Fort Belvoir Travel Camp

 
3.6 (33)
52041   3   6   2   29

User reviews

33 reviews

 
(9)
 
(8)
 
(10)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.3  (33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (33)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (33)
Value 
 
2.6  (33)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Aug 15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wonderful experience here at Ft. Belvoir travel camp. On the Potomac with amazing views. Lots of wildlife. Fox did steal one of my sandles I left out at night. Musical campsite was biggest issue as we have had to move a few times. Great local for DC. People that stay here are very nice and helpful. Storing RV on the Fort for $5 per day. Service is A+.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Close to DC $$ clean, family friendly, large sites, great bathhouse, wifi not good. Surprised, but this is our first stay at a military camp where we never heard morning or evening colors? Easy on and off base. Would stay here again. Site #48 was muddy due to a leaking faucet that had been leaking for sometime. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A great campground to see the sights of DC. Bathrooms are clean and new and the sites are cement and level. The ones on the outer sides afford more privacy but you can’t go wrong either way. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 10-17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WiFi was intermittent and staff was too busy to reset the router!
RV'ing: Fort Belvoir Military Travel Camp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Jun 29 - Jul 3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV park located on the shores of the Potomac River. Easy to get to and great location for visiting DC and the northern Virginia area. Somewhat expensive. Everything was clean and shiny and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in a 28' class A motohome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
On our annual trip south to the Outer Banks, we spent 2 days on our southern ride and 2 days on our northern one. Really enjoyed our stay. On our southern trip we were lucky to have been placed on the sites overlooking the Potomac River. It was spectacular. On our ride back up north we were at the bottom of the hill near the entry gate. The sites were clean with new outdoor furniture on them. Nice fire pits. The base was awesome. One of the bests PX's I've been too. Very nice commissary too. We are going to come back here next year and stay a little longer on the way down. Staff at the rec center were very nice and helpful. Just a couple issues, this is a review site, right? Both sites were newly cemented pads. Neither was level. Kind of strange I thought. The one at the bottom of the hill was way off. Entering and exiting the base there were a couple exits off of 95. When we were leaving the way down, navigation took us out the southern gate. When we left, there were warning signs of a low bridge. It looked like if you were taking the 95 south exit you were ok, but if you continued on you were going to hit the bridge. Well, the bridge was before the 95 south exit. It said 13'4"'s. Our 5th wheel is 13'6". I was lucky enough to have my son behind me and we crawled under the bridge and made it. But I won't come back through there again. It's exit 161. Overall a great campground. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
June 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Staff was friendly and the location well maintained. The Internet access was hit and miss and when it worked, it was not very fast. There is cable TV but we did not use it so I can't speak to how good it was. There was a few piles of dog poop on our site as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The sites are very nice. It is well maintained. The wifi connection is terrible. Most of the time you have to use your cell internet. We were told that after the 50 dollar across the board increase, the internet would improve. It hasn't changed at all. They have a building empty on site that could be used for many things, if they only used it for a RV park hangout. It would be nice. It would be nice if they had an enclosed dog area within the RV park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
02 JAN 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Camp is clean and well maintained. When they poured the concrete for the pads they didn't bother leveling them. Pricey. Wifi internet is atrocious. Plan on using your cell service internet in a $50 a day camp!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
August 14 to 19, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This Camp is expensive and I got in before they raised the rates. We were in site #5. The Verizon signal was weak but tolerable. The wifi worked ok most of the time. The people in the Office were friendly and helpful. The sites are well maintained and lawn ornaments etc. are not allowed. Although it says there is a 14 day limit, it appeared more than a few sites were occupied by active duty assigned there. Most days they were at least 90% full. They are right on the Potomac (15 minutes south of Mount Vernon) but only 25% have any water view. You are close to DC, the Air & Space Annex is less than an hour, as well as many attractions. Overall the facilities are A+ and I probably would stay there again if I had to be in that area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
July 13-17, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Planned on a whim a trip to Washington DC .......so we looked for a travel camp near our destination. So glad we found Fort Belvoir a really nice place on the Potomac River. It's the most we've ever paid to stay @ a military campground but we feel it was worth it. Not far from DC & all it has to offer & we took a roadtrip to Williamsburg. We stayed in our 37" travel trailer had more than enough room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jun 15-20, 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Although the campground is beautiful, there are too many downfall for us to go back.  We made our reservations 1 month out and were told that we would have to move campsites during our stay.  BUT as the time go closer there would be a possibility that we would be able to stay in one camp site.  Did not happen.  We were in Campsite 7 for 2 nights, moved to Campsite 6 for 1 night and then to a pull through (more money) for 2 nights.  You have to move by noon (not 1300 as listed on the website and not on any paperwork we were given). On the first move day, the person in the site 6 was not there and we could not move. Still thinking that we had until 1300, we were waiting for them to move. At 1245, I received a call from the desk and was told to move immediately.  