Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (95)
107920 1 54 1 80

User reviews

85 reviews with 5 stars

95 reviews

 
(86)
 
(6)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.9  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.7  (95)
Value 
 
4.8  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
85 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
April 2 thru April 10, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have been coming here every year, sometimes multiple times per year since 2004. This is the finest RV park in America. The primary Camp Host (Ken) is amazing and keeps this place spotless. He is tireless, working 7 days a week all year. He has planted the most amazing flower gardens in any RV park anywhere. The facilities are top notch. Close to everything and lots to do in the RV park, on the base and in the surrounding areas. Two minutes and you are on a beautiful beach. Many trails and paths to walk. Military aircraft coming and going from the base airfield are enchanting. Great base bowling alley to have family fun. Their pizza is awesome. If you come, you will come again. If you read a review criticizing the camp host consider the source...Any former military person who come to an airbase and expects that military aircraft do not fly in and out is having a serious issue with their thinking....again consider this when making your decision to come. The RV park is on the base so it is totally secure. I have never locked my RV here during the day. Your kids will be totally safe here. I love this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
29,30 January 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Terrific, the ocean view is super.  Hiking Deception Pass is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 10-17
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've stayed here for the last two years and plan on making it a yearly adventure.  You can't get much closer to the water and the facility is well maintained and run by great people.  There's not much else to say that hasn't already been said.  You won't be disappointed staying here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
19 Aug-15 Sept 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit and will continue to visit in coming years. We have stayed at many military parks and none can compare. Ken, the full time host really cares about this park and is always working to make it more beautiful. The flower gardens are exquisite. Laundry and bath houses always clean. His staff is very helpful and nice,also contributing to the upkeep. I agree with previous comments except for brendajoy1. Walking paths are easy and inviting. Managed to do around 6,000 to 8'000 steps/day equal to 3-4 miles. We were in site 21 and opted to pull in for view. Thank you for a wonderful visit. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
July - Aug 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliff Side RV Park on Whidbey Island NAS, is a very nice clean well run park. I was going to leave a short polite review but this place requires so much more. I made reservations way back in March for my July arrival, all based on reviews from this website. All reviews were spot on. I left Virginia and drove across the country arriving here on July 29th. Without any request or contact with camp management I was assigned spot 46, back in water front? Site. Playground, beach and water out my window, and a very short walk to bath house. I am sure there are better spots but that is splitting hairs. This is a super location. Ken the camp host is very diligently beautifying the place with flowers and gardens in tip top shape. MWR staff very busy but polite and respond to direct questions. The base is nice, picturesque and well kept; every one we meet was very engaging and helpful. One point of contention is with the Civilian Guard Force at the Charles Porter Gate, they are rude and obnoxious, not professional or polite. The Langley gate is staffed by Navy personnel, always managing to be professional and polite at same time, too bad the older wiser Civilian work face can’t do the same. So if you stay here use the Charles Porter Gate only for your initial arrival and your departure. Your stay here will be better than almost anywhere on any other base, in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
July 6 - August 1, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Of all of the military RV parks we have visited all across the country, Cliffside ranks at the very top of the list with Fiddler's Cove on Coronado island (San Diego). The sites are level, concrete pads. They are back-in only sites but there is plenty of room to maneuver (even for our 43' fifth wheel). The hookups are excellent hookups. WiFi is good--even better if you have an antenna booster. The views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca are beautiful and the driftwood strewn beach is picturesque. The staff were absolutely fantastic. We did not have any of the issues with the camp hosts that a few of the other reviewers have stated. In fact, we found Ken and Diane (camp hosts) to be very friendly and helpful. They do an incredible job maintaining a gorgeous RV park. Ken's flower gardens and strawberry patches are amazing. He has multiple vases of fresh cut flowers available (for free) at the office on a daily basis. Complete recycling services are available in the park. There is a bowling alley with great deals right around the corner from the RV park. Cheap diesel is available on base. The base fitness center is excellent and is within walking distance (on the asphalt path that leads into the RV park down near the beach). There is a huge Exchange and very nice commissary on the other side of the island in Oak Harbor (about a 15 minute drive from the RV park). Can you tell that we absolutely loved this place? We will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
