Joint Base Lewis-McChord Travel Camp

Featured Hot
 
3.9 (57)
73937   1   9   1   14

User reviews

14 reviews with 3 stars

57 reviews

 
(18)
 
(23)
 
(13)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (57)
 
4.0  (57)
 
3.9  (57)
 
3.9  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

January 18th, 2017

We were extremely disappointed in this RV park since we love the Fort Lewis post. First, the prices quoted on this website are out of date.We paid $28 for a full hook up site for one night. Cable TV requires a converter box which means a $50 deposit. Since the office where you receive and return the box has business hours if you arrive late or plan on leaving prior to 9:00AM you cannot have a cable box. Antenna TV reception was extremely poor in our site (#210) with only Fox and a shaky ABC available, plus the usual junk channels. Wifi is available only in the common building and I am told in loop 100. We stayed in loop 200 and had zero wifi signal. The bathrooms were extremely dated and poorly maintained. The tiles along the baseboard were all cracked, broken or missing. There were many holes in the walls where racks or shelves had been removed. The showers are push button water-savers. You have no control over the water temperature, you press a button and get warm (not hot) water for 30 seconds then it shuts off. You must push the button every 30 seconds to keep the water flowing. Our pull through site was overgrown with brush that scraped our trailer. The septic connection was simply a PVC pipe in the ground - no threads and no cover other than a rock. It would surely smell bad on a hot summer day. Also, the septic hole was located far forward in the site requiring a 20 foot septic hose. Traffic noise from Interstate 5 was a constant loud drone outside. Our rig is well insulated so we did not notice it with the windows shut but in the summer with windows open it would be a major annoyance. For $28 this is definitely not worth the price. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 1,2015

Was charged $10 per day as a change fee. To change the reservation. There is ALWAYS a problem between reservation and checkin.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 2014 - Sept 2014

We have stayed at 11 military parks. They need a better reservation system like it has been posted in the previous reviews. When we were making reservations, the binder did not equal what was in the computer. There was only one (older) lady who knew what she is doing. The others, including the men, either need not be there because of a bad attitude/rude and/or need training on how to run the RV park. I never saw any maintenance of the park and never saw any of the workers make any daily patrols to inspect the park etc. They moved us to one sight and the water was leaking so bad, we had to use our own on-board storage water and the front desk never knew about it. The bushes were over grown and looked like they haven't been attended to in years. Thank goodness for the grown trees in the park that it makes it beautiful. The park needs new management. I rated the amenities/facilities a 5 because of the nice gym, bx, commissary on base. I would give cleanliness/hospitality a ZERO if I could. The front gate to the JBLM, what can I say: They were the most professional when we drove through every time, it makes me proud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 18-28 and Sept 12-15 2014

This is an older park that is totally covered with trees. The cable TV takes a special box that will not work in most motor homes, due to the entertainment systems. You would think that a customer as large as this base would be able to get the cable company to provide unscrambled cable channels. Satellite systems will not work due to the trees that cover everything. We had problems with the power when we first arrived and the staff sent the repair people to the wrong campsite. Finally we were moved to a site that had a working power system. The campsites are not cleaned at all. There is trash left over from previous campers and ashes from years past fires all over the ground. We stay here because of children and grandchildren living in the area. Lake side campsites which are more expensive do not have a view of the lake because of the trees.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 4 thru June 11, 2014

Very tough getting through the maze at the campground to your site. Big Rig friendly is questionable. Lake side spots did not guarantee a view of the lake but you will pay $5.00 extra per day for the spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 13-24, 2012

Stayed there two years and both times the reservation was messed up. They use a computer method and a big book where they line out sites taken. This year, I made a reservation, then called up well in advance to modify and was told it was OK. Once I got there, checked in and looked to extend another day and was told that even my first modification was not OK. The gray haired woman behind the desk was RUDE RUDE RUDE and basically told me that their information was in conflict so I could not extend and it was just too bad for me. So in essence, their mistake, I had to cut my stay short. There is no excuse for this sort of thing. I also was hassled when returning the cable box regarding a missing piece that we never got when we checked the unit out. So, beware if you are thinking of staying here. Your reservation will likely be goofed up and you will not be treated well. I like the setting but I do not like being treated so horribly while here. The gray haired woman was unwilling to discuss the screw up with me further and basically just shut me down. There is no excuse to be this way and once there, they should do what they can to accommodate vets once we are there. Hopefully this situation will improve as I really like staying at Ft. Lewis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr. 20-May 5-2011

