Joint Base Lewis-McChord Travel Camp

Featured Hot
 
3.9 (58)
75628   1   9   1   14

User reviews

Filters 23 reviews with 4 stars

58 reviews

 
(18)
 
(23)
 
(14)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (58)
 
3.9  (58)
 
3.9  (58)
 
3.8  (58)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2016

First off we had the dreaded space #207. Really not bad at all except no sewer hookup, 30 Amp. Great location. Nice company. I tried for weeks to update but like other RVers and I agree, there paper reservation system has got to go. Ha written in a large format notebook, geez. We did not get upgraded but those that did, had days split between a couple of sites. The grounds need a good trash cleanup. Lots of small and large bits of trash everywhere. Although we did not stay at the cabins next to the campground? I think people must take their dogs over there to poop (Gopher), disgusting. Spaces aren't quite level so it will take a few blocks to help. People up front can answer all your questions. Rental items available. Outfitter retail store has lots of outdoor items. Will accept FedEx. There is some remodeling going on at the laundromat/showers. Looks very nice and is clean. The smaller restroom needs to be bulldozed as it has rotted in place. Be careful of children on bicycles!  The scenery is beautiful and peaceful in the mornings. Choppers fly all hours M-F. We were unable to use our satellite because of the trees. Cable is available BUT BE SURE to ask for a cable box. I went two days before someone told me a box was needed. Free. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

A pretty nice place, the roads are tight to drive around to find your space. I was told to go to one site and found someone still in it. They put me in another spot that was open. Upon check in, they didn't tell me about needing a special adapter to use the cable, and luckily I had just enough tree clearance to use my satellite. Fairly quiet and the spaces are far enough apart to give privacy. The sites did need some clearing of weeds, limbs and cutting the grass. Paved spots that were fairly level, but others did angle downhill. The showers need major upgrade and more hooks/shelves at least in the female head. The directions did confuse me and I ended up taking a tour of the main base. At the exit off I-5, from south, go to the LEFT off exit to North gate, then right at light, etc...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2014

I really like Ft. Lewis Travel Camp; it has a lot of amenities, i.e. you can rent a motorized boat and there is a very good camp store; 2-commons areas with laundry facilities, and a wonderful view, especially by the lake.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 19 to 30, 2014

If you are looking for the Brown Sign for the camp, you won't find it. I am submitting a picture of the sign that you need to look for. Turn before the sign and park along the scrubs on the right. Be sure to have plenty of leveling material as many of the spots are not very level. There are many pull through sites, but the nicest spots are the back in ones. There are trees between the spots, so there is a lot of privacy. The spots and roads are all nicely paved, but I agree about the maze set up. There is good water pressure, but forget about satellite TV and local over the air channels. You can check out a cable box and that works great. They sell propane and can fill your RV as well. The lake is beautiful and there is a fishing dock (license required, sold in office). WIFI is available, but you have to be by the office or the commons building to use it. We do not use the bathrooms or laundry. We stay in a 36' RV and pull a 28' enclosed trailer. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 22-24, 2013

T.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Visited for 3 days excellent camp. Staff is very friendly and professional. It is a good thing they have cable because over the air reception is limited and due to the very wooded nature of the park there is no satellite reception. You will need to pick up a converter box when you check in to use the cable. The box is free but you have to leave a $150.00 deposit on the box. They run a paper credit card slip when you pick up the box and return the slip when you bring back the box. Will use this camp again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 1-7, 2012

This camp was great. We first went to McChord AFB and it was full. We drove to Ft Lewis and they had several spaces that could accommodate our 40' motorhome. The staff who checked us in were very pleasant. They had us drive around the park and select our site. The site was full hookup with cable included. It was clean, quiet, forested. Our only negative is the location. It is 40 miles south of Seattle. We spent a lot of time driving back and forth to visit our son, do sightseeing and attend a Mariners baseball game. However, this was the closest camp and we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug1-4, 2012

