Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (73)
152399   0   20   2   96

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars

73 reviews

 
(58)
 
(13)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
 
4.8  (73)
 
4.2  (73)
 
4.7  (73)
 
4.7  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2016

Nice park with very short walk to sand/ocean area. Showers need to be updated. Some were out of order so not enough for full capacity of campers. Laundry room had plenty of dryers but could use a few more wash machines. Park grounds were very clean. Looks like there are quite a few trailers that stay there for a long time. On one end are trees and on the other you have full sun. Enjoyed ample room on campsite with full hookups. Staff are great people. Will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 14, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2015

Pros and Cons to this RV/campground - CONS:There is no privacy hedge/fence that separates the north side of campground from the road - if you like an alarm clock of cadence calling marching students at 7 am you are close enough to count their footsteps; WiFi is non-exsistant except in office/day room; no change machine or laundry supplies in laundry rooms; you'll be lucky if you get a 'good' spot - it's pretty common to see 'long termers' that have the 'prime' locations, that are active duty that are working here on the base or stationed here. There is NO reservations, but when you come in, you'll see spots that have 'occupied' cones at them that go unused for days. Not sure how that works with a NO reservation policy. Would be nice to have a 'walk over' spot to the beach in the middle of the campground vice only one at either end. Privacy walls in new women's shower area would be nice. PROS: Beach access, price, clean versatile pads, if you want to move pads, there is no problems or fuss, some shaded spots and grass (south side only), easy check in, $1 washers and dryers, pet friendly campground and beach. Overall, this is a good place to use and the staff we've encountered have been very pleasant, I just like to point out things that we have noticed that 'could be a deterrent to some campers'.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 1 - Nov 9 2014

K.E. left this review using the Directory software: - This is located on the annex portion of the main NAS. It's a couple miles away. Annex does have an exchange with basic items and sundries. Main exchange and commissary are about 5 miles away. We initially planned on staying four nights, but extended without any problem. Sea Mist was a fantastic stay for us. When we checked in, we were given a number of options regarding available sites. We chose one in the newer section and next to the office complex. All sites have large concrete slabs. The main building has the laundry and showers along with a very nice lounge with cable TV. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. During our stay, there was quite a bit of flying activities which was a bit noisy, especially one evening when they were flying until 9pm....one cool thing was being able to watch (from the beach) the launching of a few drones. Would highly recommend this and would certainly stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 11-12 2014

No wifi or cable but good over the air selection. We like the southern loop better because of the trees. Sites are good size. Water had rust in it. We did not feel walk to beach was very far.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2014

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed here five days. It was a nice walk to the beach and my dogs enjoyed the outing. Although the weather was chilly it was nice to be outside. The only thing we didn't like were troops doing their early morning PT trainging right outside our camper. Very loud and sleep disturbing at 7:00 am.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 30 - October 4, 2011

New facility: 28 sites; There now are picnic tables!! "Off season" rates: $22/night. Easy in and out despite having to back in. Utility boxes are not a problem as long as you position your rig carefully. "Old timers" don't like the new facility because of lack of trees, privacy and direct beach access...give it time!! The new office/restrooms/showers and covered picnic/gathering area are a VAST improvement. Only problem is the hot water is from a tankless "demand" system and the new low flow shower heads don't allow enough flow to keep the shower water hot. So the solution is to run hot water from sink while showering. I sure hope the green people like it - HA! Old facility (update): Contractor went bankrupt so modernization is on hold for now. Some trees have been removed as the number of sites is being expanded from 24 to 37. That will give Sea Mist a total of 65 when complete. The old bathhouse is history. New facilities, 50 Amp Power and paving throughout are still the plan. Bottom Line: At $22/night (~$30/night) this close to Virginia Beach, it's a steal!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 17, 2010

J.D. left this review using the Directory software: We made a visit by car while in the Virginia Beach area and the campground is situated near the beach and it looks well kept and inviting. However the main gate has a zig zag approach via jersey walls that looks problematic for large RVs. A friend with a 40ft class A damaged his RV attempting to negotiate the zig zag.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 25-30, 2007

R.A. left this reciew using the Directory software: Excellent concrete pads and patio's. Very well kept grounds, lots of room between rigs. Hosts we every helpful. Small Exchange and class 6 on base. Also laundrymat next to BX. Large BX and Commassary not far outside Oceana Naval Air Station close by. You can also get vehicle stickers out side gate at Oceana NAS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 23,2007

We couldn't stay here as this was the only military campground that had a breed restriction on dogs. Usually it is an insurance thing so I don't know why just one campground out of we checked on in VA had this restriction.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 22-24, 2007

The beach is fabulous! The CG is OK. Small in number but nice size sites with level concrete parking pads. My 40 ft 5er fit nicely. Only had 30 AMP service but it was a pretty strong 30. Park sits right on Regulus Ave and the troops marching by at 5:30 each morning was OK except for the screaming cadence calling. Also this visit really confirmed something I've known for a long time "the Navy still can't march". Had a good Verizon cell signal and pretty good off air TV locals. CG has no cable. The CG takes reservations and I would recommend having them if visiting as the place is pretty full and they have a policy of letting people stay for 60 days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 06

Drove by to see what this campground offered, the host was a little cocky and if you didn't ask for specific infomation he didn't offer it. Access to the beach and the beach itself is excellent, Some are Homesteading here as well, roads need work potholes throughout (see photos) other then that nice campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2006

Very nice walking track. Was interesting seeing troups march every day. Fitness center was being revamped but could be used during the construction. Nice beach and very nice and helpful host. 1st day was invited to a cookout for the campers which made you feel welcomed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 12