excellent and prompt. We encountered some snow and had our departure time delayed prior to arrival in Hill AFB. We contacted Howard and he stayed and guided us into our sites after normal working hours. The next day we met with him and completed the proper paper work. This one man show was very professional and cordial. This FAMCAMP is Big Rig friendly. The facilities were great and the BX, Commissary, Gas Station (DIESEL), Church, exercise facilities were very close and convenient. The hours of operation were no problem, as long as you read those ahead of time and know of the limitations. Another camp host will be coming soon and should allow for more flexibility. We were placed on the concrete sites and had good hook-ups. We would visit this facility again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
29 June -14 July, 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We travel with our friends so always try to book two full hookup sites. The real camphost, Howard sent us an email and said that all he had was overflow (electric and water only). We arrived and was assigned to the overflow. Did not see Howard again until the next week when he told us we could have full hookups. We both decided that the overflow was better than some of the full hookup sites so decided to stay in overflow. (Actually the only down side to this famcamp is the full hook up sites in the old part of the Famcamp - they range from really good to OMG bad) If you get a full hook up site ask for concrete pads or you will not like it). Never saw Howard again as he went on emergency leave but Deputy Don was always available, friendly, and knows the area very well. Deputy Don told us about a local repair facility for our generator and also one of the best steak houses in Utah (Prarie Schooner). He was always on duty and made sure every RV that came into the famcamp was personally met by him regardless of the hour. Deputy Don made this stay GREAT! We will come back if only to visit with him.
Hill AFB is an outstandy base and we agree with all the other comments, they are doing something right by the airmen stationed at Hill. We were so pleased with everyone we met, at the top of the list is the golf course --- is one of the best in the Air Force (for sure the best maintained) and we have played some of the best including the Air Force Academy; Hill does not take a back seat to any of them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 21 2011
(Updated: July 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We waited to the last minute to call and couldn't get anyone on the phone, left message with our number but no one returned our call. The answering machine recommended sending e mail so that morning as we headed out we sent e mail requesting a site and again giving my number. I figured when they called I could ask to be close to bath house since we have a small RV and prefer taking shower in bath house. We also tried to call again but no luck. When we arrived, after hours, we went to office to self check in. They had a good system and there was a Johnson on the list plus other open sites. To make sure the Johnson was us I checked my e mail and sure enough they sent me an e mail with the site number. Bad part, it was on the opposite side from the bath house. PPP on my part doesn't make it anyone else's problem. There was a camp host, he was real nice but I didn't want to bother him about another site for one night. Another RV arrived and he also was unable to get anyone on the phone but camp host took care of him. Everything was close, Gym, BX, Commissary, post office, club. And there was a nice small water park for the kids too. I'm ret. Army so I say anything in 2 mi is close and in walking distance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
28 June-5 July 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: The Best! We'd e-mailed for reservations and were told even overflow with electric was full. We replied we'd take dry camping overflow until something opened up. On arrival (the directions in are excellent) the office was closed. Deputy Don, the host came up immediately on his golf cart and said he could give us 2 nights in an empty spot. As it turned out he found we did have a spot reserved for 4 nights. The next day I went to see Howard, the manager to see if we could extend a day. He was very pleasant and we were able to do that. Don is around the camp often and keeps on top of things. During our stay several spaces remained empty and a lot of others seem to be used as storage. The surroundings are beautiful, it's a good base for sightseeing in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 17 - August 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just got here today but wanted to get a quick review done while I had the time and motivation. I think the normal host is on vacation and I dealt with De. I hope I spelled his name right. He was most helpful get a reservation and he was on a golf cart when I pulled in and he led me to my site. This is the most inexpensive famcamp we've ever stayed at and from what I see so far it is one of the nicest. We're happy to be here, happy to have a nice site and are looking forward to some sightseeing. What a great place. I would have blacked out all 5's if it had wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 14 and 15, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed in a lot of Fam camps this was a very good experience. It was easy to find the right gate (Roy) from I-15. We were lucky to be able to get a site by calling the day before we arrived. The Laundry was great. An added bonus was a car show in the park next to Fam Camp .Very friendly Volunteer Host. Manager away for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April - May 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for 3 weeks here and cannot find anything bad to say about it. It's just a great place to be. We can't wait to go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 28-29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very clean, supper laundry, Host is knowledgeable, friendly, & accommodating. Trees, benches, and perfect pads w/full service. Great value. Add free C/G WiFi and and move it away from runways and it would be super Site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in overflow with 30 amp & water. Host was great. Everyone was very friendly. The campground is across the street from the best gym, indoor pool, and hobby shop complex. Just under a mile walk to the BX & commissary. The only negative is the 4 miles drive from the Roy Gate that is just about at the north end of the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 18-25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Howard is a gem! His willingness to work with you raises the ratings of this ordinary famcamp to outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
July 8-9, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Sure don't understand the negative comments of a few others. We had a great experience at this cg. The ease of getting in/out of your site makes you appreciate a well designed cg, and it wasn't our site - the other sites looked just as good. The way they have 1 rig pulled in facing another rig is great. You don't walk out looking at someone else's sewer hookups. The sites were level and had plenty of room between rigs. We have a 40 footer with 2 slides, and had no problems whatsoever. The only aggravation we had was getting to the campground - having to go 5-6 miles around to the Roy gate, but blame that on Bin Laden and company - the barriers all bases now have. The other comment is that Howard, the cg manager, has too much responsibility. I would hate to see him become ill or worse - the cg would have to shut down. Share the load, Howard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov. 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed there 2 nights. No problems with the self registration. The kiosk had the available sites listed so we signed up & parked. The payment envelope had a "tear off" receipt for you to keep. The restroom combo was on that receipt so even though there was no one available, we had no problem getting in. Both restrooms were very clean & in good repair. Evidently the problem with the Women's facilities not having a knob has been corrected. Howard came by the next morning to be sure we had what we needed and to welcome us. The cement pull through pads are a little smaller than we would have liked but there is still room spread out & all sites had a picnic table. The sights by the track were a little confusing as the hookups are side by side (didn't need a "Y" for the water). In the morning -when it was light- could see that they are set up so that every other RV was faced in the opposite direction. The one thing I didn't see mentioned as far as sights was the Air Museum just outside the Roy Gate. It is a really good museum with plenty of volunteers to talk about the planes, etc. Absolutely the ONLY negative is the stickers our hounds got in their feet. Very enjoyable experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3