Joint Base Lewis-McChord Travel Camp

Featured New Hot
 
3.9 (57)
72395   1   9   1   13

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

57 reviews

 
(18)
 
(23)
 
(13)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (57)
 
4.0  (57)
 
3.9  (57)
 
3.9  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 12-14, 2015

What can we say, just picture perfect, nestled next to American Lake, near the commissary and PX, 5 minutes to I-5, 20 minutes to McChord AFB. Last reviewer must have been at a different park. We found the staff helpful, attentive and accommodating. Our site (120) was a large pull thru parallel to the roadway convenient to the entrance of the park, we had great wi-fi and cable. There were two common area that had showers, laundry, toilets and tv rooms. Everything was clean and tidy at all times and we were there in the rainy season. No bad points worth mentioning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 1 2014

Getting here was easy off of I5. A pull over place provided for check in. Staff was friendly, helpful. What hurts this CG is these same people are also working the store for booking all activities and sales of outdoor equipment. The CG is a little unusual in site layout and sizing. I think it was designed when RV's were smaller. Each site is unique is layout and size. I have what is a sideway pull through and found it to suit me. My awning area was facing the woods, very private. I haul a 32' fifth wheel with no problems, but when driving thru the park, watch your turns.
We loved the wooded quite park and it is one of the better ones. the cable box was no issue with me, I arrived during normal hours, they swipe your card for a deposit, return it, when I returned the box, they gave me the unprocessed card swipe for my disposal. I can say the staff, all I encountered was helpful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 14-21, 2013

The RV Park is great and has the potential of being better. Everything that is stated in the Campground Information is fact. Our site was classified as a lakeside site but that does not imply a lakeside view. There are perhaps 3 or 4 sites that can “see” the lake. The Campground is located in a beautiful wooded area with dense underbrush making a view of the lake almost impossible. Satellite reception is non-existent. They do have cable TV in the Campground but you have to borrow a satellite receiver from the office. The staff were courteous and do their best to be helpful. It is obvious that they have multiple duties and responsibilities working at the Northwest Adventure Center, which by the way, has a good assortment of outdoor equipment for sale or rent. There are two camp hosts residing in the Campground but you never see them. To the best of my knowledge there are no walking trails near the Campground. For those of us that like to go on long walks we have to fulfill that desire by walking on the roads or sidewalks. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Ft. Lewis and look forward to returning at some time in the future. I would like to share a few things we discovered while we played tourist. If you are planning to visit Mt. Rainier National Park, plan for a very long and tiring day. It would probably be best to plan multiple days and/or possibly stay overnight closer to Mt. Rainier NP. We attempted to see and enjoy as much as we could in one day at Mt. Rainier but fell short of our goals. On the plus side, we have a good incentive to return. Also, you can save a little time by going through Ft. Lewis (Main) to Stryker Road and out the East Gate to Routes 507 and 7. I had a “boy’s day out” one day and took a ride to McChord AFB - I wanted to visit the Air Museum. I enjoyed my little adventure. The museum consists of two parts; a small building near the PX (BX)/Commissary complex, and static displays of well-maintained aircraft near the airstrip. What I found enjoyable was talking to the volunteers at both locations. They make a special effort to greet every visitor and provide a wealth of information about Air Force aircraft and McChord AFB history. While at McChord I also visited the BX, Commissary, and Holiday Park FamCamp. The BX seems to be similar to Ft. Lewis, but less crowded. The Commissary is small with narrow aisles. The RV Park at McChord appears to be a possibility for a future visit to the Tacoma area. Finally, one day we went to lunch at the Tacoma waterfront. The waterfront is not as picturesque as other waterfront’s that we have visited but the experience was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 13, 2013

Because we have solar we camped in the overflow. Its been very quite and only cost five dollars a day. They have lots of room. At this time they have a few empty camp sites with full hookups. The regular site are among the tall trees. This campground has enabled us to visit all the tourist attraction on day trips. The campground itself looks very well taken care of. Beth

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April, 2013

We have stayed twice in the cabins, the first time in a studio, the second in a one-bedroom. Loved it both times! The cabins are comfortable and clean, the staff is very nice, the area is pretty and anything you want is to be found close by. We love this place!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2013

Because we have to visit Fort Lewis regularly, this is a great place to stay with our 5th wheel RV. It is big-rig friendly, but note that maneuvering through the park to get to your site is a little tight. Beautiful and peaceful even with the rain. Camp host (Ursula, I think) was very friendly and helpful. The reservation system is still awful (that is the reason for the 4 in the overall experience). I called to make another reservation and confirm a previous reservation - 22 minutes after talking to several people I finally got things done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug.-Sept. 2012

