Fort Belvoir Travel Camp

 
3.5 (30)
46296   3   6   2   27

User reviews

30 reviews

 
(7)
 
(7)
 
(10)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.3  (30)
 
3.5  (30)
 
2.4  (30)
 
3.4  (30)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 10-17, 2018

WiFi was intermittent and staff was too busy to reset the router!

RV'ing: Fort Belvoir Military Travel Camp
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 29 - Jul 3, 2017

Great RV park located on the shores of the Potomac River. Easy to get to and great location for visiting DC and the northern Virginia area. Somewhat expensive. Everything was clean and shiny and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in a 28' class A motohome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

On our annual trip south to the Outer Banks, we spent 2 days on our southern ride and 2 days on our northern one. Really enjoyed our stay. On our southern trip we were lucky to have been placed on the sites overlooking the Potomac River. It was spectacular. On our ride back up north we were at the bottom of the hill near the entry gate. The sites were clean with new outdoor furniture on them. Nice fire pits. The base was awesome. One of the bests PX's I've been too. Very nice commissary too. We are going to come back here next year and stay a little longer on the way down. Staff at the rec center were very nice and helpful. Just a couple issues, this is a review site, right? Both sites were newly cemented pads. Neither was level. Kind of strange I thought. The one at the bottom of the hill was way off. Entering and exiting the base there were a couple exits off of 95. When we were leaving the way down, navigation took us out the southern gate. When we left, there were warning signs of a low bridge. It looked like if you were taking the 95 south exit you were ok, but if you continued on you were going to hit the bridge. Well, the bridge was before the 95 south exit. It said 13'4"'s. Our 5th wheel is 13'6". I was lucky enough to have my son behind me and we crawled under the bridge and made it. But I won't come back through there again. It's exit 161. Overall a great campground. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2017

Staff was friendly and the location well maintained. The Internet access was hit and miss and when it worked, it was not very fast. There is cable TV but we did not use it so I can't speak to how good it was. There was a few piles of dog poop on our site as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2017

The sites are very nice. It is well maintained. The wifi connection is terrible. Most of the time you have to use your cell internet. We were told that after the 50 dollar across the board increase, the internet would improve. It hasn't changed at all. They have a building empty on site that could be used for many things, if they only used it for a RV park hangout. It would be nice. It would be nice if they had an enclosed dog area within the RV park. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

02 JAN 2017

Camp is clean and well maintained. When they poured the concrete for the pads they didn't bother leveling them. Pricey. Wifi internet is atrocious. Plan on using your cell service internet in a $50 a day camp!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 14 to 19, 2016

This Camp is expensive and I got in before they raised the rates. We were in site #5. The Verizon signal was weak but tolerable. The wifi worked ok most of the time. The people in the Office were friendly and helpful. The sites are well maintained and lawn ornaments etc. are not allowed. Although it says there is a 14 day limit, it appeared more than a few sites were occupied by active duty assigned there. Most days they were at least 90% full. They are right on the Potomac (15 minutes south of Mount Vernon) but only 25% have any water view. You are close to DC, the Air & Space Annex is less than an hour, as well as many attractions. Overall the facilities are A+ and I probably would stay there again if I had to be in that area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 13-17, 2016

Planned on a whim a trip to Washington DC .......so we looked for a travel camp near our destination. So glad we found Fort Belvoir a really nice place on the Potomac River. It's the most we've ever paid to stay @ a military campground but we feel it was worth it. Not far from DC & all it has to offer & we took a roadtrip to Williamsburg. We stayed in our 37" travel trailer had more than enough room.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jun 15-20, 2016

Although the campground is beautiful, there are too many downfall for us to go back.  We made our reservations 1 month out and were told that we would have to move campsites during our stay.  BUT as the time go closer there would be a possibility that we would be able to stay in one camp site.  Did not happen.  We were in Campsite 7 for 2 nights, moved to Campsite 6 for 1 night and then to a pull through (more money) for 2 nights.  You have to move by noon (not 1300 as listed on the website and not on any paperwork we were given). On the first move day, the person in the site 6 was not there and we could not move. Still thinking that we had until 1300, we were waiting for them to move. At 1245, I received a call from the desk and was told to move immediately.  I told him we could not move until site 6 was empty and he told me to pack up and take our trailer to the pier area and wait.  There are no hook ups at the pier and with the high temps and humidity and 2 dogs in the trailer, I told him that wasn't going to work. The guy in site 6 (who thought it was a 1300 move too) showed up and moved his rig and we moved in for 1 night.  The next day it was the same musical sites.  The people who had to move for us to move in were there for over a year. They had a few issues with their slides and it was almost 1300 until we got moved again.  This was happening all over  the campground and the people that were moving were essentially just trading spots. One guy was there for 3 nights and had 3 different sites.  One family was told they had to move and the spot they were in sat empty all night.  The next day, they were told they had no more sites and they had to go to the pier packing lot for the night and there were at least 2 empty sites all night. They next day, they were allowed to move back into the campground and into one of the sites that sat empty.  The office personnel were rude about the moving but they create this.  They need more training on how to schedule sites.  If you have any plans to go into DC and site see....forget it.  You have to wait to move and don't get done moving until 1300-1400 and the day is pretty much over.  They prices were high and are going up on Jul 1, 2016 to $50 all sites. The Wi-Fi is pretty much non exist. We were next to the tower in site 7 and really could get much connectivity.  They concrete pads are very un-level...both side to side and front to back...bring lots of leveling pads.  It is easy to get to and it is clean but not worth the price for the hassle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 26-31, 2016

