Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (95)
102260 1 54 1 75

User reviews

95 reviews

 
(86)
 
(6)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.9  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.7  (95)
Value 
 
4.8  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 81 - 95
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
10-13 May 2012
(Updated: May 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Love the new upgrades and Camp Host are very friendly. Already have reservations for the week of the 4th of July. Would love to bring my grandkids but there are no playgrounds on site for kids. The only complaint is having to drive over to the Gateway Inn to check in, but that will be eliminated once the new office is built on site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 4-7-2012
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
With the opening of the NEW Cliffside Campground, May 1st, we are looking for an even more enjoyable camping experience than in the past.I'm sure there will be some adjustments to be worked out, considering that it's all NEW and yet to be tried and proven. Many kudos to the people in charge of construction and the contractors for their rapid finish so that Cliffside could again be enjoyed early this spring. With a weeks reservation this May, my wife and I are looking forward to once again spending time at our favorite campground, along with visiting with Ken, the 5 star camp host. clcampers
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
JULY 15,2011
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Cliffside campground ....When will they start????????????????? You can forget the projected completion of the planned NEW Cliffside campground for early 2012, as has been circulated by the staff at MWR. I,m sure they are only repeating what they have been told to say, but anyone who has seen the total absence of any construction can see that only a repeat of the pace that the SEA B,s set building air fields on jungle islands in the Pacific during WWII, would enable the new campground to be camper-ready by 2012. In June of this year, I stopped by the former Cliffside, and saw 2 ,what appeared to be surveyors, there was a transient near them. A month later, about July 15, I viewed the same site, only change, 4 tall survey stakes! Looks to me like another case of FIDDELERS COVE, imho clcampers
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 18-21, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The amenities/facilities would have gotten a 5 instead of a 4 if there had been sewer. Other than that, all that has been said previously still applies. It is a wonderful place to sit back, relax, or to go sight seeing. Our regret is that we only are staying 4 nights. This is a must 1 week stay to be able to take advantage of all the sightseeing in the area. Don't forget to take a ride up Mount Erie. It is only a dozen miles or so from here. It is quite a climb in the car, and coming down you should use 2nd or 1st gear (d2 or L). The host is wonderful and will work with you on the first come first basis pick of sites. Please be aware that on September 7, 2010, this RV park will close for upgrade. It is scheduled to be reopened in May of 2010. It will then be a full hook up RV park and it will increase in size to approximately 60 sites, instead of the present 20 sites. The view is spectacular, and the sunsets, when the sun is shining, are magnificent. The Navy Exchange is small with necessities. The bigger Navy Exchange is about 6 miles away, as is the commissary. And the "convergence zone" is the bowling alley. We stayed here in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
September 4-8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I agree with the previous reviewers - this is a beautiful campground. We showed up on Labor Day weekend without a reservation and were very lucky to get a site. The view is fantastic and sunsets are spectacular! The camp host obviously takes very good care of the place and was trimming trees and bushes while we were there. The restrooms are spotlessly clean and have personal touches including pictures on the walls and throw rugs on the floor. There is even a shoe bag hanging with several pairs of flip-flops for anyone to take if they have forgotten their own. And a sign states the flip-flops have been washed and cleaned in bleach. How nice! No sewers, and TV and phone reception is very poor. But per Ken, the campground is scheduled to be expanded and upgraded after next season (Fall of 2010) to include sewers, cable TV, and WiFi. Then it should qualify as the best military RV park. It has our vote this year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 18-23, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
June 18-23, 2009

