Kings Creek RV Campground

 
4.4 (93)
144023   2   21   3   84

User reviews

56 reviews with 5 stars

93 reviews

 
(56)
 
(26)
 
(7)
 
(2)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (93)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (93)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (93)
Value 
 
4.4  (93)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (93)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
No internet, no WiFi, great price. Perfect for enjoying family time and not being stuck with a device in your face. The campground is quiet! The only thing you hear are air conditioners and bugs. I loved it! Close to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. Good fishing on base. Pool and mini Nex are just fine. Easy access to the highway. We stayed in a 42 foot fifth wheel and had no problems. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location, large clean sites. Site #21 Would stay here again. WIFI is non-existent.. Cell phone reception was no better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 15 - 19, 2018
(Updated: June 25, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have always loved this Camp Ground. Quiet secluded and beautiful. However folks I do not think I will ever return in the heat of Summer. Why, little pests called mosquitos by the thousands. Ticks also. I was walking my 7 month old Cocker Spaniel who headed down one of the marked trails that I have taken dozens of times in the past, but always in the late fall and winter. Got near the foot bridge and the mosquitos attacked. Got out in a hurry. The next day we stayed on the roadway and walked around to the area used for tent camping and walked through to the pathway leading back to the restroom/shower facilities and again the mosquitos. I noted that there were three different camp sites in use and gone the next morning. Got back to the RV and the Mrs. helped remove ticks from the back of my body. We checked the puppy and found none on him. Don't get me wrong Cheatham is a wonderful campground facility. Just be prepared to have some type of insect repellent with you and use it before wondering away from your RV site. Will be back this fall or winter. We were there over Father's Day weekend and there was a load of fellow campers, but did not see or was able to chat with many of them since they were celebrating his day in Williamsburg or Busch Gardens theme park. The site I was assigned was not very level, but we carry enough leveling blocks to take care of this problem. Internet access was ok since we carry our own modem upgrade to enhance the reception. One night our puppy wanted to go out at around 3:30 a.m. to do his thing. Opened the door and a fox was right there. It looked at my pup who returned the stare then the fox took off across the street and turned back around and watched us for several minutes before heading into the woods. Like I have stated in the past, Wildlife galore. Haven't seen a black bear, but Virginia's Black Bear population is growing pretty darn fast. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location for seeing the sights of Williamsburg. The RV spots are well shaded and spacious. Easy to back into and the restrooms are clean and well kept. The only down side is the internet is very spotty and there are no amenities on base besides a shoppette. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a great place! Tucked-away near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Very secluded. Clean and cheap. Great facilities. Big flat pads. All utilities worked well. Nice trails for walking the dog on. We didn't want to leave.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 25-28, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was the first time we stayed here, the staff was helpfully..great, the first site we where given had a slope that was to much for my RV leveling system, they assigned me another site that worked out great. Everything was nice and quite. Great place looking forward in returning.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very close to Busch Gardens, nice large level site, I have a 40ft fifth wheel with 3 slides and had plenty of room on both sides.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
Dec 2 - 7, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here again during the first week of December 2016. We wanted to see the Grand Illumination in Williamsburg and do a little Christmas Shopping. As usual we got stuck in the Yankee Candle Mall. That didn't deter us for dining out. The wife followed up on meeting me at the Campground/RV Park the evening I checked in. Thank God we are from Richmond Virginia and that it only took an hour to get there. She left her ID Card at home on the table. Had to use my bike to peddle to the Main Gate and prove she was my spouse. Eventually, they let her in and I had to peddle my bike back to the RV Park. It was in the high 30s and my fingers were numb for quite a while after I got back to our RV. Not Funny. Earlier, I had stopped at a RV Center in Richmond and discovered that I didn't have my ID Card. I had left it at a storage facility on another military facility and that is where I lost my ID Card. Raced back to that location and no one had turned it in. Had to get a new ID Card. Luckily, the Pass and Tag office was still open. I was the last customer and they did not complain. So December 2nd did not start out all that well, but Cheatham Annex was so nice to get to. All my necessary paper work was waiting for me at the Main Gate. I had already had reservations for about two months and knew what site I was assigned. I always carry eight 2 X 10 X 12 inch treated boards for leveling the RV if necessary. I have automatic leveling at the push of a button, and the boards reduces the height the levelers have to go up to get the unit level. Actually, I have only discovered one pad that was really out of whack and always make sure that I did not ask for that spot again. It is easy to ask for the space one wants to use. The RV Park has never been full at any time of the year. Hunting season for deer has a few more spaces being used for the season, but never to the point of having to worry about being able to get in. Found out why the digital locks were placed on the bathroom doors. It appears that some adults let their kids go to them on their own and the bathrooms were trashed. I mean trashed. It is now possible to determine who is responsible for trashing the bathrooms. I usually, ask for spaces on the front row across from the bathrooms and I have noticed that the staff and or maintenance personnel clean those facilities at least one to two times daily. I guess depending of the use of any assigned bathroom. I believe no one can complain about the service at Cheatham. The NEX Service Station/Mini Mart carries a lot of supplies for campers and the almost Class 6 Store inside should meet anyone's alcoholic needs. The staff there are super friendly and goes out of their way to assist you. We have Verizon as our cellphone service and have not found any dead spots on Cheatham Annex. We carry a Verizon Upgrade Modem to ensure that we can use our Laptops and IPADS without worry of someone hacking our financial information. No problems yet. We will be back to the Best kept secret in the Navy. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 5
