Kings Creek RV Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (86)
123151   2   21   1   71

User reviews

24 reviews with 4 stars

86 reviews

 
(51)
 
(24)
 
(7)
 
(2)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (86)
 
4.0  (86)
 
4.4  (86)
 
4.4  (86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 April - 4 May 2016

Great Famcamp.  W/E/S all solid.  Our 40' MH fit well in the assigned site. The campground was pretty empty during most of our stay, but nearly full over the weekend.  The Rec Office staff told me they stay pretty full after Memorial Day.  For those who don't have an RV, at both the new and the older areas they have pretty amazing "cabins" that go all the way up to five bedrooms if I remember correctly.  The Cheatham Annex recreational facility is wonderful, with pond/lake access, views of the York River, hiking trails, and a golf course.  We don't golf so can't address quality of the course.  We were here for Cheryl's William & Mary Reunion and the location is great for access to the college and the other Williamsburg attractions.  Two items kept me from rating the facilities higher.  1. Like so many Famcamps with concrete pads, many were horribly un-level. I don't understand why a base will spend a great deal of money for concrete pads and do such a poor job - you only need a 2 percent grade or a gentle crest in the middle to get the pad to drain.  2. WiFi is poorly set-up.  They use directional antennas which are pointed to the dozen cabins and away from the many RV sites.  Camp Host told me she had addressed it with the base, but did not know if any adjustments would be made.  As others have mentioned the campground is in mostly dead-zone for cell service.  We were able to use our AT&T phones for voice about half the time, but data strength signal was not there.  Mixed opinions on whether this is a good or bad thing :-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2015

Just finished two separate visits within 3 weeks. We live less than 2 hours away so this is a nice 'reliable' place to spend a weekend. We don't find the rates expensive compared to the other sites in the area.  We enjoy going to Yorktown and Williamsburg and learning more history of the area.  First,  the cleanliness of the bathhouse is not consistent...during our first visit the showers had a lot of mold and not regularly cleaned. During our second visit, it appears the cleaning crew came through and did a thorough job, including some nice xtras like bath mats and towel hooks! Oh, and the heat was turned on, a nice touch on a 38 degree morning!! The Wi-Fi did not work either visit and the staff did admit some on-going problems with the system. I think since it is the off-season, the urgency of cleaning and upkeep drops off. During the first visit there were only about 15-20 rigs and during our last stay there were 8 including our 2 and four of the rigs were obviously long term residents.  The staff was very friendly and helpful. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 2015

Nice place to visit Williamburg, Yorktown and Jamestown. Good facilities, cable power etc. Not much on base, very small shopette and gas station. Con, prices for laundry were twice as high at the campground vs the laundry at the shopette. Go to shopette laundry to wash cloths.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14-27 Sep 2013

This review is of the new B street campground. I was informed that the old campground by the golf course may be redone in the future. The old campground has nice wooded spots and decent views of the water, but there is no WIFI and little satellite reception there. The new campground has few shaded spots, but lots of young trees planted throughout that will provide nice shade in the future. The WIFI here is provided free, but it disconnects and freezes frequently. It has some kind of filtering on it so you can't use your WIFI-as-WAN router here. AT&T Cellular reception is poor to non-existent throughout the entire installation. You can make a phone call if you stand in the street, but it will disconnect eventually. The grounds are well maintained. There are quiet hours here, but the camp host does NOT enforce them. We had some partiers right behind us last weekend hootin' & hollerin' until midnight only two spots away from the camp host. Cheatham Annex itself doesn't consist of much... the main thing here is the NEX Express which is a convenience store and single pump station that actually sells diesel at a fair price. There is a laundromat there with four washers and driers that charges only $.75 each. In contrast, the washers at the campground charge $1.50 but they are front loaders. I prefer the less expensive ones for my family of four :) Fort Eustis is about 15 minutes down the highway and they have all the usual expectations of an installation (BX, commissary, library, etc...). Cleanliness/Hospitality was marked down due to the camp host trying to send us all the way back to the camp because we weren't on her list for our arrival day. We stopped on B street and called the office who told us to back and just park in the spot we were given when the reservation was made. After this, we never saw the host again. Amenities/Facilities marked down due to WIFI issues and lack of cellular reception (I know... it's not the campground fault.) This is a great place to stay to see Colonial Williamsburg! Remember to buy your tickets at Fort Eustis ITT!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

22 July - 25 August 2013

We've stayed at the old and new RV parks at Cheatham Annex. The new section is outstanding as related to the facilities and infrastructure. The appearance (grounds maintenance) is not up to the standards we have seen at other Navy FamCamps. Pads are overgrown with grass/weeds, trees planted at the time of construction are in dire need of care; I had to call the office twice on the dumpster overflowing with trash (trash was piled up outside the dumpster), the overall maintenance of the grounds on the installation is poor. As an annex of Yorktown Naval Base, there is no comparison between the two -- Yorktown is clean and well maintained. Cheatham Annex rates an "F" in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2013

The new section is great. Solid power, good water pressure and.. strangely, nice concrete pads that are not level. Resources on base are limited but there's shopping near by. Important! The MWR office NOT accept any mail or UPS / FedX packages. We were lucky to get one package from them because we didn't know.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 14, 2012

