Champs Camp RV Park

 
3.3 (36)
57202 0 10 0 16

User reviews

13 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(4)
 
(14)
 
(8)
 
(9)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.2  (36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (36)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.8  (36)
Value 
 
3.4  (36)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
16 Aug 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great staff, very nice and professional. Very nice renovation. Paved sites. Nice tables. Laundry/Day Room is great with new everything. IMHO, it is over priced at $35/night in the middle of no where. Even laundry is high at $2 per load to wash and $2 per load to dry. There is a Food Lion store, Class 6 (VA ABC),fuel, and drug store in nearby Bowling Green and not much else. Verizon worked in campground. WiFi range is limited but works well if you are close enough. FYI, MWR also has house rentals. We were here for a wedding at "The Lodge", an amazing facility that accommodates about 20. Commercial kitchen. Historic chapel down the road was also used. Throwing this out for those looking for such a venue. It worked well for the wedding we had. Note on access. From 301 you encounter a "gate complex". It is not used nor is the other one you will see. Wind your way up the hill to the Quonset check point. Big rigs should go on the far side of the hut to get ID checked. The directions here are no longer correct...never saw a game check station. Just proceed on AP Hill road until you see the huge Army Reserve complex. If you turn left there you will arrive at the camp ground in less than a mile. If you do not make the turn, after about a mile you will soon see the RV storage area. MWR is behind that storage area. Think you're supposed to go to MWR first if they are open. Probably should call them. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
3-6 July 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nicely renovated campground. Sites are long but narrow. No trees, no WiFi if your parked away from bldg which has a tv, washer and dryers, no cable. Expensive for having no amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Aug 9-31 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed staying here with evening walks around the base. Cannot beat 13 bucks per night for full hook up if you have lifetime national park card and we are retired military. It is being completely renovated and not available until Nov 2018. Counted 14 deer in field next to campground. Quiet and peaceful except people cranking up vehicles every morning when leaving to go to work. Great MWR attendants. Run when they mow the grass which they slung rocks on rear of my motorhome and cracked fiberglass. I hope it is really nice after renovation. I will go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We visit the Richmond area frequently and there are only a few campgrounds within an hour drive; two of those few are military—Champs Camp north of the city and Richmond Supply Depot on the south. We have stayed at RSD in the past and it os much closer. However, Champs has FHU which we need for longer stays. Champs has laundry and shower/batj facilities as well. NOTE: This facility will close Sep, Oct, and part of Nov for upgrades to sites. The issues noted in other reviews re placement of utilities, etc. will hopefully be fixed diring that time. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2-16 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I stayed here in June and I left a fairly good review, then. So, we're back here in August for a couple of weeks and boy howdy, does it look different without any trees in the campground! The mosquitoes are still bad (but they've had so much rain, it's sort of expected), the hookups are still screwy, but the facilities for showers/bathrooms/laundry are still great. The deer, fox, and turkey are still all around and it's still front and center, if you like Civil War history (Chancellorsville, Spotsylvania Courthouse, and Wilderness battlefields are within 20-30 minutes away, not to mention Richmond, Petersburg, and Appomattox Courthouse are near enough for real Civil War buffs). The MWR staff are helpful and friendly, and they have told me that future improvements for the RV park include brand new hookups relocated to be more user friendly (not on both sides of coach and stretching out to 25 ft for water, sewer, or electric, and putting in 50 amp svc.), paving the whole park, building up concrete pads for coaches, and making all the middle sites pull-thru. As soon as it stops raining and the sun comes back out, I'll snap a few pix to show improvements in progress.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 14-July 2, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It may just be me, but I think this place gets a bum rap. The park is like a state park setting; very quiet and serene (birds chirping, deer everywhere, etc.) The people at the Lodging Office were nice and knowledgeable and the bathrooms, laundry and clubhouse were very nice. Yes, the layout is somewhat baffling and looks like it was cobbled together out of spare parts during a drunken festival, but after a little bit of looking around, it all came together. And, compared to a lot of place (including state parks), the price is right, $21/night. And, if you have an "America the Beautiful" National Parks Pass, it knocks the price down to $13/night. And, previous posters have lamented about there not being a Walmart for miles around; big deal! You have plenty of local stores that'll probably have what you need in Bowling Green, which is just a few miles away. I like the place; the only drawback for me was the gnats, biting flies and mosquitoes. They need to get the dead leaves off the ground and do a little pest control. Other than that, we'd camp here, again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 Dec 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Arrived mid-afternoon for a one-night stay on our way south. Checking in at the Game Check office was easy - friendly clerks. Although assigned a site number to keep the computer happy, I was told to pick any site we liked. We were impressed with the Community Building with the laundry and showers - heated, clean, nice hot showers (although it took a few minutes for the water to get up to temperature). My only issue was that the electrical boxes do not have breakers you can turn off before hooking/unhooking your cable - I never like hooking up "hot". All in all, a great deal for the $13 price (with Golden Age pass). We'll definitely be back. Ted H.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 7, 2012
