Sea Mist RV Campground

Hot
 
4.7 (78)
194909   1   20   2   118

User reviews

61 reviews with 5 stars

78 reviews

 
(61)
 
(15)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
 
4.8  (78)
 
4.2  (78)
 
4.7  (78)
 
4.7  (78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
61 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May - June 2018

We love this campground and have stayed here many times. Having said that there are a couple of things they should address. The secret is out. It is a popular location and it is getting harder to book a reservation. One thing they could do is reduce the number of homesteaders. Over 50% of the campers here are long term. Some have been here for years. Yes --years! Another thing is that maintenance seems to have tapered off a bit since the last time we were here but it is still a nice location. Sites are concrete and level. It is beginning to show its age and is in need of a little paint on the new office, laundry and shower building. Railings are peeling. Its still a nice facility but in need of some paint. The fencing near the sand dunes needs to be replaced. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Stayed in in May 2017 10 days before Memorial day week end. This is a great place to get away to. Staff is so helpful. The sites are all clean.Most of the time real quite, you may hear troops running and chanting. This was out 3rd time and will come again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 25-29, 2017

Excellent place to stay (the best of our entire trip) Mike called us to ask what time we would be coming in because he didn't want to miss us if he went to lunch. Beautiful grounds with the ocean steps away. Large concrete pads with the best hook ups I've seen. Looking forward to returning. THANKS!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21-23 Sept 2017

My go-to place for a stay-cation in Hampton Roads. Although the older site has better beach access, the new site has its own charm and allure. While I wish there were more trees and easier beach access on the "new" side, each site has ample room and you're not so close to your neighbors. It's well kept and the caretakers/staff have an obvious pride for their facility. The bathroom and shower facilities are exceptionally clean. There is an outdoor pavilion with a gas grill for group use. It's a first come, first served for the sites and check in is at noon, not 3 (email confirmation will say 3 because it's a standardized MWR response). I think it stays looking so nice because the visitors actively participate in keeping the site looking so good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 28 - Sept 3, 2017

Stayed in the southern part, was Great, looking forward in returning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2016

This is one of our favorites. The facility is great and very well run. We camped in the new section this time and liked it. We will be back. The walk along the beach and the sound of the waves each day is worth it all. But the people in the office make our stay great from the start. Especially Angelia. She is very conscientious and friendly and a real professional. She should be commended and she is an example to others. The maintenance on the campground is very good and the mark of a well run facility. I liked the fact they had an MWR sponsored cooked out on Saturday before Halloween. Just another 'nice touch' at a place we will return to. One of the Navy's best campgrounds!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2016

This is by far the cleanest and nicest parks to stay at. The staff are friendly and professional. We stayed in the north park and it was impossible to tell which if any campers were homesteaders because they don't permit the clutter in the site like other parks do. Keep up the good work - we'll be back whenever passing through or planning an escape!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 Oct - 18 Nov 2015

One of the very best in the military!  Office staff (specifically Angela) and grounds / maintenance personnel first rate!  Campground in excellent shape, grounds well taken care of and lawns mowed.  Concrete pads very nice and laundry, rest rooms fine.  Short distance to the beach.  One of our favorite places to stay.  We will be back.  We camped in a motor home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2015

Another great stay. We love this place. Grounds are mowed, bushes got trimmed. Though it is pretty full, everyone is friendly and well behaved. We stayed in the south side and like the set up there. Great wifi again and out satellite works good. Had to move from our original choice but was no problem. There are a few trees here but it is not a problem. Beach access is not far away, all sites are flat and level, concrete with full sewer and 50 amp. This place does it right. Would be even nice if they had individual fire pits but they do have a couple of community campfires. Upgrading the front entrance main gate, but no problem with the detours for the next few weeks until they finish up. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 6 thru July 13 2015

Stayed in front section close to road. No problems with noise or traffic. Host Bill? excellent. Excellent NEX, gym, golf course, all base facilities, i.e Norfolk, Little Creek, Oceana. Coming back first two weeks of August. Great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 27th thru July 3rd 2015

One of the best parks that have stayed at. Stayed in the old section, had nice shade for being so close to the beaches. The shower house in the older section was clean but could use an updating. Amenities where at the Air Base where one of the best we have seen in a while. The Golf Course at the Air Base was the only disappointment I had during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 13-15, 2015

