Richmond Family, Morale, Welfare and Recreation RV Camp

 
4.2 (18)
26393   0   9   0   8

User reviews

6 reviews with 4 stars

18 reviews

 
(8)
 
(6)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (18)
 
3.1  (18)
 
4.0  (18)
 
4.4  (18)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 JAN 2016

Visited the campground for an overnight stop over. It had rained days prior to getting here, the ground was very soft and wet but the pads are raised on pea gravel, hard and level. Had 5 bars of 4G on AT&T network. Not much more to say that already been said, except it can get very cold at night in the winter here, 25 degrees overnight. Glad I was still winterized, no restroom facility in campground. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 12 and 13, 2015

Stopped for two nights in a motorhome. Water and good 50 amps only. No other facilities, with two pull throughs and 4 back ins. It so convenient to I95 that it works great for us. There is a money drop box or you can call MWR during normal working hours. In past years we were the only ones here. This place must have been discovered. When we got here Friday there was one other rig here. By Sunday morning all 6 spots were filled with one rig arriving at 2300 last night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

25-29 January 2015

We stayed for four nights while on our way to Florida from New Jersey. I echo the other reviews listed below. The site is very clean and well kept. There are no sewer hookup but the dump site is close and easily accessible. No cable or Wifi, but we picked up all the local broadcast in HD with our over the air antenna and the Verizon signal was five bars, so no concern there. The base is very quiet and the fact we were the only people at the park made it even more so. If you're looking for a nice, quiet out of the way place, I highly recommend it. When coming in the back gate we asked for directions to the park and were told it was located all the way down on the left, can't miss it. Not quite. If you are looking for it, there are no signs, but once you see the second RV storage lot on your left, you're there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22-25 July 2014

We stayed here while doing genealogy research at the Library of Virginia, only 8 miles away in downtown. The campground was nice and the layout provided easy access. There are 2 pull-thrus for the larger vehicles and the dump station was in close proximity with easy access. There is not much there in the way of amenities because of the mission of the base mostly civilians. A little shopette with a filling station and carwash. However, the campground was clean and well maintained. During our visit, we were visited by fireman and told too evacuate because of a tornado warning. They moved us, and our dogs, to a shelter. The police also came to make sure we evacuated. The next day, the Assistant Fire Chief stopped by to make sure we were okay and that his folks took care of us. I thought it great that the base had this plan in effect and that campers were not left out. Kudo's. I will stay there again when I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 14, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 8-14, 2014

We stayed here a week in July 2014 while visiting family. E/W hookups with well-maintained dump station a few hundred yards away (behind a small brick building which sits between the two RV storage areas - turn at Elk Grove Rd. and you should see the itty bitty sign showing a trailer). Campground was easy to find. We paid by check so went to Travel Office to check in and pay (it is next to the Fitness Center). The staff stayed after 5 when we called and told them we were on site and on our way. (There was also a drop box for those overnighting who could not get to the office). Everyone we encountered was extremely courteous and friendly. Campground was quiet, clean. We did use our jacks and pads, but our site was not terribly off level. There was only one other camper there the entire week so appears it is underutilized. A couple of sites were pull through which we appreciated. No shaded RV spots, although two of the corner spots had some shade area for picnic table. Two fire rings were set in center of the campground for group use I guess. Very small Shoppette with gas (a little high we thought); we did use the car wash located behind. Plenty of fast foods outside of gate. Convenient to Richmond-Petersburg metro area, but read the directions very carefully! We turned right instead of left when coming from south and ended up having to back up rig and toad in a dead-end/apartment complex entrance. Not pretty. BTW: We never saw the aforementioned wildlife – elk or other. However, photos on the Web site show an open forested area that now appears to be fenced off. Te price of $20 did seem a little high given the lack of amenities, especially when compared to our next stop – a COE site with E/W alongside a beautiful lake with swimming, fishing, etc. for $12 a night with our America Beautiful Senior Pass. But Richmond is a big city area with high cost of living to match, so I suspect it is that "location, location, location" idea. Private campground further up I-95 with full hookups was in the $50-60 range, so this was still a bargain for us since we were primarily sleeping and eating breakfast at the site. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 7, 2012

Doug Simpson's review in July pretty much is my assessment also. I gave the campground slightly higher marks because except for no sewer hookups, it's a perfect overnight stop if traveling on I95. It's close to the interstate and probably half the price of anything close. I'm worried we may lose it due to limited usage. There was no one here when Doug got here in July and no one here in October. Snow birds might want to check this out for an overnight stop on the way south.

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6