This place was above what we expected after reading the posts from a year ago. The site was perfect, all hookups worked with no issues. The main common bathroom/laundry combo was clean and useful. Showered and then was able to do laundry while I caught up on my emails with the wireless. The camp was full and we weren't able to stay an extra night as we had hoped. It it was our own fault for not doing it quick enough. Will stay here when we come back to the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2011

Great park from the standpoint of privacy, beauty of surroundings, security, mostly large sites, and the overwhelming smell of pine! Be sure you have reservations in the summer as this place is packed particularly on weekends from May until October. Direct phone to camp office is 253-967-8282 and Sharon seems to be the most knowledgeable of the staff. Directions are correct in review below (make sure you go to the NORTH gate), but if you don't have a military vehicle registration decal on your windshield, you will be directed to the Visitor Center next to the main gate for a decal and/or visitor pass. My husband had to jockey our fifth wheel back and forth behind parked cars in the VC parking lot while he waited for me to go through a line of 50 people for my turn! Security here is high right now. Cost is ridiculous compared to military parks across the nation. 50AMP and lakeside is $25 a nite and if you want 50AMP, you will be on a lakeside site as there are only 3 others in the park. Lakeside doesn't mean you can see the lake, BTW. Most sites seem pretty level, but be sure your RV will fit on the site you are assigned -- some are pull throughs with plenty of space or NO space at all. One van was parked on a corner pull through and had to put up orange cones so people wouldn't run over them! Very tight, lots of curves getting through the park. Does need a field day to clean up not only overgrowth, but trash and cigarette butts. Two docks for boating and fishing, nice log cabins, plenty of woods/shade, noisy if on the road side of the park as freeway is not far either, Bistro on the other side of the lake is nearest restaurant. And you will not want to leave the base during rush hours, as the traffic on I-5 near any of the base exits and the dome in Tacoma is at a standstill then and on the weekends (expect delays wherever you go!). Did not use the shower/laundry as we are self contained. Staff very helpful to accommodate our extended time needs due to VA tests. Nice adventure rental center as part of camp office -- can rent just about anything for summer fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6/19/11 to 7/4/11

We landed here without reservations - bad mistake in the summer! We moved 3 times but the staff was very helpful in locating spaces for us to park our big rig. Lots of amenities on the joint bases (McChord & Lewis and don't forget Camp Murray) and a good place to play tourist from - Seattle, Tacoma, Mt. Ranier. Staff is pleasant and helpful with accommodations and suggestions for touring the area. MWR office has discount tickets for local attractions. Facilities were clean. The only down side was the laundry - there are 2 in the park. In the 2 weeks we were there, one had all 4 washers working and only 1 dryer. The other had 2 washers working and 4 dryers. Very family friendly park and there seemed to be some permanent residents (active duty?) there. We'd certainly return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 17 2011

Stayed in site 122 - very noisy with road traffic. As with prev reviews, very clean facilities, camp host, site 123, very helpful. Grounds definitely need "field day" to clean and trim brush overgrowth. Super nice restroom, showers, laundry, and common room. Disappointed it is locked at 2200hrs, difficult for late arrivals when services are locked. Agree with assessment of lake sites. Overall excellent park. Directions are lacking - didn't find any signage until we actually entered the park area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2010-April 2011

E.L. left this review using the Directory software: - The recent change is fees for the campground resulted in a split fee depending on your location. 50 amp sites near the water are $25 per day. 50 amp sites away from the water are $22.50. 30 amp sites are $20 per day. There is a discount for paying for the month. Starting in May, stay is limited to two weeks, but if sites are available, you can move to another site. The folks at the Northwest Adventure Center handle reservations, and are a great group. The campground is one of the best I've visited on the West Coast. There is plenty of room between the sites so that your not on top of your neighbors. The Wi-Fi is limited to the commons area. Restrooms are always clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 25-July 31 2010

This is a nice, clean well-maintained park. The office staff sometimes act as if they are bothered by your presence--maybe it was just a bad day. Wifi works only in the laundry area in the 100 section. The main base is on the other side of the interstate which makes things a bit inconvenient going back and forth (show ID'd every time) to the commissary and exchange. I recommend this park for a great stop over to see parts of Olympic National Park, Seattle/Tacoma, and the Puget Sound area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14 - 28 Sept 2009