When traveling from the south on I-95 and using exit 161 be advised there is a bridge that has a 13'4" clearance.  We made it through and our clearance is 13'6".  The FamCamp was clean but the dumpster area was not, trash everywhere not in the dumpster.  Wifi exist but not good enough for anything but email.  The base was very clean and the new PX was amazingly large.  Overall the site was to expensive for a military campground but no doubt it is based on location location location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Summer/Fall 2015

We stayed here for 3 months. We absolutely loved the campground. It is clean and on the water. Lots of hiking, kayaking, fishing opportunities. Very dog friendly. We have a 43' Class A and had no problems getting in or out or parking.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2014, 2015

Very nice campground and very clean. In the summer, there are so many ospreys flying about. Their nests are about right outside your door. Prices are comparable to other local campgrounds but with easy access to amenities such as indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, commissary store, PX, etc. Depending on which site you select, Fort Belvoir campground can be cheaper than the local area campgrounds. The only suggestion I have for the camp-store is to have base maps with amenities identified. This is a great place to stay for a DC visit. Overall we are very happy with this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

Beautiful and very clean. Prices are way too high for us military folk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 April-8 April 2015

Great campground, lots of new updates with nice concrete pads on all sites, clean bath house with newer laundry facilities. Clean and well maintained overall. Outdoor rec office is relatively close with lots of options for rentals at fairly reasonable prices. Shopette with gas, food, ice is also fairly close to campground. Gate code prevents lots of ride through traffic, fishing pier very close and also very well kept. Overall a good experience, only negative is that the soap dispensers in the bath house may have been filled with sulphur. Other than that, a very nice experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-5 September 2014

Great location for visiting the DC area. We were able to fit our 38' coach and car trailer into a pull-thru site (#24) without unhitching the trailer. This actually worked to our advantage since the hookups were a bit forward on the site. Other than that, this is a nice park by most standards and we will return if we are ever in the area again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

7-8 August 2014

We have family at Fort Belvoir and decided to stay here rather than Andrews on our way through after vacationing the summer with our granddaughter. I didn't expect a problem getting a spot as we were here last year and there were only a handful of campers...SURPRISE...we got the last site for two nights and then had to move for the third night (and those sites were to "premium" water front - although they aren't premium - no views). I don't know the exact percentage, but there are a number of permanent party (active duty) full-time campers with obvious signs of permanent occupancy (storage, large outdoor grills, etc). If you know you are coming to the area you had best plan 90 days out in order to get a reservation...we were told by one of the full-time campers that they don't have to vacate after 90 days as long as they "renew". I told the outdoor rec personnel that the park was starting to look like a trailer park rather than a travel camp with all the clutter around the sites and was told that they couldn't do anything about it due to "upper management".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14-17 July 2014

We live in the Greater DC Metro Area (Virginia side) and are familiar with Ft. Belvoir. We have visited the Gunston Cove area numerous times before (birding, kayaking, hiking) and when we noticed the Travel Camp was now completed...decided to pull the trailer down for a stay. Enjoyed ourselves tremendously - the trailer spot was excellent, park staff were friendly and helpful, the "shore line" amenities are just about all one could ask for, and the price per day was in-line with just about everything else in the DC Metro Area (this area is expensive). The camp is quiet, clean, and well maintained...and we plan to return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22 - 29 May 2014

This is our first visit to this campground. The location is great for visiting the DC area. There is a ITT office on base. They have limited local tickets. We bought the Big Bus tickets at a discount. The park is very well maintained. The showers and laundry facilities are very good. We are pretty independent, so our communication with the staff was minimal. I agree that the price ($40/night) is high when compared to other military camps, however this is DC and you won't find any other campground as nice or as cheap as this one. The electrical hookups are forward of the site, but I had no problem reaching them with my standard cord. There are fire circles on each site and there is plenty of firewood available (in its natural state). You just need to go get it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2014

This RV Park is nice but I think with a little extra time and attention from Belvoir staff, it could be a lot better. The rates was rather steep $40 a night for a military campground. Due to the shortage of staff, there is a (new) building as you enter campsite that is closed. This is a gorgeous log cabin building that is not being used. This building could house wood, camping need items, etc. I like the fact I was close to the DC area but other than that there is not a lot to due on this campsite especially for children. I camped here in a travel trailer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Dec 24, 2013

First-- the pros: This RV park is located in a beautiful area right on the Potomac River. Second-- the cons: The kids who work in the office are clueless about all things RV with no understanding of hookups, necessity of level sites or even the ability to give simple directions or information about the base. Very few sites are level in any direction (i.e. side-to-side or end-to-end) to the extent that we had to try about a half-dozen sites before we found one in which our motor home auto-leveling system could level the coach. Aside from restrooms and laundry facilities, there are no other amenities in the park or even close by. Other parks in the Washington DC area are either much cheaper- i.e. Fort Meade-- and more RV friendly. Cherry Hill, with it's military rates and weekly rates comes in at or below Fort Belvoir's rates and has fantastic facilities and amenities and also a bus stop in the campground headed straight for downtown DC!! The management and Fort Belvoir leadership have no idea of what is important to RV'ers: if they did this campground would have been better designed, better built, and more military camper friendly with respect to policies, prices, reservations and cancellations. Do yourself a favor: Drive on by and stay north of the city at either Fort Meade or Cherry Hill. This is the most expensive military campground that we have encountered in seven years of full-timing and has the poorest site design.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2