Kings Creek RV Campground

New Hot
 
4.3 (84)
106650   2   21   1   61

User reviews

49 reviews with 5 stars

84 reviews

 
(49)
 
(24)
 
(7)
 
(2)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (84)
 
3.9  (84)
 
4.4  (84)
 
4.4  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
49 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 2 - 7, 2016

Stayed here again during the first week of December 2016. We wanted to see the Grand Illumination in Williamsburg and do a little Christmas Shopping. As usual we got stuck in the Yankee Candle Mall. That didn't deter us for dining out. The wife followed up on meeting me at the Campground/RV Park the evening I checked in. Thank God we are from Richmond Virginia and that it only took an hour to get there. She left her ID Card at home on the table. Had to use my bike to peddle to the Main Gate and prove she was my spouse. Eventually, they let her in and I had to peddle my bike back to the RV Park. It was in the high 30s and my fingers were numb for quite a while after I got back to our RV. Not Funny. Earlier, I had stopped at a RV Center in Richmond and discovered that I didn't have my ID Card. I had left it at a storage facility on another military facility and that is where I lost my ID Card. Raced back to that location and no one had turned it in. Had to get a new ID Card. Luckily, the Pass and Tag office was still open. I was the last customer and they did not complain. So December 2nd did not start out all that well, but Cheatham Annex was so nice to get to. All my necessary paper work was waiting for me at the Main Gate. I had already had reservations for about two months and knew what site I was assigned. I always carry eight 2 X 10 X 12 inch treated boards for leveling the RV if necessary. I have automatic leveling at the push of a button, and the boards reduces the height the levelers have to go up to get the unit level. Actually, I have only discovered one pad that was really out of whack and always make sure that I did not ask for that spot again. It is easy to ask for the space one wants to use. The RV Park has never been full at any time of the year. Hunting season for deer has a few more spaces being used for the season, but never to the point of having to worry about being able to get in. Found out why the digital locks were placed on the bathroom doors. It appears that some adults let their kids go to them on their own and the bathrooms were trashed. I mean trashed. It is now possible to determine who is responsible for trashing the bathrooms. I usually, ask for spaces on the front row across from the bathrooms and I have noticed that the staff and or maintenance personnel clean those facilities at least one to two times daily. I guess depending of the use of any assigned bathroom. I believe no one can complain about the service at Cheatham. The NEX Service Station/Mini Mart carries a lot of supplies for campers and the almost Class 6 Store inside should meet anyone's alcoholic needs. The staff there are super friendly and goes out of their way to assist you. We have Verizon as our cellphone service and have not found any dead spots on Cheatham Annex. We carry a Verizon Upgrade Modem to ensure that we can use our Laptops and IPADS without worry of someone hacking our financial information. No problems yet. We will be back to the Best kept secret in the Navy. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10-12 February 2016

Awesome place! Very clean and spacious with woods all around. The best place to stay if visiting the Williamsburg/Jamestown/Yorktown area historic area. Definitely will return!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 16 to May 21, 2016

As always, love coming here and found everything to be above reproach. The Staff are courteous and friendly. I for the most part did not have to use the restrooms, but did have the occasion to enter one of them and found them to be very clean. There is now a digital lock on the doors to them. This added security made it more comfortable to use. Nothing wrong prior to the locks being added, but a woman did tell me she liked the added security. Makes sense since all the mess going on around USA in regards to men having access to women's restrooms. I took to the use of one of the hiking trails close to the Dumpsters. It is not on their facility maps. I took if for the exercise. Unless you like challenges don't take it. The trail ended on one of the gravel roads next to Queen's Creek. I still had a couple of miles to get back to the paved roads. Not bad, but I will do the trail again the next time I'm staying there. There were benches placed every so often on the trail. My Walk Fit indicated I took 26,753 steps to complete the trail. Kings Creek RV Campground is still the Best kept secret in the U.S. Navy. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 20, 2016

Found the MWR staff very courteous and helpful the grounds were well maintained and we spent three relaxing nights there.  Definitely will be returning!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18 May 2016