We enjoyed our two-week stay at this beautiful travel camp. A word of caution; DO NOT use the North Fort Lewis exit if you don't have a valid DoD sticker on your vehicles - you'll be turned around at the gate. The visitor center is on the other side of the exit, on the Fort Lewis exit. Signage is good except for the turn-in to the park, just look for the first left turn after the Travel Camp sign. Check in was fast and easy, but don't expect much if you get the bored-looking young man who talks in monosyllables. Sites are a mixed bag of 30 and 50A, we had a large site, but it had 30A (but worked well). Most of the back-ins are sloped, so bring blocks for leveling. The sites are generally well shielded from one another, and have tables and grills. The MWR building where check-in is located also has a good-sized store with RV supplies and equipment rentals. The sites are quiet and dark at night, and Verizon cell and Aircard worked very well. Cable TV is provided; however, because of the cable company's requirement to have a digital box, you'll only get 20 or so channels. A good place to stay, albeit a bit pricey for military location, with excellent on-post support facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 9, 2009

Exit I-5 at Exit 120 and enter NORTH FT. LEWIS. Once on post, stay in the right lane, turn right at the light and veer right at the Y. We like campgrounds where we aren't looking into the windows of the RV next to us; most of these sites are woody and spacious. Ft. Lewis is huge, with excellent facilities, including the PX, libraries and a hospital that is probably one of the best the military has to offer, at least according to the commander. We haven't noticed many long-term campers here, so if they are here, they haven't settled in with stairs, plants, sheds, etc. The lake by the FamCamp is peaceful and attracts lots of fishing. The biggest negatives are having to show IDs when going from North area to main post, and the $20 per day is a bit steep compared to other campgrounds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 30, 2008

This campground has five tent sites setup in a pattern on a lawn overlooking the lake. From what we seen, the camp was clean and well maintained. We chose not to stay here when we found out that we would have to move sites in order to stay the four days we wanted to. We chose to check out Camp Murray and McChord famcamp instead.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 28 - June 2, 2008

Great news the work on the off ramps appears to be done and the ramps are back open. You don't have to loop through the main gate and turn around to get to North Fort Lewis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 13 & 14, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Ft Lewis, We arrived without reservations but that wasn't a problem midweek. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The park is beautiful and well maintained. It was a bit of a hassle getting a post pass and getting through the gate as the base is enforcing a 100% ID check. We were in site 122 and it was large enough for the largest motor home. A third of the washing machines were out of order so it took a while to get a washer in the laundry but it was comfortable while waiting as there is WiFi in the waiting area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2007

D.N. left this review using the Directory software: We spent a week at Ft Lewis, The staff was very helpful. The park is beautiful and well mauntained. We filled up one bottle of propane and found out that they were charging double what it cost off base!! It took a few days to get through on thier phone system to make a reservation, the voice mail was full and would not accept anymore msgs and the e-mail address was rejected as invalid.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 Apr - 7 May 2008

After reading the comments below me, i wonder if i was in the same campground. I think it is a great reminder, that every campground has it's bad weeks. I think I have been following Hickspartyoffive since Holloman AFB. Anyway, we also where waiting for a UPS package, the famcamp does not except regular mail. Either UPS or Fedex. The people at the front desk were very helpful. The bathroom, laundry room, where clean, although they have some broken machines, thanks to Hickpartyoffive, Just Joking. The campground could be cleaner, but i was still impressed overall with everything. It is much nicer than the famcamp at McCord. If your headed to the Seattle area, stay at Ft Lewis. btw - the wifi is not working right, very low signal, you really need to go to the laundry room to get a signal. Sprint wirless card works good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11/21/2007 through 12/3/2007

D.N. left this review using the Directory software: This is a nice facility and the staff was very nice. I bought propane one time from MWR and was charged $2.30 over the going price off base. Thought that was a real rip-off. There are only two or three sites that might get Sat. reception and the cable in the park does not give a very good signal but it got us by.

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2