The coordinates to the campground are incorrect in that they lead you to one of the fairways on the 9 hole golf course. It is NEAR the 19 site (older) section campground. The correct coordinates for the check-in is 37.29751, -76.61015 on the north end of "D" Street where you will be assigned to either the older 19 site or the new 50 site CG. We stayed in site #5 of the older CG overlooking Kings Creek. The new 50 site and the 11-19 site section seemed to be more popular so we had it all to our self. Another reason for low usage is that 1-10 are extremely small. #5 used to be the camp host. #4 was good size as well. Shower and toilet for that area was clean and adequate. Sites 1-19 are FULL hook-up while 1-50 (new section) are W/E with a dump station. CAX is a great location for visiting Williamsburg. I viewed the newer 50 site section and I think the "uneven pads" is a bit picky, but then I own a TT and have stayed in MUCH worse CG's.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 12, 2012

Directions on the web takes one to the old RV park area with 19 sites. It does not mention that there are TWO RV areas. Make sure you know which area you are assigned to since both sites are numbered starting at #1. The new area (on B street) has 50 sites and was just opened this year and is very nice and big rig friendly. However, MANY of the sites are EXTREMELY unlevel, particularly the ones to the west side towards the water. I was going to set up in site 43, the only site with shade trees, but moved over to site 16 in the old RV area since site 43 was so unlevel that I couldn't level my coach (HR Neptune 2009 diesel pusher). The left rear wheel was off the ground about two inches and it looks like I would have needed blocks under BOTH rear jacks to put both wheels off the ground to level it. The site slants to the side better than 4+" and also to the rear. Several of the sites on the side seemed to be about the same. The ones in the center looked fairly level. The new RV site is on the end of B street with warehouses and a storage area for boats and RVs to one side and water and trees to the other. Very well laid out with nice a nice bath house. The only negative I saw was the unlevel concrete pads. Even a 5th wheel or TT would have some trouble getting level in some sites (9 years with a HR Presidential 36'). Diesel available on base and easy to get in and out with a big rig. The MWR admin office is on D street to check in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-7 Aug 2012

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We should all appreciate the military's efforts to create these improved facilities. They seem to realize our rigs have outgrown the old campgrounds. Give the trees time to grow and the grass to take hold! The bathrooms, laundry and meeting room facility is top notch. Grass cutting here was on Wednesdays so it was pretty long during our stay but as we were pulling out the mowers were pulling in. It would be nice with all that's invested in trees and landscaping if it was better maintained. The trees needed pruning and weeding, in some cases straightening up. We were given good directions to B street when we reserved but our GPS wanted to go to the old RVK camp. So if you're told to turn on B street, do so. We were told to go to our assigned site, unhook and then drive to the outdoor rec office on D street to check in. We chose to use express check in and everything was easy. There were probably 1/4 of the new sites occupied but the old area was almost full. We didn't find the old campground very attractive but it is closer to the golf course, pool and river. Another plus was reasonably priced diesel. We'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2, 2012

S.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV sites. Only thing that would make it better would be a wi-fi capability.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18-20 June 2012

D.M. left this review using the Directory software: - Enjoyed the "old" sites. Lot of trees, right next to the golf course. So convenient to the historical triangle. Just out the gate is the Colonial Parkway. People are friendly and easy to work with. When I made the reservation I told the lady I had a big rig. So she puts me into the hardest site to back into. Had to go back to the office get another site and then move 3 days later.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6 - 9 July 2012

We stayed for three nights in the new section. It has about 50 new spots with full hookup, concrete pads (not particularly level, though) and what may be excessive lighting for the area. The base doesn't have a great deal to offer in and of itself, but the location is great for Williamsburg, Jamestown and the other attractions in the area. The base is a logistics base with warehouses taking up most of the base. The base has made an effort to facilitate vacation getaway for everyone; they have the RV parks and cabins all over the base. There is just the one gate into and out of the base so it does require maneuvering around the barricades with your rig, but it is doable. There is WiFi at the transit quarters office and at a eatery just down the street from the transit quarters. The transit quarters has a general purpose room at the rear with some tables and chairs to set up your lap top. The RV park has washers and dryers, plus the Exchange has one and that is open 24 hours. Those machines are a bit older but get less use. One bonus, the Exchange has a gas pump out front available 24 hours and they sell diesel. A thunderstorm moved through our last night and knocked out the power. Generators fired up and the power came back on at about 3:30 AM. All in all, a great place in a very convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 June 2012

Completed overnight stay in the NEW campground area. Concrete pads, pedestal utilities and plenty of room between sites. Directions to the outdoor recreation office (check in) are a bit confusing and signage is minimal. From Sanda dr. go to "D" street and turn left. Continue on D to sign for cabins and bear right to office. No playground at new facility. Convenient location to Williamsburg and all it's amenities. Will stay again. Camped in 34' fifth wheel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 24 - 27, 2011