I told him we could not move until site 6 was empty and he told me to pack up and take our trailer to the pier area and wait.  There are no hook ups at the pier and with the high temps and humidity and 2 dogs in the trailer, I told him that wasn't going to work. The guy in site 6 (who thought it was a 1300 move too) showed up and moved his rig and we moved in for 1 night.  The next day it was the same musical sites.  The people who had to move for us to move in were there for over a year. They had a few issues with their slides and it was almost 1300 until we got moved again.  This was happening all over  the campground and the people that were moving were essentially just trading spots. One guy was there for 3 nights and had 3 different sites.  One family was told they had to move and the spot they were in sat empty all night.  The next day, they were told they had no more sites and they had to go to the pier packing lot for the night and there were at least 2 empty sites all night. They next day, they were allowed to move back into the campground and into one of the sites that sat empty.  The office personnel were rude about the moving but they create this.  They need more training on how to schedule sites.  If you have any plans to go into DC and site see....forget it.  You have to wait to move and don't get done moving until 1300-1400 and the day is pretty much over.  They prices were high and are going up on Jul 1, 2016 to $50 all sites. The Wi-Fi is pretty much non exist. We were next to the tower in site 7 and really could get much connectivity.  They concrete pads are very un-level...both side to side and front to back...bring lots of leveling pads.  It is easy to get to and it is clean but not worth the price for the hassle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
May 26-31, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When traveling from the south on I-95 and using exit 161 be advised there is a bridge that has a 13'4" clearance.  We made it through and our clearance is 13'6".  The FamCamp was clean but the dumpster area was not, trash everywhere not in the dumpster.  Wifi exist but not good enough for anything but email.  The base was very clean and the new PX was amazingly large.  Overall the site was to expensive for a military campground but no doubt it is based on location location location.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Summer/Fall 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for 3 months. We absolutely loved the campground. It is clean and on the water. Lots of hiking, kayaking, fishing opportunities. Very dog friendly. We have a 43' Class A and had no problems getting in or out or parking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
2014, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice campground and very clean. In the summer, there are so many ospreys flying about. Their nests are about right outside your door. Prices are comparable to other local campgrounds but with easy access to amenities such as indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, commissary store, PX, etc. Depending on which site you select, Fort Belvoir campground can be cheaper than the local area campgrounds. The only suggestion I have for the camp-store is to have base maps with amenities identified. This is a great place to stay for a DC visit. Overall we are very happy with this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful and very clean. Prices are way too high for us military folk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
3 April-8 April 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great campground, lots of new updates with nice concrete pads on all sites, clean bath house with newer laundry facilities. Clean and well maintained overall. Outdoor rec office is relatively close with lots of options for rentals at fairly reasonable prices. Shopette with gas, food, ice is also fairly close to campground. Gate code prevents lots of ride through traffic, fishing pier very close and also very well kept. Overall a good experience, only negative is that the soap dispensers in the bath house may have been filled with sulphur. Other than that, a very nice experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3-5 September 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location for visiting the DC area. We were able to fit our 38' coach and car trailer into a pull-thru site (#24) without unhitching the trailer. This actually worked to our advantage since the hookups were a bit forward on the site. Other than that, this is a nice park by most standards and we will return if we are ever in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
7-8 August 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We have family at Fort Belvoir and decided to stay here rather than Andrews on our way through after vacationing the summer with our granddaughter. I didn't expect a problem getting a spot as we were here last year and there were only a handful of campers...SURPRISE...we got the last site for two nights and then had to move for the third night (and those sites were to "premium" water front - although they aren't premium - no views). I don't know the exact percentage, but there are a number of permanent party (active duty) full-time campers with obvious signs of permanent occupancy (storage, large outdoor grills, etc). If you know you are coming to the area you had best plan 90 days out in order to get a reservation...we were told by one of the full-time campers that they don't have to vacate after 90 days as long as they "renew". I told the outdoor rec personnel that the park was starting to look like a trailer park rather than a travel camp with all the clutter around the sites and was told that they couldn't do anything about it due to "upper management".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
14-17 July 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We live in the Greater DC Metro Area (Virginia side) and are familiar with Ft. Belvoir. We have visited the Gunston Cove area numerous times before (birding, kayaking, hiking) and when we noticed the Travel Camp was now completed...decided to pull the trailer down for a stay. Enjoyed ourselves tremendously - the trailer spot was excellent, park staff were friendly and helpful, the "shore line" amenities are just about all one could ask for, and the price per day was in-line with just about everything else in the DC Metro Area (this area is expensive). The camp is quiet, clean, and well maintained...and we plan to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2