10-12 February 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Awesome place! Very clean and spacious with woods all around. The best place to stay if visiting the Williamsburg/Jamestown/Yorktown area historic area. Definitely will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 16 to May 21, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As always, love coming here and found everything to be above reproach. The Staff are courteous and friendly. I for the most part did not have to use the restrooms, but did have the occasion to enter one of them and found them to be very clean. There is now a digital lock on the doors to them. This added security made it more comfortable to use. Nothing wrong prior to the locks being added, but a woman did tell me she liked the added security. Makes sense since all the mess going on around USA in regards to men having access to women's restrooms. I took to the use of one of the hiking trails close to the Dumpsters. It is not on their facility maps. I took if for the exercise. Unless you like challenges don't take it. The trail ended on one of the gravel roads next to Queen's Creek. I still had a couple of miles to get back to the paved roads. Not bad, but I will do the trail again the next time I'm staying there. There were benches placed every so often on the trail. My Walk Fit indicated I took 26,753 steps to complete the trail. Kings Creek RV Campground is still the Best kept secret in the U.S. Navy. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 20, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Found the MWR staff very courteous and helpful the grounds were well maintained and we spent three relaxing nights there.  Definitely will be returning!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 May 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV campground. We stay here often. My earlier reviews regarding poor GoWiFi signal strength have been solved by purchasing an external WiFi antenna and USB adapter ($29 from www.ccrane.com) Much cheaper over time than upgrading our Verizon JetPac. However, keep in mind GoWiFi is not secure so best to use a secure connection like the JetPac for banking, on-line transactions, etc. The installed cable TV system is analog. Unfortunately, the cable provider has switched to all Digital. The MWR staff says a fix may be a long time coming so if TV is important you'll need a satellite dish. However, Digital on-air antenna reception is good for several local channels (NBC) for local news & Weather.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 23-28, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just got back home from another stay at King's Creek Campground. As always, I found everything just perfect. Excellent and willing service from the Staff. No problems with the GoWiFi service. Again we always travel with a Verizon Upgrade Modem. We also have a Verizon Jet Pack, but do not use it since purchasing the Modem last year. Clean restrooms/shower rooms. It did get a little nippy during a couple of nights. Its that time of year so we were ready for anything that may come up. We met up with friends from Florida who rented one of the cabins. They will be back. My wife and I will be returning next month for another stay. I've said this before, and will again. King's Creek is the best kept secret in the Navy. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2016
(Updated: March 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This location is the best kept secret in the Navy. I was stationed here 30 years ago and was amazed at the change. From an Annex of the Norfolk Supply system to that of NWS Yorktown. The addition of cabins of all sizes and RV sites that meets everyone's needs. Hiking trails, wildlife of all types, the security upgrades and patrols of Navy Police makes one feel safe 24-7. I had almost forgotten about the sounding of colors twice daily. I still love to hear them. I have read several complaints of the location. The facilities located close by to where we were assigned, includes a rather large lounge were always warm, clean, and private. The laundry Room met our needs. Recommend that one brings there own supplies for doing laundry. If you forget, the Navy Exchange located at the Gas Station does sell such. Had a problem getting level the first time we were there, but the attendant at the Check-in Cabin told us to find a better spot and let them know which one we picked. Didn't know how to get our three televisions to work and another camper assisted us and everything worked just fine. Our WI-FI worked just fine. We always travel with the Verizon Upgrade Modem. Such device provides additional security of ones system whether using ones computer or texting messages. We don't do this because of King's Creek, but because of our need for security wherever we are located or means of travel. Had to leave during a stay covering New Years and the first week of January 2016, our third stay here, due to the unexpected drop in weather temps and wife's problems we had to leave three days early. We were advised that we were not to receive a refund for those three days. No argument from me. We called in a few weeks ago to make arrangement for another stay. I brought up the reason for forfeiture of all the remaining days in January. The young woman said to wait and she checked it out. I did advise her that if I had to cancel within 30 days of our visit date we would have to only forfeit the fees for the first day or $30 dollars. I received an email confirming my next stay and noticed I was accredited two days from my previous stay that I had to forfeit. I have found that the attendants will do their best to assist you with any problems you may encounter. No one can complain about the location regardless of the time of year. Colonial Parkway, is just outside the main gate, goes from Yorktown to Jamestown. Williamsburg is close by. Shopping, Colonial Williamsburg and shopping there is also available. Restaurants offer you anything you may want. If you can't find one to meet your desires,stay home. Head towards Norfolk and additional sites one may want to visit are along the way or at Norfolk's Waterside. There is no place else in this Country one can stay for $30 a day and do so much, see so much history, or just relax and enjoy nature.  I have use King's Creek on three occasions and have to say I have to rate the Park as 5s for each stay. Again, it is the Best kept secret in the U.S. Navy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June-July 2015 Summer Vacation