M.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Concur with previous statements about the new RV sites. The new sites look very nice and are definitely suitable for big rigs (overkill for a tent or pop-up). We stayed in Campground RVK recently for 3 days and the rate was $25/nt. (New rates = Primitive Tent [TJP or TB] sites @ $10/nt; RVK (old campground) sites 1 - 19 @ $25/nt and RVB (new campground) @ $25/nt (after they open); Cottages start at $69/nt and go to $200/nt, depending on which one and what time of week). The new computer system caused the management to double charge us but one of the charges was deducted two days later. Our 27' TT was very tight in site #4, but doable. The sites are close to the pavilion & fire pits, which is very convenient. The comfort station was heated and clean. People at the Outdoor Recreation office were very nice to deal with on the phone and in person. There is a small playground in the 11 - 19 loop, which was enjoyed by our 5 year-old. The base is basically a few minutes to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, and Yorktown, which was very convenient. Will definitely return :-0)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18 Dec 2011

I was taking a day trip to Colonial Williamsburg and stopped by to check on the status of the new campsites. First, there is still no signage at "B" street to direct you to the new campground. The campsites are essentially complete and the bath-house/community center is complete with the exception of the laundry room. It still needs to be hooked-up, the appliances are still in the boxes. We were told that cable will be available in the sites too. A very nice facility that has been LEED rated. I've attached some pictures. We were in the camping area for about an hour and never saw security. The person I spoke to at the recreation center said that the decision to open the new section was still pending. He suspected that decision was based on a lack of MWR budget which has not been finalized because of the inaction in Washington. He also said the rates were going up to $25 a night for the RV sites. He told us that they were also implementing a new computer reservation system that would be linked to other Navy sites in the area. It was too new to see how well it worked. He said that they would be looking for a camp host once the new section opened. He mentioned that homesteading is being monitored very closely. I did notice that a longtime resident (2+ years) in the small loop at the older park was gone. Those sites are small, anything over 25 feet will be very tight getting in there. All said, this hidden gem will be a very popular spot for those wanting to check out the historical sites in the area. I know I'll keep checking on it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 21 - 27, 2010

W.R. left this review using the Directory software: As someone stated earlier, we stayed in site #10 and because of the two trees, it was VERY difficult to get into. The park was quiet, secluded, and peaceful and very central to Williamsburg and Jamestown. Yorktown was doable but about 13 miles away. Some sites (#9) were definitely not big rig friendly. Our 26 ft 5'ver would not have fit. The turns were tight and the grave over by site #5 something we had never seen in a RV park before. Admitted the lady died in 1915, but its still something you don't expect to see outside your front door. The mens shower could use some TLC and the only dryer needed two cycles to dry our sheets. The staff was very good but I recommend reservations, dropping your rig, and then signing in at the office. The office is across the base from the RV Park, which is in 2 wings of 10 sites each.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 7-12, 2009

We were assigned spot 18. The spot was level and fairly easy to back into although my 39 foot motor coach barely fit on the concrete pad. The only problem we had was the low voltage. Several times a day it would register 102-103 on my meter and this made it difficult for my air conditioner to keep up with the 99 degree temps encountered during our stay. Otherwise a great bargain for the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 26-30, 2009

We were in spot 10. The shade of the spot was great but the two trees that I had to navigate the Travel Trailer in was a little nerve racking. If you have an option when booking your reservation I would pick either site 5 or 6 as you have a beautiful view of the lake. However, if you want to be by the playground you would want to be in the higher number spots. The location is great for touring the Williamsburg area, Water Country USA is less than 5 minutes down the road, Busch Gardens about 15 and the Colonial Village of Williamsburg is right down the colonial parkway. There is a community fire area and the campground provides the firewood which is nice. The playground is sufficient. Lastly, the cleanliness of the bathhouse is iffy because it is infested with spiders and gnats. There are 100s of dead gnats surrounding the sink area and the live ones were flying around the shower. Other than the bathroom, the location and safety is top notch plus the grounds are well maintained therefore I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26-29 April 2009

Our first time here. Great for visiting the historical sites of Williamsburg, Jamestown & Yorktown. 15 mins. from Colonial Williamsburg and 10 mins. to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. Found this CG right of the interstate easy enough, right on the York River. Stopped at the small NEX annex, it’s a typical limited selection, gas, bread, soda and cigarettes, so it’s best to stock up before arriving. We tried to fit our 35ft rig into site 6, but moved over to site 15. The loops are a little narrow and we had to do some jinking to get in, (most are back in sites). Sites11-19 are best for big rigs and at least all pads are cement pads and are level. Bring 50 ft. of cable if you want cable TV. H20 pressure is VERY high, I measured 80 PSI on hook-up, bring your pressure controller! Only complaint was the power went out a couple of times at the pedestal, breakers and 30A connections etc. are in very bad shape.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 11 - 15, 2008

We enjoyed our stay in this quiet, well-kept park. The location was great for visiting Yorktown Battlefield, Jamestown, and Williamsburg. As golfers, we enjoyed having the course right across the street, and at $10 each, the price could not be beat. The base itself is small, with a very little Exchange and not much else. But Ft. Eustis is only about 20 minutes away. We will stay again, next time we are in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2