Fairchild AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (74)
70054 1 34 1 30

User reviews

32 reviews with 4 stars

74 reviews

 
(30)
 
(32)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.1  (74)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (74)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (74)
Value 
 
4.3  (74)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (74)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Sept. 24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
My husband is a mgr @ a USN RV park, (which is an outstanding park, so I know how parks should look. This is your basic, no frills package. Cement block buildings for showers, mold all around floors in the 2 shower stalls in women’s bathrooms, toilet stalls have the floor molding coming loose. Men’s bathroom shower stalls had peeling paint. These aren’t expensive or complicated repairs. If fixed for next season, it will be fine. I was just thrilled to have shower curtains, since Mtn. Home AFB, has no privacy @ all. Overall if you stay in your RV & don’t use the bathrooms, you’re great. Nice sidewalks around housing & friendly host. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
September 1-4 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent the Labor Day holiday here and the famcamp was full. Great host and ODR staff were very helpful. The park could use some tree limb trimming but site were level and good utilities. Initial base check-in is through with an inspection at the Rambo gate but all is fair with base security concerns. Will definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 5,2018 - August 17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Security on this base is tight. They do 100% ID check and they will search your rig. Obviously the reason for this is to protect the soldiers on the base and the base itself, I have no problem with it. Hopefully, you don't have a problem with it either. This is not a resort by any stretch but it is a fine place to hang your hat while visiting the Spokane area or even passing through. The park is quiet and clean - even though it is very close to the tarmac. Only once in 12 days did we experience noise from fighter jets. The sites are level and the hookups are convenient. Most sites are very close together but there are a few that have a little more space between them. We were lucky enough to get one that had some elbow room and it was very comfortable. This would be a 'pleasing to look at' campground if they had any rain to make the grass green. But, it is so painfully dry that what grass there would be is dead giving the campground a neglected look. It is NOT neglected. The hosts seem to be very active within the campground by checking on cleanliness of the laundry, bathrooms, the sites as people left, etc. We enjoyed our stay here and would go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June/July 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Rambo gate was closed when I arrived during a normal duty day so we had to turn around in a space near the gate that seemed to have been created by others in the same situation. I had no issues pulling a 43’ fifth wheel trough the main gate. Sites are as described in a previous review. Some close together some not. Mine was close and had the waste connections of the rv next to me in my picnic area. Camp host was located in site 25. Close to state parks and access to the river. The camp has been completely full since my arrival with several rigs in overflow. The rate is now 20/day with no weekly rate or discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 17-24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent a week at this nice Famcamp. Entering the Rambo Gate your RV and car will be searched, either by a guard accompanying you or in some cases (we've had it both ways), you'll be asked to open up all the doors and go inside a holding area while the search is conducted. After that it's an easy drive to the Famcamp. On our visit, the host was in site #1 instead of #25, but it doesn't make much difference since they don't assign sites and can't collect money. So find a site, set up, then proceed to Outdoor Rec and sign in and pay. Interior road are paved, but sites are gravel and fairly level. The old section of the park has mature trees and the bathroom/laundry. Sites there are not always consistent in their distance apart - some are widely spaced, other right on top of another. Hookups are convenient and worked well, and the park WiFi worked well until the evening when obvious streaming was taking place. Verizon cell/data was good. No cable, but plenty of OTA channels and most sites provide a clear shot at the TV satellites. The laundry is inexpensive ($.50/load), but there are only two each washers/dryers and during our visit one set was out of service. Restrooms were immaculate. The normal amount of aircraft noise, but the real annoyance are the trains that run continually just West of the base. A bit far from Spokane, but Airway Heights has plenty of shopping and also two casinos. Overall, a good place to stay awhile at a very reasonable cost.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 15, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stay here for a few days every year to visit family in the area. Yes, very nice camp hostess. Very adequate facilities. My annoyance with this park, and many others in the system are the squatters. RV parks are intended for folks who are mobile, not for someone who wants to squat in the same spot for the entire season. We are parked next to a rig that is at least 30 years old, albeit fairly well maintained, but it is obvious they have been here for a long time considering all the stuff that is sitting outside such as large plasti storage pieces. It looks like Sanford and Son lives there. There is lots of green grass, except at our site where a large mat killed it. The hostess commented that he had been here for three months and she wasn't going to ask him to remove his mat! NO ONE SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO STAY FOR AN INDEFINITE PERIOD OF TIME - THAT IS DEFEATING THE PURPOSE OF THE PARK!!!! 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 7
June 25, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Host was reluctant for us to dry camp with an RV as there were hook-ups available. We did prevail. Dry camp charge was $10 vice $5.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
Late Jul - early Aug 2015
(Updated: August 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Really nice FamCamp with a very nice, helpful host couple. I have 4 minor negatives; 1., no good place to park while registering. How about CE smooth out an area in the dirt to the right of the hosts' site? Or maybe put down some gravel or asphalt to make a spot off the loop road. 2., water pressure was a meager 30 psi. 3., wifi is slow even with strong signal strength, 4., no fenced, grassy area for an off-leash dog run. Hill AFB FamCamp has a nice one with grass and trees. Now to the good stuff...everything else. Quiet park with decent spacing between sites, great auto hobby shop, good DFAC (retirees can eat there), even the Defenders are friendly! For you non-AF types, Defenders are what we affectionately call Security Forces personnel. One section of the FamCamp has trees. If you use satellite, you may not want that section. Sites look to be about 55' long. There is plenty of overflow parking across the loop road behind your site if needed for your tow vehicle or towed (toad) vehicle. No diesel at the base gas station, but there is a gas station a mile or 2 miles east of the base that has diesel. Grand Cooley Dam is about an hour west. Too bad the AF doesn't have a competition for FamCamps like they do DFACs. This place would be a strong contender.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
