Ocean Pines RV Park

 
4.2 (56)
72484   0   7   1   33

User reviews

21 reviews with 4 stars

56 reviews

 
(28)
 
(20)
 
(4)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.5  (56)
 
3.9  (56)
 
4.1  (56)
 
4.2  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 April 2017 to October 2017

On 1 October, 2017, Ocean Pines and SeaMist RV Parks, associated with Naval Air Station Oceana, will do away with weekly and monthly discount rates. The daily rate will remain at $25.00, but a week long stay will increase to $175 from $154, and a month long visit will now cost you $750, up $240 from the monthly rate of $510. While Rick, the campground manager has continued to maintain the appearance of the park in great condition, keeping the grass cut, sidewalks trimmed and gutters cleaned out, as well as doing all of the check-ins, check-outs and managing a long wait list, the park does have some problems. The handicapped access ramp to the office, laundry, restrooms and showers has been roped off for over a year due to collapse of the deck area in front of the handicapped entrance to the building. The night entrance to the building, which is protected with a keypad, has been roped off for the same reason for the past three months. The wifi worked great last summer when a new system was installed, but this year, the system keeps dropping the signal, requiring that you log back on every few minutes. It is a shame that they see fit to raise the rates, but won't put money into making needed repairs to the entrance gate and the RV park office building.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 6, 2015

Great park convenient to all shopping, eating, and the beaches. The sewer connection was a little odd being under the RV, but can be worked around. Has great power as it was in the mid to high 90's and had to run 3 ACs. Satellite can be had but you have to work at it. Nice to be on Base but not have to go through the ID process at the gates. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-8 July 2012

J.E. left this review using the Directory software: - Great site and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay. Jet noise? Comes with the territory.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2012

We love the Virginia Beach area and like this campground and the one over at Dam Neck. Ocean Pines is a converted mobile home park which explains why some sewer connections are directly under the back of the motorhome rear axle. That was not convenient but overall it is a good place to stay. We would do it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

03-06 JUN12

We have stayed here before and enjoy the large lot's and supportive office staff. Virginia Beach waterfront is very close, as well as the Exchange and Commissary. I would suggest that everyone use some sort of water filter as the water here, although tasty, has a tendency to be muddy colored when you first open water valve. No big issue though, just plan on using water filter. I have found it easier to make my initial sewer connections before backing the 5th wheel onto the pad. That will save you from laying on your stomach and fighting with the hose and connection. The office/showers/laundry facility was immaculate; .75 to wash/dry. The jet's were using an alternate approach pattern while we were here, however I do love the sound of freedom! We will stay here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nites while visiting family. The park has a nice spacious feel to it. Jet noise was tremendous!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 12 - 26, 2011

We planned on staying a full month at Ocean Pines RV Campground but were forced to leave because of Hurricane Irene. We had a pretty good site (Site #4) but on Wednesday and Friday nights the noise from the Honky Tonk Bar across the street and outside of the campground (Smokies Place) was very loud ... lots of bikers. The military beach was outstanding! My wife and I were enjoying a peaceful time on the beach when our beach chairs began to sway to and fro ... it was the earthquake! No WiFi and no cable but good satellite reception. Easy to get to the Navy exchange and commissary. The Navy exchange was the largest exchange we have ever seen! Lots of F-18 Hornets doing touch-and-go practices and the planes got quite loud, but, hey, it's the sound of freedom, so we didn't mind. Hated to leave. We were going to move over to Sea Mist (brand new RV park right on the ocean) and stay a month or more, but that all changed with the hurricane. We will definitely come back to the Virginia Beach area. Where else can you experience an earthquake and be run off by a hurricane!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

JULY - AUG 2011

Just wanted to say that the RV campground is well maintain and the Host is very helpful. I will be staying there again. Jackie...Hats off to you!!!! The jet noise is there but once but not a big problem for me. The overall campgrounds makes the noise bearable. Once again JOB Well DONE JACKIE!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2011