July 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of those reviews where you wonder where do I start so many good things to say. Natural beauty of this camp is unbelievable overlooking the bay & watching the waves & ships. Then you add in the beautiful flowers Ken the camp host has planted with the humming birds flying around beyond words & did I mention strawberries to pick right off the vine. Bouquets of flowers for you to take back to you rig & enjoy just please return the vase for next time around. Ken & crew do a wonderful job of making everyone feel welcome, always greet you with a smile on their face & ready to help you anyway they can. Grounds of park are always well kept with the cleanest laundry/restrooms you will ever hope to use. Would like to see the WiFI be improved. I have been traveling to military rv parks for over 20 years Cliffside is in a league of it's own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
2013 2014 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliffside is amazing, this site deserves all 10's. Wonderful views, trail, immaculate restrooms/laundry facilities. Ken & crew have done a great job each and every year. One tiny negative Wi-Fi comes & goes (mostly goes). Cliffside is our summer destination spot every year & all other plans rotate around it.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 15, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed a week, left for two weeks went back for three days and stayed 11. Diane and Ken were so helpful. The best Camp hosts the military has. Knowledgeable about the area, helpful, very attentive to the needs of the campers. They follow the rules for the wellbeing of all the guests. Constantly worker to better the RV Park. Flowers are the beautiful, laundry facilities are super clean as well as the bathrooms. Planning to go back next year from Florida. Love Diane and Ken.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 19-22 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I sure wish I'd known about this place sooner. Awesome views and sunsets. It did get foggy in the mornings, but the sun came out and showed how nice this park is. Elevated, but level sites with camp hosts that were constantly helping, landscaping, etc. A little confusion when I got there about what site I was supposed to go in, but they found another spot that was just awesome! My dog loved walking on the beach too! If I come back out this way, I will stay here! A little higher in cost ($25) per night, but the view is worth it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
February 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed staying at Cliffside RV park. My dog and I walked the sea view trail every day while we were here. Site #42 in the south loop is right next to the laundry room and showers and has great views of the Juan de Fuca Straight. Views of the ships and tugs and other boats were nice. At night you can see the lights of Victoria across the water. Was easy to get same day reservations (Feb 2015) Will return again some time when it's not raining so much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
AUG 18-27 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - EXCEPTIONAL CAMP HOST AND MANAGEMENT. PROPANE IS AVAILABLE AT NEX ON BASE. UNSURE ABOUT DIESEL AS THEY ADVERTISED BIO-DIESEL.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15 September - 22 September, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Five Stars: We spent a week (Sept 15 - 22, 2014) at Cliffside and had a wonderful experience. The camp hosts, Ken, Mike and Dave did a super job. The facility is beautiful with hundreds of blooming Dahlias and other flowers to look at. Ken made sure fresh flowers were available in a vase everyday to take back to our RV site. The level concrete pads are wide and easy to back into with plenty of room to park our truck on pavement. The park is well lite adding to the security. There are two or three covered gathering places to meet new friends, complete with fire pit, chairs and more. Gorgeous views of the Strait and the sunsets were as beautiful as any I've seen. On a clear night you can see the lights of Victoria, Canada. Enjoyed watching the ships and other water craft cruise by. Made me wish I had my boat with me. The beach was in great shape giving ample opportunity to explore for shells and rocks. We brought our own wood and had a couple small camp fires in the BBQ pit at our RV pad. Wood bundles are available to purchase from the host. Yes there is a little jet noise and I tell you we were proud to watch them fly. So not an issue for us. After all this is a Naval Air Station and I love the sound of freedom. The entire facility; showers, bathrooms, laundry, the grounds, everything was very clean and well kept. Perhaps the best RV park we have stayed at. Made a side trip to Deception Pass 25 minutes away and the view was breathtaking. Parked our truck (remember your WA state park pass or it's $10) and hiked across the bridge and back, then down to the North Shore just in time to see a man pull in a large Coho Salmon. Watched the Seahawks beat the Broncos (26-20) at the Bowling Alley's grill where there are maybe 7 big screen TV's. Lots of specials to fill you up. It was a Super Bowl redo. Great Sunday service at the base chapel. The commissary and NEX are on the opposite side of the island and is an easy 4 mile drive. A bit of a hassle to go out the gates and back in again but not too inconvenient. Our week just flew by. NOTE: The North Gate closes at 15:30 for RV entrance, but you can call to have them open the gate. Sorry I don't have the phone number. Just have to wait a little while. We will definitely be back!! Ron & Jan Titus