July 12 to 21, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I really like this place, clean quiet and the camp host is great, gives you lots of info and nice. The issue I had is that it is easy to reserve into the rec camp at clear lake evidentally they have this problem often. We didn't realize till they called and asked if we wished to cancel we were at the fam camp. Found out a lot of partiers down there and its paved here with grass spots and a tree almost in each site. There it is dirt unkept close spots and on weekends military party there. So depending on your likes is where you go. Also it is fairchild rec but not on base.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 16-20, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice Famcamp. The host is extremely friendly and helpful. Seemed to be always working around doing maintenance. Spaces 25-30 tend to be a bit close, others more spacious, but tolerable. First two rows are best for rooftop satellite. Other section has numerous trees. As suggested before, called security and was told to go to Rambo gate. Will definitely come back. Thank you, Duane.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 16-19 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Dwayne & Teresa, the camp hosts, are the most accommodating folks we have encountered at any famcamp we have stayed at during all our travels. They go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant they will always answer the phone if they can or will return your call in a timely manner. Although they don’t take reservations, they will give you an idea as to availability before your arrival. We didn’t use the bathroom facilities but they were clean and tidy. The laundry room is small but adequate. One of the three washers was broken when we were there. Our arrival was on a Saturday so instead of going to the Rambo Gate, we went to the Main Gate as per directions one this web site and as directed by Teresa. Before pulling up to the gate, I parked in the small parking lot where I think Pass & ID is located. My wife walked up to the gate and the guard directed us to the Rambo Gate. Since I pulled into that parking lot, I couldn’t make the sharp turn to get back off the base. The gate guard then directed us to just come on up to the gate. She then told us we should always go to the Rambo Gate, call the Security Forces number (509-247-5493) and that someone would come out and open the gate. This is to facilitate the inspection that is required. After getting to the Famcamp, Teresa told us that they have been having a lot of problems with the gate guards and that we should continue to use the Main Gate during off duty hours. On our next visit to Fairchild, I will call Security Forces on the way in and get directions from them.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8-12 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First I want to tell you that the camp host is doing everything to improve the stay of the FamCamp. He's out every day cutting grass, watering, trimming and cleaning the facilities, a real hard worker. They have some great ideas to help improve the area. I hope that they stay for years to come. All sites are gravel but level, wifi is good throughout the CG, wash rooms and laundry is very clean. I called in advance to see if there was availability and the host told me to be sure to use "Rambo gate" if you have a rig larger than 40' (located on Rambo rd, 1/2 mile before main gate L turn),note: gate closes at 1800 weekdays. You will have to have a vehicle inspection, nothing unusual. GPS brought us directly to FamCamp. Camp host gave us a book of all events that are happening on post for the month plus recommendations for local dinning.... Good stay, I wish them a lot of luck to bring this place to a 5 star. If their ideas come through it will make the best FamCamp of the west!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 11, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Weekly rate is now $120 and daily rate $20. Club card still good for 10 percent off. New host this year. They are trimming the trees on the west side by the pavilion. WiFi down, but should be fixed early next week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 10-14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Tried several times to contact camp host to no avail. Hosts phone message was dated 08-24-13. We thought we would be disappointed in the fam camp but not so. It is clean. Full hook-ups 30-50 amp pull through sites. We are in site 7 and it is level. A detailed map of the base was provided and camp host said she would answer any questions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I'm trying to be fair in this review. When we arrived, the park was completely full and we were relegated to the overflow area. We stayed here last year on 13 Aug 2012. The bathrooms are clean. I liked the WIFI. But the overflow area was not in the best of conditions. However, it served its purpose and we got a good night's sleep before moving on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
27 Apr 2013
(Updated: April 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice. But the nice lady at the mail service window explained at great length the forwarding address needs to include c/o FAMCAMP as well as name and 100 N Chennault.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2012
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have came to this rv park the last two years. Great camp host, Clean park, Big rv spots, We have parked under the trees and in the open area both good, The only problem under the trees is if you have roof mount sat. Not to far from a Wal-Mart and other shopping. Will be back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 13, 2012
(Updated: May 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great Famcamp, host Brenda very personable and helpful. We had not visited Fairchild previously and found the Famcamp to be very pleasantly located. We also enjoyed the relative quiet after staying at several Walmarts during our travels. The park has strong wifi, which worked very well for us. The only negative (for us) was that there are no shopping facilities nearby (BX/Commissary/Shopette, etc.) We will definitely stay here again. Traveling in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 13 - 18, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
G.R. left this review using the Directory software - Brenda (Camp Host) very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 29 - Sept 4, 2011
(Updated: September 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp host made the week stay very pleasant. She gave us lots of good local advice and helped make our stay enjoyable. FamCamp is close enough to the freeway to make this a convenient overnight stop. Strong Wifi signal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
32 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2