This would be a great place except for the jet noise! I know that the base campgrounds are a perk & obviously the navy has to do whatever is necessary to be prepared BUT it was soooo loud you couldn't even talk to each other half the time. We've stayed at other NAS, but they weren't like this. One night I timed the jets going over us, it was every 45 seconds for over 2 1/2 hrs until almost 11pm. Every day we were there the jets went over the campground for several continuous hours. The campground itself is very nice. There are some trees, the sites are spacious & it's very clean. There is a nice playground for the kids & the laundry was one of the nicest base laundries around. It's close to the beach & Williamsburg & Jamestown were within an hour from there. Jackie, who runs the campground, was very nice & does a great job. I would have given it a much higher rating but we just couldn't stand the noise.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2011

Love this campground! Jackie goes above and beyond to keep her campers happy. She is an excellent manager. The campground is always clean and there is a great playground for the kids. The only downside is the upper management PJ who harasses the people staying here and makes disparaging comments about active duty personnel. She isn’t around this campground very often so she is easy to avoid. I love the proximity to the beach and to the base services. I would stay here again as long as Jackie is still running the place!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 25, 2010

We arrived March 25, a Wednesday and the office was closed. Had a hard time connecting with camp host because we were there for commissioning of USS New Mexico and were out early and back late. Finally got out site paid for Saturday afternoon. Sites are large and area was clean. Several homesteaders there but plenty of room. Convenient to base main gate but no access to base from campground. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this campground to anyone staying in the Norfolk area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 5 to August 5, 2009

I have been to 40+ military campgrounds over the past 5 years and this one is the most expensive - $480 per month or $25 per day. This is as much as the RV resort that I stay at when I winter in the Rio Grande Valley which has many more amenities than this campground (wi-fi, pool, etc.). But Virginia Beach is a popular destination in the summer and the occupancy rate is almost 100% during this time of the year. This used to be a mobile home park and is starting to revert back to that – many active duty personnel are here for periods ranging from a few months to several years. Stays of 60 days are allowed, so it easy to homestead for the entire summer. So you should have reservations when you arrive during the summer. For two days each week, Sunday and Thursday, there is no one in the office to answer the phone so you can’t make reservations on those days. And don’t arrive on those days without the key code for the security gate because no one will be in the office to open the gate. Last winter, the water pipes froze at 6 sites because the occupants did not turn off the water. Now, in August, repairs have yet to be made. But campers are willing accept these sites at the reduced rate of $20 a day and “borrow” water from adjacent sites. Like most military campgrounds, this one is a “cash cow” but money is siphoned off to pay for other things and repairs and improvements at the campground are deferred. In this case, construction at the golf course is the siphon. Since this is a Naval Air Station, the “Sound of Freedom” is heard throughout the day and into the evening. This isn’t good for an old guy like me that needs his afternoon nap. Now that I have pointed out all the negatives, here are the positives. In my opinion, this is the nicest of all the military campgrounds in this area although many prefer Dam Neck because of its proximity to the beach. Since this used to be a mobile home park, the sites are big enough for the largest RVs and spaced far apart. New electrical panels were installed. Interior roads are paved and wide. RVs are parked on concrete runners and asphalt parking spaces are there for toad or tow vehicle. When the conversion was made from mobile home park to campground, a new building was erected that houses the office, laundry, and restrooms/showers. The spaces in this building are always clean and well maintained. The security gate is nice because the campground is outside the perimeter of the base. The commissary and exchange are some of the biggest in this area and are about 2 miles away. The oceanfront is less than 6 miles away and metered parking is $1.00 per hour and lot parking is $5 to $10 per day. Metered parking near Rudee Inlet is free until 10:00 AM. Wal-Mart, Home Depot, and a lot of restaurants away from the oceanfront are 4 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 16, 2009