Great RV campground. We stay here often. My earlier reviews regarding poor GoWiFi signal strength have been solved by purchasing an external WiFi antenna and USB adapter ($29 from www.ccrane.com) Much cheaper over time than upgrading our Verizon JetPac. However, keep in mind GoWiFi is not secure so best to use a secure connection like the JetPac for banking, on-line transactions, etc. The installed cable TV system is analog. Unfortunately, the cable provider has switched to all Digital. The MWR staff says a fix may be a long time coming so if TV is important you'll need a satellite dish. However, Digital on-air antenna reception is good for several local channels (NBC) for local news & Weather.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 23-28, 2016

Just got back home from another stay at King's Creek Campground. As always, I found everything just perfect. Excellent and willing service from the Staff. No problems with the GoWiFi service. Again we always travel with a Verizon Upgrade Modem. We also have a Verizon Jet Pack, but do not use it since purchasing the Modem last year. Clean restrooms/shower rooms. It did get a little nippy during a couple of nights. Its that time of year so we were ready for anything that may come up. We met up with friends from Florida who rented one of the cabins. They will be back. My wife and I will be returning next month for another stay. I've said this before, and will again. King's Creek is the best kept secret in the Navy. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2016

This location is the best kept secret in the Navy. I was stationed here 30 years ago and was amazed at the change. From an Annex of the Norfolk Supply system to that of NWS Yorktown. The addition of cabins of all sizes and RV sites that meets everyone's needs. Hiking trails, wildlife of all types, the security upgrades and patrols of Navy Police makes one feel safe 24-7. I had almost forgotten about the sounding of colors twice daily. I still love to hear them. I have read several complaints of the location. The facilities located close by to where we were assigned, includes a rather large lounge were always warm, clean, and private. The laundry Room met our needs. Recommend that one brings there own supplies for doing laundry. If you forget, the Navy Exchange located at the Gas Station does sell such. Had a problem getting level the first time we were there, but the attendant at the Check-in Cabin told us to find a better spot and let them know which one we picked. Didn't know how to get our three televisions to work and another camper assisted us and everything worked just fine. Our WI-FI worked just fine. We always travel with the Verizon Upgrade Modem. Such device provides additional security of ones system whether using ones computer or texting messages. We don't do this because of King's Creek, but because of our need for security wherever we are located or means of travel. Had to leave during a stay covering New Years and the first week of January 2016, our third stay here, due to the unexpected drop in weather temps and wife's problems we had to leave three days early. We were advised that we were not to receive a refund for those three days. No argument from me. We called in a few weeks ago to make arrangement for another stay. I brought up the reason for forfeiture of all the remaining days in January. The young woman said to wait and she checked it out. I did advise her that if I had to cancel within 30 days of our visit date we would have to only forfeit the fees for the first day or $30 dollars. I received an email confirming my next stay and noticed I was accredited two days from my previous stay that I had to forfeit. I have found that the attendants will do their best to assist you with any problems you may encounter. No one can complain about the location regardless of the time of year. Colonial Parkway, is just outside the main gate, goes from Yorktown to Jamestown. Williamsburg is close by. Shopping, Colonial Williamsburg and shopping there is also available. Restaurants offer you anything you may want. If you can't find one to meet your desires,stay home. Head towards Norfolk and additional sites one may want to visit are along the way or at Norfolk's Waterside. There is no place else in this Country one can stay for $30 a day and do so much, see so much history, or just relax and enjoy nature.  I have use King's Creek on three occasions and have to say I have to rate the Park as 5s for each stay. Again, it is the Best kept secret in the U.S. Navy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June-July 2015 Summer Vacation

This month we stayed at the Cheatham Annex Naval Supply Station in Yorktown, just outside of Williamsburg Virginia. It was one of the most amazing military campgrounds we have stayed at so far. Even as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids) we all enjoyed it and plan on returning again each Summer! The staff is friendly and very helpful, the neighboring campers are always a pleasure and everyone said hello, and the campground is beautiful and super clean!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 27, 2015

Visited the campground without the camper to check it out. Cement sites with full hook ups including cable TV. Nice personnel in MWR office. Price increase, now $25. Good place to camp if you want to see Williamsburg/Yorktown, etc. We will camp there the middle of August. Will give another comment after that campout.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15-20 March 2015

