Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (95)
102260 1 54 1 75

User reviews

95 reviews

 
(86)
 
(6)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.9  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.7  (95)
Value 
 
4.8  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
August 2012
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a wonderful experience we had at Cliffside Park. We have traveled all over the USA and this is by far the best RV park in the states. The host Ken, keeps this place CLEAN. If you have any issues he is on it right now. He will greet you when you arrive with a welcome package and helps you get settled. If you are in the state of Washington, you owe it to yourself to experience Cliffside. The views are amazing and the facilities are a 10. I was stationed here when the old park was here and all I can say now is WOW what a difference. Thanks Ken for making our stay so enjoyable. I shall be back to Cliffside and highly recommend it to all military.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 20-25 2012
(Updated: August 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place is awesome. I have stayed in a number of places and this is probably the best ever. To call it a gem is an understatement. Exceptional, beautiful, very clean. Ken is awesome, helpful and maintains a camp that is well kept and welcoming. The only challenge was trying to leave. The commercial gate was closed so we went to another. They had to drop the barricades for us to get out. Also, one guard repeatedly hassled me on the way in wanting to see my car's registration even though I already had a sticker. I think he didn't like army types but it still was an annoyance. Not enough to defer me from coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2012
(Updated: August 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had a wonderful time at Cliffside. The hosts were great (Ken & Ricardo). Went on ferries to the islands, had dinner at the Chiefs club and then s'mores around the fire pit. Park needs more access to the trail, a path between pads would help on both north and south areas. This would be a simple fix. See you next year....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July and August 2012
(Updated: August 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Best in the northwest. Once you've been here you will return. You can skip Pacific Beach, it is not even close to Cliffside. Especially helpful camp hosts, Ken and Ricardo. You gotta go there! Saw Orcas and eagles. Magnificent!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 27th - 29th, 2012
(Updated: August 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliffside is the best RV park that I have been to in a long time. It is more of a resort than a campground. It has all the amenities one could want and the hosts keep the place immaculate. We only met Ricardo when we were there and he is a wealth of info and one of the nicest hosts that I've ever met. He's the only one at any campground that has helped me guide my trailer in. The views are amazing even though we were across the street from the "waterfront" spots. No matter where you are, you have a view of the water. We took a walk on the beach and saw an eagle which was fun. You are close to the exchange and commissary and there are a couple of restaurants on base along with the movie theater in case you get tired of the views and want some other form of entertainment. We are returning next weekend; we just can't stay away!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 24-July 3, 2012
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This RV park is the best campground within military bases countrywide. Started in Florida. The sites offer the camper an experience that would cost $150.00 a night at a private resort. Everything is new and well kept, and cleanliness is practiced everywhere. All sites have a view of the straits,and if you are lucky the whales will be right offshore feeding on salmon. Bald Eagles are spotted along the beach. Ken the host was super. He was absolutely a friend to everyone. The base commander deserves credit for seeing that funding was available to build this gem. Only drawback was no WiFi. Also be careful of roaming charges to your cell phone. Verizon picks up a Canadian tower which will cost you international roaming charges. Call Verizon and complain about the problem and they will note this on your account so as not to be charged these fees. The last issue would be excessive flight activity. If you are staying the last week of the month, prepare for much touch and go activity with jets getting in flight time. Hope to visit this gem again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 6 - 8, 2012
(Updated: August 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I've only owned an RV for three years, but I've seen a few campgrounds in Canada and Washington State. Cliffside is the best I've experienced for many reasons which I'll get into shortly. We've only stayed once so far, however, we have another reservation coming up this weekend and we are introducing friends to the beauty of Cliffside. The renovations they've completed are spectacular. Attention was placed into every little detail from the perfectly level concrete pads and power/water post with light all the way to how each spot positions the RV to have a great view. I'm impressed at how simple and elegant the layout of the park is and the little bridge that connects the North and South loops is a neat little touch. The facilities are great in that everything is new and working. So many places let the facilities run down until they just aren't functional. I don't see that happening here. While we did run in to some fellow campers that left the washrooms in a horrible mess, the camp host was quick to deal with it. View is unbelievable. Simply put, it is breathtaking. That isn't sufficient, however, to describe the eagles that fly around the site, the ocean view, beach, or any of it. The only way to understand the view is to park your RV in a spot and just enjoy. If you get tired of the view from the RV, you've got to try the love-seat swings placed around the beach walk. Just sitting and enjoying the sunset with my wife was... wow. I only got to meet one of the camp hosts-- there are two-- whose name