Fairchild AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (67)
46943   0   22   0   21

User reviews

27 reviews with 4 stars

67 reviews

 
(28)
 
(27)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.1  (67)
 
3.8  (67)
 
4.3  (67)
 
4.2  (67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 15, 2016

We stay here for a few days every year to visit family in the area. Yes, very nice camp hostess. Very adequate facilities. My annoyance with this park, and many others in the system are the squatters. RV parks are intended for folks who are mobile, not for someone who wants to squat in the same spot for the entire season. We are parked next to a rig that is at least 30 years old, albeit fairly well maintained, but it is obvious they have been here for a long time considering all the stuff that is sitting outside such as large plasti storage pieces. It looks like Sanford and Son lives there. There is lots of green grass, except at our site where a large mat killed it. The hostess commented that he had been here for three months and she wasn't going to ask him to remove his mat! NO ONE SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO STAY FOR AN INDEFINITE PERIOD OF TIME - THAT IS DEFEATING THE PURPOSE OF THE PARK!!!! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 25, 2016

Host was reluctant for us to dry camp with an RV as there were hook-ups available. We did prevail. Dry camp charge was $10 vice $5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Late Jul - early Aug 2015

Really nice FamCamp with a very nice, helpful host couple. I have 4 minor negatives; 1., no good place to park while registering. How about CE smooth out an area in the dirt to the right of the hosts' site? Or maybe put down some gravel or asphalt to make a spot off the loop road. 2., water pressure was a meager 30 psi. 3., wifi is slow even with strong signal strength, 4., no fenced, grassy area for an off-leash dog run. Hill AFB FamCamp has a nice one with grass and trees. Now to the good stuff...everything else. Quiet park with decent spacing between sites, great auto hobby shop, good DFAC (retirees can eat there), even the Defenders are friendly! For you non-AF types, Defenders are what we affectionately call Security Forces personnel. One section of the FamCamp has trees. If you use satellite, you may not want that section. Sites look to be about 55' long. There is plenty of overflow parking across the loop road behind your site if needed for your tow vehicle or towed (toad) vehicle. No diesel at the base gas station, but there is a gas station a mile or 2 miles east of the base that has diesel. Grand Cooley Dam is about an hour west. Too bad the AF doesn't have a competition for FamCamps like they do DFACs. This place would be a strong contender.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 12 to 21, 2015

I really like this place, clean quiet and the camp host is great, gives you lots of info and nice. The issue I had is that it is easy to reserve into the rec camp at clear lake evidentally they have this problem often. We didn't realize till they called and asked if we wished to cancel we were at the fam camp. Found out a lot of partiers down there and its paved here with grass spots and a tree almost in each site. There it is dirt unkept close spots and on weekends military party there. So depending on your likes is where you go. Also it is fairchild rec but not on base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 16-20, 2015

This is a very nice Famcamp. The host is extremely friendly and helpful. Seemed to be always working around doing maintenance. Spaces 25-30 tend to be a bit close, others more spacious, but tolerable. First two rows are best for rooftop satellite. Other section has numerous trees. As suggested before, called security and was told to go to Rambo gate. Will definitely come back. Thank you, Duane.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 16-19 2014

Dwayne & Teresa, the camp hosts, are the most accommodating folks we have encountered at any famcamp we have stayed at during all our travels. They go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant they will always answer the phone if they can or will return your call in a timely manner. Although they don’t take reservations, they will give you an idea as to availability before your arrival. We didn’t use the bathroom facilities but they were clean and tidy. The laundry room is small but adequate. One of the three washers was broken when we were there. Our arrival was on a Saturday so instead of going to the Rambo Gate, we went to the Main Gate as per directions one this web site and as directed by Teresa. Before pulling up to the gate, I parked in the small parking lot where I think Pass & ID is located. My wife walked up to the gate and the guard directed us to the Rambo Gate. Since I pulled into that parking lot, I couldn’t make the sharp turn to get back off the base. The gate guard then directed us to just come on up to the gate. She then told us we should always go to the Rambo Gate, call the Security Forces number (509-247-5493) and that someone would come out and open the gate. This is to facilitate the inspection that is required. After getting to the Famcamp, Teresa told us that they have been having a lot of problems with the gate guards and that we should continue to use the Main Gate during off duty hours. On our next visit to Fairchild, I will call Security Forces on the way in and get directions from them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-12 May 2014