Reservations were simple and easy over the phone, I made ours about two weeks in advance. Main gate has some obstacles/barriers but not real difficult to get around, military ID will be required to get on base. Check-in to MWR outdoors prior to heading to campground, they are on "D" street, turn left when you see base gas station. The lot of the MWR outdoors has a drive around so no need to worry about pulling in and turning around. If you like to take photos, as my wife does, take them now as there is no need to come back to the MWR for anything else. The do have some stuffed animals inside. I was assigned a spot for the campground but was told by the folks at MWR that if I liked another spot better just go ahead and take it, just give them a call to let them know which spot I would be in. I was assigned spot 10 on the first row coming into the campground, this is where the majority of campers were. We took spot 31 instead, only one row from the bath house. All spots are concrete pads with 20/30/50 amp service, cable TV, sewer, water, picnic table, and fire ring/grill. WIFI is available for free, on average I was getting 2 MBPS download and 1 MBPS upload, not bad but not for videos. It was spotty at times but generally acceptable. Morning and evening colors were played loud enough to hear over any noise you may be making inside or outside your camper. There is a nice wide trail through the woods by the campground which is good for hiking, not very demanding. There is no camp host or on site presence of authority, all things go through MWR, they were friendly, courteous, and professional. There are six individual bathrooms with shower, sink and toilet, and a laundry room with 3 washers and dryers, $1.50 per load. The bathrooms and laundry are in the same new building along with a community/get together room. The bathrooms and laundry could use attention more often, for being brand new I was expecting a clean environment. Overall it is tough not to be impressed with this new facility, we loved the location and will definitely stay here again in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23-27 Dec 2014

Outstanding stay over the Christmas Holiday. Location is a big plus if you want to visit any of the attractions on the peninsula. The sites are set-up like they should be. The amenity posts are all lit. There are separate breakers for each amp level. Water fixtures appear to be new. The sewage pipes are set in concrete with flip-top caps. The only knock I could find was our sewage pipe was not threaded. Not a big deal for us. The common areas were clean and appeared to be well kept. They do play the National Anthem in the mornings and Taps in the evening. Again, not a problem for us. From the check-in clerk to the gate guards, every person we came in contact with was courteous and a pleasure to deal with. I did see some spots that were not completely level, as reported in another review, but there weren't that many. If you are prepared for uneven spots, like so many other places have, then these shouldn't be an issue. We will definitely be using this facility every time we visit the area. FWIW, it also appeared that the cabins are a hit with many. They were packed!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec. 14, 2014

This is my 5th or 6th stop here on my south and back. Have read reviews regarding sites being uneven or not level. Have yet to find one really out of "plumb". That's why we we have leveling blocks/jacks. Have found very few sites {military or private} where all sites are perfectly level, water has to drain off somewhere. I find the sites terrific and the office staff very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Had to move in early to escape the winter storms up north and the office staff very understanding and helpful. This is a new site and the trees have yet to grow, give them a chance guys, in a few years this will be a sought after campground. I never had a perfect duty station, never had a perfect life, but I am so thankful that we have the opportunity to avail ourselves of these military sites. Happy and satisfied with what I (we) have.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 8-12, 2014

Nice, quiet facility and a great place to stay when visiting Yorktown, Williamsburg, and Jamestown because the main gate is right on the Colonial Parkway, just minutes away from everything. The WiFi requires registration but it's free and I had no trouble accessing. Cable TV is also good but no premium channels. Each site is equipped with water, sewer, 20/30/50 amp service. The sites are all flat but some are seriously out of level, either front to back or side to side. Unclear how they allowed a contractor to get away with delivering out of level sites. The bath house/toilets are on one side of the park which can be a long walk if you're parked on the far side. The base is primarily a recreation facility with a lot of warehouses. Not a lot of activity while I was there so it is very quiet. All of the spaces are back in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 8-12, 2014

This is a new RV park with generous spaces and clean facilities. The park is an easy drive to Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and King's Dominion. The treed parkways surrounding this area make driving to these destinations relaxing and pleasurable. The drawback to this idyllic location is the lack of WiFi connectivity and cell phone connectivity using ATT. It was stated to me that they are in the middle of two towers. Approval has been granted to erect another tower just outside the gate but it is being met with resistance from local homeowners.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 7-11, 2014

