Ocean Pines RV Park

 
4.2 (56)
72484   0   7   1   33

User reviews

26 reviews with 5 stars

56 reviews

 
(28)
 
(20)
 
(4)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.5  (56)
 
3.9  (56)
 
4.1  (56)
 
4.2  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2014

This park used to be a mobile home park converted to RV park, this is a great park, lots of room, roads are paved with concrete pads for the picnic tables, gravel with concrete wheel pads for RV. Water and power are fine the sewer hook ups are underneath the rear of your RV, I hooked my up first than backed over it so didn't have to crawl underneath. Some spots hold water if it rains hard. Small clean bath house, washer and dryers work great, big grass field with fence on 3 sides for the dogs to run. There is a gate with a code to get in. Last time I was there the WIFI worked great but had to call a number and to get code and pay fee. Great little children park in the middle. The only issue is the Air force jets land and take off over the camp ground from early morning to 10pm at night, its gets kind of annoying when your watching TV or trying to talk to someone. TV antenna picks up lots of channels, gets fussy when jets come over.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 13, 2016

Ocean Pines is a great park; it's friendly, very clean, spaces are well maintained. It's close to NAS Oceana, so it comes with a daily air show. The laundry and bath house facility is up to date and clean. It is pet friendly and family friendly. My only complaint is that some people don't obey the posted speed limit signs. There are a total of 6 signs indicating the speed limit of 5 mph. Many campers drive way too fast, and even the Oceana Police, while doing their rounds, exceed the speed limit! With the number of people walking dogs, and the number of children riding bicycles and playing in the park, it surprises me (for a military only park) that so many people simply cannot follow the rules! It's not a reason not to stay here, but it is something to be aware of, especially if you walk/run with a headset!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb. 15 - March 16, 2013

After "living" in our daughters driveway for many months and not knowing that it was a city violation, we moved to Ocean Pines. We have been here a month and have another month to go before going to Sea Mist on Dam Neck for 2 months and then back here for one more month. We love it here. The rebels that we are, we are parked with the front of our RV facing the golf course, while every one else is backed in and facing the street. We love sitting and just looking at the woods and lake. As far as jet noise? Comes with the territory and we do not mind "the sound of freedom" one bit. And believe it or not, it is quieter here than at our daughters home!! The only problem we have had is a neighbors dog attacking our little dog one day. No permanent damage done. And the owner was very apologetic and had even informed the office before we filed a complaint. We will definitely be back. Love it here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul10-16th, 2012

If everything in this park were as nice and accommodating as Rick, I could stay there for a month. And the truth is, most everything is that nice. But then I tend to nit-pic. A few too many homesteaders and a couple of them are in really old rigs that need to be replaced. I understand that the rent from these keep some of the Military RV parks open, but really?? Commissary and BX were both close to the RV park. There was only Bio-Diesel available on base, but it was very expensive. Regular fuel off base was much more reasonable. There is some nice shade to be had in the park. the seafood around town is fabulous!!!!! No cable, but the antenna worked fine. Had to leave early for an emergency back in FL. I'll be back for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3 - 6 Jul 2012

Rick Sheffield worked hard to help two retired couples meet up with their RVs. He cheerfully adjusted my requests and schedules to adapt to the hot weather and friend's travel schedule. He called ahead with the gate code and helped us find two sites relatively close together. The price was right, the sound of the F-18s were great, the place was pristine, $25 a night great value. No cable, but not a big deal with satellite TV. Thanks, Rick. Dave Teal, Lt. Gen., USAF, Ret.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 22-27, 2011

Large clean campsite-great camp host-great location. My wife and I stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and enjoyed the stay. Felt very safe. Had trouble finding the sewer hook up due to cover not marked. Camp host had this issue fixed within 20min after arrival. We will come again and hope others take advantage of this great campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July - ????? 2011

We've been here most all summer, wife had and still having health issues. Jackie is no longer here. Rumors were going around that she got fired, but I also heard and know she was getting ready to leave, they were building a home in NC I think. Butch from Dam Neck annex comes over to sort of over look the operation, but he doesn't know the computer. They are looking for a new camp host.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 16, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 2010

The jet noise takes a little getting use to...but a great location. Spacious sites. I feel secure in a gated RV park... Jackie and Dick are very friendly and professional.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 18, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10-17 September, 2010

Stayed for one week and was very impressed with the staff and the campground. All sites are well maintained and the grounds are exceptional. A nice playground for young children and the whole campground has a 5 MPH speed limit that is strictly enforced. Saw a large number of campers with dogs, but never found and surprises. Jackie and crew are super and this is a real well kept secret.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-21 June 2010