First I want to tell you that the camp host is doing everything to improve the stay of the FamCamp. He's out every day cutting grass, watering, trimming and cleaning the facilities, a real hard worker. They have some great ideas to help improve the area. I hope that they stay for years to come. All sites are gravel but level, wifi is good throughout the CG, wash rooms and laundry is very clean. I called in advance to see if there was availability and the host told me to be sure to use "Rambo gate" if you have a rig larger than 40' (located on Rambo rd, 1/2 mile before main gate L turn),note: gate closes at 1800 weekdays. You will have to have a vehicle inspection, nothing unusual. GPS brought us directly to FamCamp. Camp host gave us a book of all events that are happening on post for the month plus recommendations for local dinning.... Good stay, I wish them a lot of luck to bring this place to a 5 star. If their ideas come through it will make the best FamCamp of the west!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 11, 2014

Weekly rate is now $120 and daily rate $20. Club card still good for 10 percent off. New host this year. They are trimming the trees on the west side by the pavilion. WiFi down, but should be fixed early next week.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 10-14, 2013

R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Tried several times to contact camp host to no avail. Hosts phone message was dated 08-24-13. We thought we would be disappointed in the fam camp but not so. It is clean. Full hook-ups 30-50 amp pull through sites. We are in site 7 and it is level. A detailed map of the base was provided and camp host said she would answer any questions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

3 Aug 2013

I'm trying to be fair in this review. When we arrived, the park was completely full and we were relegated to the overflow area. We stayed here last year on 13 Aug 2012. The bathrooms are clean. I liked the WIFI. But the overflow area was not in the best of conditions. However, it served its purpose and we got a good night's sleep before moving on.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 Apr 2013

Very nice. But the nice lady at the mail service window explained at great length the forwarding address needs to include c/o FAMCAMP as well as name and 100 N Chennault.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2012

We have came to this rv park the last two years. Great camp host, Clean park, Big rv spots, We have parked under the trees and in the open area both good, The only problem under the trees is if you have roof mount sat. Not to far from a Wal-Mart and other shopping. Will be back next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 13, 2012

Great Famcamp, host Brenda very personable and helpful. We had not visited Fairchild previously and found the Famcamp to be very pleasantly located. We also enjoyed the relative quiet after staying at several Walmarts during our travels. The park has strong wifi, which worked very well for us. The only negative (for us) was that there are no shopping facilities nearby (BX/Commissary/Shopette, etc.) We will definitely stay here again. Traveling in a motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 13 - 18, 2011

G.R. left this review using the Directory software - Brenda (Camp Host) very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 29 - Sept 4, 2011

Camp host made the week stay very pleasant. She gave us lots of good local advice and helped make our stay enjoyable. FamCamp is close enough to the freeway to make this a convenient overnight stop. Strong Wifi signal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

4-7 May 2011

G.R. left this review using the Directory software: Camp host very helpful. Some of sites are not available at this time. Camp host does not have phone access at the spot that they are in at present.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 18, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 30-Sept 29 2009

Enjoyed our visit and would return. 50 amp is thru-out the park and we stayed on older side and liked the trees better. The is plenty of dog walking area and paths. Recycling is at the RV park, no diesel on base -but available right down the road from front gate and unfortunately retirees aren't permitted to eat at the dining hall. Only two washers and two dryers so you might have to wait...
Hard-working hosts this summer. p.s City Auto Body shop down the road is super place for service if you need body work repairs on your RV!!!! ask for Brent

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 1-14, 2009

Easy to find, easy to access, and staffed by helpful hosts. Since they don't take reservations, we called ahead and then again before leaving the interstate to confirm availability; Connie was very helpful and gracious in taking our calls. Since our last visit, a dike has been built around the Famcamp shielding it from the housing area, which gives a bit more privacy then before. Verizon cell and AirCard worked well throughout our visit, and the WiFi was generally very good. The only negatives are the location of the base and the shoddiness of the surrounding area, and the constant need to water the grass, leaving garden hoses laying everywhere and often spraying your vehicles. A great value and a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 3 - 4, 2009

Nice camp ground, need larger bath & laundry with the number of sites. Only negative is the over active watering between pads. We had to wade to get out of our MH. Went to the BX and when we got back out pad was flooded. At the least inconsiderate and the most very rude. Other than that we had a good visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 08

hi. we are currently hosting ... air show August 9 / 10. NO Reservations for full hook up sites but, we will be expanding our dry camp area for the period of 8, 9, 10 and 11 August 08. $5.00 per nite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2