This is a great facility, it has all of the amenities you could want but the park needs trimming. It is so full of brush that the trees even lay in next to your unit. The stumps are right behind and beside your unit and that makes it easy to hit them with your rig. They charge extra for every day you stay for being close to the lake. You can't even see the lake from most of the sites. They also charge extra for 50 amp service. There is a nice BX and commissary at this base and it is close to the fam camp. We never needed the bathrooms so I can't rate that. The wi-fi don't work in the campground except for about 4 spots. Someone stated there was a discount for monthly rates but I never seen that. The staff was helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 14 thru June 28, 2009

I agree with some of the past reviews. The staff is disinterested or lack knowledge in providing services to the customers. They have two camp hosts who have homesteaded at this campground for a number of years. It appears that the rules do not apply to these people. They park on the grass in front of signs that clearly state no parking on the grass. Their sites look like they have moved in and are parking all of their belongings under and around their rigs. The wifi is not strong and only available in the commons building. Reservations are lost on a regular basis with little or no explanation. On the plus side the area is convenient to the base exchange and commissary which are both within a few miles of the park. I would stay here again because it is the only park close to the Tacoma area and the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 17-August 2 2008

D.W. left this review using the Directory software: This is a great campground that is turning into a "fulltimers permanent living area". A number of people are doing the "camp site shuffle" on a regular basis. Some oversight and some specific regulations need to be laid down. There is NO policy regarding the number of pets. They need one badly! Right now one site has 5 dogs and several large, shrieking birds!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jul 12, 2008

We arrived mid afternoon and we were sent to our assigned spot - 110. We have a 31' fifth wheel. We were asked when I made the reservation and when we checked in how long we were. Both people seemed not too worried about the length for that site. Unfortunately the site is long enough, if you can bend your rig in half. The site wraps around a tree on the driver's side and the pavement falls off on the passenger side. Also, it was not level. After half an hour of jockeying we finally got in - with the help of a neighbor who said he has a 29' and has not been able to get into that site comfortably. We got it in - but it wasn't anywhere near easy. In walking around the park we saw other, empty, straighter pull-through and back-in sites that would have better fit our size. We will probably return as our daughter lives in the area, but will not let them assign us to site 110!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

18-31 July 08

Easy access to park and most spots well shaded. No playground for kids. Most sites I saw were not that level so you better bring some wood to level your rig. Showers/restroom facilities were "okay" but better attention by the management would help out. 4 new front loading washers and 4 new dryers recently added to laundry room. Main PX a 10 min drive from the camp and a shopette with gas station is 3 min away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 13 to 28, 2008

After hearing about the Travel Camp at Fort Lewis for several years, we finally decided to make the trip out west. For the past two years, the on-line reviews have been about 50/50, (favorable/unfavorable). Unfortunately, the unfavorable comments have all been about the same items; laundry facilities with 50% of the equipment out of service, (two washers out of four, and two dryers out of four), shower facilities with broken plumbing fixtures and in need of cleaning, and a staff with little knowledge or initiative and bad attitudes. To get some additional background, I decided to check the ICE Service Provider Report (http://ice.disa.mil/reports/index) and found only a single response from 11 Feb to 4 May, which was not very informative. Well, I called about a week ahead to make a reservation beginning May 13. Amber advised me that due to the upcoming Memorial Day Holiday, we would have to move several times during our two week stay. As it was, she said that she only had an opening for one night, and then to overflow. Upon arrival the first thing that caught my eye was the fact that the park office is co-located with the outdoor rec store and offices. This may be a good idea for management, but does not bode well for the campground. We were checked in by Margaret on the 13th. She at least made an effort to look for sites for the next two weeks. (How hard can it be with only 48 RV sites?). She found two sites that would cover the two week stay, but, the system they use counts each as a separate reservation, requiring a non-refundable reservation fee. The next day, we checked out of the site and headed to Camp Murray which is only 1 mile up the road and spent the night there instead of overflow. Upon our return to Ft. Lewis we were checked in by Amber. During the process I asked about moving reservations to avoid unnecessary moves within the camp. She replied that "we don´t do that. We aren´t allowed to do that," even though sites are not reserved. At that point I paid the balance on our next two sites and went to set up. During the next week, the site we were to move to next became open so I went to look at it. I is a 41 foot site on a curve with no additional parking in the area. I then went to the office and spoke to Sharron and explained that it was impossible to park a 40 foot 5th wheel and 25 foot truck in a 41 foot space (did I point out that this park in NOT big rig friendly?). Sharron took the initiative to switch a single reservation which eliminated the necessity to move for the balance of our stay. Other observations during our stay included a total lack of any type of in-briefing on policies, pet rules, parking, etc. A total lack of policing or daily inspection by management, a complete disregard for any written rules regarding fires, pet pens, vehicle washing etc., and lack of facilities and grounds maintenance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 22-29, 2008