is Ken. I own an RV for several reasons, but one of the main ones is so that I can meet friendly people without the "I've gotta go" feeling. Ken was so welcoming when we arrived at the site, I began to wonder if he was a relative that I'd forgotten about. After 5 minutes of chatting, he was able to make me feel at home. He pointed out all the facilities, provided suggestions about places to grab a snack when we didn't feel like cooking in the RV. I saw him fluttering around the park cleaning and fixing; generally, he was always working miracles of some kind or other. Even with the busy schedule, he always found time to stop and have a chat. Amazing guy. I was able to talk about a few of his experiences in the military and swapped a few stories with him. I understand that they are still improving the place, if that is possible, by adding a small office that can handle reservations and payments right within the park-- no more stopping at the Inn to check in and settle up. Can't wait to see that in action! If you are in Washington and you don't book a few nights at the Cliffside RV Park, you are simply OUT OF YOUR MIND. This is a gem that sits far above any other camp facilities I've experienced. In fact, it wouldn't be fair to compare Cliffside with any other location. Thanks to the FAMCAMP and US Navy for making this available to us. What a treat!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 26,2012
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
New park and the nicest Famcamp we have been to, and we have been to some nice ones. Navy spent $4 Million to build the new park. It is a fantastic facility. Host Ken is terrific and has spread some of his whimsical artwork around the park...The view is fantastic. Sites on concrete pads. Now have 59 sites. Most have satellite access. Number 59 did not. Expensive for a famcamp but worth every penny. Be sure to drive to the Coupeville lighthouse. Now adding wi-fi. Great Barber shop on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 1 - 30, 2012
(Updated: July 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A brand new RV Park that is in a beautiful spot. It is kept immaculate by two hosts - one for each loop. We saw the hosts everyday out and about checking on the facilities and with campers. They are very proud of their camp and really strive to make everyone happy. All the sites are large concrete slabs that are pretty level and easy to get into. Beach access is just a short distance away. The shower house is large with three showers, three commodes and two urinals. The showers are large but the water settings are a bit cumbersome. This stems from a desire to save water (kudos). You press a button and get 25 seconds of water. Keep doing this till your shower is over. We experienced a few negatives though. There is: 1. No cable TV and very poor antenna reception. 2. No WIFI - I went to the Gateway Inns & Suites reception area to access WIFI - either with my Verizon MIFI or their WIFI. 3. Cell phone reception is very poor throughout the park. 4. The laundry facilities are small. They are equipped with 4 new washers and eight new dryers and little else. There is no folding table, no chairs and no book exchange. All things considered though, we had a wonderful stay and highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2012
(Updated: July 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We loved this campground and Host, Ken can't do enough for you or for the campground. He's made painted ladybugs from rocks and words from driftwood. Sites are very close to the ocean; request a seaside one. Restrooms are spotless. Laundry is functional. It needs a table for folding clothes. Ken said it's on order somewhere in the pipeline. It can be noisy from the jets so just be prepared. It didn't bother me but it woke up my husband once. We both highly recommend Cliffside. We have camped in a number of military campgrounds since we started from FL on 2 May. This is by far our favorite! CVS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 20-22, 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent the weekend on a "staycation" one mile from our house! It was wonderful! I have spent double what we were charged for our weekend, and did not have the friendly service that I received this weekend! The grounds are beautifully maintained, and there are great little hidden gems through out! We were invited to go on a night time nature hike and learn about the owls too! You can't get that kind of fun at a KOA!! I got home this afternoon and my husband and I agreed that it felt like we were far from home. It was wonderful to just get out and enjoy our own back yard!! Thanks everyone for making it so enjoyable!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
03-07 JUL 12
(Updated: July 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent the week of the 4th of July at Cliffside and loved it. It is all new - a very nice and beautiful RV campground. We stayed in the north loop and it did not have a laundry room or Wi-Fi. There was a laundry room in the south loop a short walk away and they promised Wi-Fi in 90 days. Cell service was very spotty too (FYI: If you have a data plan on your phone you may want to turn off roaming because you are so close to Canada - you can really rack-up $$$ on data roaming charges). One big FYI - RVs must come through the Charles Porter gate which is closed after-hours and on weekends/holidays. Please take note of this phone number because you must call it if the gate is closed to get onto the air station - 360-257-3893. There is a phone at the gate if your cell phone is not working. I think you will very much enjoy the beautiful view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the very nice amenities this campground offers. We plan to visit at least once a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jun 29 - Jul 7, 2012