First time out. First time at Mil camp. I am a local I guess, live about an hour away from Sea Mist. Checkin with Bill was fast and easy, he is a great host, in fact all the staff, I met there, we're friendly and helpful. We were put in the older section with lots of trees and shade, site easy to back into every thing clean and bright. If you are traveling thru the Tidewater are and need a place to stop for the night or the week this is it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18-21 Aug 2014

Hookups 20/30/50 amp, water,sewer, picnic table. Had site 36 which was a long back in concrete pad. There are two sections of sites, sites in new area by office have zero shade. There are at least four double sites. No cable or WIFI available, we were told there was WIFI by the gym and bowling alley but we were unable to hook up. Had 9 channels on TV ant. and our Sprint cell service was OK. Needed code to get into bath houses, the one by office was new and much nicer than the older section. Exchange, subway, bowling alley and beach all in walking distance. Laundry in each bath area $1.00 per load. Virginia beach and boardwalk just 10 miles away. Nice park with lots to do in the area, I would recommend a stop here if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

JUNE 2014

FIRST TIME CAMPING IN TRAVEL TRAILER. WHAT A GREAT EXPERANCE AND PLACE TO STAY. LOVED IT SO MUCH THAT I GOT MY VERY OWN TRAVEL TRAILER THIS PAST YEAR. AND I ALREADY HAVE SITE RESERVED FOR THIS UPCOMING JUNE INTO JULY 2015, WHAT A GREAT STAFF:-) CANT WAIT TO THE TIME COMES TO GO BACK DOWN. IF YOU HAVENT BEEN THERE YOU REALLY NEED TO CHECK IT OUT. HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2014 to Feb 2015

Terrific campground, just a sand dune from the beach. Staff is terrific, very friendly and helpful. They keep the place up very well. Most actually RV there too. Bath houses are clean and quite functional. Laundromat is nice, has 2 washers and 4 dryers, 1.00 each per load. There are two areas, one is more wide open, the other has a lot of trees. Internet is very good. It is a training base and the RV park is located next to one of the main instructional buildings so there are troops marching quite a bit but we loved that! We intended to only stay 30 days but loved the park, base and location so much we extended. Don't hesitate to stay here, you'll love it! Note: there is construction at the main gate, expected to take about 1 year, kind of a pain but they are very accommodating when you have your rig. It it coming along quite nicely and quicker than we expected.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 - 9 August 2014

We stayed at SEA MIST 2-9 August 14 & had a GREAT time! The Staff was GREAT, check-in was a breeze, site was level with all services working fine! Just a short drive to VA BEACH & NORFOLK - just 10 minute drive over to Oceana with it's huge NEX & commissary. The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the RV sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 July -1 August 2014

Sixth visit to Sea Mist. As always an enjoyable stay. Enjoyed Hurricane Arthur over the 4th of July. Currently installing WiFi cables. Manager indicated he expects service to be available shortly. ADVISORY: Starting 1 Aug 14 the Navy is upgrading the main gate entrance to Dam Neck. Expect construction delays and possible gate changes over the following 12 months.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13-19 June 2014

A great place to take the family to the beach. We stayed for a week. Great full hook up sites that are level and clean. The old section has more shade, the new section is in the open. Sites are still first-come, as they don't assign a specific site during your reservation. Of note, the main gate has concrete barriers in the entryway if you plan to arrive after 1630 or on the weekends. Call ahead to ensure the barriers can/will be moved, especially if you have a large trailer or RV. We have stayed here twice now and will come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 29- May 11, 2014

This park was recommended to us by several other campers we have met in our travels and they were correct in all they told us. This is a lovely park right on the ocean. We stayed in the treed area right next to the walkway to the beach. An ideal spot if you like walking on the beach everyday as we did. Large, paved sites with picnic table. Laundry facilities excellent. Close to shopping of all kinds, sightseeing opportunities and more. Enjoyed watching the young troops marching and calling cadence. Reminds us what this is all about. Friendly and very helpful staff. NCO Club (located very close to the park) has a noon buffet Monday thru Friday. A very good deal and very good food. We would definitely return here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 18-20, 2013

We stayed in our 30 foot motorhome in the "old" campground. However, the old campground has been remodeled and has concrete pads, new power, lots of space between sites and nice trees. We choose site 60, right next to the boardwalk to a wonderful white sand beach. The laundry facilities were great, we got several TV channels with our antenna. Close to shopping if needed. WiFi is available at the small NEX 1/2 mile from campground. Bill, the manager, was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
61 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4