This was our second visit to Cheatham Annex. As it was summer, and we wanted shade, we had requested a site in the old section. I got a call about a month ago that they were upgrading the old sites, and needed to move us to the new section. Which I said was fine as long as I had a shaded site, so they moved us to #7. Turns out they are changing all the old section to tent only sites. Then about 3 days before our departure I got another call, to let us know that they were having problems with the electric on 7, and needed to move us. Again, I said that was fine as long as we had shade. We were moved to #1, which had morning shade but not a lot of afternoon shade. In a few years when the trees have grown, the place will be great in the summer. We took some time this trip to explore the base. They offer a lot of rental cabins as well as RV and tent sites. Some of the cabins are pretty new, while others are older houses. A few sit right on the water. We were not able to take advantage of the pool - also in the old section - as it was only open weekends. Would be nice if they would open a second one in the new section. Diesel fuel was priced about 10 cents/gallon higher than off base. Upon arrival, they encourage you to go to your site and set up and then do your checkin, as there is not a lot of room to maneuver back by the MWR building. Wifi is adequate but cell service (ATT) is not good. Sites have large paved pads. The entire campground has street lights. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13-15, 2014

The old campground is being converted to tent sites. The new one has great cable with over 60 channels plus lots of over the air in HD. The Verizon aircard reception is very poor here but Campground has wifi. Large sites with concrete pads. nicely manicured grass. No shade. Good location for Jamestown/Williamsburg visits. The Bugle will wake you in AM. We will return if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

16-19 May 2014

I have been going to Kings Creek for several years and always enjoy my stay. Yes it true that the best part of the campground is now closed and yes the new area is we'll say very different from the old section. It has the character of some of the more commercial campgrounds now than it did not have before. However, regardless of the difference, Kings Creek is still by far the best campground to stay in if your plan is to visit all of the important areas of this country's great beginnings. I like the old campground but still like the people and the area. It is super clean, and the sites are of good size but, the best is it's location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22-28 May 14

We have been staying at Kings Creek for about three years now and loved each time we stayed. The quietness and trees with a few spots overlooking the river makes for a wonderful stay. It is also within walking distance to the golf course which provides a sight of deer and fox in the late afternoon/evening. Unfortunately, on this trip we were given horrible news. The Kings Creek campgrounds were going to be closed permanently. We were told that the spots were going to be converted to tent camping and that part of the sites were going to be given to the golf course; not sure what is true. This totally upset us as we had already made our 4th of July reservations. Due to the short notice, we transferred our reservations to the new sites which we absolutely hate. After this visit we will be looking elsewhere for our future camping trips. We just don't understand the reasoning behind closing these sites. We had made reservations in Mar for May for a spot in the old campgrounds which we were late making and there were only 2 spots to pick from. During our May stay, there were only 12 occupied spots for Memorial Day weekend. Kings Creek is usually packed over the holidays. The new sites are ok if you like camping as though you were in a trailer park setting, no scenic views, far from the golf course, river, pier. Looks as though short walking distance to lake though but can't see from RV spots due to cabins. We will miss our little paradise in heaven.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 12-16, 2014

What a great spot to stay while taking advantage of all the Williamsburg area has to offer! Easy access to the I-64 but still quiet. Water Country is just down the road and Busch Gardens about 10 min away. The base itself is mostly used for storage, we didn't hear any noise from training exercises but just a little from the small arms range. We enjoyed the solitude and the beautiful views from the old campground, but nothing over 30' is going to be able to park there. The new campground and cabins looked all very nicely done, just the sites are stacked in like cordwood but that's pretty standard. We enjoyed sunset walks on the extremely long pier, but there is no other water access and the pool looked ridiculously tiny. Water access is pretty limited in the whole triangle area, but then, chances are good there are jellyfish in the water anyway. There is so much to do in the area that you won't miss it. We found the staff to be very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 4-6, 2014

We stayed at the RV site off of "B" Street. This was great for a short weekend trip. The grounds was well maintained and provided concrete back-in pads. The site provides 50 amp hookup with water and cable. It was very quiet and a lot of vacant lots. However, this location is near water country, busch gardens, target and other stores close by. It took us about 10 minutes to drive to Ft. Eustis. The rental office and grounds keeper was very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again for a weekend getaway. The price was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
49 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3