The campground is nice, but I can't say as much for the camphost Jackie. She was very nice and helpful on the phone when I made reservations, and let me know she wouldn't be here when we arrived on Thursday. Well, when we arrived on Thursday she was here. She came out and ripped us a new bhole because she didn't like where we were parked. She didn't have the decency nor courtesy to introduce herself and offer assistance. She only had time to jump in our sh__. Not only did she yell at us, she yelled at our guests. The next morning, when she was officially working, we went to her office to pay and discuss the incident. She didn't have the decency or courtesy to apologize. She said, "Let me put my name tag on so you spell my name right on the complaint." We didn't lower ourselves to her level with attitude. What goes around comes around. Needless to say, we won't be back. We would just like to thank Jackie for the warm Welcome Aboard.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2008

Very clean secure CG. Not real friendly but is very accommodating if pushed. I would probably return to stay at this park and will but only due to its specific location as there are other military CG in the area that are cheaper and have more amenities and are closer to the beach if that is what you are looking for. Its location relative to NAS Oceana (it is attached but access to the park is separate than going on the base) makes it ideal for access to that base and the facilities that support it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 29, 2008 - July 6, 2008

Just got back from a week at OPCG. It was my first time there and found it to be a really nice environment overall. The sites had A LOT of room. As far as previous postings regarding the location of the sewer connections - do just a bit of pre-planning before setting your unit in its final location. Problem solved. Great ONAS water park pool nearby on base. Either daily at $5 per person, or do a family seasonal pass. The 50 amp service was a plus considering Sea Mist only has 30 amp. Although, I spoke to camphost Butch (?) at Sea Mist, who indicated they will be adding 41 more sites with 50 amp, then upgrading the current sites' electric. The NEX and Commisary are very close too. Kudos to Laura who was very helpful. The bathroom and laundry facilities were very clean at all times. I would recommend this location!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9/28/07 thru 11/30/07

There is a lot of jet noise and the base radar will interfere with internet satellite and to a small degree with television satellite. However, the jet noise is the sound of freedom. The exchange and commissarry are a short (less than 2 miles) drive and located off base. The medical facilities are good, and the pharmacy will transfer/fill most prescriptions, but they will not treat Tricare for Life patients. There is a good 7 day a week medical facility around 3 miles from the campground that will take Medicare/Tricare for Life. The lady that runs the campground could be more attentive to the needs of here guests and has almost a "could care less" attitude.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2007

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: Staying here for third time. The CG just keeps getting better. The restroom/shower building is finished and in good shape. Manager is very friendly, knowledgeable. Yes it is an old trailer park, but that is good in that the sites are big, far apart, easy to get in and out, although no pull thrus. Sewer is under middle of site so connect your hose to CG sewer and lay it out before backing in. Management responds to problems rapidly. Laundramat has I think 6 stacked new MAYTAG washer/dryer stacked units.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 28, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 07

Some great cosmetic work has been done, along with a 8 foot fence around the CG it looks like a ammo depot, you cannot go in to view the CG without a gate code and I understand security by it being off the installation but access should be given during the daytime hours. but still overall a great looking CG that has come a long way. There is a blind spot around a curve when you decide to leave, I recommend to move the gate to the other end of the CG for better visual access for oncoming traffic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2007

Very nice park with spacious sites. Right next to Oceana Air Station. Don't go if you can't take the jet noise...It didn't bother us, we loved it. Easy to find off Harpers Road, you'll need to buzz the camper host at the gate. (dont sneak in with someone else!) And she will give you key code to come and go. The only negative about the park. The water was brown the complete 7 days we were there...If they address this issue they will have a very nice RV park and covienient to Virginia Beach.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 06

Did not stay but was told about it by a friend, good location and by it being an old trailer park there is good spacing between sites and concrete platforms for your unit. Close access to VA Beach and other sites to see on gen Booth Blvd. With some RVer volunteer work on the landscape it can be a very hidden treasure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2