(Updated: April 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overnight visit with a 43' toy hauler. Small campground with many trees make it difficult but not impossible to navigate. Electric, sewer and water are not located together but we managed. Camp host is helpful and friendly. Should note that when office is closed, you need to leave payment in drop box but must be exact amount and in cash only. Good value at $13 / night if you have senior or access pass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 7, 2012
(Updated: April 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here overnight on our way to Fort Meade, MD. We called ahead and the MWR staff member told us to pick a site as their office would not be open later. We arrived at around 4pm at the main gate and the guard gave us directions to campground. The sites are paved however they are not pull thrus. We have a 43 feet fifth wheel and we pull thru one site onto another. The utilities are as described previously (scattered, not located together) but we managed quite well. The park was about 50% occupied and the camp host was not there when we arrived but he was there within the hour and we found him to be friendly and helpful. The campground is in a quiet area but this post is used for training so it is not populated. No Px/commissary. Also plan on paying in CASH Only/exact change if the MWR office is closed and you are using the drop box. The rec center on the premises has clean showers and bathroom facilities. Television has direct TV and there is a wi-FI modem which works well. We were able to use it in our camper as we were close by. All in all, we would return to this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 1-7 2011
(Updated: December 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here with acorns falling all around. Laundry and shower building was clean, well-kept up. Excellent facility w TV and lounge. Will definitely return to CG. Agree that layout of sites is "backward" but met friendly people who helped pick the best way to set up our MH. Lots of room for my dogs to walk/play. Town nearby w everything you need to resupply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would like to respond about the campground hosts and the campground. The host do work on A.P. Hill as well as host the campground and are not normally available till sometime in the afternoon. For what I've seen their door is always opened for all campers. I'm sure they miss a camper or two, but they do meet and greet arriving campers. They maintain the flower beds and other needs for the campground. Their job is to help out the campers after duty hours of the Outdoor Rec. I feel they are doing a fine job. The RV Center is normally spotless, yes you do have to wait sometimes for the washers/dryers but this is a small campground. This is a campground not a RESORT! Quiet place if you are looking to get away.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 7
22 Oct 08
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pulled in yesterday with no reservations and no problems getting a site. Lots open and community services very helpful getting me in. No assigned spots, you just grab what is open. Rec center is nice but only rated 3 for the amenities as the wifi in the rec center did not work nor did the TV. Over all a nice place but a bit removed from the freeway. Small town of "bowling green" has McDonalds with wifi connection for 1 dollar for 1 hour. Would stay again but will probably not be through this way again at least for the foreseeable future. The wifi is now fixed in the rec room. Nice little camp ground but as mentioned, no reservations and the sewer hookups are a bit removed from the camp site. Better have a long hose. Very quiet at night. Would stay here again if ever in this area again. But expensive for no cable TV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8-9 Aug 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Gate guard was very helpful and friendly. You are to check in at the CAC office and then you can go pick your site. CAC office staff is very friendly and helpful. The information packet they give you is a real plus--it isn't often that you get that (we're full-timers). They have a pool adjacent to the CAC office but we didn't use it--we would have if we were staying more than one night. (The pool is closed on Wednesdays.) They give you a map of the campground circling the sites that have 50 amp but unfortunately, other campers don't follow it and sites that are supposed to be limited to 20 or 30 amp, use the 50 amp that's meant for another site so there were no 50 amps available for us even though the site we picked was designated as a 50 amp site. Yes, you do have to have long water and septic hoses just as others have pointed out and some of the sites are very short, but you can park partly on the grass on the short sites. The laundry room (which is called the RV center) is large, clean and air conditioned and has a TV, foosball table and two large round tables with comfortable chairs AND two couches. The washers and dryers are $1 each. There is also a microwave and a book and magazine exchange, restrooms and showers which are kept up very nicely. I didn't think the laundry room was far away at all, from the campground. I've seen them much FARTHER away at other campgrounds. We used our access pass so $13 a night was a real bargain. Lots of nice shade trees and well lit at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
13 results - showing 1 - 13