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I'm not one to give high marks all across on everything, but there was really not that was needing improvement in the beautiful campground. They have thought of everything including the collection of beautiful beach art that you can view along the many walks and hikes that they offer. I love the flip flop collection and the sign post art, not to mention the lady bug crossing. Definitely one on the most unique parks we have stayed at. The camp host is great, not too "in your face-ish" but always there to answer any question or tell a great story. The facilities are VERY CLEAN. We have decided to make this one of our annual vacations each year. With lots to do in the rain or shine the kids never have a chance to get bored. The bald eagles are amazing and the aircraft flying by is a treat. It would be nice to have campfires on the beach as we we are limited to the community fire pit which is so close to other campers that we felt that we could not sing or laugh too loud at night. Not sure why there are no fires on the beach but would love to have that incorporated in the overall experience. Great stay in our own backyard!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2-10 June 2012
(Updated: July 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Best campground we have ever experienced. The camp host Roberto found we had been assigned a space that we would have to back up our motorhome which would give us no view at all. He volunteered another space where we could look directly at the beach and sound with our rig driving front first and the utilities were on the correct side. We spent 8 wonderful nights. Within driving distance from Canada for a day trip, a great outlet mall and all the shopping we needed close by. The campground has recently been remodeled and the facilities sparkled. We are so happy we found this wonderful camp and hopefully we can return soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were lucky enough to stay hare for two weeks. This is the nicest campground in the US. The camp Hosts (Ken & Ricardo) take real pride in the camp and helping visitors. So many extras, the beach, hiking trails, yurts, picnic areas, group campfires (these tend to attract all campers), whale watching from the campground, several eagles live here, large concrete pads at each campsite and the view is unforgettable. There is some noise from the aircraft based at Whidby but it never lasts long.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18-25 June 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliffside has always been one of the best kept secrets, but with the newly renovated and upgraded facility it's probably the "jewel of the West Coast." We've camped there at least annually for more than a decade and it gets better each time. Although no cable TV or local channels were available, it was fun watching the Canadian channels. This place will really be top-notch once Wi-Fi is available in the campground. Ken King is the epitome of a camp host! His personality, attitude, and devotion to camper satisfaction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 16-21 2012
(Updated: June 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We visited NAS Whidbey several years ago before the make over. The area is unsurpassed in the beauty of the water, mountain, and forested areas. Being residents of Birch Bay, Washington we look forward to being at NAS Cliffside as many times we can. Our experiences to NAS Whidbey are nothing but positive. Our most recent was the grand opening of the "new campground" over Armed Forces Day 2012. A magnificent accomplishment by all involved from design to construction and opening. A lot of the final preparations for opening were handled by the two best camp hosts on the Western Pacific - Ken and Ricardo. Believe me (you Navy reviewers), your new campground would not be the best that it is without their dedication hard work, and willingness to go the "extra" to ensure each guest is satisfied. We have personally seen both Ken and Ricardo working the entire campground dawn to dusk doing manual labor (not seen at other RV Parks) to make it right. Ken and Ricardo-what a team-as they ensure all is right. Now let us comment where we feel that the planners did not provide for a complete facility. Rv'ing for some is without the modern tech stuff. However, for my boss, she still likes to have the connection that TV and WiFi provides. With all the costs of running power, water, and sewer, why did the planners miss running the fiber optic conduits along with the power lines. If nothing else lets get WiFi into the area so we can use the internet. OK, enough. But still Bravo Zulu to Ken and Ricardo. Oh by the way please give Ken the slack to continue those unique displays along the jogging path, you know Joy, lady bug crossing, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 1, 2012 through May 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.J. left this review using the Directory software: - This campground is absolutely beautiful. All new facilities and sites. You can tell that whoever did the architecture and construction put their whole heart into it. Should be a joy for years to come. Great trail to walk on, beach to comb. Pet friendly. Hope if you get the chance you will come and check this place out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
26-28 May 2012
(Updated: May 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great facility, they have redone and pave 56 RV sites all with Sound Views. Great host will help with any needs. Walk down the cliff and be at the water front. Still new don't have internet or Cable TV, Internet should be in a couple of months according to the site host.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 18, 2012
(Updated: May 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There's not a campground in the military inventory that compares to Cliffside RV Park. Modern, well thought-out amenities, good space between RV sites, two friendly fun-focused camp hosts and man-oh-man, those views! Blue ocean for miles, the Olympic Mountains, Mt. Erie, Vancouver Island and the lights of Victoria. A great blue heron and resident bald eagle greeted me on my morning walk of the paved trail that runs adjacent to the campground. Just WOW. We stayed in a yurt for the evening and found it to be incredibly comfortable. Big, sturdy, log furniture - a queen/twin bunk bed, faux leather futon and a small table. Two "windows" roll up for views. Plus two outlets for basic electrical needs. Cliffside truly does have it all! Look out Agave Gulch, you've got some big-time competition.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
95 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5