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This month we stayed at the Cheatham Annex Naval Supply Station in Yorktown, just outside of Williamsburg Virginia. It was one of the most amazing military campgrounds we have stayed at so far. Even as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids) we all enjoyed it and plan on returning again each Summer! The staff is friendly and very helpful, the neighboring campers are always a pleasure and everyone said hello, and the campground is beautiful and super clean!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited the campground without the camper to check it out. Cement sites with full hook ups including cable TV. Nice personnel in MWR office. Price increase, now $25. Good place to camp if you want to see Williamsburg/Yorktown, etc. We will camp there the middle of August. Will give another comment after that campout.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15-20 March 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Reservations were simple and easy over the phone, I made ours about two weeks in advance. Main gate has some obstacles/barriers but not real difficult to get around, military ID will be required to get on base. Check-in to MWR outdoors prior to heading to campground, they are on "D" street, turn left when you see base gas station. The lot of the MWR outdoors has a drive around so no need to worry about pulling in and turning around. If you like to take photos, as my wife does, take them now as there is no need to come back to the MWR for anything else. The do have some stuffed animals inside. I was assigned a spot for the campground but was told by the folks at MWR that if I liked another spot better just go ahead and take it, just give them a call to let them know which spot I would be in. I was assigned spot 10 on the first row coming into the campground, this is where the majority of campers were. We took spot 31 instead, only one row from the bath house. All spots are concrete pads with 20/30/50 amp service, cable TV, sewer, water, picnic table, and fire ring/grill. WIFI is available for free, on average I was getting 2 MBPS download and 1 MBPS upload, not bad but not for videos. It was spotty at times but generally acceptable. Morning and evening colors were played loud enough to hear over any noise you may be making inside or outside your camper. There is a nice wide trail through the woods by the campground which is good for hiking, not very demanding. There is no camp host or on site presence of authority, all things go through MWR, they were friendly, courteous, and professional. There are six individual bathrooms with shower, sink and toilet, and a laundry room with 3 washers and dryers, $1.50 per load. The bathrooms and laundry are in the same new building along with a community/get together room. The bathrooms and laundry could use attention more often, for being brand new I was expecting a clean environment. Overall it is tough not to be impressed with this new facility, we loved the location and will definitely stay here again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
23-27 Dec 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Outstanding stay over the Christmas Holiday. Location is a big plus if you want to visit any of the attractions on the peninsula. The sites are set-up like they should be. The amenity posts are all lit. There are separate breakers for each amp level. Water fixtures appear to be new. The sewage pipes are set in concrete with flip-top caps. The only knock I could find was our sewage pipe was not threaded. Not a big deal for us. The common areas were clean and appeared to be well kept. They do play the National Anthem in the mornings and Taps in the evening. Again, not a problem for us. From the check-in clerk to the gate guards, every person we came in contact with was courteous and a pleasure to deal with. I did see some spots that were not completely level, as reported in another review, but there weren't that many. If you are prepared for uneven spots, like so many other places have, then these shouldn't be an issue. We will definitely be using this facility every time we visit the area. FWIW, it also appeared that the cabins are a hit with many. They were packed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Dec. 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my 5th or 6th stop here on my south and back. Have read reviews regarding sites being uneven or not level. Have yet to find one really out of "plumb". That's why we we have leveling blocks/jacks. Have found very few sites {military or private} where all sites are perfectly level, water has to drain off somewhere. I find the sites terrific and the office staff very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Had to move in early to escape the winter storms up north and the office staff very understanding and helpful. This is a new site and the trees have yet to grow, give them a chance guys, in a few years this will be a sought after campground. I never had a perfect duty station, never had a perfect life, but I am so thankful that we have the opportunity to avail ourselves of these military sites. Happy and satisfied with what I (we) have.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
November 8-12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice, quiet facility and a great place to stay when visiting Yorktown, Williamsburg, and Jamestown because the main gate is right on the Colonial Parkway, just minutes away from everything. The WiFi requires registration but it's free and I had no trouble accessing. Cable TV is also good but no premium channels. Each site is equipped with water, sewer, 20/30/50 amp service. The sites are all flat but some are seriously out of level, either front to back or side to side. Unclear how they allowed a contractor to get away with delivering out of level sites. The bath house/toilets are on one side of the park which can be a long walk if you're parked on the far side. The base is primarily a recreation facility with a lot of warehouses. Not a lot of activity while I was there so it is very quiet. All of the spaces are back in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3