Very much a 'vacation spot' vs those of us that are full-time...we had to move 4 times the first two weeks! The Adventure Center store is stocked and people were pleasant and accommodating but their reservation system sucks! 2 RV's were going to have literally flip sites for one day before one couple left!!-the RV'ers worked it out. They need to update their systems! Most sites were sorta flat but some were way uneven. The lake with fishing and party on boats was noisy some days and some military helicopter practice could be watched. I picked up trash in every site we were in but then watched them blow leaves on empty sites the last visit thru. Watch out for tree sap in many sites and you can tell they haven't ever washed a table there. You can have mail or UPS/FED-Ex delivered at Adventure Center. Our Verizon MI-FI was fine as you have to go to commons room to get wi-fi. Both sets of camphosts were visible and available and helpful. 2 HUGE dog parks on main base and the Pet Brigade offers many services like kenneling or baths etc. We would come back here again vs McChord and just try to make reservations 6 months in advance!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 5, 2011

I was initially put off by some of the photos posted on this site, but as it is the nearest facility for our needs, we took it anyway. We were pleasantly surprised. The camp is clean and well kept. Access was easy and our site was spacious, paved and clean. The only problem arose when I discovered the electric hookup had only 50 AMP and I have a 30 AMP rig. I went to the camp recreation store and was able to get an adapter. Problem solved. The registration desk/store is a actually a sporting goods store. They have equipment for most anything you'd care to do. It was fun browsing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will use this facility again when the opportunity arises.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 5-8, 2011

I was at first put off by the photos shown, but decided to tough it out. Surprise, Surprise! The camp has relatively recently been refurbished and is remarkable. The showers and bathroom facilities are new and spotlessly maintained. All lanes and sites are paved and well maintained. I find this campground superior to many civilian campgrounds I have used.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3 - 5, 2011

This is one of the best RV parks we have ever stayed at. To begin with, the sites are fairly level. The majority are quite large, wooded lots with a picnic table and grill. The combined bathroom/laundry/computer/TV building is well maintained and very clean. Cable TV reception is excellent. Fairly close access to both the commissary and PX. Definitely a great deal at $20.00 per night. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 28, 29, 30, 2011

Directions: Use exit 120 and take the ramp to North Fort Lewis. Go thru the gate, ID required, and a right at the first light. Bear right after 100 yards on to NCO Beach road. Campground on the left after about a quarter mile. We stayed three nights in space 202. WiFi is not available campground-wide. If you need it, make sure you reserve a site in the "commons". Staff is helpful. The office is staffed by competent, knowledgeable MWR employees. Did not see the Camp Host. Not sure what the duties are. Phone number has changed: We used (253) 967-7744. Rates have also changed. Facilities on post are first class. Campground has tight corners but navigable if you are careful and go slowly. We had a campsite near some apparent "homesteaders" The classic definition of "trailer trash". A real sty. Surprising that the management let this occur. Small children lived there too. The Bistro, a nearby pizza/pasta restaurant on post was not open in spite of the brochure which said that it was.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 18 thru July 20, 2010

We spent two nights there in July and enjoyed it. The site was level, paved, and spacious. There were shrubs planted to provide privacy from neighboring campers. My granddaughter loved riding her bike along the nice paved roads in the camp. The sparkling clear lake was about 30 feet behind my camper. A really nice place to stop when going up to Vancouver. I found the staff to be helpful and cooperative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12 July 2008

R.D. left this review using the Directory software: We visited this campground for the first time in 26 years, and found it to be one of the best that we have been to. The sites are large and can hold a large Home or trailer. Everything was clean and in good working order, The camp host was on site and had a general knowledge of what to do. I would recomend this campground to anyone who visits the area. We will return at again. Right place, right price, Great place to stay while you visit Western Washington. 100% ID check to enter the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 2007

Stayed there for only one night. Found the camp sites to be level, paved, and each had a grill and table. There were 3 different restrooms/showers available. One old and in need of repair, while the other two were very modern with laundry and break rooms within the same buildings. The only problems with the 2 modern restrooms is that they close/lock them for the night. Right at the campgrounds they also have a very nice outdoor rec store.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27 June 2007

I have recently visited the park at Fort Lewis and going by some of the comments I was a little hesitant. When I arrived in the park, I was pleased by the customer service. I did ask to speak to the Manager about the damaged building and that was reciently fixed. The building had a large tree fall on it damaging the roof. Evidently the project had to be contracted out and the approval had to be passed around to Fort Sam Houston in Texas. The building was unsafe with water leaking into light fixtures and unknown structural damage. The Management made the call to deem it unsafe for patrons to be in the facility. There was another facility that was available for use for showers and laundry during the aftermath of the storm. I was pleased to find helpful staff and a camping setting that was peaceful to me. The park was very clean and the shower and laundry facilities had a fresh coat of paint. The overall upkeep of the park and its facilities was impressive to me concidering the lack of staff and Mother Nature. I have stayed at a few other parks in the area and the paved spots, price, and cable make this my number 1 choice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

---

We stayed here two winters ago and loved it. It was one of the first Military Campgrounds we had stayed at where we felt like we were in a National Forest Park or State Park....trees, lake, etc. but with the added security that you get on bases. Wish we could be there RIGHT NOW. Met some of the friendliest people ever while we were there. Would highly recommend this park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2006

(No comments)

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17