We showed up with no reservations, no problem. We decided to extend in order to receive a UPS package. While doing laundry (I use liquid soap) the washer stopped half way through cycle. Maint. man accused me of using to much soap and that is why it broke. (They might consider not selling powder soap if their machines are getting cloged with to much soap). The elder lady at the front desk is always eating, reading or doing crossword puzzles and neglects the customer. When asked if my package arrived she told me no. I checked online it said package was delivered, went back to office and asked again and was told no. Another lady heard the conversation, went to the back room and found my package amongst deliveries, she brought it to our RV. The elder lady just did not want to check. The cleaning crew came in the comman area and all they did was empty trash and sweep floor. No mopping, no cleaning of counters, toilets or sinks. The park is pretty and right by the lake, but would be even prettier if they cleared some underbrush from the grounds. Handy location for sight seeing in Seattle and Mt. Saint Helens. No diesel on Ft. Lewis or Mchord. I believe there is a lot of long term people.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2007

Such a pretty park, but so ill operated by the staff. One can easily tell that they do not have a vested interest in the operation. I was to have a 14 day reservation. When I arrived, was informed that I only had a 6 day reservation with no explanation. I was informed I could go and sit in the hold over area with no facilities if I so desired. I explained that was not satisfactory for their mistake. I was then instructed to return when the six days were up and maybe the party that was to take the space I was assigned when I left, would cancel and I could maybe stay a few days more. I went back several days before date to leave and asked for another site for another week. With much fuss and to their dissatisfaction after several visits, I was given another site. Nearly every time I went in for assistance I would have to wait for the attendant to either finish eating or get off her cell phone. It seems when someone request a space, the name is entered in their log. There were empty spaces for several days, yet they say "they are full". When I would check why they were empty, the answer is some one is arriving for that space, even is it is several days away. When we had to vacate our first space it was empty for one day then occupied for one day, then empty again. I was also informed they will not put my name on the next open space, even if they made the mistake. I also overheard two of the staff talking about holding a space for a past host, just to see if he likes it, I took that to mean they gave him a reservation but were holding another space in case he liked it better. I asked her if she can do that she should be able to put me in to an up coming empty space. She restated she will not do that, I would have to keep checking back with her. There seems to be a double standard at times and for most of the time ill management. I tried to talk with the manager but she would not return my call. Others campers in the park also had the same opinion of the mismanagement of the park. There is a limit on the number of days one can stay. Others in the camp who had been there several times said there is a Beaver motorhome owned by a chaplain that is permitted to remain in the camp for many months at a time. It seems not everyone gets a fair shake. The fore mentioned coach was there when I arrived and was there when I left. The laundry, shower facility nearest the camp entrance was dirty. The washing machines could use a through wiping down and the floors a good moping, some real dark areas in the corners. I do not understand why they have to be locked in the evenings. A van pulled into an adjacent lot to mine and three women got out and started going over the area with a metal detector and garden hand tools. I approached and asked if they were park residents and they said they were not. I suggested they should check with the camp office. Since they did not leave I drove to the park office. Someone in a truck came by and asked if I was the one causing the trouble, complaining to the office. I take this as a security breach, by allowing non park residents to wander through the park. I did see the Ft Lewis MP's twice drive through the park, and I'm sure other times I did not observe them. It looked like there were more than one host, but I do not know what their full duties were. Management needs to be more involved.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14