Just have to concur with previous writer about this campground. We have visited military campgrounds all over the states, including Tucson and Mayport, Fla. Even those nice campgrounds do not compare with this. The host, Ken, is an awesome character. We were told that the cg was fully reserved, but Ken said the NorWester didn't know what they were talking about. He was right- there were 5 sites open for a few days after we arrived. Ken put us in site 14, which, when I saw it, I thought must surely be reserved for flag rank. We pulled in nose first, and had a million dollar view of Juan De Fuca strait, with grey whales doing their thing almost immediately upon arrival. The only drawback is no sewer hookups, and the commissary/exchange are about 5 miles away on an abandoned base. But with the cleaniness and TLC that Ken bestows on his campground, plus the most spectacular view anywhere, (I don't know if they have RV parks on Hawaii, but the view could not beat this one).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 25-June 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Location! Location! Location! There can’t be a more beautiful view than the RV and tent sites overlooking the Straits of San Juan de Fuca alongside this park. The campground host, Ken, is very accommodating, very easy to work with … I heard him called “the opposite of Tony,” whatever that means. The base is a little strange, with some facilities, including the hospital, near the campground, but the Exchange, Commissary and laundry on another part of the island. – a minor inconvenience. The golf course and CPO Club are off-base. The town of Oak Harbor has just about everything we needed during our two-week stay. There’s lots to do and see around the island. At our site, a spouting grey whale welcomed us and eagles watched over us from a fir tree in the campground. Whale-watching trips, ferry rides to the islands, golf, kayaking, seafood, lots more to make us want to stay awhile on our way to Alaska in three years. Some people on the base were very helpful, but there were more unknowledgeable civilian employees than we are used to. Good news: the Navy has allocated $4.7 million to add 60 paved sites and a new restroom facility with laundry, with work expected start in 2010. One more note of interest: the interior decorators for the bathrooms are from the base Thrift Shop. It’s a must-see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Sept 3 - Sept 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground is warmer in Sept than the Oregon coast was in July. This one offers you unbeatable views. The campground is clean and well cared for. We will come back to stay here every time we are in this area. The host was the best one we have met at military campgrounds. The only ratings mark down was for the lack of porta potties within the campground proper to reduce the long walk to the shared bathroom with the picnic grounds next door. This is the first shower that I have seen that had more than enough hooks to hold all of the things that you take to the shower. The shower portion measured approximately 3' by 8' with handicap bars in the men's but not the women's side.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jul 13-15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved this place despite the restrooms being located so far from the sites and having to walk through someone else's space to get there. The camp host was welcoming and helpful, and we had several spots to choose from when we pulled in. It was a million dollar view, large sites, birds, and bunny rabbits. The jogging/walking path was just what we needed for our daily walks and the view couldn't have been more spectacular. With commissary/exchange not too far, the resource center within walking distance for computer access, and dark and quiet for sleeping, it was great! Loved the totems and signs and the walks on the beach. Very welcoming and fun. Will definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
21 July thru 28 July, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Ken was an "Excellent" host, and made our stay most comfortable and enjoyable. As good of a job as he does with the campground hosting part, if they would give him a few extra dollars to work with, i.e. fix up the bath house for one thing, it would surely improve the overall enjoyment of a beautiful spot and make him even more popular with his campers. Even though Ken has added homey touches inside and out to the bath house, it still leaves issues related to being to far away, and having to walk thru other campers sites, in addition to sharing it with picnic folks. I cannot say enough about the peaceful, serene setting with a most spectacular view. We will plan another trip there in the future, as its downfalls certainly don't outweigh the positives for this old retired camper!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 31-September 4, 2007
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Having arrived late in the evening on the once-a-day ferry from Vancouver Island to Whidbey Island, my first impression of this campground was from the host, Ken King. We were greeted at his door with a smile and a warm welcome. I knew then, that this would be a nice place to stay. We had no reservations, and the campground was full for this Labor Day weekend. He saw that we were tired from our long day, and told us to pull into the site next to his because, even though it was reserved for first thing the next morning, we could at least bunk down for the night. He said that in the morning we could move to a small overflow area (It holds only 3 or 4 SMALL campers, and fortunately ours is small). Next morning we awoke to find a note on our winshield saying he had received a cancellation last night, and that we could have site #11 for Saturday & Sunday, and that there would very likely be an opening in another site for Monday night. woo hoo! Ken is an outstanding host: courteous, friendly, understanding, and above all, helpful. The morning light revealed a million dollar location overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, with the gentle sounds of the surf lapping on the shore. The view out the side of our RV was of the sea, and distant islands in the strait. The site we occupied was gravel surrounded by grass and was quite level. Most of the other sites appeared to be level too, although at a couple of them folks were using leveling blocks. The bath house is small, old and well worn, and could use a general facility upgrade from the MWR funds. Some fixture maintenance is also in order since, when I sat on the men's commode, it didn't appear to be bolted down, and moved around a lot. However, the host has taken what he has to work with and, instead of leaving us with just another tired old bath house, has added homey touches inside and out. The bath house location leaves much to be desired too, being some distance away, and shared with a public picnic area. From the CG, you're pretty much obligated to walk between someone's campsites to get to it, with no clearly marked path. The host's sculptures of flotsam and jetsam, flip-flops, rocks painted like ladybugs next to a "ladybug crossing" sign, and more, all add a bit of whimsey and humor and are further indications of a host who loves his work. I've seen many dump stations in my travels, and among them, this one stands alone. The host has planted a beautiful, well-tended flower garden immedately adjacent to both sides. The effect is to have a visually pleasing place in which to perform a generally unpleasant task. The large, well-stocked commissary and exchange are located a few miles away on the old seaplane base, next to the Oak Harbor Marina. There's also a small exchange on the main base, as well as a nice, modern galley in which retirees are welcomed. For our money, this place is a treasure and a pleasure. Side note: For Sprint users, we had decent cell phone and broadband card signals (with EVDO), as long as we were out in the open and not up in the piney woods at the top half of the campground. Side note 2: The host handed me an MWR business card with contact info on it, and on the back was the following: "If you enjoyed your stay, please take a few moments and do a review at: http://www.militarycampgrounds.us" So, Larry, your efforts are becoming the military RVing standard. Soon you'll replace the ICE standard (at least for RVers). Way to go!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
June 15-20 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful park! The long-term RVers are for the most part a thing of the past. I only saw one left. 20 RV hookup sites with wonderful ocean view for $8. per nite. RV Dump Station on site. Clean comfortable and quiet. The camp host is intent on making your stay pleasant, and taking care of the camp. He has made "Earth Totums" from flip flops found on the beach over a two year period, as well as several from fishing floats. Really quite interesting. NAS Whidby is only a couple of miles away with all the amenities you might expect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 28, 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Park nearby. Showers close. Laundry not so close - have to go on base to the laundrette. This is not so much fun with kids. However, a large park is across the street from the laundrette. Beautiful beach and trails. Very windy though. Freindly people. The showers are old, need updating, but clean and "warm" feeling. This camp is not a quick over-nighter as Whidby itself is a drive off the beaten path. But, it would be excellent for a vacation camp as there is lots to see in the area. Try whale watching and crabbing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
Nov 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice park. Jogging trail runs beside the park and is great for walking dogs. Ten minute walk to Activity Center for checking email. Some permanent campers, although against regs. Can eat in the mess hall for $3.00. Good food and nice atmosphere. GREAT Chiefs Club.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful area. Small park and it seemed like there were a lot of "permanent" people there, so not many sites available for short term people. Sites are well placed and not too close together. Definitely make reservattons before you go there. There is an overflow area nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
95 results - showing 81 - 95
1 2 3 4 5