Great place to stay while in Virginia Beach. Price was reasonable and sites were large, not very shaded but most sites are situated to get shade in the morning or in the evening, most spots with shade are taken by long term campers. The exchange and all other on base facilities are real close. There is a big, well stocked commissary up the road about a mile and a half from the campground. Code needed to get into the campground and the bathrooms are inside the office area which you will also need a code for. There is pay WiFi signal available and it was reasonable and stable, we were here for four days but paid for a week of internet, cheaper than if paying the daily rate. Jackie was very accommodating and does a terrific job taking care of this FamCamp. Everyone in the campground seemed friendly and courteous. We had a real nice bike ride down on the boardwalk but if you intend to use the city parking (which is much cheaper than the private parking) get there early or the lots are full. Will definitely stay here again if we get the chance when we are in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21 June 2010

Just wanted to update you on how committed Jackie is. I just called to make reservations for this upcoming weekend as our Florida vacation had to be canceled because of the oil. I called and left a message on the answering machine and about 5 minutes later Jackie called. She was very nice and accommodated our request of 2 sites. I was pleasantly surprised I could get this location with such little notice. Anyway, I will be back to update when we visit this weekend. The site required that I rate the campground. I will come back in and update the ratings when I visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 21 to June 1 2010

Wonderful place to stay in the Virginia Beach area, price is great for the area. Navy exchange is just around the corner and there is a huge commissary just up the road. Jackie does a great job in the office, she really cares about the campground and keeping things nice we appreciated that. We were able to stay over the Memorial Day weekend when everything else in the area was booked solid. Everyone in the campground is friendly and stops to talk and share stories. We toured the area, visiting the Outer Bank, Jamestown and several other locations. There is a pay WiFi signal available and it was reasonable and stable. Will stay again when we are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13 Feb - 20 Feb 10

Site was beautiful. Jackie was great, and very friendly. Highly recommend this camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 18-21, 2009

I gave the amenities a lower score only because there are few amenities at the actual campground. The building with showers and laundry was a newer, nicer building which was kept very clean. And there was a playground. I realize that the majority of people who stay at these military campgrounds do not have children but we do. But we kept busy with all the local attractions. The water park on Oceana base was wonderful and I was told the water park at Little Creek was just as nice. As for Jackie -- thanks so much for your hospitality that extended beyond the norm. She was extremely helpful and went out of her way to assist us with some special issues. She was great with my children and they really liked her as well. We would certainly visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 26, 2009

I have to say that I was here at the same time as the previous commenter. I vehemently disagree with her assessment of Jackie. Jackie was fantastic. She was friendly, helpful, and extremely accommodating. She went out of her way to help us get in, get a good site, and extend our stay when we wanted to stay an extra day. As far as how she keeps the facility, it is meticulous...well...as meticulous as a community living area can be. As far as her demeanor, you get what you give. Treat her with respect and she will treat you with respect. She's not your personal lacky. She's paid to keep the place clean and orderly...which is exactly what she does. Jackie, thanks again for the wonderful visit. We can't wait to come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 01-31 2009

Great Camp Ground - Jackie is doing a good job, She worked with us being first time full timers and changing are minds about how long we were staying. The grounds keepers keep the park looking great. The rest rooms and laundry are outstanding. There are no pull thru sites, but all are very easy to back in to. No cable TV. Make sure your TV is digital or have a converter box. Last but not least the water presure was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17 - 20, 2009

Great campground! Jackie was wonderful to work with. She even called, when we were delayed by storms, and gave us instructions to get into the park after hours. Laundry was spotless...the only thing that could have made it better would have been cable TV. Overall a great place to spend a few days or weeks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 27 - July 5, 2009

Great location and hostess. Add WiFi and it would be 5s across the board. Will certainly come back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21-29 Apr 2009

Contrary to some reviews, Lori was great. We think the attitude you bring may be an answer. We were allowed to pick any site we wanted and the choices were plentiful. If afternoon sun/heat is an issue pick a site that faces away from Harpers Road (the park entrance). That way the entry side of your rig will be shade in the afternoon. Bathhouse and laundry clean and laundry cost very inexpensive. This was originally a mobile home park and is why the sewer hookup is in the center of the parking spot. Merely plan so you can easily access it. Considering this is Virginia Beach the price here is a steal. We wish we had discovered it years ago as we would have saved a lot of money. Throw in the Commissary and Exchange being so close by and it's a deal we can't refuse. Security with the locked gate and occasional base security patrol makes it one of the best. The bikers across the street made more noise than the jets - neither was a big enough problem to really complain. I love the sound of both our country's protectors and a healthy bike. What's not to like here? No WiFi is about it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct.20 to Nov.13, 2008

Ahhh..the sound of freedom -yes it is noisy (jets) and if by the fence on roadside it is noisy but the value (price) for Virginia Beach is there. The gates are locked at all times (need to register once to get a code)and spacious sites and close between the commissary and exchange. No recycling on base and the diesel inside the base was way more expensive. I would stay there again (check outside rates!!) and sites more spacious there than Little Creek. The campground hostess Laura was friendly to talk to but if you consider her as office person vs the campground hostess you will be in a better frame of mind. (that is the reason i gave lower score)

Was this review helpful to you? 
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2