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
May 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliffside continues to improve thanks to Hosts Ken & Mike and with the onsite office open, check-in made much easier. Dave, who mans the office, is as pleasant to deal with as both camp hosts. Campsites do not come any better than Cliffside, the jewel of the Northwest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 May 2014-1 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived at Cliffside RV park at NAS Whidbey Island. This is our first stay and certainly is now on our list of favorites. We drove to the North Loop Campground on Intruder and the host said to pick a spot. We checked in at the log cabin in the South Loop. Since the park was somewhat empty, we chose site #12 in the middle row which is a backin facing the Juan de Fuca Strait. We were very pleased with this site. All the sites except 2 have hookups designed for backin, so if you want to pull in on first row and last row and face the water, you have to bring your hoses underneath the motorhome. The sites are concrete, wide and level. The hosts Mike and Ken are very helpful and friendly maintaining an active presence and upkeep of the campgrounds. The laundry is immaculate as are the showers and restrooms. Thank you for doing such a great job. When I inquired about mail forwarding, Ken gave me the following address on base and said that when mail arrives, he is called and will deliver to your site. Your name___________ (FFR), Site # Cliffside RV Park/Intruder, NAS Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor WA 98278. This worked for us. On Memorial Day weekend the park was full including Yurts and most of tent camping. On Sunday that had a cookout in spite of rain with attendees bringing side dishes. There are nice walking paths and beach area. This is a well maintained RV park and recently SMART awarded them with a plaque as the best Family Campground of the Year. We have no negatives to report. A great place to stay for exploring the Islands and historic forts. Be sure to take a jaunt to Coupeville and Langley. Got some great eagle pictures. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Whidbey Cliffside Park is one of the best in the Pacific Northwest if not the country. Just one note: We tell friends who join us there about the jet and P-3 noise, and yes, sometimes it does go on into the evening and the night. As their welcome sign used to say, "Pardon our noise, it's the sound of freedom". I urge all to take a better look at the sign at the front gate; it says NAVAL AIR STATION Whidbey Island. The reason that base exists is to support Naval Aviation, 24-7-365. So if it's - say 10:00 pm (2200) and a few F-18s are in the bounce pattern, please don't be upset - be proud - it's the sound of freedom.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
June 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A fabulous location with amazing views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. No wifi even though it is supposed to have it. The bowling alley and officers club are close by and offer good food. There is an Indian casino a few miles outside the gate, but otherwise not a lot as far as entertainment except enjoying the scenery. The jet noise was horrific and the only drawback to the famcamp. The RV park is right under the jet pattern and for the five days we were there they flew non-stop every day and well into the night one night. Despite that we would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
Oct 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Navy has once again made a class A park. Hadn't been here since it was just a circle with electric. GREAT UPGRADE! Crew running the park are friendly and efficient.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 26-July 10 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wonderful! The best RV experience we have had thus far. Clean clean and everyone was nice and respectful of others. The location was outstanding although a long haul from central California. We didn't want to leave. Next time we will book for longer than 10 days. The Camp host Ken was awesome and on top of things. Camp fire set every night with good conversation and lots of laughs. At the time we did not have WiFi but who cares?! Can't wait to go back! The grass?? We didn't notice, we took lots of walks on the beach and used the paths! We loved to see the jets flying over and the noise? Well really is was part of the experience.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 1 - Aug 1 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I wrote a review on this park last year. One of the biggest changes was WIFI is now in the park. It is still a very nice park and I love the location. Easy to get to British Columbia from here and there is a lot to see in the area. Park host Ken keeps the place clean and is constantly working to keep it pretty. This year, for some reason, he was not doing as much watering to keep the grass green. The brown grass makes the place look a little shabby. However, he was redoing all the flower gardens and planting new flowers to include about 400 dahlias. This is one of my favorite parks anywhere. Large concrete pads that are easy to get in and out of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
85 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5